800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15FD-GMBL
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson Vintage Tuners

Give your guitar a vintage flare with this set of vintage-style Gibson tuners. Each set comes with 6 nickel tuners with pearloid buttons.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"gibson vintage tuners" submitted October 8, 2013

By jonny Ray in Sabattus, ME
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: electric guitar and play at home
Music Style: rock, and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: the gibson vintage tuners i bought from zZsounds are a deffinate for all gibson guitars. a beautiful addition to your guitar and at a very low price! I,ll be buying more for another guitar I,m working on.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson needs to improve these tuners!" submitted February 2, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: rock/blues/metal...
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have these tuners on a Gibson Les Paul Custom, and this guitar tends to go out of tune more than any other guitar I've EVER owned...I should get better tuners...I would play my Les Paul more if it weren't for these lousy(EXPENSIVE!) tuners... Feature: They look nice and vintage but they don't keep your guitar in tune all that well. Quality: They look pretty, but aren't very practical/functional. Value: get yourself some tuners that actually work (NOT THESE) Manufacturer Support: I'm not sure about Gibson's support, but they really should improve these tuners. The Wow Factor: They look nice, but I don't want tuners that don't do what they are meant to do. Overall: If you want to get a vintage vibe on your guitar, these will get you "the look", but iff you also want to have a guitar that stays in tune as well, then look at other tuners.
41 of 48 people (85.42%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy And Epiphone!" submitted February 15, 2007

By a customer from myway.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Guitarist, Tour Guitarist, Luthier, Recording Studio Owner
Music Style: Anything that they want
Back to Product Information
Sound: Although these tuners look vintage, they suck. They are prone to slipping incrementally, causing the guitar to go out of tune very quickly. I have a set in a coffee can in my shop. I went to gotoh tuners which at least stay in tune. And before anyone says I am not winding the strings correctly, I am a luthier, and restring guitars daily. When a product fails to work, the company should do something about it, instead of trading on the past to rake in more profits. Feature: As a Gibson authorized repairman, I called the company about these tuners. After a long distance runaround, I was told the Gibson guitars weren't for players, they were for collectors, if I wanted a guitar that played well, and stayed in tune, buy an Epiphone. I immediately resigned as a Gibson repairman, and won't ever endorse their products again. I have a 68 Les Paul Custom with black tape over the Gibson logo. The company has become a cash cow for the new owners. Ease of Use: After dressing the frets, adjusting the intonation, and replacing the tuners, my Les Paul rocks. I have also had to replace the pick-up selector switch, and one volume control is scratchy. Quality: Sadly, with the amount of money paid for it, it should be better. The finish looks like it was sprayed on by a spastic. The wood underneath was not silexed, so the grain shows thru, and I'm not pleased with the overall quality. Value: A two thousand dollar guitar should be a thing to be proud of. I set it next to my 68 and just shake my head sadly. Manufacturer Support: I couldn't even turn in a bill for the repairs, and this was a brand new guitar. "That's how they are made now" was Gibson's response The Wow Factor: It looks good from a distance. Overall: It mostly sits in it's overpriced case in the closet. I could not, with a clear conscience, resell it for even half of what I paid for it.
42 of 60 people (70%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Quality compromised" submitted January 1, 2008

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hbbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: It's sad to see that Whomever is running Gibson has chosen to use these inferior products for their guitars, and charge premium prices. I have a 78 SG and it has Schaller tuners, (or they might be Grovers), they are very high quality and all the Gibson products from that time period were using them. Frankly it is ridiculous to use crap in the name of "Vintage"
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"JUNK!" submitted June 27, 2007

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician; 30 years
Music Style: Smooth Jazz/Blues/R&B/Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I am also a luthier and agree that this is one of the worst tuners available on the market. I outfitted my 2006 Gibson LP with Gotoh (MIJ) Vintage Tuners (look them up on STEWMAC). Gotohs are far more superior in maintaing an accurate tuning stability. Ensure you select the smaller peghead bushings style to ensure you get the correct peghead size...The more popular 10mm sizes are much larger than the LP Standard's peghead holes and I DO NOT recommend attempting to re-drill to accomodate the larger sizes. The inscription "deluxe" should be removed from the Gibson-supplied tunes altogether; there is nothing deluxe about them, unless you are referring to them as deluxe trash. Ease of Use: They do not maintain tuning stability. Quality: They do not maintain tuning stability. Value: Junk. Manufacturer Support: Don't attempt to contact them via their TECH DEPT. You will not receive a reply. Go directly to their customer service and you will be promptly assisted. Overall: They do not maintain tuning stability.
11 of 15 people (73.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"COME ON GIBSON USA, WHERE'S THE QUALITY CONTROL?????" submitted May 30, 2006

By a customer from juno.com
Overall
Sound
Musical Background: band director 30 years, guitar player 52 years
Music Style: Rock, country, classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: I am sad that Gibson would put something like these tuners on the market and not improve them. I bought a new Gibson ES 333 for $1200.00 and two of THESE tuners blew completely apart shortly after the warranty ran out. I tried to fix them in my shop, but there wasn't enough metal in the rivits to do anything with. Come on Gibson, I HAD FAITH IN YOU!!!!!! Feature: Look good, like a Gibson should. But I will upgrade to another brand even if it hurts the value of my 333. Ease of Use: Seem to work well, but intonation stablization is a problem. Quality: Come on Gibson USA, I'd like to know who was in quality control the day my tuners were made!!!!! Value: Obviously, Gibson is banking on the value of original parts staying high, even if the quality is low. Manufacturer Support: Gibson support seems to be on the downslide somewhat. I still love the company, but their website isn't even very consumer friendly.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"They stink. Don't buy them. Get sealed tuners." submitted November 16, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist, some pro work, jamming too.
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I had these vintage tuners installed on a Flying V I bought used. They looked good at first I thought, and the luthier I bought the guitar from installed them. They were dismal for practical use, and I will explain why. Feature: For a smart man, I can't beleive he thought these were good quality tuners. Two of them fell apart on me, followed by a third starting to. I am not a rough player either. Ease of Use: I kept looking at them and wondered why they even existed. As players, we should be able to trust our instruments, instead of worrying about them falling apart. Quality: They blew in my experience ! I replaced with a used of Schaller sealed tuners. Tight fit between the fingers while tuning, but they worked for me. Value: I was told at the time they cost 25 dollars. That was almost 20 years ago. Worth zip in my opinion. Manufacturer Support: No I was annoyed my trusted luthier would sell the idea these were quality tuners, and put down my replacement tuners. The Wow Factor: None. Overall: Never.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15FD-GMBL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!