Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Taylor 224CE-K Koa Deluxe Grand Auditorium Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Case)

Taylor 224CE-K Koa Deluxe Grand Auditorium Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Case)

Combining visually stunning koa, Deluxe appointments, and ES2 electronics for excellent plugged-in sound, the 224CE-K DLX guitar fits in anyone's collection.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted June 27, 2019 by charles pollard in Pasadena, MD
"taylor 224 ce koa dlx"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
GUITAR AWESOME! CAME TO ME IN FLAWLESS CONDITION. SWEET TONE RINGS LIKE A BELL..BEAUTIFUL KOA WOOD PATTERN.. ONLY COMPLAINT IS GUITAR WAS SHIPPED IN WRONG COLOR GUITAR CASE IT CAME IN BLACK, I WANTED BROWN. THEY SAY A GUITAR CANT BE IN PERFECT TUNE UP AND DOWN THE NECK.. THEY LIED! WHERE EVER POSITION I PLAY ITS SPOT ON WITH OR WITH OUT CAPO.I'M A VERY HAPPY CAMPER. JUST NEED TO GET THE RIGHT COLOR CASE. THANKS zZOUNDS
Ease of Use
ONDITION
Musical Background:
30 YEARS PLAY PROFESSIONALLY
Musical Style:
ROCK, COUNTRY, BLUES, CHRISTIAN
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2020 by David G in Manlius, NY
"Lots of Praise from Other Guitarists"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been bringing this Taylor to jams and circles, and the folks listening to me play have been telling me how wonderful it sounds, unplugged or through the PA.. I've been enjoying playing it, the guitar is available to make many different strum and picking sounds, it doesn't get in the way by being difficult to manage, hold, move around on, it's very supportive of the various techniques I use.
Musical Background:
Playing from teenager to retired, guitar and bass, local bands, open mikes, song circles
Musical Style:
Rock n Roll in it's many variations
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2019 by Fred M in Green Bay, WI
"Beautiful !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got this today, and by far one of the finest sounding and playing instruments I have ever picked up ! The case is just as gorgeous as the Guitar itself , and the beautiful tone that comes out of it is remarkable . Was looking at higher priced Taylor's and am Happy I decided on this . I love this Guitar to peices and will have to look no further extremely Satisfied :) plugged in it sounds like heaven :) thanks to Taylor and of course zZounds for making this possible ! if you are thinking about it JUST DO IT ! You won't be disappointed Best Guitar I've ever owned
Musical Background:
50 years
Musical Style:
Blue grass , country, Rock , Blues
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2020 by Johnny Doria in NICEVILLE, FL
"Stunning!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
One of the best sounding guitars I have ever owned! I've always wanted a Koa wood guitar and was very pleasantly pleased with the sound this guitar produced! It is also a great looking guitar and easy to play sounds great plugged in as well! Thank you zZounds for making it happen for me!
Musical Background:
30 years guitar player
Musical Style:
Jazz, country, rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2020 by Scott Jones in Cleburne, TX
"So pleased..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sweet sound, perfect action right out of the case. Not only beautiful, but so playable and sound exceeded my expectations. Highest recommendation. I've spent thousands with zZounds -- and THEY have my highest recommendation too. The service and communications are impeccable, and the payment plans are awesome. Five Stars to zZounds too.
Musical Background:
Veteran guitarist
Musical Style:
Folk, Pop & Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 29, 2019 by Jason C in West Columbia, TX
"Total satisfaction"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this beauty delivered yesterday, and holy cow, I'm ecstatic. This is by far the prettiest, best quality accoustic I've ever purchased. I wanted a cut away body for a bit of lead. I was worried about being able to bend notes to proper pitch. It plays exactly like I was hoping it would. Great action, beautiful tone. It is a fantastic buy, and, as usual, zZounds made it completely painless. Also, the case is exquisite. Totally satisfied.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first new guitar. Did lots of test playing, and even returned a guitar due to string buzz. This was an amazing find. I'm not an expert. I'm noob as they come. As I learn how to play this guitar and guitar in general, the more pleased i become. I fully understand now how big a piece of SH*% my first/ borrowed guitar was. Happy Trails and play on!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2019 by Mike P
"So Beautiful!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First, I have owned several guitars in my day. This is by far the most beautiful acoustic guitar I've ever owned. It is a bright snappy sounding acoustic with decent bottom, great mid and high tones. Is this the best sounding out of all of my guitars, well not really but it's still very good.The action is just about perfect and it is so easy to play. It feels and looks like a $4000 guitar. zZounds was good as usual, fast shipping and it arrived out of tune but the strings were good once tuned.If you want to own the most beautiful acoustic you can buy, well this one has to be it or close to it.
Musical Background:
Teacher/Professional Guitarist
Musical Style:
I play almost everything with heavy influences from rock and jazzy blues.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2020 by Casey T in Vicksburg, MS
"Beautiful"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got my new Taylor in and this guitar is breath taking. Beautiful and plays really well love the mellow tone it has. zZounds is by far one of the best as well. Really fast shipping
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
Country and rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2021 by Rick H in Georgetown, KY
"Great Sounding Guitar!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok, so after owning this guitar for about 2 weeks and to give everyone out there an honest review of this guitar I had to really think about how to write this review. First off I've been playing guitar for 33 years and have performed on stage and been in gigging bands. There are pros and cons to this guitar and the cons are really me nit picking on Taylors cost, marketing strategies , and materials used. So..let me say that the guitar is gorgeous, it really is striking to look at a well finished koa top and all the character that the grain has in it. The sound of KOA, lets just say that it's awesome, it's a very dynamic tone wood, strummed lite to medium and it's very characteristic of Mahogany with a very even tone, dig in and it sounds like it's been hanging out with the rosewood kids, very rich bass response, articulate, and loud. It's kind of like saying it's an all tube acoustic..lol if you get what I'm saying. The pickup system is very natural sounding. Not as good as my Yamaha FGX5 red label but still very good. I've seen some concern on this guitar that it has no back bracing. I don't think that this is an issue because the back and sides are layered koa and the back is arched, this should provide plenty of strength. Setup of the guitar is not as good as Taylor likes to boast, it's adequate, I had to file down the nut slots to .5 mm or .015 of an inch measured at the first fret, Taylors was set was in the ballpark of .030 at the first fret, no one likes playing an F sharp on the E sting when it's supposed to an F..lol, I lowered the action a bit and tweaked the trust rod to a proper a adjustment, this was because I put on 11-52 stings a lighter gauge than the guitar comes with. Also note this guitar prefers phosphor bronze stings over 80/20s. Fret board, and fret dress were perfect, fit and finish of the guitar were perfect. The Hardshell case that is included was ok, nothing special but it will work. OK now for the CONS..and these in no way effect the sound, playability of the guitar once setup or fit and finish. 1st, cheap plastic bridge head pins, REALLY Taylor REALLY, not to worry you can order ebony bridge pins with abalone dots for $18 from Taylor directly. 2nd gripe..the cheesy white painted Taylor logo on the headstock, this is a $1600 dollar Taylor made in Mexico for cost reduction, you could have put the mother of pearl inlay on the headstock, this to me hurts Taylors image. Now the Sapele neck...no reason for this not to be a solid peace of Mahogany, other than to make consumers pay a premium for there more expensive guitars to get a Mahogany neck ( This is a poor marketing strategy to sell more expensive guitars that come with these appiontments because it says Taylor on the headstock. 3rd it appears to have shallow neck bracing and a plywood internal binding so the back can attached to the sides, now neither one of these may matter at all in terms of sound or durability, this is just an observation. I'll update this review over the course of a year as far as durability goes. So to some up this is a Great Sounding Guitar with lots of dynamic range with a 5 star sound quality and for the most part very astatically pleasing to look at and really comfortable to play for long stretches. Is it gig worthy? Is it a keeper? The verdict is still out on those questions. But I'll update, good or bad over the next year.
Musical Background:
33 yr Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Folk
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2020 by a customer from comcast.net
"Not bad......"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i have a Taylor AD17 American Dream Grand Pacific and though this is nice it is a completely different action on this Koa deluxe. This plays ok but costs more. it does however sound great but at 1500 bucks i'd rather buy the American Dream
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us