Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
HeadRush FRFR-108 Powered Guitar Speaker Cabinet

HeadRush FRFR-108 Powered Guitar Speaker Cabinet

Pair your HeadRush pedalboard -- or any other amp or effects modeler -- with the lightweight FRFR-108 to hear every nuance of your precisely dialed-in sound.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted April 6, 2019 by Joseph Farley in Princeton, WV
"Headrush frfr 108 powered speaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have only had it for 2 days now and im seriously impressed! This little thing kicks out some sound for 200 bucks you cant go wrong at all. It sounds great to my ears for the price its hard to believe they can even make it, let alone make it sound as good as they have. I will be buying another one to hook up in stereo asap. If you dont like it you can return it,but you wont you will say hell for that price il take 2.
Musical Background:
Ive been playing since 2014, i play guitar and bass sometimes keyboard.
Musical Style:
I play rock, and blues mostly but am open to play anything im able to.
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2020 by Joe Faraldi in Manahawkin, NJ
"Stereo setup with GT1000"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I originally purchased one of these cans for my Boss Gt1000 and was very impressed with its clarity and power. I have my system setup on stage where my signal goes direct to the front of house and I have in ear monitors. I also have the 108 for on stage monitoring of my guitar signal (in front of me) which allows me to hear my signal better and also gives me the option of creating natural feedback. Just bought my 2nd one from zZounds and now I have a stereo setup. Sounds incredible. Opted for the smaller of the two cabs (rather than the 12) and I'm glad I did. Super portable, massive amount of headroom and great representation of my tone. For the price of a boutique pedal you can't go wrong with this unit.
Musical Background:
Playing for over thirty years. Worship leader at a large church.
Musical Style:
I dig it all.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 14, 2019 by Aaron H in Abilene, TX
"Tiny speaker, huge sound."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This little guy packs a serious punch. I play in a metal band, and used this as a personal monitor with my Helix. It's super clear and detailed, at all volumes i tested.I have a heavy handed drummer, so I had to turn this up to 7-8, and for that reason i decided to return this for the 112 version. If you are a bedroom jammer, or play with a lighter handed drummer this speaker is the best option for the money.
Musical Background:
Played guitar for almost 20 years. Currently rehearsing to play live with my new project.
Musical Style:
Metal, Metalcore, Djent,
19 of 20 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2019 by Joshua R in Fuquay Varina, NC
"Holy S#!+ This Thing....."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It cranks! However 2000w on an 8” is gonna end up blowing it. Be sure to Low Cut your rigs at 90-95hz (which already should be anyhow). But, when used right and Vai stages right, she’s tight and loud! Weight is good and the size is nice for moving around, easy to carry. How about a Low Cut switch Headrush?
Musical Background:
23 Years
Musical Style:
Various
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Sounds massive"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For a small speaker, this packs a lot of punch. First thing I noticed was how bass heavy it was, so I dialed back the bass in my main output section on my kemper and dialed back the low end frequencies on most of my profiles. That was really my only gripe but it wasn’t much of a hassle. This is still a high quality speaker for the price. I may even buy a second one.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2020 by Chris Hess in Kemah, TX
"You won’t be sorry"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great amp for the price. I’m using it for my acoustic with a Bob Wier stomp preamp and it sounds fantastic. Took a chance on it instead of getting an acoustic amp. The chance was worth taking. It’s light, loud and has a shelved or flat eq button on the back. It also doubles as a monitor, a LOUD monitor, for my electric rig. It’s a great tool and great piece of gear. I dig It.
Musical Background:
25 plus years.
Musical Style:
Classic RockYacht Rock Texas Country Hard Rock It’s all good baby.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2019 by Don T in Westville, IL
"Almost awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I really wanted to love this thing but it's just not made for gigging and I've found "may just have a defective one" that overheats and shuts off if left on for more than an hour or so. Three times at practice it went into protection mode and shut down for no reason. You get what you pay for I suppose.
Musical Background:
20 years playing guitar
Musical Style:
Metal, blues, folk,
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"These Are As Flat Sounding As Cheap Pancakes,Yet Their Frequency Response Is NEAR Studio Grade"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If only I had known about these the day they came out!. To be fair, I've been attempting to find the Holy Grail ...er, perfect marriage between my quality floor modelers loaded with my custom,personal patches to ACCURATELY reproduce what I have programmed into the floor rigs. Big amps,stay home! I have 1x10" cabs,2x12" cabs,4x10" cabs,sealed choices,all kinds of speakers. I am blessed, except they ALL colour my GT-1 hand-tweaked patches/presets in live situations. I can dial 'em in, but need a recovery period from ear frequency overload and load in/outs.Enter the HeadRush FRFR-08 powered cabs,exactly what I wanted and needed.Sheesh, they make all my floor modelers sound like they do when I record via USB,stereo 1'4" cables,and even send a line out to PA or mixer! You can run through guitar amps but you'll get the phasing issue pronto.Look, I have been playing live gigs since 1981,non-stop. I play Gibson,Fenders,PRS,Ibanez big $ rigs,and will not compromise my tone. I'm too old to now, mofos! It's just all the skate slams n such have made lugging gear a real task. These 108's even work for stereo tops and a sub, a studio level wedge monitor,etc.We have recently purchased another set of the 108 and 112's, and that's in the middle of all this C-19. WE have survived by downsizing/adjusting,like everyone else. Thanks zZounds. Quality gear,small footprints,etc for DJ OR our bands gigs(excellent drum monitors,btw) These are perfection. Call zZounds, they know more than me but WOWZA,these make great gtr amps!Please trust the value of these! I take at least one to...everywhere!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Just Purchased Second Pair"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
We have pair of the 12" and their flat response and quality build have gave our prized floor modeler's a whole nuther' lease in the studio,the road,and @ home. We grabbed a set of the 8" cabs for a BOSS GT-1 stereo rig and they just nail it,every time. HeadRush rule, regarding these flat response cabs at these rates. I'd prefer a $1,500+ powered cab but the FRFR can't be beat until you DO pay that much.Another mind-blowing thing is they work so damn well as a second A/B set of recording studio monitors,it's caused us to reconsider our current set primaries. Kinda hurt but can't complain at the HeadRush vale.Oh, and the work perfect as tops of 10" or 12" sub. 3-wqay PA setups.These are value workhorses that will make your Kemnper Profiler sound as good as ever, your cheap Zoom like studio grade, and compliment our BOSS and Katana gear as good as our High$ PA cabs.ARGGGHHH, wish we would have known all this sooner, but hey, we are finally satisfied,Hombre's.
Sound
These meet a lot of needs, are tough as Texas women,and sound GREAT.
Features
Loved the XLR in's n out,w Line out to board and quality IEC plug/cable
Ease of Use
Perfectly tuned nut has options!
Quality
Beautiful and functional both!
Value
Yes,but I was supposed to get a scratch and dent savings but didn't . THAT SUCKED
Manufacturer Support
no
The Wow Factor
It fits a niche
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to