Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
DrumDial Precision Drum Tuner

DrumDial Precision Drum Tuner

Measure drumhead tension directly with the Drum Dial Precision Drum Tuner and never play an out-of-tune drum again.

Overall User Ratings (based on 25 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(25)
Submitted August 19, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"Double your pleasure....double your fun and joy of drumming with a drum dial. Make your set sound awesome---watch heads turn aro"
In have looked at other products like the Tama drum dial and it looks cheap. So, I intend to stick with what I have because of the obvious quality of the instument.
Sound
My drums have never sounded better as a result of my frequent use of my drum dial. Although I have a fairly good set of drums (Sonor) the sound of my drums is something I would compare with the best sets on the market.
Features
My drum dial came with the case and accessories. The high-impact case keeps my drums safe in transfer from place-to-place. It's most useful featuers include ease of operation and consistent tensions. I have a lot of fun "playing with" and experimenting with my drum dial.
Ease of Use
As I indicated above my drums have never sounded better. I have a six-piece set of 9-ply natural maple drums, and the drum dial increases the natural warm sound of my wood drums. Simply put....wow!
Quality
My drum dial appears to be very well constructed. It came without any blemishes and I take excelent good care of my "toys"--especially this toy. I am confident that it will have a long service life as a result of my careful handling of it.
Value
The drum dial, in my opinion, is worth its weight in gold. As I look back I don't understand why I didn't invest earlier in a drum dial. I am interested in the new digital drum dial but hate to fool around with electronics and batteries. I can just see me at a gig tuning my drums and running short on battery life. Maybe you might think about including extra batteries?
Manufacturer Support
I ahve had no need of any repairs so it is hard for me to rate this support section.
The Wow Factor
Not sure what sex my drum dial is but I think its a guy since it likes to measure stuff. I would like to see drum dials in a rainbow of colors like red, yellow, blue, pink---for the girls.
Musical Background:
Active muscian
Musical Style:
1960's, 70's rock
29 of 29 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2015 by a customer from icloud.com in Cleveland, OH
"If you're on the fence, BUY IT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I have been looking at this drum dial on and off for the last few years, but always thought that I can do a decent job on my own. When I tuned up my toms, I couldn't have been more wrong. My drums sound more alive than they ever had. This is the best investment you could make for your kit. I emailed the company to ask about recommended settings for my drums and the president of the company personally emailed me what he recommends. A week later, he wrote me back for a follow up!
Musical Background:
Drums for 15 years
Musical Style:
Rock
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2013 by WAYNE B in BULLHEAD CITY, AZ
"DRUM DIAL PRECISION TUNER"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
IM A NEW DRUMMER, AND IVE TRYED ALL THE TUNING TECHNIQUES IT DROVE ME CRAZY, AND IT NEVER SOUNDS RIGHT. DRUM DIAL DEFINITELY MADE IT EASER. ITS QUICK AND YOU CAN USE THE CHART FOR RETUNING AT DIFFERENT PITCHES UNTILL YOU FIND YOUR SOUND. I WAS VERY SURPRISED IN THE DIFFENENCES. GREAT FOR NEW DRUMMERS,SAVES TIME AND YOUR PLAYING ON TUNER DRUMS
Musical Background:
SIX MONTHS AND PLOAY AT HOME
Musical Style:
ROCK,COUNTRY,BLUES-
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2009 by a customer from allthingstod.com
"Get One Now, it will change your life!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I am a professional drummer with over 40 years experience as well as having excellent pitch (I am a singer and guitarist as well). I thought of myself as having excellent drum tuning skills. I just borrowed this from a friend and WOW!. Last week I spent about three hours retuning a used kit that I picked up and it sounded great, but when a friend of mine said you have to try this thing, I thought why not, there are definitely some overtones that I could still use to get rid of. After about an hour with the Drum Dial, I can say that I never had a kit sound better. I was actually surprised at how well I did on my own getting the head tensions correct, before using the Drum Dial. I was never off by more than five pounds and in most cases not more than a few, but even the minor tension adjustments I made with this thing absulutlely rocked my world. What is more; I can only imagine how much quicker it would have been the first time with the Drum Dial.
Features
Comes with info on what tensions to use.
Ease of Use
Very straight forward.
Quality
I am guessing that this is just an adapted lab device. Very high quality
Value
The ammount of time saved would make it worth while at twice the price.
Manufacturer Support
Wouldn't know, didnt need it and doubt that you ever would
Musical Background:
Active Pro
Musical Style:
All
68 of 71 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2012 by John M in Wadsworth, IL
"a new outlook"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Once you open up the drum dial, you recognize the weight of the item and it looks like a good quality device. Once you tune your drum heads to a tight tolerance which focuses on the tension of the head, not the tightness of the lug, you hear a new consistency from your drums. In my case, a birch Tama Silverstar set with stock heads is made much more focused, tight, warm.....it's because the device "hears" your set on a different plane of reference. What sounded pretty good now sounds tremendous. Give it a shot if you are meticulous about tuning.
Musical Background:
over 40 years on guitar, drums, bass, a few others.
Musical Style:
classic rock, Christian, country, blues, and inner-solar blabatronic.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2016 by Williasm E in Durham, NC
"Makes all the difference in the world for me."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After being on the tech crew of a few thousand shows over the last two decades, it may be difficult to believe, but my hearing is not what it used to be. Drum Dial to the rescue. It makes short work of tuning up my drums. No nasty overtones, just consistent spot on tuning.
Musical Background:
More of a tech, less of a musician. Jam with friends
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2015 by nathan p in coal hill, AR
"Drum dial for tuning your set"
It is something to definitely think about getting if you want to get the optimal sound out of your drums..allows equal tension on all lugs and puts the set in tune and allows the true sound to come out..excellent product!!
Musical Background:
Drummer
Musical Style:
I play nothing but rock.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2015 by Alfred D Flanagan in Lithonia, GA
"Drum Dial Precision Drum Tuner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Drum Dial Precision Tuner is a great tool for taking out the guess work in tuning your drums. I would highly recommend this equipment for all skill levels.
Musical Background:
Organ, keyboard,drums/58 yrs
Musical Style:
Christian Gospel.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2014 by Matt H in Independence, KY
"Drum Dial"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After using the Drum Dial a few times I went back to tuning my drums the old-fashioned way, and not because I dislike it. It has actually helped me learn to tune better and way faster than I ever could before. I know what my drums should sound like now.
Musical Background:
25 years, Percussion, any stringed instrument
Musical Style:
Country, Rock, Blues
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2012 by jeff c in trinity, TX
"Drum Dial is great"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am just learning to play, waited 40 yrs to buy a set of drums. Bought a set of drums and did not have a clue where to start on tuning them. The Drum Dial is great, dont know what i would do without it.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2012 by Animal S in Plymouth, IN
"Tuning made easy!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Lets face it, tuning a set of drums can be time consuming, especially if you are a perfectionist (like myself). This drum tuner really helps you get the job done quickly, not to mention, its kinda fun.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician. 14 yrs. playing the drums.
Musical Style:
Blues, Classic Rock, Modern Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2014 by james eldridge in MIDDLETOWN, OH
"dial drum tuner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very good tuner for your drum very easy to use nice product
Musical Background:
played drums for 36 years
Musical Style:
Rock/Country/ Gospel
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2014 by Tom M in Protem, MO
"Drum dial"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great job, fast shipping. Would order from again.
Musical Background:
Playing Banjo with group and jaming with others 20 years.
Musical Style:
Bluegrass
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2011 by a customer from msu.edu
"Drum Dial makes tuning a snap"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I hope to never have to replace it. Time will tell if it's sturdy enough to last, but it certainly seems to be ruggedly constructed. All told, I'm very happy with the product and glad I purchased it.
Sound
It's not that the drum dial itself has sound, but it allows me to easily tune my drums so they sound better than they ever did when I was tuning them without the dial.
Features
The one additional component besides the actual drum dial is a stair-shaped piece of metal -- the edge gauge -- that rests around the center pole of the drum dial and spaces it an ideal distance from the rim. It's a handy measure, but it does not stay well in place and seems more of an afterthought than an actual element of the dial's design.
Ease of Use
The drum dial is very easy to use and helps to take the guesswork out of tuning drums; it really speeds up the process.
Quality
It seems really sturdy. I haven't had any problems with it, aside from the edge gauge which, while useful, could have been better executed. In its current clip-on relationship, it doesn't stay put very well. The needle on my dial doesn't point to zero, but I saw a video online that says it only should point to zero when rested atop a flat piece of solid glass ... and it does. Still, that it's not at zero when at rest does irk me a little, irrational as that may be.
Value
I don't think the drum dial was a steal, per se, but if it lasts me the rest of my life it will have been worth every penny. As of now, it's quite valuable and a very appreciated invention.
Manufacturer Support
I'm just putting a 6 because it's a neutral grade; I haven't dealt with their customer service. I did, though, check out their how-to calibration video on YouTube, which was handy.
The Wow Factor
This is not a sexy product; it's purely functional but immensely useful.
Musical Background:
hobbyist / active musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Metal
12 of 15 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2012 by Don P in Sierra Vista, AZ
"excellent for those who are hearing chanllenged"
Very easy to use, and if you don't like the sound, it is easy to adjust using this tool.
Musical Background:
30 years experience in both bands and teaching
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Old School Rock, Blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2014 by a customer from comcast.net
"drum dial tuner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this thing. My Ludwig's never sounded better.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2014 by Travis Bertram in Monticello, KY
"Drum Dial"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best tool to dial in on the true voice of you kit!! Very easy to use! Will let you know if the bearing edges are bad, and/or the hoop is bent or warped. Does take a bit to get dialed in the first time. But once or twice and you will tuning like a pro!!!
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 27 years. I am a drummer/percussionist. I play professionally fro several bands in my home state.
Musical Style:
Country, southern rock, rock, metal, And blues.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us