800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZN-7SQ4
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Squier '70s Jazz Bass

Squier's recreation of the classic '70s Jazz Bass is packed with the same playability and in-your-face J Bass tone that made the original so sought-after.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"VM 70's J Bass" submitted April 26, 2015

By Edward F in New York, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing Bass 37 Years.
Music Style: Jazz, Funk and Fusion
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent instrument. Owned it for about a year. I put Dimarzio Ultra Jazz Bass Pickups in it. This was just a personal preference as the stock pickups are fine. The service from zzounds was also excellent. This is my seventh bass and I use it more than the other six (Pedulla, Tune, Kramer, Fender and Ibanez). I also have the Squier VM Fretless J Bass another fine instrument. People should stop looking at the name on the headstock and judge the instrument on how it performs!!!!!!
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Bass, Good sound" submitted December 4, 2014

By Frank R in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 5 years of bass playing 3 1/2 years of stage experience
Music Style: Funk, Metal, Jazz fusion, Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Let me start off by saying i have not made anything more then some bridge adjustments to my bass, it is in need of truss rod adjustments but even so the intonation is pretty damn close to how it should be. THE TONE! its got the almost Geddy /joes garage zappa tone with its own colors too it, the necks got a fat round mellow tone, the bridge is bright and gives a great jaco sounding result. Very well setup bass nice feel and the neck is a DREAM. i am very much happy with the bass and believe the soft maple body makes a huge impact in terms of the tone this baby has compared to most basses in this price range. The only problem i could point out about this bass is one of the 4 neck bolts on the back of the body is screwed in crooked and the neck is slightly offset from the body in the neck pocket. Nothing majorly wrong, tuners hold there own and i rarely have to make any adjustments, but i will be changing the bridge, and pickups out of this bass. Hope this review helps and that others may enjoy this bass like i have :)
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome bass!" submitted March 6, 2016

By Thomas Hunt in Wood River, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years playing bass
Music Style: Rock, metal, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When I say awesome I mean it...not awesome for the money, but awesome. Got it out of the box, tuned it up, lowered a couple strings and it plays like a champ. I got my money's worth and more with this bass. Will probably end up changing the bridge down the road, but would have done that with the American or Standard jazz bass as well. Got the natural finish. Its beautiful...feels great and plays even better!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Squire Vintage Modified 4 String Bass" submitted September 8, 2014

By a customer from chuckboggs.com in Petersburg, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professionally 35+ years Bass player
Music Style: Classic Rock , Blues , R& B,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Purchased this Bass about 5 weeks ago. I a seasoned Bassist and heard that the quality of these instruments was way below the price point . Out of the box I did have to set the action to my liking. Finish and overall construction of this instrument was spot on. Hardware was solid and quality material . The frets above the 14th fret need some filing on the edges. Buy one and see for yourself . You will not be disapponted.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"People love this bass!" submitted April 3, 2015

By Edgar R in Issaquah, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+ years experience, touring musician.
Music Style: Blues-Punk, Country, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I get so many compliments on the looks of the this beauty. It's my first Jazz Bass, always played Thunderbirds before this. My back loves this lighter bass, I love that it sounds so thick. Very impressed with this Squier. The Quality reminds me of the old Japanese Squier's of the 80's
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing bass for the price." submitted December 7, 2015

By Blake F in Fayetteville, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This bass sounds great running through my Hartke Bass Attack preamp. The tone is awesome and it came nearly set up the way I like it. I had to make very few adjustments even to set the intonation. Nothing about this bass can be beat in this price range. Period.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Squire Has Made Leaps And Bounds" submitted January 6, 2015

By William E in Durham, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 23 years Live performance Tech crew
Music Style: Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recall a time when Squire meant low cost, low quality instruments you regretted purchasing. Times have changed and so has Squire. Quality control has really been tightened up. I cannot stress enough how impressed I am with the overall quality of my new Squire Vintage Modified '70s Jazz Bass. The neck is amazing. The pickups sound awesome. The finish is flawless. i cannot find one thing wrong or sub par with this bass at all. I also own a Fender Precision. This Squire Jazz sounds and plays every bit as well. It arrived quickly and the setup was pretty close to perfect...I only had to set the intonation. I really love this bass and you will too. They are really high quality and an amazing value.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent" submitted May 25, 2014

By Edward F in New York, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing bass 35 years
Music Style: Funk Fusion Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Product quality and sound is unbelievable. Never been happier with a purchase. The pay as you play plan is a big plus also.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is a Squire? " submitted December 1, 2016

By William L in Detroit, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Touring and recording Professional.
Music Style: Whatever's paying
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a Squire? I own several Fender's including a 75' Jazz, first run Geddy, Lee and a custom shop Jazz. I am proud to stand this Bass next to them. For $350, it has everything a seasoned pro would want. If your an entry level player you'll do backflips owning it, and it won't break Mom and Dad's bank. zZounds shipped it fast, and with their payment plan it's a win win. Only changes I'll be making is a Hipshot bridge and extender and a tortise pickguard, but I do that to all my Basses. Cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Squire 70' Jazz Bass" submitted January 10, 2016

By Steve M in Las Vegas , NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years, guitar, bass, keyboard
Music Style: Rock, classes rock, blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The bass was just what I was looking for, I owned a Fender Jazz bass in 1972. This bass is must better quality and looks great.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Bang for your Buck" submitted March 22, 2014

By Randy Singleton in Elizabethton, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I began playing over 30 years ago and currently play with a praise group at our church
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Southern Gospel, and Hymns mostly.
Back to Product Information
Overall: I have owned this bass for over a year now play it regularly in a praise and worship group at our church. I bought it used with a new set of strings on it and have not had to do anything to it. The tone and action are both superb making it the best playing bass I have ever owned. I regularly receive compliments on how cool the natural finish looks with the black accents. I recently played a Mexican Fender at our local guitar store with thoughts of upgrading, but it looked and felt just like my Squier painted red with the action set too high. That Fender cost over twice what I paid for my Squier and didn't play near as well. My guitar has the Duncan designed pickups and the ad above mentioned Fender designed pickups with that being the only difference between this one and the one I own.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fantastic specimen" submitted June 24, 2016

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The bass was perfectly set up right out the box. The sounds I can get out of it are delicious. Affordable, easy to play, and a joy to behold! (Seriously, that glossy maple neck, mmmmm!) Please note: kindly disregard the rating for "Manufacturer Support", as I have not needed to contact the manufacturer.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent Bass for the Price!!" submitted October 21, 2016

By Tiffany Snelgrove in Dundee, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I started playing violin at age 13, then taught myself guitar at age 14 and then started learning to play bass about 8 years ago
Music Style: Classic rock, blues, soul, hard rock, pop, reggae and a little bit more.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This bass is awesome! It plays perfect right out of the box and has such a versatile sound. The neck is super easy to play and feels good in your hand! I can't put this beauty down. zZounds' 4 month payment plan is the best and I wouldn't have been able to buy my dream bass without them. Thanks guys, you have a loyal customer here!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very nice bass for the price" submitted March 20, 2014

By Algernon M in CHICAGO, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Jazz , Blues, Classic Rock, Funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bass plays very well.....construction is quite good for the price range. will be upgrading pickups and maybe an preamp soon.
3 of 6 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZN-7SQ4. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!