Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
MXR Carbon Copy M169 Analog Delay Pedal

MXR Carbon Copy Analog Delay Pedal (M169)

From subtle, Gilmour-esque texture to fat "bathroom" slap-back, the CC's got it all! Dial in sweet, warm delay with a fully analog path with true bypass.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted July 23, 2009 by Sam
"A versatile, great-sounding analog delay at a wonderful price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Written by one of our gear experts!
If you are in the market for a solid, versatile delay, then the MXR Carbon Copy is definitely worth a very close look. I'm completely satisfied with the pedal, and it covers everything that I would expect an analog delay to do. Some additional features, such as more control over the delay modulation would have been nice. However, as is, the pedal is a phenomenal value, and the features that the pedal lacks do not hinder the usability of the pedal in any way. A wonderful option for those looking for an affordable, great-sounding delay.
Sound
The MXR Carbon Copy is an analog delay. As opposed to a digital delay, an analog delay typically tends to roll off the high frequency response of the repeats. The Carbon Copy has a very "warm" sound to it. The repeats decay nicely, and as they decay further, the sound tends to distort and compress more and more (especially at higher feedback settings). Personally, this is a good thing, as it allows the trails of repeats to smoothly cascade into one another. The delay is slightly brighter than some of the Malekko analog delays or the old Boss DM series, but seems to be slightly darker than, say, an EHX Deluxe Memory Man. The shorter delay times will yield a brighter delay signal, while longer delay times will have a darker delay signal. The delay will also go into self-oscillation sooner at lower delay times. The self-oscillation on this pedal is quite good, but doesn't seem to be as crazy as other pedals (most notably, the Boss DM-2 comes to mind). The modulation on the Carbon Copy is very nice. It is rather subtle, but can lend a nice, fluid quality to the delay signal. The delay cannot provide a 100 percent wet signal. When the "Mix" knob is fully clockwise, the dry signal is still audible (yet, this is a feature common to most analog delays). The pedal is true-bypass, and there isn't a hugely audible "click" sound when the pedal is engaged (like most true-bypass pedals). It is still audible, but is not audible enough to cause a problem. Overall, the Carbon Copy provides a basic, solid, analog delay signal.
Features
The Carbon Copy is a rather basic delay, in terms of features. The delay features simple controls for Mix, Regen (feedback/repeats), and Delay (delay time), as well as a Mod button for engaging the delay modulation. On the inside of the unit, there are two internal trim pots that allow one to access the rate and depth of the delay signal's modulation. The delay features around 600 ms of delay time, which is rather long for an analog delay (although not the longest analog delay time available). The enclosure is pretty small, which is a plus, as it does not take up too much space on the pedal board. MXR style enclosures are slightly smaller than a typical Boss single-pedal enclosure. In typical MXR fashion, the pedal is very sturdy and well made. I gave the Carbon Copy's features a seven, as it would have been nice to have the internal trim pots accessible on the outside of the unit. More controls for the modulation, or perhaps the option for vibrato instead of chorus would have also been great. However, these features may potentially increase the price of this pedal. Yet, for an analog delay, the features are typical.
Ease of Use
The pedal is quite straightforward. One input, one output, and a standard 9V power connection. It's almost impossible to get a bad sound out of this unit. The internal trimpots are pretty easy to access, if you wish to modify them.
Quality
The Carbon Copy that I received was perfect, both functionally and cosmetically. MXR pedals are very well built, and last quite a long time. Under normal usage, I would expect this pedal to last a very, very long time. The jacks are sturdy, and the knobs feel good.
Value
This pedal is a great value. It's almost impossible to find a quality analog delay for $150.00 or under. When the Carbon Copy first came out, there was almost no other analog delay that was comparable with the same features. However, EHX is coming out with some new analog delays based upon the Deluxe Memory Man that are aimed to take up a more affordable share of the market (roughly in the same price range as the Carbon Copy). Overall though, this pedal is definitely worth the asking price (and then some).
Manufacturer Support
N/A. I've never had to deal with MXR support myself. However, I have heard favorable things from others who have dealt with them. I've gotten the impression that they are fairly easy to deal with.
The Wow Factor
The Carbon Copy is great in this area. Visually, it has a nice finish and a wonderfully simple layout. It is easy to manipulate any of the knobs, and the placement of the jacks and power connector are very pedal-board friendly.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative, Electro, Shoegaze
31 of 31 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2011 by a customer from verizon.net
"REALLY NICE SOUNDING DELAY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
If you want a lot of bells and whistles get a DD7. If you want a nice sounding simple analog delay this is it. I do not need a lot of radical delay effects. Just something sweet and nice for country and blues. I've been trying to find the delay effect that's in my head but cant get it transferred to my DD7. In a few minutes of knob turning I found it and a few more nice settings. Done deal.
Features
Only thing I wish Dunlop would do is put the power plug in the front and not on the sides. But its nothing I cant live with considering I really like the pedal.
Quality
Built nicely.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Country, Blues
11 of 11 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 19, 2013 by Steve S in Miami, FL
"One of the best!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sounds great. I had compared this with the memory toy and memory boy and this one won. In this size, its the best. It sounds just as good as looks. The LEDs are super bright and this thing is quiet. The quality is here. For a basic simple warm sounding analog delay. This thing gets whacky too! I've left the internal trim pots alone, and the mod button still sounds great to me. If you need to tap tempo n do triplets n stuff. This isn't for you. I how you can have it oscillating like crazy, lower the mix n you can still hear your guitar come through.
Sound
Amazing. Super Dynamic. Totally works in all settings. The only thing that would've made this better is to be able to tap tempo. But for this price and to be the size of a phase 90, and a PURE analog delay with true bypass, I don't think it can be beat. I do wish the internal trim pots were outside on the pedal, but then the pedal would have to be bigger. So, its ok with me. You can get soft delays or really crazy Alien sounding oscillations that get loud! No matter what man this is a great sounding pedal.
Features
Everything is great. The Mod button has the inner pots to give it a more of EHX memory man kinda feel. The internal trim pots let you do that. The Knobs give you a good amount of control while keeping things simple.
Ease of Use
compared to other delays. Its as easy as set your mix, how long you want your delay, and how many repeats.
Quality
Super well made. Super reliable. This thing is worth its price. Its lasted me 2 years already I'm sure it last. The LED is BRIGHT!
Value
Yeah totally worth it. If you're after simplicity and the tried and true warm sound of analog delay. Yeah. Now if you want tap tempos, and triplets, Look elsewhere. But in this small size and 100% analog? I don't think it can be beat.
Manufacturer Support
No need and have had it for like 2 years already.
The Wow Factor
Dude honestly looks just as good as it sounds. Honestly man, I'm glad I got it. With this pedal I can use it for crazy sounds, Spacey Pink Floyd guitar sounds, Alien Oscillations, slapback 50/60s reverb sound, I can thicken up my lead tone, I can get an Old School U2 tone from like "I will follow." Its awesome. I don't regret getting it.
Musical Background:
Guitar, been playing 6 to 7 years mostly jamming at home on my own or with a small band
Musical Style:
All forms of rock from classic, punk, hard rock, down to metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"MXR Carbon Copy Analog Delay-Another Vintage Masterpiece from Dunlop"
I'm 57 and I've been playing for 45 years. Don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write this as a Thank You note to Jim Dunlop, who has finally conceded to recreate masterpieces like this analog delay, the '74 vintage Phase 90 with a hand wired circuit board and hand selected transistors and FET's, (It's $119 people!)and the Hendrix pedals that were painstakingly built to spec from the ground up. (Octavio and Fuzz Face are on my short list) These pedals will have permanent places on my pedalboard and will become the heirlooms of the future. My kid will sell these on Ebay for a thousand bucks each in 2044.
Sound
Super quiet, old school analog delay in the best tradition. Unbelievable 600ms in this small footprint for a very reasonable price.
Features
This delay has all of the standard features- length of delay, regeneration, a mix knob that dials in the amount of wet signal you want to blend with dry signal and a nice bonus feature-a modulation button that throws modulation on the repeats, simulating tape wow and flutter. This feature is even adjustable via 2 trim pots under the hood.
Ease of Use
The provided instruction pamphlet offers a few sample settings to get you going-then you are on your own. For anyone who has used a delay pedal in the past, it's easy to dial in great sounds.
Quality
Dunlop/MXR have a tradition rooted in quality and durability. I have never owned one of their pedals that required servicing, and that includes MXR pedals that are 35 years old.
Value
You can spend a fortune on a delay pedal and I guess it all depends on your needs. If you want tape echo, you should drop the 900 bucks and get a Fulltone Tube Tape Echo. If you want tap tempo feature, expect to drop between $350-400. for a decent unit. If you want good quality analog delay in a relatively simple, straightforward unit, you can spend $330 for a Maxon AD999 or you can get this delay which is at least as good and takes up much less real estate on your pedal board.
Manufacturer Support
Don't know-see above.
The Wow Factor
I bought this pedal within 10 minutes of seeing it. Dunlop is currently coming out with a line of analog, old -school pedals that are exact recreations of the pedals I grew up with. These same pedals sell on the used vintage market for many hundreds of dollars, and lets not forget the fact that they are old. Even well-made pedals have a finite life span. Buying this pedal was like a trip back in time.... having the opportunity to walk into my neighborhood music store and buy a brand new Ibanez AD9 or an MXR Time Delay. It was a thrill, and the sound is to die for.
Musical Background:
45 years playing with classic rock bands and for my own pleasure
Musical Style:
rock/blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2015 by Taylor Hansen in Winston-Salem, NC
"Great little pedal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed a basic delay pedal to use occasionally for my bass and I decided to give this one a shot. It's very compact and feels well made. It does exactly what I need it to and is easy to use. I like the modulation that's built in. It's like a light chorus effect and adds a nice sound when I use it in conjunction with my chorus pedal. I also love that it has true bypass so if I ever have a power issue it won't interfere with my sound. I can't speak on reliability since I haven't had it very long but it I get the impression that it will last a long time. This is a pretty basic analog pedal so if you're looking for fancy delays, you'll probably want to look at something digital. Great product!
Musical Background:
Been playing bass for about 8 years
Musical Style:
Progressive metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
MXR Carbon Copy M169 Customer Review
Sound
Each time it delays, it's a little more muffled than the original note. It's cool and very vintage compared to digital delays where the echo sounds exactly the same every time. The Mod feature adds some more colour to the echoes. It's a very cool-sounding pedal. Also, if you move the delay knob while holding a note, it makes really neat cat-like sounds. You'll have to hear for yourself, I can't describe it well enough.
Features
If you take off the back plate, you can adjust the depth and speed of the modulation that can be applied to the wet signal. It also has other standard delay controls like regeneration (amount of repetitions), delay time and mix. The mod feature just puts it over the edge. The delay times can even go as long as most digital delays at around 5 seconds or so.
Ease of Use
How could a delay pedal be difficult? It can do slapback echo, long pink floydish delays and pretty much anything in between.
Quality
MXR pedals are all built like friggin tanks. I've owned several and none have ever let me down.
Value
A little pricey, but it's a good pedal so I can't complain.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed to call them, which is the best kind of support I could ask for.
The Wow Factor
It's forest green sparkle. If you don't think it looks sweet, there's something wrong with you.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Indie, Pop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2014 by Mr B in Spanish Fort , AL
"love my MXR analog delay pedal for bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Delay on bass? YOU BET! The delay only works on higher notes on bottom strings so your solo or riff will shine with this pedal. I use it in combo with Octaver. Knobs set to about 10 O'clock position.
Musical Background:
30yrs playing, country, pop, rock, gospel
Musical Style:
Country, pop, rock, gospel, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2014 by chris horen in san tan valley, AZ
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Have used many delay pedals over the years but thus is by far the best!
Musical Background:
30+ years of metal guitar, plus teaching.
Musical Style:
Metal/rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2017 by Brad Bishop in Beaumont, TX
"MXR CC Delay"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Hands down the most awesome delay I've ever played with
Musical Background:
10 years
Musical Style:
rock, blues, metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 24, 2008 by Julio
"Sparkle finish, Awesome sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Written by one of our gear experts!
I was looking for a small analog delay for my board & I found it in the Carbon Copy. Simple, small, warm, detailed, & looks cool. I can use it in subtle or crazy ways. I'd def. replace it if it got lost or stolen.
Sound
It has a really rich thick sound. It's perfect for all types of music (country/pop/rock/exper/etc.). It's really easy to get a nice subtle delay trailing behind or you can overload the Regen & get an awesome distortion. No tap tempo, so you will actually have to listen to your music.
Features
The pedal is pretty straightforward. It just has single in/out jacks. The bright blue LEDs are a nice feature.
Ease of Use
3 knobs! It really doesn't get much simpler.
Quality
The product feels solid. It's metal & the footswitch is heavy duty. The finish & feel of everything is awesome.
Value
I think the price is fair. The sound quality seals the deal for me.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't contacted them.
The Wow Factor
This pedal is awesome looking. It has that sparkle deep green finish. The bright blue LED lights really finish it off. The size is great since it's not a pedal board hog.
Musical Background:
Musician/Engineer
Musical Style:
Ambient/Rock/Pop
20 of 22 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2017 by Neal M in Dallas, TX
"Really good"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm so happy with this purchase. I've never owned an MXR pedal before. This thing is solid, built like a brick. Easy to dial in and sounds great. zZounds is the BEST! Pay as you play rocks!
Musical Background:
Casual at home
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to