800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16J9-Y203
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Roland JUNO-D Keyboard

640 top-quality patches. 20 rhythm sets. GM2 compatibility.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Amazing piece of Gear !" submitted August 18, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist & active musician
Music Style: R&B Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is a nice alternative to the juno g!Good sound collection. Need to check out a few demos on youtube there quiet a few interesting users or fan of the juno d!I like it because it still offer alot for a basic synth expecially the 47 effetcs and the ability to modify your tones or patch live!Very flexible control and nice rhodes collection all sort of electric pianos!The organs are killers...nice screaming b3 emulations!Oh...and the string collection especially those with different attacks are very convincing some are so rich in texture i just fell in love with them!!The only minus is the saxophone instrument but i guess im not a sax player so its all about taste!Most of the sounds fit my personal requirement for r&b blues and jazz music!Its very cool for a low budget keyboard. Feature: I had an old roland xp-10 with lots of limited capabilitys but i missed some arpeggio functions on the juno d that i actually enjoyed on the xp-10.But at the sametime the juno d offer some levels of flexibility such as upper or lower or both...All the perfomance controls are very good and they are programmable for live performance which i stress on when i am looking for a synthesizer! Ease of Use: It is very easy to get around this board in general and if you are new to digital synthesizer its pretty good to know about basic synthesis! Quality: My old xp-10 was very plastic on the other the juno d which bear resemblance to the xp-10 seems less plastic.But it look fairly small but powerfull at the same time Value: Best for the price! cheap but very good sound quality and Good controls! Manufacturer Support: i have'nt dealt with Roland company but i guess they are there to assiat in case of problems! The Wow Factor: Look is very deceiving but man its just small for a 61 keys! Overall: If i had a chance i would definitely go for a juno g which seems to me on the very affordable price range!
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The juno D packs a powerful punch and is a bargin." submitted August 30, 2005

By ????
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play in a electro rock band.
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Feature: Unlike many other synths in its class the juno d has a built in D beam which allowes you to control waves just by moving your hand plus it also has a pitch bend and modulation lever and 5 knobs. it has General MIDI 2 whitch allowes you to connect it to other MIDI synths and kerboards and comes with very good editing software for your P.C. Quality: The juno D consistes of hard plastic sides and the frount and rear pannal is made of one of the toughest metals iv ever come across. It has never failed to compleate a task iv set it and i think is capable of lasting longer than any of the other Junos and that takes some beating!!!! Value: With the juno d you get a lot of sounds and power for your mony. Over in the U.K its typical price is
29 of 30 people (96.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Roland JUNO-D Keyboard Customer Review submitted July 30, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: This keyboard packs a hell of a lot of decent presets which offer just enough tweakability that you can effectively create your own sound without getting cluttered up in electronic red tape... the piano sound is really good for a keyboard at this price range, the organs and electric piano sounds are both varied and dynamic, and it's synth sounds pack some umph without getting too cheesy. Really versatile. Feature: This keyboard is a godsend for the poor keyboard player. As a keyboard player who doesn't use much sampling or sequencing, especially not at a live show, i didn't want to pay an extra grand for features i would not use, so the Juno-d was exactly what i needed. No bells and whistles, but not that limited in and of itself. also, it has a pitch joystick rather than a wheel, and for me at least, that is absolutely necessary. Ease of Use: since there aren't that many bells and whistles, this keyboard is hella easy to use. it's controls are pretty straight forward, and the interface is not so involved as to lose one's spot. with a basic knowledge of effects and filters, you can master the tweakability options as well. Quality: the chassis is aluminum which is nice in that this keyboard is light as hell but you don't have to worry that if it takes a bump or two all is lost. the knobs are cheap plastic and wobble a bit, but not so that they're in danger of falling off in random places. Mine survived 4 years of constant use at all different kinds of shows. Value: this keyboard is priced for exactly what it offers. It's real value is that to the right player, it offers exactly what that player wants without having them pay for anything extra. The Wow Factor: this is a nice keyboard. it's not that flashy, but it is not something that one feels embarrassed about pulling out of it's case. not too many blinky lights or fancy colors, but it's more of the tall dark and handsome type anyway. Overall: My Juno-d broke after four years of constant use and abuse. i almost cried when i finally junked it. and now, i think i am going to buy another one, this keyboard worked for me so well.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"terrific little synth" submitted August 10, 2006

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: talented amatuer
Music Style: neo-classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: passable grand piano voice, when tweaked.....love the gp/synth patch Feature: didnt come with a damper pedal Ease of Use: the best way to learn to use the many aspects of this box is to just play it.......manual very user friendly Quality: i have owned ONLY Roland products and wouldnt buy anything else Value: cant imagine a better bang for your hard earned dollar Manufacturer Support: quick return time for all questions Overall: very satisfied....compliments my RD 300 SX very nicely
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Incredible sounds and editing" submitted September 4, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Clasical
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sounds are great!! the guitars are awesome!!! pianos are good... editing is good too! Feature: It comes with a software for edition, nice! Quality: Well as you can see is very handsome :) It is the most beautyful thing iin my room! It looks very firm metal chasis looks like can handle everything, the knobs are strongest than it looks in the photo... Value: Its very good for the price! Manufacturer Support: No need The Wow Factor: As i said before it is nice, i do like it! Overall: well i expect to buy anything better in a few years... but while you are learning this is the bridge to "professionalism"
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very nice keyboard, and Roland stepped to the plate, replacing bad part for FREE" submitted March 19, 2012

By Stiggur M in Columbus, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Part-time professional keyboard player
Music Style: Classic Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: I bought this keyboard in 2005 and gigged heavily with it for 5 years. Other than when I've been away on vacation, I have played this keyboard every day for 7 years. My teenage daughter also plays it now too, so it is heavily used. About a year ago, I started having trouble with the keys not playing as they should -- either too loudly or too softly based on how hard I hit the keys. I took it to a local Roland Authorized repair shop, and they said the early version of this keyboard (which mine is) has this as a known issue, and Roland would pay for the parts and the labor. Man, that's great. Would have been over $300 for me. Makes me want to give Roland first look on any new keyboard I may buy.The organs, guitars and synths are VERY nice considering the price. I also like the electric pianos, especially Sweet Stage (piano #12). I find the pianos sound good ONLY if they go through a VERY good amp or headphones. Some smaller amps that might produce decent sounds for the other voices don't cut it for the pianos. Super lightweight and sturdy too. Just an awesome keyboard for the price. This keyboard is for PERFORMING. If you want to record stuff (without using computer software) then this isn't the keyboard for you, but if you are a performing musician on a budget and don't mind 61 keys, then this is a great choice.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"impressions of a somewhat experienced short-time Juno-D user" submitted August 23, 2005

By a customer from spymac.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active hobby musician/composer
Music Style: From Fusion
Back to Product Information
Sound: The factory sets could use a little more punch, but they are a good starting point. The main is issue with this is probably the effect settings that should be applied more generously. However, it is certainly possible on the machine. It really has this out of the box feel, but after a while you'll know that there is more in and into it ;) Feature: -Chord play is cool! It allows you to assign cords to each note of the octave. -Phrase play is neat, but I lack the ability to create my own. I guess it's good as a source of inspiration. Just throw in a few phrases when composing to see how well the sound fits in. -Arpeggio is ok, seen better, seen worse ;) -D-Beam is nice to have, but I haven't used it much so far Value: It's a great entry level synth and a certainly for it's price a good source of inspiration. Composing on another machine (both pc and synth), I just turn on the Juno-D and look for a sound that would fit, jam a bit, and then record the sound or model it on another device. The Wow Factor: It's a black slim case, not too heavy. Very portable. I guess that's ok Overall: It's a synth that will remain useful for a few years. I would not recommend as the main synth, though. But for it's price its ok. I use it together with Reason with a midi controller and a Korg N264.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Roland JUNO-D Keyboard Customer Review submitted December 28, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musical Producer
Music Style: Electronic
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very good sounds. Obviously, because of the name, we would like some Juno 106 Patches, but it has really good sounds; from pianos, to crazy hardlead synts Feature: It is really great, but a sustain knob would be great. Also different type of filters would be desirable. Like Hp, Lp filters Ease of Use: Really easy to use. Everything is well organized Quality: Well constructed. Hard stuff Value: Really cheap stuff. Manufacturer Support: Havent needed support The Wow Factor: I have it, so that means that i wanted it!! Overall: Really good synthesiser, but it needs a little more "tweaks"
8 of 13 people (61.54%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nothing special." submitted July 14, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Quasi-decent synth leads & pad sorts of sounds (unless you have limited talent lol because then you'll be doomed to re-creating the Beverly Hills Cops song with this thing), passable piano & EP sounds, but most everything else just sucks (you might like an organ sound or two). You can't make your own drum set out of on-board samples that you like - all you can do is change the pitch & effect settings on existing sets. So, if you want 5 alterations of a particular kick you like (in different pitches \ cutoffs) - so sorry. In my opinion, there are Casio keyboards that have sounds as good as this. Strings are bad - guitar & world instruments are hilarious. Feature: Well, it has all the outs \ polyphony \ midi stuff you'd get with a base level "pro" keyboard. Just keep in mind that this thing has virtually no bells or whistles. Again, it's pretty much a Casio keyboard with a joystick & midi controller features. Ease of Use: It's pretty easy to use I guess. Quality: Seems alright. Keys seem a tiny bit small. Value: I got mine off e-bay for $399. For $599 - I just don't think I could do it. There's not one "great" sound on here. Note: my only experience before this is analog synths & casio keyboards - so maybe I was expecting too much. Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: I'm not giving up on it because it seems to be good as a midi controller and is forcing me to get better with my software sequencer (fruity loops) mostly because of its limitations. Hidden blessing. Overall: Well, I'm not returning it I guess. Not sure what I'd get instead.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Slightly off pitch" submitted October 28, 2012

By Teddy Davis in Charleston, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years
Music Style: R&B
Back to Product Information
Overall: I was happy with this keyboard until I realized that it seems to be out of tune. I have another 61 key keyboard and the Juno D sounds off key. At first I thought It was me but the more I played the more I noticed it. I like the sounds , but I wish that this were not an issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"it's enough..." submitted October 11, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.co.id
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Band player
Music Style: Pop Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: i'm a beginner synth player... the sounds are very enough for me... the piano sounds well, the string sounds good, but the synth sounds dark... not bright... Feature: no sequencer, no sampler... actually, i want it... i think that's worthy with 450$ when i bought it... Ease of Use: it's very very easy to compose sound... the five modifier knobs are very useful... that's the one of juno d's special,.. Quality: very good with black metal casing,.. Value: this the cheap synthesizer but i think it sounds better than any k*rg synthesizer in class Overall: i don't feel dissapointed buying this one... thanks roland!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Roland JUNO-D Keyboard Customer Review submitted October 13, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Musical Background: active musician/ recording artist
Music Style: reaggae,rock alternative,and progressive
Back to Product Information
Sound: well,for me juno D has a good body,analog buttons,size,specially the synths..but im kinduh not satisfied w/ the piano mostly the grand piano..sounds like,SLIM or not fat like ''wurly or rodes''...so i wish for them,. to put some better piano patch next time like RD700 series..tnx Feature: the guitar patch almost ok except to distorted coz sounds like videoke..and pls put monolead.. Ease of Use: so easy to play.. Quality: quality contorl is not totally reliable..i had one but something happen from the keys and joystik bender..was not working suddenly..i been used this unit fro only 6moths Value: yes its to cheap as a pro keyboard The Wow Factor: handsome! Overall: ahhm,i play any kind of music..but the kind of music that i playing now (alternative,rock ,prog)i think this product can help me a lot..again,specially the synths.. tnx, carlokaktooz (philppines)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Juno-D just plain sucks..." submitted September 14, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: horrible high pitched squeel at certain volumes. Quality: Horrible! Keys wear out constantly and must be repaired. Some play extremely loud whenever pressed, som stop working altogether. Absolutely terrible quality. Value: no
3 of 12 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16J9-Y203. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!