800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15H8-J41K
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Rode NT5 Microphone

Rode's highly sensitive 1/2"-diaphragm cardioid condenser shines on acoustic guitar and more. Pick up a matched pair for capturing performances in stereo.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great mic for the price" submitted November 27, 2003

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Classical, Metal, Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I recently purchased the NT5 pair before Rode's price jump in November. I also had the chance to do a "shoot out" with the NT5 and 6 other mics (TLM 103, Pro 37r, AT 4033, SM 81, AKG 414, AKG 451). The results were quite surprising. The output on the 103, the 4033, and the NT5 were very similar. The NT5 was a little less hot, but had a higher output than all the other mics. As for noise, I found that the NT5 had a little more noise than the 4033, and the 103. As far as frequency response, the NT5 was very similar to the 451. There was a nice high end presence that added clarity and brightness to the sound. Feature: Would be nice to have a bass rolloff, but that's what filters are for. Would be nice to have a pad, the output is fairly hot. Value: After doing the shoot out, I realized that for $300.00 a pair, the quality was outstanding. It held up to the 414, the 103, and the 4033, qutie nice for a fraction of the cost.
17 of 17 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"living stereo at it's best!!" submitted February 23, 2005

By billhall.US
Overall
Sound
Features
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: singer'songwriter
Music Style: folk
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Crystal clear and in a wonderful presence! I use these mics for live to two track stereo recording. I record both vocals and acoustic guitar all in one unit stereo right and left. These little microphones have a substantial and and exacting vocal presence that is not logical for small condensors and the most balanced sound on acoustic guitar I have ever heard. Feature: great mounts but a shockmounts for a bit more money would have been even better Value: get them before someone at Rode figures out what they are really worth Manufacturer Support: have not needed them The Wow Factor: beautiful little mics
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"RODE NT5 for choir" submitted April 12, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Choir singer, sound system setup for live choir.
Music Style: Classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: Bought a pair of RODE NT5, main purpose is choir miking. Have use it for more than a year, I would say these NT5 sounds very neutral. It is also accurate, so any flat or sharp singer could be easily heard. Tried for vocal as well, sounds neutral, but I prefer a warmer and thicker sound for vocal. I would easily recommend these stereo mics for choir and instruments. Ease of Use: Easy to use, fairly high gain before feedback. Quality: Solid, never give any problem so far. My only complain is the NT5 sticker at the bottom of the mic, easily peeled off. Value: I bought a new pair for less than USD 300 (in Singapore). For the price, I think it is hard to beat it. Quality / Price is very good. Manufacturer Support: Not needed so far, haven't tried. The Wow Factor: Yes, would buy more pairs if needed. Overall: Good sound and quality!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What you need." submitted January 11, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician, recording engineer at project studio
Music Style: Alternative, Rock, Punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: I was very happy with the sound. Very clear and well defined. I didn't need to eq them. Feature: Nice case, mic clips... what more do you need? They don't come with different capsules liek some mics, so I won't give it a 10. Quality: I don't like that the brand name and model, serial number, etc are on a sticker that starts to peal off when you put it in the mic clip. Other than that, these things are great. They seem well built and rugged. Value: This is well worth its price. Manufacturer Support: Never had to deal with them, so I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt. The Wow Factor: These mics are nice and small, well built and come with a sturdy case that, although it's bulky, keeps your stuff organized and safe. Overall: Sure you could spend more money, but you want the most bang for your buck and you want a pair of mics that will sound pro. These are those.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Incredible sound and build quality for the price." submitted December 6, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: professional classical musician / techno hobbyist
Music Style: classical and techno
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: They're very true to the original character of the sound. Feature: n/a Ease of Use: n/a Quality: The build quality is exceptional - the little black stickers at the bottom are not securely applied, but this has no effect on the integrity of the unit. Value: These mics are freakishly cheap for the quality you get. Manufacturer Support: I've had no need of service so far - the company seems very accessible with product registration and info via their website. They even maintain a list of serial #s of their microphones which have been reported stolen, so you can double-check your used purchases. The Wow Factor: They're awfully pretty Overall: I would buy again.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Orgasmic" submitted August 11, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Back to Product Information
Sound: Can barely tell the difference between these mics and mics double the price Feature: Comes with everything you need Ease of Use: Plug in with phantom power and use them baby Quality: very durable Value: buy these
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"cheap, and sound like it" submitted May 19, 2013

By adam brower in mendota, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 years wasted at music of all kinds
Music Style: music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: i use my NT5's only for field work. don't fool yourself. yes, you can get a matched pair for ~430 USD, but you're not getting what you really need, which is probably the Neumann KM184's or better. buy these for stereo field recoding, ok. but in the studio, they are tinny in the highs and flat in the mids. they don't cost much, but if your studio work is important, spend enough to get real mics.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Lovely." submitted April 21, 2004

By a customer from flamethrowerstudios.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I was skeptical about Rode mics at first. Then I decided to try them out while I was looking for drum overheads just for a laugh. I laughed all the way home with these. I am impressed! Feature: Main feature is that they sound great. Quality: The funny thing is, they are really small. But they feel really solid. I am not going to worry about them anytime soon I think. Value: Blew away a lot of other sd condensors in its class for a bit less dough. Manufacturer Support: Don't know. Overall: Don't think they are as good as Neumann, but for the price I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Nice!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best value mics" submitted April 24, 2008

By a customer from btinternet.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Classical / Semi Classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: Bright top end and a bit light at the bottom Feature: Cardioid and an optional omni capsule Ease of Use: I always struggled to get the correct polar pattern base cuts positions on my AKG C414, but with NT5s there are no other options, which make these mics very simple to setup. Quality: Satin nickel finish Value: Great, paid only 195 pounds for brand new matching stereo pair with sequential number. Manufacturer Support: An on-line product registration with 10 year warrenty Overall: Best value condenser mics with a great sound.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15H8-J41K. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!