800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 176L-KBYV
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: ART Tube MP Mic Preamp

Get huge tube sound from a small box! This mic preamp gives you 70 dB of tube gain, phantom power, high/low impedance, 40 Hz low-cut, FET limiting and more.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Good value for the money, but change the tube to make it better" submitted March 28, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: lifelong amateur musician
Music Style: jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Over the past year, I have bought pretty much one of every make of cheap tube preamp out there, including this one. How does it rate? Swap out the tube and it is a solid third place, behind two much more expensive units, the Art MPA II, and the Studio Projects VTB1. (Both of those need their tubes changed too!) I like this little preamp and for the money it is the best sounding unit I know of. Feature: What you need and then some. Ease of Use: Easy, though it would be nice if the LED meter had a few more lights. Quality: For the price, this is very reasonable quality. I have opened it up and it has pretty good components. Swap out the tube, though, and it will sound better. I experimented with a few and settled on a Tung-Sol, which fills out the sound making it richer. The distortion is now quite good, esp compared to the crackly distortion that the stock Chinese tube provided. (I know, this is a preamp, not a distortion box, but a little distortion can be a good thing too.) Value: Factor in a new tube (recommend Tung-Sol), and this is the best deal out there for the price. I should add that the power supplies on these Art units are not that great and can readily pick up ground loops and 60 hz hum. If possible, use a power conditioner. Manufacturer Support: no experience The Wow Factor: I like its looks, though it is low impact. Overall: Best value for the money. You have to spend 2x the price to get to the next level, which is not really that much better anyhow. But, if you are looking for two channels, and have a bit more money, do check out the Art MPA II, which is really a whole lot better --a different league.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I'm humbled by this product!" submitted December 13, 2010

By a customer from snet.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jack-of-all trades
Music Style: Acoustic folk/celtic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I didn't know what to expect when I ordered this unit (2). I did it based on previous reviews, but, even that can be subjective.. I play acoustic guitar, already own a few mic pres, and was looking to add to the collection. In all honesty, I was really surprised how great the unit sounded, especially for the price!! I've already ran it thru it's paces with a variety of different mics and a couple of acoustics and still wondering why I didn't get the ART before! Quiet, warm, lot's of gain, and works for me!! Feature: For the price, it's nothing fancy..just sounds good. If you want more features, expect to pay more..that's all. Ease of Use: Pretty much, plug in your mic, set the gain/volume, and record! Quality: Solid unit! Value: I don't think you're gonna find a better value for the price..as a matter of fact, it's woth far more. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to call yet. The Wow Factor: It's a 'tool' for me..not too concerned how it looks. Overall: It's a keeper for sure. Adds a different flavor/tone to my other gear/mic pres. One can never have enough of that.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome. Genuine tube tone. I recently went up to my local Guitar Center to check out a used Line 6 pod modeller to try to warm" submitted February 20, 2011

By a customer from att.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 21 years as a guitar and musical enthusiast.
Music Style: Mostly rock to hard rock, but I'm constantly trying new styles and techniques
Back to Product Information
Sound: Beautifully, organic, warm tone. Feature: A wonderful product with decent features. The unit sounds great as it sits. The only thing I could even think of to improve on it would be to maybe add another tube for even more warmth. Ease of Use: Easy to use. Pretty much plug and play. Quality: Well constructed with a nice compact footprint. Value: Absolutely cannot beat, especially for the money! Manufacturer Support: Have not needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A professional piece of equipment, I love it. :D" submitted March 11, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: all of the above
Music Style: experimental, progressive, metal, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Oh it makes things sound super nice, warm, smooth, noise free.. Feature: hmm, it came with a power supply, so that's good:) Ease of Use: For people who don't know what it's for, it may be tough to use at first, but I thought it was easy. Quality: No problems, ...yet Value: If not the best, it's rally freakin' good! Manufacturer Support: NO need for service The Wow Factor: oh, it's really cool. Overall: I use it for everything, guitars sound nicer, fuller, it's a must have for vocals, and I think it does well with drums as well.
14 of 17 people (82.35%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ART Tube MP Project Series Microphone" submitted December 29, 2013

By John W in Sterling, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50+ years. trombone - mostly classical - some mus. theater
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: very fast delivery. the preamp works as advertised and is a bargain at that price. it's what was needed. good job zzounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sound relatively good, but the unit will not work for long. Horribly unreliable." submitted April 3, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Hip Hop RnB
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds pretty good. I was using it with a Studio Project B1 Ease of Use: How easy can it be to use when it Breaks. I've had the terrible experience of having two of these. Why? The first one arrived and didn't work at all. ZZSOUNDS sends me a new one(which I appreciate, customer service was good) but just 3 months later that one has stopped working. I am done with ART! Quality: Horrible. The reliability is just plain non-existent. See my comments in "Ease of Use" section.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great pre for your Home Studio" submitted April 5, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home Studio, Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock/Pop/Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: Clear, smooth sound. Just a hint of warmth. Perfect for a home studio Feature: Sufficient for a decent budget home studio Ease of Use: very straightforward Quality: clean smooth sound. No audible distractions or noise Value: Great product for its price Manufacturer Support: havent needed it The Wow Factor: cool interface design Overall: Just the kind I'd need
22 of 24 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

ART Tube MP Mic Preamp Customer Review submitted April 11, 2008

Sound: It gives out a very nice warm sound.Not bad Feature: I think that the features are straightforward.you'll like the low cut filtering.it also has a limiter.Very nice Ease of Use: very easy to use.You won't have a problem with it Manufacturer Support: the manual covers pretty much everything you wanted know Overall: It's a great preamp. Don't make the mistake of buying something like this if you're serious about recording. That also applies to microphones as well. Because what will happen if you buy this and then you'll buy the expensive one and this will have no purpose. Recommended Rupert Neve 5032-H Portico Single Channel Mic Preamp / 3 U 87 Microphone If your recording vocals, this is a one stop shop. And also expensive. There is no such thing as commercial sound with cheap mics and preamps. It's very important to do this right the first time.
6 of 35 people (17.14%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 176L-KBYV. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!