866-ZZOUNDS (866-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20W-F92F
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Mackie SRM650

Build a professional PA system with the Mackie SRM650s. These powered speakers have tough all-wood cabinets and custom 15" drivers for huge low-end punch.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"I couldn't be more pleased!" submitted October 21, 2014

By James F in Seattle, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been involved professionally in music since I was 18, but have played and sang since I was five - over 45 years ago.
Music Style: From punk rock to opera, I do it all and these speakers will be put through their paces, that is for sure.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been both a night club and mobile DJ for over 30 years. I've heard a lot of powered loudspeakers in the past, but was never really all that impressed so I have been avoiding a much needed compacting of my gear. I started researching the Mackie and QSC high-end lines a couple months ago, and have listened to both. Frankly, I don't know what all the fuss is about when it comes to QSC K series. Do they sound better than the Mackie SRM line? Yes, but the sonic superiority of the QSC KW152 is really quite negligible, and at half the price and almost 15 pounds lighter - the Mackie SRM650 wins hands down.Upon receiving my new Mackie SRM650's, I wanted to make sure they were fully operational as I know how rough shipping companies can be on expensive electronics. I didn't feel like pulling out a mixer, so I just plugged my trusty old Mac into the handy RCA inputs in the back with no pre-amplification, and quickly found out just how outrageously powerful these things are. The bass is punchy, and the rest is... well, as my room mate put it, "like buttah".I was originally thinking I would be getting two 18 inch subs to go with, but now I'm thinking that would just be overkill. If you're on the fence, stop it. Just buy the SRM650's - you won't be sorry.
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie SRM650" submitted July 12, 2014

By DJ Money in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 27 years being a dj
Music Style: house,dance,hip hop,latin,etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had a pair of Mackie Thumps that I used with my SRM 1801's and had to be carefull because they kept redlining and would clip in around 2 1/2 hours or so, and I happen to own a QSC k-10 which put both of them to shame, therefore I knew it was time to upgrade and had QSC in mind but wanted to stay with Mackie to match my subs and soundboard. Well I did some research and there really weren't many reviews here on the new SRM 650's but I went ahead and ordered them to try out with ZZOUNDS 12 mos. payment plan and broke them in the moment they arrived at a gig that same day...I have to give it to Mackie on this one ! Clean and crisp highs with tight bass ! I lowered the bass on the subs and the party sounded clean and never once did I clip nor have any issues, QSC K series are awesome but for the money these Mackies gave them a run for the money, I'm satisfied and am glad I didn't have to change over. I would highly recommend especially if your trying to keep a reasonable budget, a 15 inch QSC woulda cost me as much as both of my SRM 650's.
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie Rules!!" submitted April 6, 2014

By Shane J
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play in a classic Metal band. I play lead guitar
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have had them for a month now. Only used to help drums and vocals. Just for practice. They were awesome clip lights come on easy but keeping safe on your investment is never a bad thing. Last night first night we used them live. For A tiny club. They are awesome! Add some subwoofers I borrowed from a friend. (Old Mackie woofers) let me tell ya you could feel the bass the vocals loud and clear! Guitars were prominent and it added that rawness that the huge PA systems give you. They were pushed and pushed very hard for a solid three and a half hours. Never shut down never let us down! In fact people kept completing me on the system. Saying how clear and loud it was and the guy I asked to run system was amazed. Not heavy at all for this price it is a stupid good deal. For everything you get the speaker amp, crossover, feed back eliminator ability to daisy chain. This is a great deal don't miss out. Out of ten I give them a 9 solid speakers. Of course I can't forget to mention Zzounds!! For hooking a man up! For the last three years I have bought exclusively from them and never once have they let me down Zzounds is the best hands down!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie SRM650 & SRM1850 SubWoofer" submitted January 13, 2014

By Harry T in Danbury, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional DJ, Promoter and Dance Instructor
Music Style: My Specialty is Salsa, but I mix all genres depending on the type of party.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: As a mobile DJ, I have to say, I am very pleased with my purchase. I've owned other Mackie powered speakers such as the SRM450's and the SA1521's and I have to say that these new ones are my favorite. I have used the pair of SRM650's on their own without the sub, and they truly deliver with excellent sound clarity and plenty of punch on the low end. Add the matching SRM1850 sub and the power that comes from that speaker combined with the tops is just incredible. These speakers will work well for DJ's as well as bands. You can't go wrong with Purchasing from zzounds either because they have competetive pricing, excellent customer service, incredibly fast delivery and the payment plan with zero interest. Can't beat it!
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"loving my new Mackie srm650's" submitted September 18, 2014

By mary russo in nyc, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ 15 years
Music Style: D&B, breaks, house, hip-hop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First off, zZounds is always so prompt with their deliveries and I LOVE that. These new speakers are so clear and full. I am a drum and bass DJ and I have to say they've got a great amount of the boom I need. Certainly going to invest in the subs but for mobile gigs in small/medium sized rooms, they are good on their own.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie SRM650 " submitted September 15, 2015

By Michael B in Weaverville, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro Weekend Warrior drummer for over 35 years
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Country, R&B, Electronica
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm using this speaker, I only purchased 1 to start, to use with my hybrid drumkit. I absolutely love it. The 15" gives me plenty of bottom end to handle the bass drum and floor tom but it also has a nice horn to pick up the highs. I really don't think I'm going to have to buy a subwoofer with this one but will definitely purchase another. The speaker is very lightweight for it's size and extremely portable. The settings were easy to dial in and I personally had no reason as of yet to use the feedback destroyer. The sound is pristine to my ears and am very happy with it. I didn't give it a 5 star for value considering the cost but it really is worth every penny.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Performed as expected" submitted October 13, 2015

By Rick H in Bandera, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for almost 40 years. I play bass and sing. I work professionally.
Music Style: I play mainly outlaw country, C & W and southern rock with some classic rock and blues thrown in for good measure.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been using Mackie products for over 20 years and they have served me well. These SRM 650's lived up to my expectations. I have used them at a couple shows in the last two weeks and they're great. They set up easily, performed as advertised and sound great. I used them in a medium sized club with my three piece band, including mic'd drums, vocals, guitar amp amp acoustic guitar. Last weekend we used them in a much smaller club and they performed equally well.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perform exactly as I expected-perfectly." submitted September 27, 2015

By Rick H in Bandera, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing professionally for almost 40 years.
Music Style: I play primarily Americana, Red-Dirt country and blues. Though I did play punk, rock and metal for many years.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have used Mackie gear since my 1202 mixer in the very early 90's. I use four SRM 450's for company conferences and they have worked flawlessly for 10 years. WHen it came time to buy a pair of speakers for gigs, I again chose Mackie. I used them last night at a very important show and they were great. I received quite a few compliments about the sound. They were easy to set up and adjust. Glad I bought them.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bought 1 top for a practice space" submitted March 9, 2015

By Jared OKelley in Lafayette, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 13 years. rock bands, church groups. Traveled nationally, and in parts of Europe.
Music Style: Rock, Quirky, Pop,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Has been great so far. We hooked it to a small PA board and it is taking care of 4 vox, keys, and backing tracks for reference in our practice space. It gets over our drummer who plays pretty loud. Would like to eventually have 2 for more volume, but 1 by itself gets the job done for what we need in practice. It also has a feedback destroy function that helps reduce feedback which has been great for my small space situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SRM650" submitted November 11, 2014

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This speaker sounds really good. What I surprised with using as a solo. When you plug a mic into it the gain is almost max. Ok for small venues but for larger you will need an additional mixer.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie SRM 650" submitted June 18, 2014

By Humberto Terant in Miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 26 year Djing
Music Style: open format
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: not what i expected, different sound between each speaker, one came with crossover problems the over amp clips at low volume, after 17 years mad about mackie this product makes me change brand to QSC I'm keeping all my SRM450 they're awesome but the Italian ones the chinese do the work. No more Mackie for now!!! i just return the product and bought the new kw122
5 of 9 people (55.56%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie SRM650 = A++" submitted September 29, 2013

By Joe Carney in Kerhonkson, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing drums for 30 years and a DJ for 15.
Music Style: ALL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Crystal clear highs and deep pounding low end bass is ON POINT!!! Overall: This speaker really is "built like a tank". Although built with an akward shape if used only as a PA speaker, this speaker is still one of the best sounding! Crystal clear highs and deep pounding low end bass is ON POINT!!!
7 of 10 people (70%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Poor Quality Sound" submitted April 4, 2015

By Nathalie Herrera in Hialeah, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: We received the Mackie and we're excited. Upon looking at then they look nice...very stylish. Now as far as the sound it was disappointing. The sound quality is very poor. The voice sounds muffled. We returned it the next day.
2 of 6 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mackie SRM650 = A++" submitted September 29, 2013

By Joe Carney in Kerhonkson, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing drums for 30 years and a DJ for 15.
Music Style: ALL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Crystal clear highs and deep pounding low end bass is ON POINT!!! Feature: Thes Overall: This speaker really is "built like a tank". Although built with an akward shape if used only as a PA speaker, this speaker is still one of the best sounding! Crystal clear highs and deep pounding low end bass is ON POINT!!!
3 of 6 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
866-zZounds (866-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20W-F92F. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 866-zZounds (866-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!