800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20B-MS9B
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: American Audio VMS4 DJ

With complete analog mixer functionality in case of a computer crash, you can set up in the club with more confidence using this controller.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A very well engineered unit, outstanding value for money, by far the best sub $600 DJ controller out there. BUY IT NOW!!!" submitted March 25, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ/Producer (Published)
Music Style: Trance/House/Dubstep
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: The sound quality is quite good. You notice a bit of the typical Mp3 artifacts at lower bitrates, which is normal, but apart from that, no faults. Anyone you've heard complain about low output volumes or clicks and pops is clearly inept, and doesn't understand the relationship between the soundcard, computer, and amp & speakers. I did have to play around for about two hours to set up the audio the way I want it, but now, no complaints at all... Feature: WOW, this is unreal. I just came from a Numark Mixtrack Pro, and a Behringer BCD3000 before that, and this is amazing. I researched many controllers before I bought this, and for the price, nothing even comes CLOSE... The Denon MC-6000 has similar controls for a few hundred dollars more, and looks a bit better, but for the money, BUY NOTHING ELSE. I have been a DJ for 15 years, and this is the best sub-$600 controller out there. Again, BUY IT NOW!!! Ease of Use: I am glad that I am very technologically adept, because there were a few instances during setup, and still now 2 days on that leave me scratching my head for a second. WARNING, The audio I/O on this unit is AMAZING. The flexibility of this mixer is out of this world. This will create problems for some, but nothing a quick forum browse won't fix. You will need some technical chops to get the most out of this unit. That being said, if you're even considering it, you probably are undaunted by the plethora of control and I/O. TRAKTOR setup will take A BIT OF TIME. Be forewarned. Still, once it works, wow does it work GREAT!!! Quality: Very solid all-metal construction. I like the visual feedback. I love the Innofader Compatibility. The controls are responsive and tactile, the wheels are great (if not a bit on the small side, the one thing I miss about the Numark unit I had, the GREAT BIG wheels). I love the fact that IT DOESN'T MOVE. It's very heavy at 20 Lbs. so it really stays put. I don't have a roadcase for it yet, but still, I'm not worried about knocking it around a bit. All in all, very solid unit. Value: BUY IT NOW. There is nothing close at this price point, and I've played with them all. If you are thinking about spending 3-400 bucks on a Hercules or Imix or Reloop, pony up the extra little bit of cash for this unit, you won't be disappointed. Manufacturer Support: I bought it through Zzounds, so I presume good. Only had it for a few days now, but all I've heard about ADJ's support has been great. Hopefully I wont need any support, as it seems indestructible. I'm not one to ask for help either, so those of you who are hopeless at programming a VCR might want to make sure you have a techie friend to help out with any teething problems you'll invariably suffer with. The Wow Factor: It really looks the business. If you want to impress people with your stage presence, this will help hugely. It really does have a lot of wow factor. Especially with all the controls and I/O along the entire back and front of the unit, along with the fact that it's lit up like a Christmas tree, this will have them thinking you payed much more than you actually did. Very professional and impressive looking unit all around. Overall: I will be using this until I can afford an NS-7fx. I know that this will do the same job, it just doesn't come into the same league. I mean c'mon, SPINNING FREAKIN' PLATTERS??? Yeah, that's coming, but I won't be able to afford one for a while, so this will do just nicely. Unless you're Tiesto or Donald Glaude or something, this is probably more than you'll ever need. Check out the Youtube Demo Video of DJ Etronic with the VMS4, and you'll see it's real power. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great DJ Controller!" submitted June 19, 2011

By a customer from spingroove.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro
Music Style: Oldies
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: Sound quality is first rate. Using the controller with my laptop saves cpu cycles and the laptop doesn't have to work so hard. Feature: The unit comes with a power supply. Even though it will work without one, the advantages of using external are many. The unit is well laid out and is made out of metal so it doesn't feel like a toy. Since the unit is made of metal, it's got just enough weight to it so that it feels secure sitting on a table. When you're busy mixing the last thing you want is for the unit to go flying off! Buttons are rubberized and faders are replaceable if you wear one out. I like the fact that the mic controls are on the front of the unit. Ease of Use: There is nothing complicated about the unit, you should spend time reading the manual so that you understand the controls but even if you don't and have some experience with pro audio, you should be able to figure it out. Quality: Built like a tank but the truth will be how well it holds up after some time on the road. Value: Compared to the more expensive units, this one holds up very well when you compare features. Manufacturer Support: Don't know, I haven't had to contact support. Since American DJ is in LA, I suppose they will be responsive. The Wow Factor: Nice looking unit, with sexy lighted knobs, Overall: The product itself is great. The bundled software, VirtualDJ LE is nice too - BUT - to get the Pro version of VirtualDJ will cost you $149 and you will want the pro version. But I guess for the price and value it's still not a bad deal.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

American Audio VMS4 DJ Customer Review submitted July 26, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: I'm new to the DJ ing. Just wanted to get a portable system for my large family backyard parties. Had a problem with the set up of Virtual DJ LE on my MacBook Pro. With some help with the online tech support I was up and running in a few mins.I have a Behringer EPA300 Europort and two Mackie Thump Th-15A. I have the EPA300 handling the highs and the two Mackie Thumps handling the base. was very please with the sound. VMS4 controlled everything. VMS4 makes DJ ing very easy. Feature: I'm a newbie so I'm still learning all the features of the VMS4. Had it for two weeks. Ease of Use: Would have given a higher rating but I had a few set-up issues, but after I had it up and running everything was easy to start mixing tunes.. Quality: this thing is made like a tank...Will last a long time. Value: Worth all the money I spend on this product. Manufacturer Support: The support is great..Had me up and running in 5 mins. Overall: do plan on changing this product at all..Until it breaks!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"American Audio VMS4" submitted November 13, 2011

By a customer from live.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: all my life
Music Style: all music. as a dj you must love all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: Sound is incredible. Easy to use. A must for the mobile dj Feature: Microphone input. But is a known issue and easy fix. Ease of Use: The best. Plenty of output to choose from. Quality: No plastic here. All metal construction shiws quality Value: Cannot beat the price. And the features Manufacturer Support: Yes. I own a few American Audio products The Wow Factor: Recommend to all djs as the primary or backup unit Overall: The best as far as size and portability
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

American Audio VMS4 DJ Customer Review submitted May 23, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Djing , Dancer- B-Boy
Music Style: hip hop, Dance- Funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: Great Sound.Quality is great.Sound is on point when playing. No Complaints at all i love it !!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"VMS4/Virtual DJ Disappointment" submitted June 18, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Club/Mobile DJ
Music Style: Hip Hop, Top 40, House, Dance
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: The VMS4 is a good product but has too much configuring to do to make it work properly. I had it for 4 months. It worked fine when I first started using it. But when I started buying speakers to do parties, the audio stopped. I kept trying to troubleshoot it with no success. I think if I get a more simpler set up, it'll take all my stress away. Feature: The VMS4 included Virtual DJ Version LE. This is great for bedroom DJ's. But when you need to Video DJ, you have to upgrade and pay for the Professional version. Value: If it was easier to configure the setting's, I think it would be a steal for the price. But with the problems, I don't think it's worth your time. Manufacturer Support: Mostly time differences made it difficult to correct my problems. Then when I did get in touch with them, it was the run around and difficult instructions. The Wow Factor: It's slick design was what attracted me aside form the effects. Overall: Already trying to sell it to get something else. Simplicity will be my focal point in looking for something else.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best controller in the market for under $500.00" submitted May 4, 2011

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro DJ
Music Style: reggae and rnb
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: I love the vms4. Finally someone has been listening to the DJs. The sound quality is amazing, I luv the output options and the ability to mix and match between usb and analog sound inputs. I am still messing around with it but so far, I love. May be in the future have a next level up of the vms4 with a built in sample.... Feature: A built in sampler would be great. It would actually complete this product. Ease of Use: Using the product was easy. Almost straight out of the box. Had some issues with the software during installer hut I was able to figure it out Quality: The product is solid. Some people complain about the weight but that does not both me since the nice steel contraction makes me feel that the equipment can handle my mobile DJ gig. Moving it a couple of time in a week. Value: I hate to say since they may raise the price. But its more than worth it. Did not have a problem spending $500 for the equipment. I think that its perfectly priced. Manufacturer Support: One of the led lights on the uv meter was out straight out of the box. I called zzound and the sent me a replacement asap. What a great company. But I have not used American audio support as yet. The Wow Factor: The design is perfect. I love that you can add the different skin, but they cost too much!! Overall: Only if I find another controller with a built in sampler will I give up the vms4.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"product is good but software is not good need tohave the pro to get it work ..." submitted November 13, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years
Music Style: all kind of music...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED CUSTOMER
zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound: The product is not working properly and i return for differnt product. Ease of Use: The video that i watch is not the same when i received it and start testing it. Quality: nop Value: price is good but what you pay is what you get... Manufacturer Support: The Virtual Le that comes with it is not good you have to get the pro to make it work properly.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20B-MS9B. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Domingo de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2018, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!