800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 144T-PSC0
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Alesis Sumo 100 Amp

150 watts. Built-in DSP.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Alesis Langiappe, a little extra" submitted January 24, 2005

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active, gigging, semi-pro
Music Style: blues, r&b, gospel, jazz,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Clear, clean, balanced, neutral, sound. The dsp stereo is a surprise. The effects sound good, but I have not had occasion to need them yet. Some demerits because I think the amp should be louder. Its 100 watts do not seem to be as loud as my kbr-m's 100 watts at keyboard input, but turning it up does not degenerate the sound in the least. It's probably just the difference in the cabinets and a little + & - applied between manufacturers. No big deal. No extraneous noise. Feature: Stereo dsp lets you hook right and left synth outputs into the sumo and hook amp #2 with a stereo out jack from the sumo to amp #2. Good expanded stereo effect. I used it with a roland kc100, and with a motion sound kbr-m successfully. The effects - 8 reverb, 2 chorus, flange, rotary, delay are cool - work through the dsp. 3 band eq. mc input. I like the handle and wheels - easy to tote around Quality: It is well made. Value: I got this for $249.00, a price match from $299.00, which I think is a good deal. This amp is a bargain - good value. Manufacturer Support: Have not had the pleasure of needing support, but I assume that Alesis stands behind its gear. The Wow Factor: Well, I must have wanted it, I bought it! Not a lot of sex-appeal, except for the blue-lit 'Alesis' logo when it's turned on. It is a practical addition to my rig. I initially was going to get a Motion Sound km-12 [100 watts] to set up piano/rhodes in stereo with my kbr-m. I just could not make myself spend $500+ on it. I wanted a budget amp. So I auditioned this one at GC and a-b'd it with a Behringer kx1200 at the store. The sound was equivalent, and the Alesis won on looks, size and portability. Then when I figured out what dsp was and how well the stereo worked it turned out really well. Overall: I am out of the amp business for the time being. I would buy another one.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Hey, check this out." submitted September 20, 2006

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Jazz, Blues and Rock & Roll
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is not bad. I play at a piano bar and set up my keyboard next to a piano. I use the amp to amp my keyboard and also use the mic input for singing. In this type of setting it does great! When I play in a band, there is no way that it would keep up with the PA but for its size it does just fine. Ease of Use: Theres not much to it, plug it in and turn it on. Basic controls make it very easy to use. Quality: I have had mine for about a year and a half, I have played 100+ gigs on it and taken to little jam sessions (lots of drinking) and this little speaker has taken more than its fair share of abuse and works just like it did the day I brought it home. 3 months ago I forgot to strap it down in the back of my truck and it went rolling around over my keyboard stands and I thought that was it, There was one little blemish on the vinyl covering, I thought there would be more damage and wondered if it would work, but so far so good, it has not let me down. Value: I think its worth the price, especially for how much abuse it will take. Manufacturer Support: Never have dealt with them, no need so far! The Wow Factor: Its size and ability make it appealing and very easy to transport and use. Overall: When this one wears out, I'll probably get another one. Its been great for my weekly gig.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Finally, a decent keyboard amp!" submitted October 9, 2007

By a customer from tracycollinsmusic.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Composer, arranger, musical director
Back to Product Information
Sound: I've always hated keyboard amps, but this thing is winning me over. When I first plugged it in (in my studio) I thought it sounded terribly weak, with a strange bump in the upper mids. This is probably because I was sitting with my ears at the same level as the horn (hi freq driver). Then, when I took it to church and set it up on the platform and moved a few feet away, I couldn't believe that it was the same amp. It really does sound pretty darned good. Most keyboardist want to hear the sound of their favorite studio monitors, even when playing live. The sumo sounds instead like a small PA. It certainly sounds better than the monitor wedge I had to use before! I'm glad I bought it. Feature: The inputs were what sold me on the Sumo, as opposed to buying a powered mackie speaker. It has 2 XLR outputs to send to the main PA, so your keys are sent stereo, even though you are hearing mono in the Sumo itself. The handle and wheels are great. I like the blue glowing logo. Ease of Use: It certainly is easy to use. Quality: Seems well built. Could have more substantial knobs, but then again I only paid $250 for it. Value: It's only $250, and you can use it as a mini PA. Sounds good. A simple powered speaker will cost you $350, and it will only have 1 input. I feel like I got more than I paid for. Manufacturer Support: Alesis is usually OK with support. The Wow Factor: The blue logo. What can I say- I like it. Overall: The Sumo 100 works for me. It gives me control over my own sound, as opposed to having to depend on a monitor wedge (and a shared monitor mix). It sounds good enough for me to aim it out to the audience, and feel that they are hearing my sound the way I want them to.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Alesis Sumo 100 Amp Customer Review submitted September 23, 2006

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Musical Background: Recording Engineer/composer
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
Sound: This amp's sound is very good. The only problem I have with it is that it is no where near a rating of 150 watts. More like a 40 watt practice amp. If you're looking for a gigging amp, go for the 300 at least. Channel 1 is unusable at reasonable levels due to excessive hiss. I tried two amps and found the same problem on both. Feature: I like the wheels although I'd like them better if they could be locked in order to prop the amp up to hit ear level. The handle is quite capable. The front knobs feel really cheap and not well connected. They lack the sturdiness of a Peavey of Fender amp. Or really any opther amp I've tried. Quality: Not good. The front knobs feel really cheap and not well connected. They lack the sturdiness of a Peavey of Fender amp. Or really any opther amp I've tried.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"buyer beware" submitted February 15, 2007

By a customer from webtv.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: teacher player performer arranger
Music Style: jazz blues space
Back to Product Information
Sound: distorts befor loud enough to play at a gig.practice or solo only Feature: great cabinet.sturdy handle very hefty built in wheels and handle.knobs are CHEAP and wobbly.sound is harsh cheap speaker and horn.effects are bargin basement and don't respond to the settings because they are CHEAP.cool lit logo. Ease of Use: poor parameters for EQ.all knobs feel like they are falling off.stereo inputs for a mono amp,you need a 2nd amp for stereo. Quality: great heavy cabinet,full of chinese junk.this co. will go out of business if it keeps making Cheap crap like this.i am afraid to touch the knobs, let alone move it.terrible warranty.they want you to send it back to them for repairs at your cost.it needed all the knobs fixed out of the box. Value: Cheap price.Cheap product. Manufacturer Support: any co. wh won't support local repairs is not worth doing business with. The Wow Factor: nice handle and wheels great logo lights up.the Yugo of keyboard amps.We don't have to worry about the chinese space program. Overall: this works for me since I will never gig w/this and only use it for practice.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"you get what you pay for...." submitted June 20, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Latin, Trance Prog rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Has nice balanced sound...but it's underpowered and poorly built Feature: Like the built in effects, and the stereo option, though I haven't used it. also like the wheels and handle Ease of Use: easy to use Quality: cheap cheap cheap.... I blew my first speaker ever after 35 yrs. of playing....amp is good only for low volume studio work...too flimsy build for road work cheap volume knobs... Value: ....well it was cheap so you get what you pay for.... Manufacturer Support: tryied to contact alesis to quote on a replacement speaker....no response...they don't care once you've bought the thing.... The Wow Factor: looks nice with the cool light on the front Overall: I'm trading this thing in on a more robust amp very soon....
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very disappointing" submitted January 10, 2005

By a customer from ureach.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording engineer, guitarist and teacher
Music Style: Variety
Back to Product Information
Overall: Some of the Alesis speaker products are just way below the standards even for amateurs. I made a mistake of buying years ago small home studio monitors (point 7) which really should be used as rear speakers for home theater surround systems.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 144T-PSC0. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!