800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 143Z-F0KC
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: AKG K240S Headphones

The studio standard for vocal tracking and critical listening, these semi-open-back AKG K240 headphones come with a detachable, replaceable 10-foot cord.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"If These Are In Your Price Range, Buy Them!!!" submitted March 13, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician for 35 years.
Music Style: Country, (all eras), Southern Rock, Classic Rock, Oldies Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I would say that the sound quality of these AKG phones is good. I wouldn't say they are a stellar set but for a hundred dollars they are a good value. They represent the music very well with a great balance of highs, mids and lows, although I would like just a little more on the low end. I am using them as a monitor for vocal practice. They are connected to a Berhinger PMP100 mixer which is connected to my laptop. I am singing to music with the vocal tracks removed and have not yet used it with my instruments nor have I used them in a live situation so I cannot attest to their performance in that setting. If I could change one thing it would be to add an in-line volume control and mute button. Feature: They came with a screw-on 1/4" adapter which is nice. You know you won't have any disconnect problems with the adapter. My favorite feature of these headphones is a removable, locking cable that locks into place! It is much like a mini XLR connection. No more having to toss a pair of headphones because the cable is shot and no more splicing! Just order a new cable, click it into place, and away you go! Ease of Use: They're headphones. You put them on your head. Not a difficult task so ease of use is pretty obvious! Quality: The first thing you notice is that these are awesome looking headphones! The black and gold colors make them an almost elegant looking pair. They are very well put together and I do not foresee any mechanical issues. I believe these will be a dependable set of headphones that I will get many years of use from. Value: I believe they are well worth what I paid for them. I have never paid much for headphones in general. I usually just got a 50 dollar or less set from a local retailer or occasionally a pair would come with something I purchased, so for me these are the most expensive headphones I have ever purchased. I have nothing else in this price range to compare them to but, I would say they are definitely worth the price I paid. Manufacturer Support: I have not needed to seek support so far, so my rating is based solely on what I know about zZounds and their excellent support and customer service. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal? These headphones are as sexy as they get if you could call headphones sexy! They are beautiful black with gold and physically great looking. They are self adjusting which I usually do not like but, these fit great and feel "right" on my head. They are also very comfy on my ears. Overall: I plan on using these headphones in one capacity or another for many years because they just seem to be a well built, comfortable set. They are definitely the best headphones I have owned so far. However, I am one of those people who buy something with the intention of upgrading somewhere down the road. I do this with every piece of musical equipment I buy with one exception.. my guitar! So far it's the only thing I have that I consider to be the "Ultimate" instrument or piece of equipment that simply has no superior. I can honestly say that the AKG K240S Studio Headphones are the most comfortable, nicest looking phones I have ever owned. Add an in-line volume/mute control and you would have the ultimate headphones in this price range
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you buy nothing else, buy these." submitted February 6, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: RocknRoll
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: These are by far the best headphones that I have ever owned. I've previously tried Audio Technicas and Sonys, and lower quality AKGS, and these make the others look like child's play. They were my most trusted companions as a home recordist... i've spent HOURS and HOURS with these things, mixing and mastering (yes, they are that good. I'd trust them as much as my monitors for checking if a mix is sweet or not). The reason I'm writing this review is because I just broke them... accidentally ripped the cord out of the socket (i wasn't wearing them... it was tangled around my leg). I'm heartbroken. Feature: The idea to have a switchable cable is ingenious. Never had to replace mine, even though it went through hell (it was all taped up). Ease of Use: Fatigue? Forget about it. The only way you'll get fatigued with these things is when they bring out all the mistakes in your playing and your mix, and you get frustrated with yourself. Quality: Made in Austria. Can't beat it. These have lasted me YEARS, and they were still sounding sweet. The leather around the ears had started to crack and flake, but do you know how many hours i've spent with these damn things on my head? about as long as the average american has spent vegitating in front of the tube. Value: I bought these so long ago that I forgot what I paid for em... a hundred bucks???? This things are a steal. They will be the best hundred bucks you can spend... if you're some newbie recording enthusiast and deciding whether to blow a hundred bucks on some crappy china mic or these, definitely get these. They will reveal flaws that you will have to learn to deal with and will make your recordings so much better than some stupid cheapo mic. I just wish I could afford the K700 somethings or whatever the brand new ultimate model is (those suckers are $500 but i've heard that listening through them is like hearing the voice of god) Manufacturer Support: Never had to deal with 'em. The best support situation should be a product that's so good you never have to find out what kind of music they play when they put you on hold. The Wow Factor: I'm on the verge of crying because I've lost them. i've lost a dear friend, all thanks to my stupidity. Overall: Treat em nice, kiddos. They deserve it. A true A+ workhorse.
79 of 80 people (98.75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Same AWESOME Headphone 28 year later..." submitted February 1, 2012

By Michael B in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Studio since 1979
Music Style: Insert style here, pay me, and I'll play it...
Back to Product Information
Overall: I've owned them all over the years Beyer, Sennheiser, Grabo, almost every model AKG has ever made, and the pair that shine above the rest, by far, are my 28 year old K-240 Studios. The good news is, they still make them and when I A/Bd the old set and a brand new set, they were almost identical. Sure the 28 year old set is more open, and lighter on top with more body/bite on the bass end, but I'm confident the new set will get there after burning them in for a few hundred hours. If I had 1 set of headphones to choose, out of everything out there now and I had an unlimited budget, I'd still trust a pair of $100 [street price] K-240s over anything else. Give me a set of vintage NS-10s and a pair of K-240s and I'll mix anything, anywhere. Literally the best headphone for the money, in the world. Period
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"They are The Ones." submitted June 24, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Pop/Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: These are the headphones you see littering recording studios for a reason. They work. They're neutral, they don't spill too much, they're robust and most of all, they let you hear what's actually being recorded. You can literally wear them all day and not get either physically or aurally fatigued. Lots of bottom end, but it's not going to flatter the mix. You take them off and what's coming out of the monitors is amazingly close. The replaceable cord is a great touch. Basically, they're The Ones. You can mix in them as long as you check your work on monitors (all headphones are misleading when it comes to center-placed sounds). Lovely things. Up there with Fender and Gibson guitars. Feature: They're headphones, and they have a straight replaceable cord. I don't know what else you would need. The jack at the end is 1/8", but an adaptor to 1/4" was supplied with mine. Good quality too. Quality: You plug them in and put them on. Nothing to adjust. They just fit. Value: Amazing value. About the best $100 you can spend on your studio, up there with the Studio Projects B1. Manufacturer Support: Never needed any support. The Wow Factor: You want it. Overall: You could buy more expensive phones but the gains would be marginal and you would not use them as the workhorse that you use these as.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't look elsewhere" submitted May 17, 2006

By a customer from bigfoot.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Various - Rock, Metal, Classical, Jazz, Prog
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Perfect, uncolored sound. Flat response. Feature: I like that they now have a detachable cord. I was constantly worried about running over the cable or pinching it between my chair and desk. It is comforting to know that it can now be more easily replaced. Ease of Use: Plug in -- put on head -- listen -- simple enough? Quality: My old pair is over 10 years old and working great. Value: You can spend triple on an inferior product. $100 may be a daunting price for a casual user, but it is a bargain to anyone with a keen set of ears. Manufacturer Support: If "N/A" was a voting option I would have selected it. I have not had to contact support because I have never had a problem with the headphones. The Wow Factor: hey... how sexy can headphones be that cover your ears and make you look like Mickey Mouse? Overall: I always recommend these to my friends that want high quality headphones for recording or listening to music at work. Often they will buy something sexier or less bulky... but they almost always find fault in what they have purchased and buy these in the long run. There is a reason why nearly every picture you see of someone in a professional studio setting is wearing these. They are the industry standard... possibly the best headphones you can buy... CERTAINLY the best for the money.
17 of 18 people (94.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"TRUST ME there nice"

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: anything that involved tallent
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought these headphones, finally, after hearing them side by side with maybe 12 other brands at Long&McQuade 3 months ago. They are simply supirior so anything ellse that was there, some phones were so uncomfortable you cant stand them on your head, and besides these simply sounded better. Most phones emphisized some tone and did not create the proper clarity and space needed for imaging. these phones fit like a glove and they dont become annoying for at least a few hours.. There IS some midbass and bass tones that stand out, when compared to bang&olufsen earbuds, however this shouldnt present a problem. Feature: Fit great , Sweeeeeeeeet to look at . comfortable, no adjustments at all which is a good thing. 1/4" and mini jack, and detachable cord. Quality: i cant see these dying anytime soom but who knows. Value: best value, im 16 and i wash dishes at $8.50 an hour , looked around for months and decided on these.. there ya go. Manufacturer Support: the retailer i got them from is great The Wow Factor: all gold and sexy. nice Overall: all good
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"what are you waiting for stop screwing around and get these" submitted December 30, 2005

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist/artist/aspiring producer
Music Style: everything
Back to Product Information
Sound: amazing, i own event 20/20 bas monitors and the sound coming out of both are very similar, i can actually make music at night now without pissing off my neighbors and not worry about how the mix is gonna sound, but dont get me wrong i still think you should check your mixes on ever system you come across, but these headphones have given me peace of mind, plus they actually sound flat so you know what goes in is what comes out Feature: headphones!?!?!? what do you want.......... Quality: these look sturdy very well built Value: $100 come on, i actually had the chance to demo some other headphones like sony's and sennheiser's they dont come close Manufacturer Support: dont need them The Wow Factor: i have it Overall: the best $100 dollars i've spent so far
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best value in headphones. Period. These should be in your studio." submitted June 28, 2013

By Dan Sorensen in Mill Valley, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer of 14 years. 90's style hip hop, vinyl sampling, vocal recording, chopping
Music Style: 90's style hip hop, vinyl sampling, vocal recording, chopping
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: You see these cans everywhere. In the background of "The Art of Sixteen Bars." In the ending credits to "Bioshock: Infinite." Matt Stone and Trey Parker record South Park voices with these. There are certainly better cans out there, but they are marginally better for twice, three, four times the price, and the gains aren't worth it. If you're looking for quality cans, these are at the top of your list. I have had a pair for six years, and that pair recently gave out after they fell off my desk and I accidentally stepped on them (REALLY HARD) trying to pick them up (it happens). I immediately put in an order for a new pair. I wouldn't be caught dead in the studio without them on my head. Very true-to-source monitoring, solid construction (six years of brutal abuse that those horrendous Beats by Dre headphones wouldn't have lasted five minutes under), and unbelievable aesthetic quality. I'm responsible for at least a dozen of these being purchased. One listen, whether its in the studio or just music on the street, and you know these things are beastly. These are the real deal. For the price, you're insane if you don't already have them, and you're a joke if you're not considering them.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great headphones" submitted July 3, 2006

By a customer from stevenworthington.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Amateur recording Engineer
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Excellent Sound, I use these for Mixing and Mastering, and can Honestly Say I'm very impressed. Every so often They go Missing, and I Find either My son using them with his electric Guitar, or mY Daughter using them to listen to her.. whaterver it is she lsitens to! Feature: I like the detachable cord, and the screw jack.. Ease of Use: Plug 'em in put 'em on listen.. Quality: So far so good after over 2 years I have no complaints Value: Great value for The Money, I've paid a lot more for lesser quality Headphones! Overall: Really have No Issues, Great Quality, and good value for the money, Go Ahead and Buy Them you won't be dissapointed
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"K240 studio standard" submitted April 29, 2014

By mark h in phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Creating, recording and performing music for decades. I primarily play keyboards and percussion.
Music Style: Primarily interested in experimental electronica mixed with anything else that happens.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased these to add to my existing collection of headphones and for tracking vocals in a garage studio. I'd used the K240M for a time some years back and found them to be good for tracking as well as checking mixes. The build quality and sound of the lower priced version surprised me and I like them so much I may purchase the MK2 as well. The 240 series are a studio standard and most people who use them find they hold up well. There are other phones that sound good and aren't super expensive, but in my opinion they aren't as accurate and generally don't hold up well in a studio enviornment.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Absolute Best Phones for the Money!!" submitted August 21, 2008

By a customer from localnet.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amatuer songwriter. Home recording hobbiest.
Music Style: Pop, Rock, Jazz and contemporary
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought the AKG 240s to replace a set of AKG 240M monitors I owned for more than 20 years!! AKG makes a superior product and when the old set gave out I KNEW I had to replace them with the same kind. Simply no other for me! The 240 series has always been, and still is "Pro" quality, used as monotors in professional studios. This is understandable. The response it brilliant and the quality is excellent. The semi open design allows me to converse with others without taking them off and they are very comfortable to wear, even for extended periods of time. The 20 year old 240 monitors were 300 ohms where these are 55 so it took a bit of getting used to the deeper bass response but it didn't take long after an only minor adjustment to my equipment. I'm an amatuer songwriter and this works well with my gear. Feature: The reason my 240 monitors quit was a short in the cable. That won't be such a big deal with this model because the cord is detachable and can be replaced without replacing the entire set of phones. The cord is also 4 feet longer that it's predecessor, giving you 10 feet instead of 6. My 8 track recorder uses a stereo phone plug where my PC where I mix uses a mini cable. No problem. The set includes a stereo phone plug adapter which screws over top of the default mini plug. Ease of Use: Couldn't be easier. Just plug it in and listen! Quality: Considering that my previous set of AKGs lasted 20 years, I'm not worried about their longevity. The design was obviously made to last a long time. Value: Yes! The 240s are worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: Actually, I couldn't tell ya. I never needed support for this product, but experience has always told me that superior product=superior service. The Wow Factor: The slick black & gold color is very professional looking. Overall: As I said above, I expect to be enjoying this product for years to come, based on previous experience with the manufacturer.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Quality headphones" submitted October 30, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: All Types
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: They have a very crisp and unbiased sound. Perfect for recording. Feature: Standard fare. 1/4 adapter. Mini XLR cable. Ease of Use: Just put them on. Quality: The headphones seem pretty sturdy though the cable seems a bit cheap but easy to replace. Value: These are possibly the best headphones in their price range. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed any. The Wow Factor: The black and gold look is quite appealing but the sound is the main attraction. Overall: I don't see myself upgrading for a while. If these were broken or stolen I would probably buy another pair.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Headphones!" submitted December 27, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years or so.
Music Style: electronic
Back to Product Information
Sound: These headphones are probably the best sounding I've ever had. The sound is well balanced over all ranges, and I can hear everything that's in the audio. Keep in mind though (you probably realize this already), your laptop isn't really enough to drive these. Feature: I love the detachable mini-XLR. Great feature if you use headphones a lot, and sometimes step on or trip over chords. Quality: They feel and look extremely well made. Value: They're worth it, but I'm not really a capitalist. Manufacturer Support: None needed. The Wow Factor: They look great, feel great, and sound great. I wouldn't buy any other phones at this price point. Overall: I don't feel like you can go wrong with these. I prefer them over my similar Audio Technica phones at the same price point.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

AKG K240S Headphones Customer Review submitted March 16, 2010

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Audiophile.
Music Style: Symphonic Death Metal, and Acoustic... Talk about abstract!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: These headphones have brought so much clarity to my mix and the music I listen to! They even make 160 kb/s mp3's sound respectable! Ease of Use: Plug them in, put them on your head... Any questions? Quality: I love the removable cable feature! It may make these last forever..... Normally the first thing to go is the cable. Value: Considering how long these may last, and the amazing sound quality, I'd say it was a very good buy. The Wow Factor: They fit completely around your ears... (I hope) The leather padding is very smooth and comfortable. The shiny gold is flashy... They're proud, and huge! Overall: *Stop reading. Add to Cart*
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AKG K240 Studio Circumaural Stereo Headphones" submitted April 22, 2012

By Mike B in Silver Spring, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Classical pianist, some jazz - for many years
Music Style: Classical; Pop; Musicals, jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: These are comfortable earphones that completely cover the ears. Good sound reproduction. They work as advertised!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

AKG K240S Headphones Customer Review submitted January 16, 2010

Sound: Awesome! Awsome! Awesome! I am using a Roland RD-700, and a GW7 keyboards respectively, etc. The only tip i have to impart to make the device sound better, is, do not turn the volume up to the max!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Loud Lows, Perfect Mids & Highs." submitted August 11, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, Recording & Sound Engineer
Music Style: Acid House, Death Metal, Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is very good, however the bass is attenuated. Meaning the bass you hear in the phones is not the true sound on your mix. I have spent long hours mixing down tracks but then to find out the bass was all wrong. if it sounds really bassy you might mix the bass lower, but then to find out once you listen to it on your stereo that the bass is all gone! However i rate these a 9 because I don't use these for mixing tracks anymore! these are best for giving your singers or musicians who are in the studio. To a singer these will be the best headphones they have ever heard in their life. The Highs are so crisp and sparkle. the mids have a lot of character. Don't use for mixing tracks! These are perfect for putting on the ears of a vocalist or musician when they need to sound their best! Feature: Very long cable & 1/8th to 1/4th in adapter. These sound great in an ipod too! For this kind of listening it doesn't get any better. Quality: The speakers and the cable have lasted great for me. I've owned for 5 years, having bought them in 2005. However, the little plastic part that says 'L' broke off. Probably my fault, but doesn't effect the sound or comfort at all. =) Value: Very valuable. These will have your musician friends jealous and you will keep picking them up. The Wow Factor: It is very sexy with the gold trim and long cord. Overall: If it wasn't for the louder-than-they-should-be-low-end, i would rate these a 10. Don't use to mix with. Use these while singing, give them to your vocalists & musicians and you will be very very pleased! These are one of the best Studio headphones you can buy for under $120.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Quite good, im quite happy and excited to buy another pair." submitted April 5, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Electronic
Back to Product Information
Sound: Well im no pro musician or anything, but I LOVE these. The sound is always precise and right on the spot for what im looking for. Not too high, not too low... but I do recommend finalizing a mix on monitors and not headphones anyways... but as far as i can tell they translate pretty darn well. Feature: I don't think they are all space agey with switches to set for different features and such, but they do their job well. Ease of Use: Comfy, light, and funny looking... what else could u ask for? I can wear em ofr hours without even know they are on my head. Serious. Quality: Ok, well this is the one thing that bugs me. My right earphone is kinda intermitent, but i have dropped this babies 30+ times over the 3-4 years i have owned them. They still work, i just have to fiddle with the wire for a second each time. (although, im buying a new pair right now!) Value: I think they are amazing. Seriously. i paid 150$ for these, $99 for my second, im happy! Manufacturer Support: Well... i wasn't happy that they wanted $60 plus shipping both ways to fix these... cause a new pair is only $99. So i guess now i'l have two. The Wow Factor: I want another. Overall: For me a hobby musician... I think they cannot be beat. Although i havent tried others other than Sony, but im sold.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

AKG K240S Headphones Customer Review

By a customer from yifan.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: N/A
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very Detailed and resolving, deep bass, but needs a good headphone amp or at least a mixer to fully bring out it's good qualities. Slow bass without an amp, but with an amp it quickens up. Feature: it included the 1/4 to 1/8" adaptor, I wish it had a thicker cable Quality: it is made very well, but the cord could have thicker insulation on it Value: It's actually worth the full list price, the selling price is a comparative steal. Manufacturer Support: the company was really friendly at answering questions arising before the sale. I havent' had to deal with them further.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 143Z-F0KC. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!