800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 154Y-HDK4
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender Standard Tele

The Fender Standard Telecaster is a true classic -- updated with a modern C-shaped maple neck, 6-saddle string-thru-body bridge, and 2 Hot Tele single-coils.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Tele-rific" submitted May 6, 2012

By William Terjesen in Peekskill, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played pro years ago, guitar, bass, keyboards. Now just play at home and w friends.
Music Style: Fifties and sixties rock, R & B, country, some blues, bluegrass.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've had this standard tele for 3 weeks now, and I have yet to see an imperfection in the build, materials, or paint job. This guitar is solid. The stock pickups are very nice. In the future I may experiment with Lindy Fralin's or such, but for now, these are just fine. The maple neck is smooth and easy to play, and the candy apple red paint is luscious. I play it through a Fender Super Champ x2 and the combination is really nice.
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome value" submitted November 24, 2012

By Ethan O
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist guitar player
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I could not be more surprised at this guitar! I got it on a whim because it said it had hotter pickups and less hum. This baby has no hum at all and the pickups are so good I can't. see myself replacing them with texas specials which was my initial plan. They are loud and versatile. They can twang or thump which is what Texas specials excell in. The craftsmanship is flawless and the glossed maple fret board plays as good as any MIA telecaster. Only gripe is the weight which I have learned to deal with. Plus all telecssters and asats are heavy. It contributes to the tone. I have bought a PRS SE Tremonti, an Epi LP Ultra Pro, an MIM deluxe players strat and this in 2012. This one truly is the best of the. bunch!
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Telecasters are great guitars!" submitted May 29, 2011

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Classic Telecaster Sound! Feature: This a simple Telecaster as most are and how Leo Fender intended them to be. I changed the white pickguard out for a black-white-black pickguard. It looks great. Matches the rest of my black electric guitars. Ease of Use: Great, easy to play. Quality: I bought this "blemished" guitar for $100 off list. The blemish is a small, barely noticable discolored edge of the fret board. Other than that blemish the guitar is perfect. I am happy with my purchase. Value: This a great guitar for the money. The $100 I got off this one because of the blemish was a good decision. Manufacturer Support: Did not have to deal with Fender regarding this guitar. I dealt with them on my American Strat. They were great. The Wow Factor: I bought this to round out my electric guitar collection. I also have an American HSS Strat and a Sheraton. Overall: I treat my guitars very well. I expect this guitar to last indefinitely. I did a playoff between this and a standard Epiphone Les Paul. This fit me better and was more suited to playing the blues.
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Mexican Fender Standard Tele" submitted November 13, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician, Singer, Writer, Performer
Music Style: Country Gospel / Southern Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Craftmanship and quality is superb. Playability is tremendous. Plays extremely well and the neck is just awesome. Fast and even. The sound is amazing. Even volume throughout. No drop outs at any position. It's all balanced. The tones are incredible. Stays in tune very well. When I received mine I took it out of the box (which was packaged very secure, I tuned it then checked the intonation and string heights and neck and everything was perfect. I've owned many guitars in my time and all of them made in all countries and this Tele is right at the top of the list as far as how it's made, the finish, the set up, the quality, and the sound. I play Country / Southern Gospel semi professionally and I'm playing through a Peavey ValveKing 112 all tube amp. The combination of the two are very satisfying. I use the clean channel and a touch of analog delay and I get that classic country twang. Feature: All the components are made extremely well. While many change out the pickups and some even the pots and wiring, I see no need to change anything. The only thing I would consider changing would be the pickguard. From the original which is perfectly fine to a Pearloid. And this would only be a personal preference appearance decision. I did order the SKB Fender Molded Hard Shell case. The Gig Bag is perfectly fine but I like the added protection that the Hard Shell Case provides. Ease of Use: Plays extremely well and the controls are easily accessible. Quality: Great quality. Superb craftsmanship. Value: For the money this Tele is a tremendous value. I personally don't see paying the extra for the American made. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed support from Fender. The Wow Factor: I love the Brown Sunburst. And I love the Tinted Maple Neck. Overall: I feel that this Tele will be with me for many, many years to come.
28 of 30 people (93.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar and Great Customer Service" submitted May 8, 2014

By David V in Riverside, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 15 years, started with Saxophone and have playing guitar since 2000.
Music Style: Punk, Rock, Rockabilly, Country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Interest free payments on a guitar is awesome!! Service was great and I received my guitar a day earlier than estimated!! Guitar showed up in perfect condition, this thing is a beauty. I bought the Lake Placid Blue and I couldn't be happier, the tone is amazing.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Standard Maple Telecaster - Super Fast" submitted July 14, 2014

By John H in Indian Head, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Casual Guitarist
Music Style: Rock, EMO
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Fender Standard Maple Telecaster came to me the day after ordering it, well packaged and as advertised. I couldn't be happier, I will check zZounds for all of my music needs first from here on out. Here in one day, free shipping, I still can't beleive it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Mexicaster" submitted April 7, 2013

By Antonio A in Longmont, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar and keyboards. and wrote music/songs
Music Style: Rock n' Roll, Folk, Blues/Blues-Rock Country, etc
Back to Product Information
Overall: I really love this guitar. i'm a Gibson man, I love the Les Puals, but this one caught me off guard, it's a break from the LP, and at this price, i'm gonna buy the blue one next week. it's really great, I recommend it to anyone, I played it for a couple hours. the craftsmanship of this is just beautiful.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GET IT!" submitted June 6, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Grunge, alternative, punk & oldies
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It sounds phenomenal, especially compared to other guitars I had compared it to before purchasing. The neck pickup is more of a classic clean fender sound, the bridge has the distinct telecaster twang is great for playing country (i don't listen to country personally, so I use it for oldies). The middle is more of a bright full sound, and is my favorite, as it goes with just about any song. Just remember when using distortion, be sure to turn down the tone knob a bit as the single coil pickups have a sharper sound than humbuckers. For the money, this is the absolute best bang for the buck as far as I'm concerned. People will tell you that it can't do heavy rock or metal, but all you have to do is adjust the tone knob and use either the neck or middle pickup and you're fine, plus that's what pedals are for! Feature: If you're looking for a guitar with a ton of features, this isn't it. However, it's more than adequate. 2 single coil pickups, 3-way pickup selector switch, tone and volume knob, Fender Super 250L strings (which make playing this guitar a breeze), and maple neck. That's really all you need, especially if you're a new guitarist, like me. It did come with a gig bag, but you'll want to buy a real guitar case or a guitar stand so it doesn't go out of tune. Ease of Use: With only a 3-way pickup selector switch and one tone knob, it won't take long to find the sound you're looking for. If you're into heavy rock, definitely get a distortion or metal pedal. The guitar is a bit on the heavy side(like a Les Paul), so that's something to be aware of. Quality: This guitar is absolutely solid, finish is great- i got it in lake placid blue, tuners are good, as long as you don't leave it in the gig bag and throw it around, and I wouldn't worry about it's reliability, as they've only been making this guitar for 60 years. Value: Best guitar for the price, it sounds like a thousand dollar guitar. Oh and by the way, I bought the standard made in Mexico telecaster too! Manufacturer Support: Good experience, fast shipping, and product was exactly as described The Wow Factor: It's the oldest electric guitar still in production so it doesn't have a ton of features, or fancy finishes or designs. However, it's retro, classy and looks cool as hell, so there! Overall: Before I purchased this guitar, everyone had told me to get a Strat instead, and now months later I'm glad I ignored all of them because I couldn't be happier with this guitar! I'll never sell this guitar, it has everything I'm looking for
23 of 24 people (95.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 154Y-HDK4. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!