map marker icon Shipping to
800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20K-S97J
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
We're open & shipping orders everyday. Everything ships free. 95%+ of orders arrive in 1 - 2 days.

Rating and Reviews: Alvarez MFA66SHB Guitar

Made with hand-selected solid African mahogany and a real bone nut and saddle, the Alvarez Masterworks MFA66SHB delivers booming, dynamic response.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Excellent guitar" submitted February 17, 2017

By Thomas N. in Warner Robins, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Acoustic and some electric guitar. Have a little keyboard exprience also.
Music Style: Rock, country, Christian.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: I bought an Alvarez parlor guitar that had a solid mahogany face. The sustain was crazy (could run my pick across all six strings and the sound went on indefinitely). Was so impressed that I wanted to delve into the masterworks series and so got this guitar. I have to say, I enjoy playing my rosewood guitars, but that is a whole different (and wonderful) experience. This guitar is very articulate in the mid range, but without a significant loss of highs or lows. I am a dreadnaught guy, but thought I would try something a bit smaller to play standing up with a shoulder strap. This guitar fits the bill nicely. BTW, loved the deal with the free ukulele. It is much more impressive in person and almost seems like a min-parlor guitar with nylon strings. My wife has small hands and cannot finger a traditional fretboard. I am going to give her the ukulele for her birthday.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beautiful Guitar & Case" submitted June 29, 2019

By Rich R. in Williamsburg, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing 25yrs. Just play in jam settings
Music Style: Country, Blues, Bluegrass, Folk, Gospel, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: This guitar is fantastic! Sounds great fingerstyle and strums well also. Very comfortable to play. Small body with a big sound. Construction and finish are Amazing! The case is stylish leather and tweed with a pewter Alvarez name plate. Case locks and is really nice. My experience with zZounds was great also. My items arrived in Two days as promised. Love the no hassle 6 month payment plan too. Do yourself a favor and get one of these. After months of videos and reading review, I knew right out of the box I made the right decision. Thanks zZounds!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Terrific Guitar" submitted April 2, 2015

By Michael C. in Wrentham, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing over 30 years. Prviously owned a Martin for 15 years.
Music Style: Rock, blues, folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: I ordered this from zZounds without having seen one in person. I had played Martins and Taylors at my local music store but didn't want to spend that kind of money. I ordered the guitar on a Monday and received it the very next morning, even with free shipping. The guitar came with a very nice hardshell case and a stick-on black pickguard. I installed the pickguard but preferred the look without it so I removed it and traced the shape onto a piece of clear plastic I had (the type that goes on cars) and installed that. Can barely see it and it provides the same protection. The action was just right and the intonation perfect. I really like the size and shape of the neck. I've got fairly large hands and there's enough meat to it but I don't think it would be an issue for someone with smaller hands. The sound is great with good note clarity and it's not too boomy sounding. My only criticism is the finish on the body which is very glossy in person and shows fingerprints very quickly. I'd prefer a more matte finish. Interestingly the neck finish is more matte and feels great. Overall I would say this guitar easily competes with the low-mid level Martins and Taylors at a fraction of the price. The only caveat being it's made in China. If I could afford it, I'd have bought an American guitar as I would prefer to support our economy.
24 of 25 people (96%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Great Guitar" submitted February 28, 2020

By Peter P. in Joytown, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar
Music Style: Country, Mountain, and Bluegrass.
Back to Product Information
Overall: With the new bracing system, this guitar sounds wonderful. Every note is a pleasure and every chord is a melting pot of buttery combinations! Every component selected in the making of this guitar couldn't have been chosen any better. I am very happy with the feeling of the ash wood bridge and neck. I also enjoy having acacia wood wrapped around the guitar! The neck, seemingly hand-carved, feels wonderful too! The abalone reflections make this guitar look like a collectible. The quality is excellent! The bridge was glued properly all the way out to the edges, and there are no gaps in the neck heel area, The included case is very nice, and the guitar feels like I can sling it around for several decades. St.Louis customer service was very informative. At this price choosing between solid tonewoods or martin's laminate tubby sounding guitars, the choice becomes obvious. This guitar has that haunting characteristic to it. The pictures don't capture the abalone reflection or woods chatoyancy.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great All Mahogany guitar" submitted January 14, 2016

By JB S. in Apollo, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbist. Fingerpicking mostly Fahey style since the mid 70s. Took up ukulele a few years ago, along with the Weissenborn guitar.
Music Style: Blues, Acoustic Fingerstyle, Folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: Just received this today. Beautiful guitar with a great tone. I bought this because it was all solid mahogany. I like balanced tone of an all mahogany guitar and also own a 1951 Martin 00-17 and a 1999 Martin OM-15. The sound compares favorable with both of the Martins. I also wanted a short scale guitar and your talking over $2k for a Martin with similar specs. The workmanship is flawless both inside and out. If your a fan of mahogany, this offers great bang for the buck.
23 of 24 people (95.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kerry" submitted February 27, 2019

By a customer from yahoo.com in Sunbury, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar 45 years
Music Style: Folk and gospel, music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: If you want a guitar that gives you a truly full tone with a lot of heart for $599 you’ll love this guitar. And yes the fingering around the neck is easy. Part of the work being done is going room to room doing music for in nursing homes. The size of this guitar makes that easy . Delivery was made in 24 hours. Thank you zZounds
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great bang for your buck" submitted March 23, 2019

By William B. in Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: After owning and playing many acoustics this guitar feels right at home too me. Has great vocal tone and projects nicely. A great bank for the buck.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love at first strum!" submitted March 8, 2020

By Willy J. in Larslan, MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 21 years of playing and 100s of original songs. Multiple albums. Played professionally for 10+ years
Music Style: Americana, Blues, Rock, Alt Country, Singer/Songwriter
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: Alvarez made a true masterpiece for this price! I have been playing 20 years, and owned a lot of different guitars. This is my favorite! Great sustain, a brilliant shimmer tone with enough low to balance it out. My 1st mahogany guitar I am very pleased! Also the pictures do not do it justice, it is absolutely stunning. If you want a professional all solid mahogany acoustic this is the best in my opinion. Twice the guitar for the price!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Kerry wolf music ministry" submitted January 25, 2019

By Kerry W. in Sunbury, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been play 45 years , playing guitar and piano. Playing at hospitals nursing homes and churches.
Music Style: The type of music done if folk light country and music of spiritual nature.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall: Hello , a very nice guitar, it has a nice warm sound with a warm tone that has depth. In many ways the sound you want is up to you . I personally put silk folk strings on the guitar to bring out a warm sound yet with a lot of feels. I will say this if you’d like a guitar with a lot of heart for $599.00 don’t hold back .
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20K-S97J. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Martes 9AM a 7PM EST
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — Privacy PolicyCookie SettingsDo Not SellCopyright © 1996-2020, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $79+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!

💬
Chat With Us
close [x]