800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TT-X0VV
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Behringer BCR2000 Surface

Playing software synths? Stop trying to mouse knobs on your screen -- wrap your fingers around 32 sturdy illuminated knobs on this MIDI rotary controller.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The 303 of today" submitted May 2, 2008

By a customer from timexile.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: gigging & recording full time for 3 years
Music Style: Britten meets Scott Walker meets AFX meets me
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound as FAQ Feature: The 2-way control implementation is is beyond reproach. If you're into patch building in reaktor/supercollider/max etc and you want to create your own context sensitive hardware control experience, there's nothing else around that does it at anywhere near this price range. Controller values are set and stored when the unit receives the MIDI signal for the relevant knob, the LEDs update properly and the values are stored. Even duplicated controls are linked together within the machine. It's totally unique in this respect. My M-Audio Project Mix is put to shame by this. Ease of Use: Obviously the limited screen is hard to work with when programming it but they've done the best they could given the spec. The better alternative is to use the non-Behringer freeware BCREDIT app which is basic in terms of GUI and workflow but to the point, and also allows you to use some of the RHS buttons which usually remained locked when programming on the unit itself. Actually jamming with it is tops... the knobs are well spaced and the visual feedback is excellent. My only minor complaints are that the knob range is set to 360deg by default which isn't quite like non-rotary pots which are more like 300deg (it just means that getting the full sweep with a continuous movement isn't as easy), and that the knobs wobble a bit... but which ones don;t in this price range? Quality: I haven't gigged with them yet as I'm still building a machine which uses them. I'm imagining it will last longer than my Korg MicroKontrol did (which died after 9 months), but not as long as my Evolution UC16 (which has been checked into the aircraft hold regularly since 2003 and hasn't coughed yet). But only time will tell. I've already snapped off one of the pots when it fell 3ft from my table to the floor and this one poor pot took the whole weight on its chin. I've also heard tales from other musicians that the knobs are prone to snapping. I made one attempt at fixing it with the wrong glue which didn't work but I reckon a bit of superglue will do the trick. Value: Probably better value than a free lunch. Even more so as there is such a thing as it. Manufacturer Support: Asked about 2-way communication before I bought it and they took a week or so to get back but gave me a knowledgable answer. The Wow Factor: For nerds this is like a peak up the skirt of perfection Overall: My intention is to stock up on a number of these and a wind turbine before we run out of oil and hell breaks loose. I will then flee to the hills and live in my straw bale house where I will program my own hands on improvisation/composing tool based entirely on these units, a lappy running reaktor, some keys and some pads... and some nice acoustic instruments... and mics... and good friends... and chickens, seeds, hand tools, workbench etc etc. These units are part of my vision for the future. The 303 of today.
28 of 30 people (93.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I would buy 2 of these before I ever consider getting another MIDI controller again period..!" submitted September 6, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: musician, paid sound designer
Music Style: electronic (industrial)
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: It has no sounds... Feature: The features are great, Storing presets is easy, and presets are easy to program! Quality: I have never used "BEHRINGER" products before. But I might just buy another one of these because it feels solid, and there is nothing that could go wrong with a simple and easy to use unit like this.. Value: Great, if you use soft\hard synths you will love this unit, and it is the best value out there peroid for a midi controller! Manufacturer Support: I gave them a 9 because I have not needed to talk with a "BEHRINGER" rep because I have had no problems, But the have already updated there MIDI drivers for this product!, And the F model support Emagic, and DigiDesigns, Steinberg..! The Wow Factor: This is petty, but I wish the LCD would be a bit more modern, but who cares when you get a product like this with the total control you can program into it! Overall: If this ever was stolen or broken I would replace it with the same one! I will be using this product with every thing I do in the studio. And I was looking at the Novation Remote25, but thats a rip off period! And the Evolution "knob box" (whatever) feels like a toys r us toy! I would buy 2 off these before I ever consider getting another MIDI controller again period..!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cant touch this. Or... I guess that is the idea. I am master of my studio universe, the Wizard of Oz behind the curtain, with my" submitted April 2, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: recording musician
Music Style: eclectic
Back to Product Information
Sound: Of course this doesn't have any sound... it just controls things, which it does very well. Feature: Lots O' Knobs & buttons. Quality: I know Behringer quality can be spotty sometimes (I had problems with their digital mixer) but no complaints here... everything works great out of the box, and the plastic case is sturdy and well engineered. Value: Can't touch this. You can pay more for another brand, but I'm not sure why you'd want to. Works fine at an amazing price, is easy to use, seems to be reliable, and very versatile. Manufacturer Support: I had to use their support for another problem recently (not with the BCR2000 or BCF2000) and they lagged a couple of days in responding, but nailed the problem first time, and were a great help. The Wow Factor: Maybe not 'sexy' exactly, but one of the most useful purchases I've made for my studio for quite awhile. Overall: Can't imagine getting rid of my BCR2K and BCF2K now... I am master of everything in my studio with these at my fingertips. I used to be a DIGI 002 user, and was nervous about getting rid of it, but I have basically the same control now with these very inexpensive units (obviously aside from the audio ins&outs of the DIGI, which I just use an MBox for now), and have the flexibility to control both ProTools and Cubase and other programs, not just ProTools now.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Flexible, great value, and Reason 3.0 *loves* it" submitted May 7, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Electronic, Dance
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: The BCR-2000 is just a board with knobs and buttons, each assignable to any MIDI controller message you can imagine, including NRPNs, pitch bend, MMC messages-- you can even program the buttons for note on/note off messages. The great thing about the BCR-2000 is you can set up each knob or button with different modes. For example, a button can turn a note on and off with each button press, or it can just keep it on for the time you depress the button. Great for triggering momentary loops and samples. The knobs can be set up for different value ranges and to report their current values in diferent ways using the LEDs around them. Knob value ranges are customizable too. Quality: I'll be honest with you-- when it's off, this board has a plastic look to it. I throw this thing into my backpack when going to jam sessions-- not the smartest way to tote it, but I'm careful to pad it (most of the time...). I brought it home one time and one of the panels had popped slightly out of place, but it popped right back in. You'll hit these issues with any controller in this price range, but this thing has an advantage over the toy look and feel that Evolution/M-Audio controllers have. Value: My first choice was a Mackie Control Universal, costing almost 10 times as much. But then I saw the fader version (BCF-2000) of this box, which only lacked per-channel parameter labeling. I decided I wanted more knobs to control softsynths and would be able to use this for more than just mixing and setting levels. It's small enough to throw into a back pack (don't forget to pad it with neoprene or even a towel), and it's so configurable you can use it for just about anything. Did I mention there's a USB-MIDI interface on board, the power-supply is built-in (no wall-wart), and it comes with a USB cable (colored Behringer blue) so you can hook it up right out of the box? I'm glad I bought this, and I will buy the fader version if the Mackie doesn't add USB to the Control Universal soon. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to touch 'em. I recommend reading the manual if you run into trouble; it's very helpful and explains any behavior you might find quirky. The Wow Factor: When you turn it on and the LED rings light up, the whole look changes-- it's "cool." And if you're in a darkened room (at a gig, party, etc.), you'll get oooh's and ahhh's. Yes, the device itself will attract its own audience-- just make sure your performance lives up to it ;-). Overall: I'd like for the knobs to have detents ("clicks" you can feel as you turn the knob-- as on a mouse's scroll wheel) so I can know the exact number of increments or decrements I'm giving a parameter without looking continuously at the board, but it's a minor complaint. If you're using a keyboard and mouse right now to control your DAW or softsynths, this thing will change the way you make your music. By breaking parameters out to knobs, you get back the hardware feel to things-- you can even change multiple parameters at once. If the MIDI host you control sends parameters back to your board (Cubase, Reason, and others do this), you don't even have to look at your screen to do your work most of the time. This lets you focus more on the task at hand-- making music-- and less on getting your mouse to move parameters one-at-a-time. This is a ridiculously small price to pay for such a useful tool. Just buy it. You won't want to let it go.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Behringer BCR2000 Surface Customer Review submitted February 26, 2008

Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Ex Pro now hobbyist
Music Style: Trance
Back to Product Information
Feature: It does exactly what it's designed to do. You think of it, it can control it (provided the device you want to control allows it.) I use with Sonar and have found that the tool at Sourceforge http://sourceforge.net/projects/bcr2000control/ is excellent for Sonar and even puts a GUI on your screen to tell you which knob does what!! Ease of Use: Can be tricky to set up at first and in operation remembering which knob does what is tough. However with http://sourceforge.net/projects/bcr2000control/ and Sonar this is no longer a problem Quality: A little too plastic but everything works nicely. Value: no argumants from me The Wow Factor: OOOH look at all the pretty lights!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BCF-2000, I love you." submitted January 5, 2006

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Lifelong musician, live sound engineer, composer, sound designer.
Music Style: Love
Back to Product Information
Sound: It... doesn't... make... sound... Feature: I'm using the BCF with Reason 3, and it interfaces INSTANTLY with every virtual hardware component, which is wonderful. I only wish it had LCD displays for each channel so I knew which was being controlled by what. But for the cost, you couldn't ask for more. Quality: Seems like a very sturdy piece. Faders are a solid 10cm long, feel as sturdy as those I work with every day in professional situations, and the fader automation is extremely precise. Value: Automated faders for 200 bucks, incredible. Not to mention countless other fully assignable controls. Value takes all in this contest. Manufacturer Support: Again, this piece interfaces with most popular audio software, but I had a hard time finding comprehensive lists of parameter controls for Reason itself. The Wow Factor: It's great. It's not gorgeous, but it's great. It's sturdy. I don't see how you could regret a buy like this. Overall: No regrets, makes my life within reason hella-easy. I love you, BCF-2000.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best product." submitted February 17, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This thing doesn't make any sounds by itself by it does control sound machines, which it is pretty good at. I judge this by the rate in which it transmits midi data, which is relatively poor. But its great features make up for this Feature: This will let you manipulate MIDI control in just about any imaginable way. I've got mine controlling every parameter of a Logic soft-synth, makeing performance a lot of fun. The LED rotary knobs are fabulous. They can even respond to incoming midi data. I wish more MIDI control devises, like keyboards, had 'em. You can also recall presets which is great. Quality: It's a little flimsy but it's good enough. A couple knobs aren't exactly as smooth as others but they all work. Value: You can't beat this value. They next step up for a product like this is a $1000+ Mackie. Manufacturer Support: Don't know. The Wow Factor: I'm buying another for more control. Overall: I love this thing.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Behringer BCR2000 Surface Customer Review submitted November 5, 2004

Overall
Features
Quality
Musical Background: musician
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: Bought it for controling my soft sythn's and sequencer's, only thing i found with led's and endless knobs, which is cool but i figured that i could set up the 20 plus knobs, record some midi and watch the leds move upon play back, so i could remmber what all the paramters of the knobs where. i called up behringer , and i guess only the other two step up models do that, and that might only be with the motorized faders, which i bet dont move too fast if you have some crazy stuff down. i sent it back, would of loved the product if leds refeclted on the set channels data. woudl of made sense too but oh well Quality: i didnt like the build too much either, it was all right plastic peices , kinda wiggly
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Try It You'll Love It!" submitted August 6, 2007

By a customer from verizon.net
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: groovy
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: Apparently total control of software via assignable encoders and buttons including MIDI keyboards,sequencers and it works for digital editing of video as well. Ease of Use: This is a little annoying,there are a slew of presets,you got a LED readout,numerical,and little description or clue what the numbers are(the manual is too skimpy) some lead one to think note values etc(B3,E4, then theres the wiley H14,whatever the hell it is,weight,height of duration?),without a keyboardwill probably never know what some are.I use Cakewalk withit and AbletonLite and havent detected what many settings are.The factory is going to send deeper documentation on these. Quality: Seems prety good to me for the money.Beats the hell outa chasing things around with a mouse and the compuer shortcut keys.It is a tool so sense tells to treat it with respect and not abusively,you have to with the plastic case,but with its design an easy to biuld wood box could easily be fabricated to go around it.My XP Pro couldnt open the firmware update for it( an enhancing mechanism? of sorts)and they are in Beta of their own Java mixer for use with it(a freebie to owners). Value: Rip snorter Manufacturer Support: As stated above support looks descent if they follow thru their top notch.I want more info on its settings etc. The Wow Factor: It does arouse me,even if I preffer slider to nobs,usually. Overall: I hope for quite awhile,money is not the easiest commodity in my life sometimes.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TT-X0VV. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!