800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 160B-RZ18
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: DigiTech Vocalist Live 4

The DigiTech Vocalist Live 4 automatically generates live multi-part vocal harmony by analyzing guitar chord progressions.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great product with only minor faults." submitted October 10, 2007

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: musician/hobbyist since age 9
Music Style: pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This product has made my voice sound much better. The harmonies are convincing as long as you mix them at a slightly lower level than the lead vocal. And you have to sing strong into the mic. what i like best are the vocal effects: reverb, delay, EQ and compression. the compressor works really well and brings out your voice, the EQ clears up your voice, the reverb sounds great. I can't change the parameters of the delay to get the delay i want with some songs. You can't slow down the delay enough to even get quarter notes on some songs. As a vocal doubler, it works well though. I've also plugged this into my keyboard, and it works almost as well as with the guitar. So if you're a keyboardist, i'd say you should feel fine about buying this product. The guitar effects include reverb and chorus, and they work very well in improving the guitar sound. I plug my acoustic guitar into a compressor first, and then into the VL4. This allows me to get a stronger guitar signal into the VL4, and a strong signal is important for accurate harmonies. Feature: i talked about this above. there is a feature in which you can change the vocal tone, making it deeper or higher pitched, or add some vibrato, etc. it doesn't sound realistic and so i don't use those features, but it could be fun nevertheless. There is one setting that makes your voice sound like Elvis--deep and with that vibrato elvis sometimes uses. The other feauture which i don't particularly care for is the pitch correction. When you use it, your original voice is still heard, along with the pitch corrected voice, so it's as if your voice is being doubled.....and it sounds wavy. Ease of Use: Very easy and the instruction manual is logical. Quality: It's very light. I think if it were to be dropped, it might break. Don't drop it and you'll be fine. Value: i got it for a good deal because it was mistakenly advertised for 399. but most places have it for 499. that's not exactly cheap. Manufacturer Support: i can't say. haven't needed to call them. but from what i have read on one thread on another website, they respond to emails promptly. The Wow Factor: the harmonies you can create on the fly make this appealing. it's unique in that aspect. Now i can do "More Than Words" by Extreme, with both vocal parts, all by myself :) Overall: i won't replace this. even without the hamorny feature, it makes my voice 10 times cleaner and better. What i like best are the reverb, compression, harmonies and EQ for lead vocal. What i like least is the pitch correction.
98 of 104 people (94.23%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Soaring Harmonies for most Applications" submitted December 29, 2007

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer, Musician, Producer, Composer
Music Style: Bluegrass, Classic Rock, Irish, Folk, Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: I used this product in the studio. Works very well most of the time with strong vocalists. The harmonies need to be mixed in the background as they will sound robotic at times. Especially robotic at times with softer singers. Perhaps I needed to try more compression on the lead vocal. On most applications however the 3rd above setting was startlingly realistic. Worth the money just for this, esp considering the incredible ease of use. Seemed to sound even better when I heard the unit in a live setting. Feature: The way this unit tracks guitar chords is amazing. Ease of Use: Incredibly easy to use and set up. A friend of mine owns the unit and gave me a 5 minute verbal tutorial and that's all I needed. Quality: Seemed to be reasonably well made. Manufacturer Support: Not applicable. Brand new unit
39 of 42 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very happy with this product." submitted February 14, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active
Music Style: Christian,Country,Folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The Vocalist Live is great, I programed my own sound, and it seems to work well inside or out!, and I really never have to mess with it. I set it pretty quickly too. I haven't really played around with the other sounds too much, But it allows me to have my vocals clean, clear and I choose the amount of re verb, etc. I like it very much! Feature: Some of the harmony's have little chipmunks o& dwarfs singing in the back ground, but it does have a dial on it were you can lower the effects, to whatever level you want.. Its funny, but the machine is no joke, this unit and can make your sound much clearer and a lot more professional. I don't really need most of the settings. I wish it had guitar effects. Ease of Use: Pretty easy! Need a few cords though. Value: Compared to Tc-Helicon, I think I got the better deal. Manufacturer Support: No, haven't had to deal with Digitech. The Wow Factor: I like that it just looks like a guitar pedal! Nobody knows the difference. Overall: This is all I need, no need to spend more money
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Back ground vocals that do it your way." submitted December 26, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Singer song writer
Music Style: rock and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I had the Vocalist live 2 for about 4 years and loved it. These pedals are not magic. They will make you make your voice better buy working with them. They are great live if you are a one man band like me. Feature: This probably has two many different voices. I have spent a lot time working on which ones I prefer to use in a live setting. I love that it has a built in EQ. That has helped my recordings. Ease of Use: You can use this thing right out of the box if you hook it up right. From there it is just a matter of what sound you are looking. Quality: I had the 2 for about four years with no problems. I have other Digitech products that have been problem free, in the studio and live. Value: I would not pay the going retail price for this item. Most retailers have it marked down a couple hundred bucks and that would be a fair price for what this product does for me. Manufacturer Support: No issues. The Wow Factor: Forget the sex appeal. This thing is on my floor and I step on it all the time. It does give me the sound I am looking for. Overall: So far I love this pedal. I think it is just a matter of time for me to get used to it, but I wish they would have put the Harmony pedal all the way to the left or all the way to the right instead of in the middle. So far I have stepped on the wrong pedal several times while playing.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great partner for a solo act." submitted February 18, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Rock and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I sing solo so using the "35 Radio" really makes me sound pretty good and enhances my voice. Best electronic device for what I play and the venues. When the next generation of Volcaist Harmonizer comes out, I'll prubaly upgrade and buy it! Feature: No accesories. Ease of Use: MusIque is great feature, quick and easy. Quality: Yes very sturdy shell. Value: Great product for the price, it really works well and as intended.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"See paragraph one(1)" submitted January 25, 2011

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: country/ Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I prefer live vocal harmony but this is not always possible or feasable. The Digitech Live vocalist 4 is as close as I have found to the real deal under $1000.00. I hate playing solos and this keeps me from being alone. A lot more on it than I will use. I wish they included a protective case with it. With loading in and out I'm afraid to drop it. I have built a case for my Live 4. Zzounds is great people to do buisness with. Highly recommended and after a long price comparison came out on top! Feature: I wish it had an on-off or band break switch. I wish it had a heavier regular power chord with the wall wart built in. i wish it had a protective case. Quality: haven't had it long enough to tell. Overall: I'll keep it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Niiiiiiiice !!!" submitted January 17, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: reproduces YOUR voice in harmonies...great reproduction and quality. clean and quality Feature: easy to hook up...easy to get working right away. Ease of Use: totally Quality: very well built Value: great sale price ...really good deal Manufacturer Support: don;t know...haven't needed to call The Wow Factor: awesome Overall: this is a great little piece of equipment especially if you are a solo performer or the only one in a band that sings. Its really cool and has lots of pre-sets, all sound great. But reme,mber kids, this is like any piece of equipment to augment your sound: think about a cowbell...too much is too much...and use it at the right time and in the right place and BAM!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BUY IT!!! BUY IT!!! BUY IT!!!" submitted September 20, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: A little bit of everything!!!!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Could not wish for a better sound.Finally the perfection for a solo artist not to have to pay for back up singers. Feature: Presets really make the tool so mush better than the LV-2.I have both. Ease of Use: Anyone can use the tool in no time.Interface with the guitar and PA is a breeze. Quality: No problems with any types quality problems. Value: ZZounds has the best price of this tool so far.They usually sell out of their supply as soon as it hits the shelf.SO ACT FAAST!!!!!! Manufacturer Support: Cannot react to support dur to not much time with the tool. The Wow Factor: This tool makes you want to sing even more than before. Overall: The only way they can improve on this tool is to make one for keyboards.In fact I am writing Digitech to ask about this after this review.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Works as advertised with the usual Digitech high quality but..." submitted February 6, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Blues, Acoustic, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a top notch product from Digitech and great for adding some nice effects to your live set whether in a band situation or in a solo / duo performer type situation. Also, good enough quality for basic home recording (demo) type work, but not really for serious recording. Obviously it has limitations, as all these types of devices do, and it will not make a bad singer sound good, but it will actually help a mediocre singer improve if they put the time in and coach themselves while using the pitch correction and harmonies. Effects (guitar and vocal) are O.K., reverb is not the best in my opinion (especially on the guitar). I've done some recording direct into my DAW and got good results and also played through it into my small PA. I have also monitored direct from the headphone out, it's good quality. Feature: Many features, sometimes too may (see 'ease of use'). Many useful 'outs' but no digital out. Also, no computer connection (e.g. USB interface) which I think for the money should be there. It would be so much easier if the user could edit and store programs from a computer. Ease of Use: I am very familiar with Digitech products and it is not difficult to use, but it could be much easier. The rotary controls used to adjust all the parameters are too sensitive. The display could have been designed better (e.g. with an EQ curve while adjusting the EQ) Also, if you are trying to edit a patch, you need to put it on a table or your knee, it would be nice to have USB and just do it from a computer. Come on Digitech, it's 500 bucks, get with the program. Your very own RP250 has USB programming and it is only 150 bucks! Quality: I have never had any problems with Digitech equipment and it seems well built for stage use (perhaps not with a punk band jumping all over the place) just treat it good and don't spill drinks on it. Value: This is the problem that I have with this unit. If you need one now you are paying the D&D 'new product' premium and I guess that is the way it goes. I think that it is over priced. I am sure that Digitech will end up adding a USB editing connection at some point in the future or the price will come down due to the competition. I see the TC Helicon Voice Live is now down from around $700 to $499. I have not used the voice live but have other Helicon products and believe that the Voice Live is worth a serious look. Manufacturer Support: Never needed Digitech support but I called them with a question about the VL4 before it actually hit the shelves and they were not very polite or helpful. The Wow Factor: Don't want it 'cos I have it. Overall: I plan to keep the VL4 for some time and if it is lost / stolen I would audition the Helicon Voice Live before buying another VL4.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Looks the best. Will see when it comes out." submitted March 9, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Acoustic folk/rock`
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The demo's that I have heard from the NAMM show, and on the Digitech website sound incredible. The ability to follow the key that you are playing on the guitar, make this thing a choir in a box. I am looking forward to trying it in person. Feature: Lots of great features, will replace my reverb for my acoustic guitar, and my tuner. I will be able to add harmonies to my solo sets without paying vocalists who want to hog the mic, and get paid. Ease of Use: Looks foolproof. Quality: If it is digitech, it should be good. We'll see. Value: Incredible. The TC Helion model is 800. They have one for 299, the Live 2, and this one is 399. Manufacturer Support: Digitech has been good to me on several previous items. They have a great website, and their manuals are much better than anything by Boss. The Wow Factor: I can't wait to try it.
5 of 14 people (35.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dont buy" submitted July 17, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: on the road since 73
Music Style: varied
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds good when it works but its glitchy. I have old vocalist workstation and it tracks perfectly. Ease of Use: Its easy to use but its not consistent enough. The tracking is awful. Quality: big and flimsy Manufacturer Support: no opinion Overall: nice idea ...poor exicution.
2 of 8 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 160B-RZ18. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!