800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14R3-DD34
close [x]
  • Mon 10AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: BLUE Snowball USB Mic

Upgrade from your computer's built-in mic with the Blue Snowball USB condenser microphone, with switchable omni/cardioid pickup patterns and a -10 dB pad.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Blue Snowball USB Mic - Perfect" submitted July 25, 2012

By Alex M in South hadley, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Piano for many years, not playing any more.
Music Style: -
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought the Blue Snowball for doing audio level recording only. I needed something that would work well for me to be sitting, standing, pacing and projecting. Basic Voice-over type work. It works flawlessly. It is just small enough that it travels with me, and works well in hotels, my home 'studio' or in general areas. Sometimes, it picks up background noise a little too well, but not enough that I haven't been able to solve the issue. All in all, great features and excellent quality for the price.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Blue Snowball Condenser USB Mic" submitted October 17, 2012

By Owantha Morm in Modesto, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been doing music for over 15 yrs...
Music Style: HIP-HOP AND RNB...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very satisfied... It took about a week to get my mic... (business days)... I plug my mic in and there it was, everything works... & I bought an open box 1 too :) Sounds better than my technical condense mic...
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"When it works, it rocks." submitted June 3, 2009

By a customer from hexibase.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Podcaster
Music Style: Spoken Word
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Obviously, this is subjective. Until the Snowball, I've used regular dynamic microphones with XLR running through a mixer and into the AUX in on my sound card. With the Snowball, the sound (voice) is more airy, crisper, and carries more of the baritone. It will make you a lot more comfortable with your voice. As long as you can find a relatively quiet room in the house (away from the fridge, AC unit, etc...) background noise isn't a problem, especially if you're mixing a voice-over into something that already has some sound - what little background noise there is, becomes inaudible. Also, software like Adobe Audition can learn and subtract noise from the selection altogether. Feature: With the two capsules and 10dB pad, this mic has more features than you'll find in mikes costing several grand. Ease of Use: I have to come down to an 8 here. Depending on the USB chipset and the operating system, you may or may not be able to install this mic. Worst case scenario: Upon plugging it in, your "Found New Hardware" wizard will pop and ask you to select how you'd like to install this USB device. Whether you choose automatic or advanced install, it will invariably tell you that Windows couldn't find the proper drivers. Just something to keep in mind. I wanted to use it with my main workstation but it wouldn't install so I'm using it with my laptop which took it no problem. Quality: If I was to re-build this mic on 10 times the budget, I wouldn't be able to make it as solid feeling / looking as it is. No rattles, creeks, pops, squeaks... While I record, I can pick up the mic by the stand and you'd never even know in listening to the playback. Value: Excellent. A lot of it comes down to how you use it but, assuming you use all your equipment correctly, the Snowball will outperform a lot of far more expensive microphones. Manufacturer Support: I don't know yet. I e-mailed BLUE about the above mentioned driver issue and am still waiting to hear back. Then again, it's only been a day. The Wow Factor: Besides being a microphone to me, it's a conversation piece to anyone who sees it. It doesn't really look like anything. Could be a giant web cam, could be a small fan, could be an alien probe. It gets a lot of attention and, even if for some reason I stopped Podcasting, I would still wouldn't give away or sell this mic. I want it. It's mine. Hand's off--get your own. Overall: Overall, my happiness with this mic now is on par with my anticipation when I was waiting for it to get here. Aside from the minor USB compatibility issue (and I say minor because it worked with 7 of my 8 computers,) the Snowball is the mic to get if you want to record high-quality vocals (maybe instruments too - I don't know; I'm not a musician.)
43 of 47 people (91.49%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AWESOME MIC!!!" submitted January 19, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Anything Guitar
Back to Product Information
Sound: VERY GOOD for recording acoustic guitar. You can even play your guitar while singing and it sounds great. Place the mic about 1-2 feet away from your guitar and jam away... its awesome. The 3 way switch really helps with getting the right sound according to what you're doing. The quite mode is good for the above mentioned acoustic guitar stuff. The loud mode is good for jamming even with full on drums! Feature: The tripod feet for the mic feels REALLY sturdy. It also allows you to raise or lower the mic by a couple inches. Comes with a USB cord which is all you need for plugging into your laptop or PC. Ease of Use: PLUG AND PLAY... its a USB mic, is there really more to say? I use it with a program called Audacity which is free, you can do multi track recording with it and it sounds great with the mic. thats it! Quality: This mic is SOLID. Doesn't feel cheap at all. Almost like you can drop it and it won't break. It's small, compact, solid. Value: I mean, look at the price, its a good deal. And did I mention it sounds amazing? Manufacturer Support: can't rate, had no problems with at yet, had it for about 2 months. The Wow Factor: This mic is sexy. Period. Overall: Since our band got this mic, we never have a session without it. It simply captures all the jamming awesomeness for us.
30 of 35 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the snowball" submitted September 30, 2013

By bryan l in palestine, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 36 yrs playing guitar and banjo play at home
Music Style: Christian country and bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought my blue snowball from zzounds opened it and found it was in perfect condition pluged it into my laptop it works perfect couldn't ask for a better mic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Quality, Value,... just buy it" submitted April 21, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: none
Music Style: Techno
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have borrowed my friend's so many times, I just decided to purchase my own. This mic is incredible!!! Feature: Great tripod Ease of Use: I plugged it in to my Mac and it worked right off the bat. Quality: It sounds like a super expensive mic. Manufacturer Support: n/a
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Quality" submitted April 24, 2013

By Santiago Sanjurjo in Rio Grande, PR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Saxophonist, Music Professor and Recording artist.
Music Style: Jazz, Ballads Latin, Electronic, Pop
Back to Product Information
Overall: I really love this mic. It's more than I imagine for a usb mic when I start use it for podcast and voice over I love also I try to record guitars and winds instrument and perform a great job it a really cool mic.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"White Ball for Xmas!" submitted January 3, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Engineer
Music Style: Jazz/Rock/Blues/Classical/all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The mic is good for podcasting. The stand is a little cheesy. Feature: The mic should be shipped with software. There is freeware out there so it really shouldn't be a big cost item to include some. Ease of Use: Easy to hook up and get working. Quality: The stand is cheesy... not all that important though. Value: Good value, all in 1 style USB mic. Manufacturer Support: Have not dealt with a warranty issue as of yet. The Wow Factor: It isn't sexy, but it does work good enough. Overall: It is for a college student. The small compact form factor makes it easy to use, pack and store. Dorm room sized system!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you can make it work with your PC, it's a great mic." submitted July 15, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Back to Product Information
Sound: Once you get it to work, the sound quality is great. Ease of Use: Tech support provides little help on this model. The "high-gain" update bricked my mic. I had to send it in and wait 1 month to get it back. now it works with Vista, but not XP. Value: I paid $90 for this. Manufacturer Support: Support would not confess to the fact that many people have problems with this mic in both XP and Vista. They just blame Microsoft. I'm sure their other mics are great. I just wouldn't recommend this one. Overall: I would not recommend this mic, due to the technical difficulties I have had with it, as well as the lack of tech support.
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"?????????" submitted December 28, 2008

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: sound is ok. I'm not sure about the quality I have to play around with it a bit more. Ease of Use: very easy plug and play Quality: product is made very well for a cheap mic. Value: for podcasting yes recordind an album. ? Manufacturer Support: have not called for support yet. The Wow Factor: looks very good. Overall: wish it sounded a bit better.
5 of 22 people (22.73%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14R3-DD34. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!