800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1562-9G18
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender Modern Player Tele

Play this Tele fat, thin, clean or dirty. With three pickups in an HSS configuration, the Modern Player Telecaster Plus is a unique take on a classic guitar.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great guitar at a great price!" submitted March 4, 2013

By David M in St. George, UT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 15 years.
Music Style: Country, Classic Rock and Blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After reading, listening and absorbing the reviews on the Modern Player Tele Plus, I bought one from zzounds Upon arrival, I changed to 10 gauge pure nickel strings, lowered the action to my preference,reset the intonation and adjusted the neck slightly. With these things done I proceeded to play the heck out of this thing. I read a couple of reviews where the author stated that the Classic Vibe was better and Fender was just out to rip the consumer off with the Modern Player Instruments. I have to call B.S. on that one! I have a Classic Vibe 50's Tele, which I love, but the quality of the Modern Player is great for the price. IMOHO, These guitars coming out of China are of better quality than the standards coming out of Mexico. I have found awesome tones vibrating from this guitar and it plays as sweet as any other Tele I have played. Not to mention the looks of this Pine Bodied guitar are exceptional as well as the fit of the neck in the neck pocket!
18 of 18 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Telecaster Modern Player" submitted May 5, 2013

By Soren Duran in Morro bay, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this guitar excited as hell. And I still get excited as hell when I unzip its case to play it. It's absolutely beautiful and sounds wonderful. I mainly play it through a Holy Grail reverb pedal which really blows me away at how great it sounds. I have so much fun switching pickups if you want a guitar that truly sounds amazing and won't break the bank this is the one. Don't let anyone tell you that you need an American made teley. You will be happy you made this purchase. Oh and take it (like all new guitars) to a trusted guitar tech, not guitar center and get it "set up". I was going to get the brown one, but I got the sunburst and it is just so pretty. This guitar reminds every day why I love playing music.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Surprisingly Exceptional!" submitted January 8, 2014

By Bill K in Gray, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 51 years now. I play guitar, bass, keyboards, mandolin
Music Style: Classic rock, jazz, fusion, Christian contemporary
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: As a player who's been around for many years, I was a bit hesitant to purchase a Modern Player Telecaster. But after hearing a few demos, I couldn't resist it. The pickups are very good, and the humbucker and Strat pickups add a lot to the traditional Tele sound. In fact, I would say that this guitar's sound is about as versatile as any guitar I've ever had (and that includes several Fenders, Gibsons, Ibanezes, and many more.) I was also expecting it to feel a bit cheap, but it feels like a really good Telecaster. The maple neck looks as good as any, and the body finish is top-notch (I got the Honey Burst). The hardware is all nice, and the added coil-tap for the humbucker is a sweet addition. My only complaint... it is HEAVY! I'm getting old, and my back isn't what it used to be. But this guitar is so cool that I just ordered a very wide strap from zZounds, because I plan on using this guitar a lot... if my back hold up! ;)
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"fender modern player telecaster" submitted June 10, 2013

By Greg D in Pigeon Forge, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing since Feb, 1964.....day after I saw the Beatles on Ed Sullivan
Music Style: classic rock & blues,Country,original music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just received my guitar and right out of the box she is frickin' AWESOME ! it plays like guitars that cost 4 times as much and sounds beautiful thru my blues deluxe amp !!!! a match made in Heaven ! It says "crafted in China" and my hats off to the Chinese because this guitar is as gorgeous and as sweet sounding as ANYTHING America puts out ! For the money (no just for it's quality) this is an incredible deal on a impressive piece of musical craftsmanship !!!!! GIT YA ONE !!!!!!!! NOW !!!! you will NOT be disappointed !!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar...even better price" submitted June 25, 2013

By Kevin James in Tampa, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 16 years, touring musician
Music Style: Hard rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar plays perfectly. The neck is different from all the other higher end guitars I own, it's glossy and really smooth. The pick up selector options really let you get different sounds and being able to click the humbucker on and off is awesome. I know tele purists probably won't think this guitar sounds as good as the 1000 dollar plus models but I can say that if you want a great sounding and well built guitar for a very affordable price then this is the one for you! I play hard rock and this guitar fits perfectly, the clean tones are it's strengths though in my opinion. Bottom line, if you want a fender guitar and don't have a ton of cash, this is where to start!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"zZounds is Top Notch....." submitted May 23, 2014

By Tommy Robb in Burleson, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for about 40 years. Yikes....
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Country, Classic Rock. My own stuff too.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: A few things: Ont the Telacaster Modern Player I bought from zZounds is awesome, it plays great. All I had to do was tune it.... That's it. I know everybody likes to tweak pickups, nits, strings ect ect, but the way I see it is if your a good guitar player you don't need to mess with all that silly stuff. This Fender came out of the box ready to go., If it did not I sure would not say it did... Second thing is zZounds "Pay as you Play" payment plan works out really nice. No hidden charges or anything to worry about, just make sure the money is in whatever account when it's payment time lol. Last thing is, Most places sell the guitars for around the same prices, so price shopping is a wast of time on most of the large retailers. But I'll tell you this zZounds has great customer service! Just call them about anything, you will not be on hold London at all waiting for a person (yes a person) to take your call, and they are great to deal with. Also my Telecaster got to me pronto after I placed the order. Also it was shipped in a nice heavy duty well padded box, and inside of that was the Fender box, and that is a super nice box too. So as far as I am concerned zZounds has my business 100% Tomz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Multi Trick Pony" submitted February 17, 2014

By Michael Cossey in Batesville, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 + years of novice, not serious playing........personal enjoyment ,song writing.
Music Style: Folk Rock, Country Rock, Classic Rock....
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an excellent all around variable options guitar......can dial in the sound I want from Hard Rock, "Neil Young" and "Crazy Horse" to Mellower "you name it" Country..capable of most any sound I will ever need in a 6 string solid body electric........and if you have an effects / modeler pedal, your pretty much set........
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wow" submitted January 21, 2014

By Jonathan K in Pepperell, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing mostly acoustic guitar for over 30 yrs - done some open mikes but mostly just play with friends and family.
Music Style: folk, country, rock, blues...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just got my new Modern Player Tele Plus and have got to say, what a beautiful guitar. I got a blemished model and can not find any imperfections. This guitar plays great. The neck is what I have experienced on much more expensive US Tele's. Smooth, fast and easy to play. Between my Fender Mustang Amp and the 3-4 different pickups the sounds are endless. Really looking forward to "getting to know" this guitar.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love this Guitar!" submitted April 30, 2014

By Mark W in Grand Bay, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing professionally for over 40 years. Guitar, Synth Guitar, Banjo, Fiddle, Pedal Steel Guitar, Bass , and Mandolin
Music Style: Country, Blues, Rock, Pop, Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been wanting this guitar for over a year and a half. I actually tried one out at our local Guitar Center. However, financial issues prevented me from acquiring one soon enough. I chose the 4 month plan here at Zzounds, and I'm glad I did! They sent it to me promptly, and it's doing a GREAT JOB for me! I love this guitar!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Telecaster/Modern" submitted April 14, 2014

By charlie davis in Argyle, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Super, everything good.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"TOTALLY AWESOME !" submitted May 9, 2013

By Ed James in North Richland Hills, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Rock, Jazz, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just recieved this awesome beauty including the case I ordered. (at extra cost).I Tuned it, Pluged it in........And WOW This guitar is so AWESOME..... Virtually NO set up. Out of the BOX is great. I love the new pick-up configuration. Neck is smooth... Finish is Great. I Love the 5 position switch and 4 pick-ups This is truley a Modern Player. From Country, To rock, to Blues.... This Guitar does it ALL
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome!" submitted October 17, 2012

By Kort K in Revere, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: long long time...
Music Style: rock, blues...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought this guitar Sunday night, arrived Tuesday at 8:58a.m. What a beauty! Flawless fret work, and the craftsmanship is superb!
18 of 25 people (72%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Mondern Player Plus Telecaster" submitted January 22, 2014

By will l in plymouth, NH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing music for over 25+ years.
Music Style: country,blues,classic rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very nicely made guitar. Nice neck and finish. For me, It was very ping-e sounding and the middle pickup got in the way of picking.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1562-9G18. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!