800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1579-Q633
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Samson R11 Microphone

Experience the superior output, reliability, great sound and convenient features of Samson's R11 microphone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"You'll never beat these mics for the price AAAA++++" submitted February 12, 2008

By a customer from pa.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active professional musician
Music Style: Jazz ,Swing and Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have used cheap mikes and good mikes in my lifetime as a professional musician. But I just joined a new band and the mike I was using was starting to lose its sound quality, so I purchased a SM58 and took it to practice. The other musicians in the band were aslo using SM58's. I also had three of the R11's in my bag and I said I would like to try one of them out,so I hooked one up to the Pa and tried it out. The other people asked me what kind of mic I useing and I told them. They asked me how much they cost and when I told them they called me a lier. When we went to play our first job together in a very famous hotel, there were three R11's on the stage that night along with two SM58's. My SM58 was in my bag. These mics are as good as any and I am a singer with a very strong voice that has broken down other mics. Beleive me these are top of the line vocal mics. Feature: The on/off switch is a plus and something that the SM58 lacks Ease of Use: What can I say you plug it in and it almost speaks for itself Quality: Built like a tank. Very well made Value: As I said I used cheap mics in my lifetime that actually cost a lot more than these and what I got was a cheap mic. These are as good as a much more expensive mic. Manufacturer Support: I guess it would be OK if you ever needed it. But I don't think you can do anything to these mics to stop them from working The Wow Factor: I rated it the best but, what sex appeal can you find in a mic. No it is a nice mic and its black design just fades away on the stage which is a nice attribute. Overall: I exspect to keep using these mics for a long tome. If anything ever happens to these mics I will buy more of them to replace the ones that I have. I'll keep the SM58 in my bag but it will only come out if something happens to the R11's and then it will go back into the back after I replace the R11's with new ones. The price and the Quality of the sound is the key here. You will never ever beat it.
23 of 23 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Please read this review!!!" submitted December 1, 2005

By a customer from gregparke.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician, Recording/Live sound engineer
Music Style: Modern folk, Rock, Country, Adult Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Read the next review....it says it all. I am a life long professional musician, also own a sound company and a recording studio. I always used the "old standard" SM57 and SM58 (still do!) for the sound company and my own live gigs. I got hired to do sound for a gig where I was afraid a lot of my gear might get stolen and/or trashed, so I bought 12 R11's, and left the good mikes at home. The R11's performed as well as my "other" mikes, nobody stole them because they were "cheapos", and 5 years later they are still going strong. I have had to take a few of them apart to straighten out the ball after they landed on the stage floor, or in one case on concrete after about a 30 foot flight, but every one of my original R11's still work! I'm buying a 3 pack for my son for Christmas. Get your SM 57's and 58's for the major gigs, and back them up with Samson R11's. You would be shocked if you read the list of people I have worked with who had no complaints about these mikes. I'll bet some of those people are on several of the CD's in your collection! Feature: Its a SM 58 copy, with an on-off switch......what else can I say? Quality: Mine all still work after some severe abuse! Value: Get several. They will save your butt several times over. I've even miked drums in a pinch with these things. Not the best, but they worked! Manufacturer Support: I don't know???? Never had to deal with them. It's a "throw away" mike for crying out loud! The Wow Factor: I ALWAYS throw a few of these in as a back up on every gig I do. Overall: For a cheap, throw away mike this is the best I have found. I have owned many different brands, and most cheap mikes sound like crap and don't hold up. The Samson R11's sound almost identical to a Shure SM 58, are durable, and are so cheap that nobody steals them!
18 of 19 people (94.74%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great value, super sound!" submitted December 8, 2004

By a customer from adelphia.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: We used it at rehearsal the other night and it blew us out of the water. It sounded great! No feedback problems (we rehearse in a small room)while increasing the volume. These mics came highly recommended from a recording studio. Feature: Like the on/off switch. Quality: Nice weight and solid feel. These mics will be the bands up front mics. Value: Great value!! Manufacturer Support: Not applicable at this time. The Wow Factor: I will be ordering another 3-pack. Overall: I expect to be purchasing, along with another 3-pack, a Samson wireless unit for the female vocalist. The sound quality is the best I've heard yet.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Believe the hype - these things are GREAT!" submitted February 21, 2012

By Joe D in Dearborn, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+ years experience on guitar, bass, and vocals. Gigging often and not gettng paid.
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, classic rock, country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: These mics sound great. I have been using Sennheiser E835s and I have not missed them while using the Samson R11s. In terms of EQ, I was used to rolling off the treble a bit with the E835s, but with the R11s a little bit of treble boost really helped the vocals cut through the mix. Feature: The R11 has a switch. It's a little thing, but it's really nice to have. Ease of Use: The only challenge with the R11 (which Samson points out in the manual) is that the bass response varies with the distance from the source to the mic. These mics could be frustrating for singers who move their heads around a lot (either because they're animated or if they're trying to fine-tune their sound level when coming in on background vocals). It took me about half an hour to adjust; after that it wasn't an issue. Quality: I have been using these for several weeks. So far, so good. Nothing in the construction gives me any concern. Value: Incredible. Depending on the deals that are going on 3-packs, the R11s can be had for three to five times less money than the E835s. It's not three to five times less microphone; it's pretty darn close. If comparing the sound, I think I could get it right blindfolded but I am not confident. If you find a deal on these - stock up and save! Manufacturer Support: I have never contacted Samson; I have no clue what to expect. The Wow Factor: This isn't a really sexy product. I just can't believe you can get so much mic for so little money. I am flush with mics right now, but if I see another deal on a 3-pack of R11s I'd be tempted to buy just because it's like cheating the system. Overall: I read several online reviews of the Samson R11 and people seemed to be consistently impressed with them. I decided to buy a 3-pack and they have been everything I hoped for.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I'm getting three more." submitted June 5, 2008

By a customer from ctitech.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: "Active Musician" (as opposed to a "Lethargic Musician"?)
Music Style: Christian Praise Band
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is great, and actually we have one female vocalist who has never sounded better than through the R11, but yet it does a great job with my deep bass voice, too. Feature: Of the three mics I got, one had the "on-off" plate upside-down. That's strange, but who looks at the switch anyway? It is a nice switch, though; very smooth and easy to use. The Wow Factor: I like the all-black scheme. Kind of "on-stage camouflage." Overall: I'm about to order three more. We have had other Samsons that have held up great, so I tried these. I'm sure glad I did.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sampson matches up well with the SM58" submitted August 31, 2007

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Sound Man
Music Style: Rock, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This mic mirrors most of what we love about SM58s at 2/3 of the cost. Feature: The easy to find on/off switch is a very helpful feature in our stage applications. We don't always have a sound man... Ease of Use: Durable and well made. Easy to find and use the on/off switch. Quality: Durable and well made. It takes abuse and performs well. The sound is quite good for the price. This mic mirrors most of what we love about SM58s at 2/3 of the cost. Value: The durability and sound are much better that one would expect for the cost. The Wow Factor: It is plain black and just disappears on stage... which is what we want! Overall: Durable and well made. It takes abuse and performs well. The sound is quite good for the price. It is great with vocals and instruments. We have minimal issues with feedback. This mic mirrors most of what we love about SM58s at 2/3 of the cost.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome and durable mic" submitted April 15, 2008

By a customer from wakefieldtech.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Sound Engineer
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: While there are defiantly mics that sound better, the r11 has to be near the best if not the best for the price. I use them mainly for vocals but i have done some work with acoustic guitars too. Feature: On off switch thats level with the mic Awsome feature Ease of Use: Plug and go Quality: Durable, can survive stage drops/etc Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed it, thats pretty good preventative support right there The Wow Factor: It looks nice on stage Overall: I expect 3 years out of these mics but i allready know ill get may more than 3.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One of the best values for a GREAT 3-pak of Quality mics I've ever seen." submitted October 26, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional
Music Style: Classic Rock, Blues,Hard Rock, Country anything except Rap and Disco
Back to Product Information
Sound: I've been using these for years now, personally, I can't tell the difference between them and a ShureSM57 enough said.... Feature: Has an on-off switch. I own 6 of these mics, they have been rode hard and put away wet, and they all still work great, and none of the switches have failed. Ease of Use: Its as easy as any other mic like it, and built like a tank. Quality: Wish I could give them a 10+ here. These mics are built tougher than other mics costing 100's of dollars. Value: I cant believe one can get 3 of these, for less than 1 ShureSM57. (Dont take me wrong, I love Shure 57's and 58's) Manufacturer Support: Givin it a 10, simply cause I never needed support The Wow Factor: I dont think mics have sex appeal, unless you are some type of freak. Overall: I would definately replace them, if they keep making them so good, and have the great price. One thing thats sort of a drag, is getting all those mic stands to mic up the drums, I do think the smaller clip ons are much better for that, and of coarse my AKG-D118s BUT before I had my AKG kick, I did use one of these, and it wasn't bad, just not the same as the AKG, of coarse thats a 300 dollar mic.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great!" submitted February 25, 2012

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Originally I bought this mic to use at church for my amp, but they finally got one for there so I took it home. Well, I was sound technician for a show at a local PAC and I needed an extra microphone to mic up guitars. Pulled this sucker out, and it surprised the hell out of me, and it's my mic! The sound came through clear, and unaltered!! If you only have a limited budget, get these babies, they'll work wonders!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Decent mic - Get the kit w/ stand. The stand is worth the price alone." submitted January 6, 2014

By Todd D in LOS ANGELES, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years. Bass, guitar, keys. Do a lot of audio production for radio and podcasts.
Music Style: kind of like U2 meets Zeppelin meets The Damned meets Joy Division meets Nine Inch Nails. If you know what genre that is... let
Back to Product Information
Overall: I've never used a Samson mic so I was pretty skeptical, but... I only had limited funds and certain things that I had to get. My choice was get another Sennheiser - which I really like - and the sound card or take a chance on the Samson, get the sound card, AND get another XLR cable, AND a tripod boom stand? I really needed a boom stand, but they run about $30 alone.The stand was worth the price alone! Great, sturdy stand. All black. Sweet.Oh and the mic... Wow I was impressed. It's a little brighter with more treble than my Sennheiser, but really decent clear mic. Think I'll get the 3 pack next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"competitive mic for the price" submitted February 7, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds fine live and is great when your on the road. Don't use it to record though, its just not that quality Feature: On/Off switch is nice... thats about it. Quality: I've dropped a couple of them, never dented and still work. I think they will last me a while. Value: If your not too serious about it or just want some mics that will sound good and wont hurt your pocket go for it! Manufacturer Support: never needed it The Wow Factor: I might buy some more, they were $50 for 3 when I got them GREAT DEAL. Overall: Nice design good pice.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Samson R11 Microphone Customer Review submitted December 31, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I own this microphone. I bought it at Target because I wanted to replace some old cheap ones. I thought that it would be one of the bad microphones I was trying to replace. When I got it home I was amazed by how crisp and clear the sound was. I could hear everything I said as if I was saying it without a microphone. If you need a wired microphone for less, this is what u should get. Ease of Use: Very easy to use. Just plug it in and start talking. Quality: Made well. Heavy duty and will last a long time. The Wow Factor: Even good for singing.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This mic rocks?" submitted April 6, 2006

Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: SOUND MAN AT CHURCH
Music Style: CHRISTIAN
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is great i use it mic an acoustic guitar an upright piano and will use it for vocals. It is great at picking up all the keys on the piano. I dropped it of a balcony no dents. use less mid when micing acustic guitar. I would buy these over just about over any company out there. Ease of Use: It is for instruments and vocals. Its also good for podioms. Manufacturer Support: Haven't try the support Overall: A long time!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1579-Q633. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!