800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 173W-SF14
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Rode NT2A Variable Mic

The Rode NT2A invokes the silky-smooth spirit of the legendary microphones of the '50s and '60s, with the benefits of modern technology.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Weel worth your money." submitted April 24, 2011

By a customer from thesignaturemediagroup.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: House
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I use this product primarily for vocals and I like the way it sounds. Feature: This product came with a shockmount and a pre-mounted pop filter. The mic itself has cutoffs and is multi-directio0nal which I'm sure serves its purposes as an all-around microphone. Ease of Use: Plug and play. Pretty simple. Comes with a DVD with some insights into useage. Quality: This thing is solid, has weight to it. Not a flimsy microphone. Good quality. Well built. It is cosmetically appealing as well. Value: Go get this mic, you will not be dissappointed. Manufacturer Support: Not sure, haven't had the need to use them. The Wow Factor: Wouldn't have bought it otherwise! Overall: Will definitely keep this guy around. It is definitley a nice addition to any mic collection. Can't beat it for the price.
14 of 14 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You can't beat Aussie Babes and Beer for inspiration to do a totally superlative job designing, manufacturing and marketing thes" submitted March 16, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Full-time musician formerly with Ray Charles touring band/Engineer/Producer
Music Style: Any
Back to Product Information
Sound: Yes it does sound a bit like a Neumann 89. The edge-terminated HF-1 Capsule makes it more like a 414. The Neumann's have center-terminated caps. I've used it on many sources: Spaced pair omni, Blumlein pair (crossed figure of eight), Piano, Drums, Voice, Sax, Trombone, Strings, Clarinet, M-S stereo, As the mid in a Decca Tree with two 414's. It's very versatile. I have produced several CD's with these mics basically covering styles from classical chamber music to jazz and pop Feature: The features are terrific. As stated before, the multi-pattern settings are silently switched and easy to operate. Sometimes the switches can be changed without noticing so make sure to check the settings before hoisting it up 15'. Ease of Use: Just that the switches are a little too easy to operate and you have to double check them. Quality: Excellent construction. They're made in Australia where they make the best beer and have extremely beautiful women, strong support for the arts in a non-pompous manner and lots of beaches. The Aussies have blown the Chinese out of the water. It's Neumann quality for sure. Value: Worth more than any mic under a thousand except maybe the older AKG 414's Manufacturer Support: A big fat N/A! I have heard of their great support and ten year warranty and have never needed it. I own 6 Rodes along-side my Neumann's and Akg's. 2 K-2's, 2 Nt2-a's and 2 Nt5's w/optional omni caps. They have all served extremely well with not a moments problem. The Wow Factor: They are solid and never screw up. The design is sleek and under-stated and reflects the integrity of the Australian people as a whole. Overall: I plan on using all of my Rode mics forever. When they come out with a Stereo version of the K-2 (K-24), I'll buy that ASAP. Basically an AKG C-24 with better specs. They will corner that market. I'll be first in line and buy two.
20 of 21 people (95.24%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"such nice sound" submitted March 29, 2012

By Esther L in Centennial, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 13 years, guitar, piano, violin, voice, ukulele, drums, etc. Mic used for recording at home.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This mic has such a nice sound. I was originally going to buy the NT1A, but I'm glad I went with this - the different switches record different sounds, and I can truly find the best sound for whatever room or instrument is being used.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Upgraded to a RODE...very impressed" submitted October 1, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Engineer, Producer, Artist
Music Style: Hip Hop/R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I was a bit nervous about buyying this budget friendly mic at first. I didn't think it would live up to the U87 comparisons I've read but believe me, it definatly can hold it's own. Beats the hell out of the TLM 103 and my Blue Baby Bottle. Very flat, warm and full recordings on male vocals. It's got a smooth presence to it. Not brittle like the TLM 103. Coupled with my Joe Meek OneQ, which is another underrated preamp in my opinion, this microphone is out of this world. Simply put, I was blown away. Well worth the money. Feature: I hate mics that do not include a shockmount. But the HPF siwtches, pads, omni, cardioid and figure 8 switches are a huge plus. Ease of Use: Plug and Play Quality: Amazing Value: 400 bucks for this piece is a steal. They could get away charging a good 1,200 for it. The Wow Factor: Very solid mic with nickel plated finish on it. Dope
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One of the best microphones in the world!!!" submitted October 17, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer/ Hip-Hop artist/ Active Classical Musician
Music Style: Hip-Hop and Classical (possibly Ambient too, and experimental)
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds so warm and smooth. The quality can be compared to microphones such as the Neumann U87, which is amazing. The best Rode since the NTK, in my opinion. Sounds great live and perfect for Hip-Hop, Pop, RnB and instrumental recording as well. Mine came with the shockmount, which was very good. Feature: What doesn't it have? Its a Rode version of the N.U87 Perfect for everything that I have used it for so far. Ease of Use: Plug-in and have fun, just connect it to the mixer/interface (obviously something with phantom power) and then have fun. Even a beginner musician/engineer will find this simple to use. Quality: Looks beautiful, feels nice and heavy. The design is simple, yet pretty. Once you see it, you know it's a Rode product. Value: 10 times cheaper than the U87? The Rode company must be high, quickly buy this and enjoy this. Best value in the market, nothing is as cheap and as good. Manufacturer Support: I had this imported from Germany (which had it come in from Australia) and everything worked really quickly and I've received all the support I needed, I can also get an account at the Rode's website, which isn't important to me now, but could be helpful to many. The Wow Factor: YOU NEED THIS! Overall: Overall, this is generally one of the microphones I have worked with and it feels great. Amazing quality and brilliant value. Get this if you're a musician/engineer/voice-actor or whatever, it's a steal. The Australians are wrestling the Germans in the microphone race, and it is absolutely exciting.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"NT2A - the way to go!" submitted August 24, 2009

By a customer from telkomsa.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist, vocal arranger, recording engineer in training
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: Excellent sound! Ease of Use: Very easy to use/understand Quality: Good workmanship Value: Best value for my money spent Manufacturer Support: Website is very helpful The Wow Factor: Great features Overall: Just bought the NT1-A
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Rode NT2A Variable Pattern Microphone " submitted January 19, 2014

By Fitzpatrick Onyenaucheya in Missouri City, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: MC and Self taught audio engineer
Music Style: hip hop mainly and venture into other genres
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What you get is much more than what you pay for." submitted October 27, 2006

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is amazingly pure. Very neutral, so very "factual" sound. Feature: There's no shockmount included, but that's what keeps the price low. There's no handmade cherry box like Blue Bottle, but that costs more than ten times more. But it does include built in polar controls, so that's really useful. Ease of Use: Plug and play. Extra controls built in on the mic increase productivity. Quality: It amazed me. Completely metal construction and no flimsiness whatsoever. Perfect fit and finish. Value: The best value in the industry. Manufacturer Support: LOL, didn't need support.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Silky, Smooth, Warm & Upfront" submitted May 10, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: 9 Years
Music Style: US RnB like Joe, Mario, Usher, etc.
Back to Product Information
Sound: This multi pattern condenser sounds very silky indeed. I just sold my AT4047 to fun this mic, and with the savings i bought a Focusrite Voicemaster Pro mic pre. This is one killer sounding mic on male vocals. Its smooth and very flattering, almost like a tube mic. I love apply gentle +1/-1db cuts and boosts of Eq (on the Voicemaster) to shape the sound just the way i want it. Its very responsive to effects and thats what shines about this mic. I'm using it to record male vocals for smooth RnB vocals. I love the Voicemaster with this mic, as i can go through the various stages of processors to get a very polished sound on vocals. Compared to my old AT4047 (a very underated mic), this mic blows it away for smoothness and overall sound quality. This mic is also quieter, and feels much more solid. Feature: I think its safe to say that this mic is Rodes version of Neumanns U87. It costs 10 times less, and performs just as good, if not better. I an busy mix it would be difficult to pick the best mic, but in solo the NT2A sounds much more flattering without any eq or other effects. The multi patterns are brilliant and just like the u87 you can switch from one to the other without any cheap artifacts like chinese mics with multipatterns. Ease of Use: Its pretty much a plug and play mic, although i wish it came with the shockmount that the K2 comes with. I use the clip instead, which does the job. Quality: The build quality of this mic is superlative. Its solid, and free from any housing noise. The mic is well engineered inside with zero clutter (think Apple G5), and it feels heavy and looks impressive. The gold plated XLR is a bonus as well as solid polar pattern switches. Overall i love this mic to bits. I paid a very low price and may just pick up another or get a K2 tube mic instead, or another brand like the Neumann TLM 103 for a different flavour. Value: Worth every cent, this mic is worth 5-10 times its asking price, no kiddin. Its much better than the old NT2, infact its a different mic all together. The top end is much smoother and not ragged like so many other mics. Manufacturer Support: I have use Rode support in the US, and they are fairly good. I was told that Rode mics now come with 10 Years of warranty. The Wow Factor: The look of this mic is very slick, its not big and bulky like all the far east mic, but its a heavy mic - you need a good mic stand. It looks and feels solid, and should last for decades if kept well. Overall: A superb mic and probably the finest sounding mic in its class and 10 times more. It beats the Soundelus U195 anyday of week for vocals, its much better than AT series mics, much better than any SE mic i have tried, and it holds its own weight with much more expensive mics from Europe.
27 of 30 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Formidable performance Vs very low cost" submitted January 1, 2006

By a customer from libero.it
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: recording musician
Music Style: classic, jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very clean with a little enphasys on 4 KHz, incidentally very useful for distant miking
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 173W-SF14. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!