844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20X-8PW8
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Lee Malia Guitar

Based on the classic Les Paul Artisan, the Epiphone Lee Malia Les Paul Custom sports a P-94 single-coil in the neck and a hot-wound 84T-LM in the bridge.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"This guitar will change your view of Epiphone!" submitted December 5, 2015

By Ted Macdonald in Carlisle, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Ex-Pro, Now collecting and still learning new styles!
Music Style: Blues, Classic Rock, Southern rock, Jazz, Metal, Thrash (TESTAMENT) Go Alex Skolnick!!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got mine over a year ago, Probably right before it was officially released. This has got to be one of my favorite guitars of the 50+ in my collection! (That includes about 20 different Gibson's, Fenders, Ibanez, Dean USA etc... I surely was NOT expecting anything near this caliber from Epiphone! First, It is absolutely stunning to look at in person, I know the inlays are not "real" Pearl, But they sure do look real! The craftsmanship is FLAWLESS! Neck is fast and straight with zero fret buzz, Fret bar ends are smooth as silk! (Must have been hand filed) And the sounds you can coax out of this baby are very pleasing! (Thanks to Gibson USA pick-ups) The only negative I can think of is that it's a CRIME to sell a guitar this nice without a case! I have pre-ordered the 100th anniv, Epi LP in Natural because I know if it's even close to this one it will be a winner! Though I highly doubt it will beat this. In fact, If your planning on purchasing the 100th anniv. and you do not have one of these yet, CANCEL the 100th and buy this one instead! It's 100.00 less and I promise it will beat it! (And you will LOVE it!) I did not buy mine from zZounds because as I said, I got mine before anyone else had them to sell. I will say, I am seriously considering buying a 2nd one (And a case for it) from zZounds just to have one to play and one to preserve. Try to find one of the Gibson Artisian LP's from the 70's in mint condition.....Damn near impossible! This offering from Epiphone is the closest your going to get to that Gibson Artisian from the past. Take it from a player of 43 years (Now a collector and player) This is one axe you do NOT want to miss! Or years from now when you see one you will wish you had bought one. I cannot see many folks (If any) parting with theirs in the future (They are just that GOOD!) I highly recommend this guitar and cannot say enough about it!
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar, not "just for the money"" submitted October 23, 2017

By Paul Cutrona in Martinsburg, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years, 30 of the professionally, live, recording and consulting.. and teaching.
Music Style: Mostly rock, but have also done country, dance/pop and other genres.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Did have to set it up - did a fret level, and polished them up. also, the bridge pickup comes with all the pole screws raised; not sure why - so I lowered them and brought the puckup up a bit higher. Done. Plays like any gibson or (well set up) Epi I've owned. It's a bit heavier than my other LPs, but the sound, and the feel... just creamy all around, and gets attention - lots of good comments on the looks and sound. This guitar saw it's maiden gig last saturday night, we are a hard rock/classic metal band, and I used this most of the night - it handled everything, and sounded perfect. I only used the p94/neck pickup a few times but it sounded great too. The guitar itself, "fit and finigh" wise, was excellent - no blemishes, no oversprays, all the binding was tight, the inlays were perfect, just a well put-together guitar. This makes 5 total epiphones I current have in my arsenal for gigging: 100th anniversary lp (natural), wildkat koa ltd (I did replace the dogear pickups with mini-humbuckers by gfs, since they howled and fed back at high volumes and high gain), 59 explorer/korina, sheraton II, and this. Sold off my gibson LP and my ibanezes, and my prs se - I'm very happy with my epiphones and they are all (with the exception of the wildkat).. get this.. stock. While the newer ones all have either probuckers or gibson pickups out of the box, even my korina explorer with the epi classic 57s sounds great - those people who bash them just do not know how to set up a guitar, and probably dont know how to play, and blame it all on the epi pickups and guitars themselves. I'm a professional player for decades and have played everything from gibson to prs - and while I'd never have a reason to bash either of their products, there is no p-lace in my life for a $4000 guitar in a late night bar gig. This epiphone is just simply a great axe. Be wary of the weight though - while I like the solid heavy feel, and the resulting sound and sustain, it IS heavier than the average duck. One other thing - I have dealt with Epiphone three now, regarding faulty gear, and they have made good on the lifetime warranty without question, and have either repaired or replaced whatever was wrong. Kudos to Epiphone, they have stepped up their game in every way this past decade.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If Gibson and Schecter had a child..." submitted September 4, 2016

By David Narine
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 Years, Pro/Home Jammer
Music Style: Metal, Alternative, Classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is not only visually appealing but it is also well crafted. The pickups and coil tapping is great, the tone quality is great, and the feel is great not only for those beautiful classics but also for those fast ripping shreds. Overall, this guitar is amazing. It suits my style perfect. I play metal and I love cleans, this guitar does both very well. Does not come with a case, so I purchased a Gator TSA locking Case for an additional $150.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Exceptional guitar. One of Epiphone's best! " submitted June 15, 2015

By Christopher C in Bradford, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When Epiphone announced the Lee Malia Custom Artisan, I knew it was going to be special. Having owned this guitar for the past couple weeks, my assumptions were correct. This guitar is a work of art. Not only is it beautiful, it sounds amazing. The Gibson USA P94 and 84T pickup combination creates a vast pallette of tones, from bright crystal clear cleans to face-melting growls. The guitar is pretty heavy. Mine is easily 10+ lbs. It was setup perfectly out of the box. My only complaint about this guitar are the stock Epiphone strap locks are junk. Throw them out and buy a set of gold Schaller Security locks. It's a minor and relatively cheap and simple fix and does not take anything away from the breathtaking quality and beauty of this guitar. I highly recommend getting one. It's the last Les Paul you'll ever need.
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get this guitar!" submitted March 19, 2016

By Gary B in New Albany, MS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 40 years. Piano, Sax, Guitar, and currently learning Bass. Mostly home player, but I do jam with others.
Music Style: classic rock, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Want a Gibson-quality Les Paul at 1/3 the price! The Lee Malia LP is as good as any Gibson LP I've ever seen, and better than many. The pickups (American made Gibsons) are great, offering many different tones. Epiphone has a real winner with this one.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"beautiful, versatile guitar for a good price" submitted November 12, 2017

By robert matsuk-beck in dayton, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: amature guitar, bassist, and luthier of 8 years
Music Style: blues, jazz, and rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Hands down my favorite guitar i have ever owned, as far as epiphone goes this is in a class of its own. Plays as well as any gibson i have ever gotten my hands on and looks better than most. The only flaw i could find is the same as a few other people have mentioned and its the strange texture the frets have and they could probably have used a little polishing. however after a few days of playing it this goes away and really isnt even an issue worth mentioning in the long run. As far as construction goes this guitar is top notch, neck is fast and binding is flawless and overall this is a breathtaking guitar that looks just as good up close as it does from a distance. I wanted a guitar with p90s for a while and decided to buy an epiphone wildkat to satisfy this desire, that same day i found this one, and after reading some reviews and hearing some demos i decided to give this one a go as well. after having both for a week i returned the wildkat because this guitar just put it to shame. the versatility of this guitar is incredible with the p90 as well as a tapped humbucker you can get more unique sounds out of this guitar than any other i can think of. Overall i would say this stands far above its peers in the epiphone lineup and far above many other instruments out there with a much larger price tag. So if youre even remotely considering getting another guitar let this be the one because you certainly wont regret it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beast of a Guitar" submitted January 28, 2017

By David Narine
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 Years playing Jam at home, Semi Pro.
Music Style: Metal, Alternative, Rock, Blues, World
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Perhaps one of the best guitars I've ever played. Love it. Looks great, sounds great, stays in tune, easy to maintain, and reliable to the gigging musician.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar, but not perfect" submitted January 11, 2016

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is stunning to look at, great to play, and has a nice classic tone. I had an issue with mine playing in tune no matter how I set it up and adjusted the intonation. I tried a couple different sets of strings and let my local shop look at it. Nothing helped. Others have not had this issue so it is just mine. Don't be afraid to buy one
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I have to join the chorus here." submitted June 2, 2017

By Ronald Miller in PORTLAND, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Even with all the glowing reviews, I am still surprised at the quality of this guitar. I really can't find a difference between this and the Les Paul standards I have played. The P94 HB combo is just what I want and I just love playing this snotty, snarling beast. A++ to Epiphone.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20X-8PW8. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!