800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZZ-9KZK
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Laney CUB10 Guitar Amp

Get clear, natural guitar tones or gainy vintage tones with this 10 watt combo amp. The preamp features tone, volume, and gain control.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Laney Cub 10" submitted December 14, 2014

By Andrew Moxom in Woodbury, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home
Music Style: Rock blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The cub 10 is a total sleeper amp. The stock HH speaker is a little thin, but swap it out for a Jensen Mod 10-70 and this thing will open up and surprise you with its ability to growl. Pure 6v6 clean tone, crunch, and hairiness all in one small simple package. Takes pedals well, and plugging in a cabinet takes this tone machine to an even better level.... The lack of metal corners, (these are black plastic) will not stand up to any abuse. The power light flickers a little... But overall I am happy with this purchase, its light, portable, and can really rip.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best kept secret in tone" submitted December 28, 2012

By Jammie Dow in Newcastle, WY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 20 years also build my own amps
Music Style: Delta blues, Texas blues, southern rock, some harder ac/dc etc rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Well I gotta say this is a great amp! I don't use pedals or effects always straight into the amp. I also build amps. This one has that natrual tube warmth, crunch, and sparkle. A bad guitar will sound bad thats what I like about it! Also makes a great guitar sound great just like the old amps do sheer guitar tone. Never tried humbuckers through it but a good sounding guitar will sound good! My strats have a ringing brassy belltone that when I pick them out to buy thats what I look for acoustically no amps no need for one in picking any guitar out except to make sure the pickups and switches work and this amp lets it through tele is the same way brassy like crossroads the movie and this amp gives it up and lets it through! I had a few fender pro juniors a few years back and had to mod them to get the goods they just wouldn't let the ringing brassy tone through. Some people may not like it stock but then again I would blame the guitar first and go play some electrics acoustically and pick ur sound.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Outstanding!!" submitted September 25, 2014

By Bill J in Ashburn, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Sunday mornings
Music Style: Rock, Christian, Classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been looking for a grab and go combo for about 3 years. I tried the Ampeg GVT15-112, the Ibanez TSA15, the Fender Pro Jr and the Blues Jr. I sold them all for various reasons (sounded boxy, baxandahl eq was silly, effects loop was noisy, had to crank it to get good tone, etc). In a lot of cases, I also experimented with speaker changes. I will keep this Laney. For the combination of weight and sound, this Laney is AMAZING. I don't understand how they did it. It doesn't sound boxy, it sounds big and open. It's plenty loud, you can crank the master volume and it stays pretty clean. The only concern is that it is bright. I've got the tone and the gain set at 9:00 and the volume set at 3:00 and I'm running a GSP 1101 through the front. it sounds great. I own a lot of really nice amps: Mesa Ta-15, 1968 Princeton (Real), 1968 Bandmaster (real), Vox AC30 and a Hot Rod Deluxe. I LOVE THIS AMP. It's not as good as any of the amps in the collection, but I like it better than all the things I sold.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I was very impressed!" submitted March 1, 2012

By John K in Escondido, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player for 30 years
Music Style: Play rock, hip-hop, country, blues, electronic, chill ragtime, regga, about everything.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I didn't expect such a great sound from such a small basic looking amp. A pro could record an album with this and no one would know it's a $200 amp! The only issue I had was that the bulb can work loose in transit. You literally just need to unscrew the cover & tighten the bulb. Then replace the cover and this should solve the problem!
14 of 16 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Laney CUB 10 guitar combo amp" submitted November 16, 2014

By Cal C in Breckenridge, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Former 'road dog' pro, been playin' forever, still gig regularly, guitar/vocals
Music Style: rock, classic/blues based rock, a bit-o-blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this as a "grab n' go" smaller footprint option for sit-in gigs in smaller venues. My main amp is a Carr Rambler 1x12; and I wasn't expecting this little warrior to hold a candle to that.. but was hoping it would play nicely with my pedal board for these small gigs and have a familiar character due to the similar tube compliment.The amp arrived in good shape and, even with it's Chinese pedigree, seemed to be built pretty solid and cosmetically fit the bill. I did notice that the 6V6GT tubes had smaller 'bottles' than the standard 6V6GT tubes in my Carr.. I'm still trying to get info from Laney on those. First playing impression was that it had much more volume and punch than I expected; however the stock H+H 10" speaker had to go immediately. I anticipated this and ordered an Eminence Ragin' Cagun Patriot 75 watt (8 ohm) 10" along with the Laney CUB 10. After a short demo to see what the tone stack and various volume/gain settings would produce, I decided to swap out the speaker. NOTE: if your going to do this take your 'patience pill' first.. you will have to remove the entire amp section to access the tiny speaker mounting nuts, which (on this particular amp) seemed to be welded on.. they were very difficult to remove! After completing the swap, I was rewarded with much richer, more open tones. I've used this on a few gigs and received some 'jaw dropping' reactions from other musicians who know my signature tone with the Rambler. It's definitely a 'sleeper' and, because of it's diminutive size, doesn't intimidate small club owners. Time will tell how it holds up, but for now have a very useable alternative for my standard rig (all in around $270!) and can take it anywhere in any weather without risking my Carr. I'm gonna let the stock tubes burn in and find their 'voice' before possibly swapping. I start with these settings and tweak for each venue: tone-10 o'clock; volume - max; gain 9/10 o'clock.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great little amplifier" submitted September 23, 2012

By Walter P in Kirkland, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Song writer, multi-instrumentalist.
Music Style: Rock, jazz, blues, country, etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great little amp with one huge exception - the stock speaker is dog meat! I dropped a Weber Signature in the box and it really came to life. For me, this is the perfect amp for recording and practicing because it sounds great and has such a small footprint. At idle you can barely hear the amp at all, unlike a lot of similarly priced amps that hiss and hum, effectively ruining the ambience of a late night session. I opted for the "blemished" model (I'm still trying to figure out what the blemish is!) from zZounds and saved $50. If you're looking for real ceramic tube sockets, a leather handle, stainless steel corners, etc. you're going to have to look elsewhere but for those looking for a solid, sweet sounding amp for a great price pick up one of these Laney CUB10s. My rating below is AFTER swapping the speaker!
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"after 1 month" submitted June 9, 2014

By steve n in georgetown, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 36 years practicing musician.
Music Style: classic rock.jazz,blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got this amp for recording at home.The speaker is not a Celestion in mine they put a HH electronics in it from the factory.Sounds wonderful.Tight low end and sweet highs.This amp can get as loud as my 50watt solid state.tube breakup is in the expected place on the dials,about the size of a champ.Amp is very playable stock.Most Tube people change tubes and speakers easy access to both,I only changed the pre tubes to my prefered type because that the sound I wanted,amp is great out of the box though.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Really decent small combo" submitted March 25, 2015

By Alexey U
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years
Music Style: blues, rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: Sounds solid, good fat tone for 10'' speaker. Great for practice and maybe small gigs. It has one channel, with gain to max. it gives 50th style drive. Works with not-too-loud band. Durable enough. Handled it's full volume.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"cub 10" submitted December 19, 2014

By lee d in redwood falls, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar
Music Style: country rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This amp is a wonderful practice amp but hooked up to my 4x12 its a slammer. Great price, love it!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great tube sound...while it lasts..." submitted April 15, 2016

By Mike Kohn in Neshkoro, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years, semi-professional, mostly rhythm.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: You can read all the other reviews and yes, this amp does have great sound, even before the common mods of replacing the speaker with a Jensen MOD 10-70 and the tube swaps...but beware, as a number of these units shipped with bad thermal fuses that shut the amp down for literally no reason at all. Mine arrived quickly and I enjoyed the living heck out of it for a total of 15 minutes when it completely DIED. Vol at 3, Gain at 7, tone at 7, had an early SX SJM-62 with Wilkinson soapbars plugged into it. Sounded great...for a few minutes.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZZ-9KZK. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!