800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1710-GHNJ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone DR212 Guitar

Skip the 6-string and go straight for the 12 with this guitar. It features a spruce top and mahogany back and sides.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Worth way more than it costs!" submitted August 12, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+years on the strings
Music Style: blues + rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: I don't think you could find a better 12 string for twice the money.The money you save,you could buy a nice hardshell case for it.there wasn't any buzzing of the strings as you play up the neck.I was very surprised at the quality.I will not hesitate to buy another Epiphone in the future.
17 of 17 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great 12-string for the money!!" submitted September 15, 2012

By Gregory V. Thomas in Seattle, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar since I was 13 (I'm in my 50's now). I play guitar, bass, harmonica, drums and some banjo.
Music Style: I play music that I enjoy. That includes all kinds of music, but I come from a Rock/Blues background.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Okay. It's not top of the line, so you won't expect much. You know how much you have to spend. But, let me tell you the instrument I received (a DR-212NA) is much more than I was expecting. After I had played it intermittently for about two years, I took it to a guitar tech who put in an L.R. Baggs bridge pickup for me ( I had a performance that I wanted to use the guitar for) and he was very complementary about the guitar. He worked on the setup for me after which it became an absolute pleasure to play! It is quickly becoming my go to guitar when I really want to enjoy playing and singing. Such an inspirational sound, man... I do not believe that you will be disappointed. AT ALL!
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great 12-string for the price" submitted December 18, 2013

By Alan D in Tacoma, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had a fairly expensive 12-string before, but ended up selling it. I wanted to get another but didn't want to spend as much money, so I thought I'd try this one because I'd read reviews that said it's a great instrument for the price. After having it for more than a month, I wholeheartedly agree. Definitely the best 12-string acoustic at this price point and comparable to more expensive guitars. Mind you, it will give your fretting hand a workout if you're not used to a wider neck and pressing down strings in pairs. But I'm pleased with the sound and the intonation. The build quality is excellent, considering how affordable it is. I might get it professionally set up to see if I can get the action lowered just a bit. But for the most part, it plays very nicely.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"DR212 Epiphone 12 string guitar" submitted April 9, 2014

By Manny M in Fort Stockton, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: over 20 years playing guitar profesionally and as a hobby.
Music Style: Texas Blues, Rock, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar has an awesome sound and is so easy to play. With very minimum effort it delivers a full sound that fills up the room. This was hands down one of the best purchases I've made.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Impressive" submitted January 23, 2014

By Dennis J in Ontario, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar off and on for over 50 years.
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar. Sound is full and guitar is easy to play. For the price, this cannot be beat.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great deal on this Epiphone 12 string" submitted September 8, 2012

By Stanley E in Clarkdale, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been at it since about 1966. I play any type of music I can think of but mainly classic bluesrock semi-professionally.
Music Style: I like blues, rock, jazz, fusion, country, bluegrass,,reggae ,or whatever strikes my fancy.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've only had this Epiphone DR212 12string dreadnought guitar about a month and so far it's been playing like a GOOD 12 string should. I mean it stays in tune the action is just right and the intonation is just so. The free shipping deal is great, too, considering it came all the way from New Jersey to Arizona. A very pleasant surprise. I already have my eyes on another guitar. I just need my wife's AOK. I already have six. I only gave the manufacturer's support one star because I didn't need any and I had to put something.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sound, great looks, great value." submitted August 24, 2011

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: This 12-string sounds amazing, plain and simple. Despite the low price, this Epiphone has a very full, rich sound that you would expect out of a more expensive guitar. It could use a little bit of adjusting, to be honest. The strings sit a little high off the neck, especially closer to the body of the guitar, but overall the action is superb. Can't really ask for much better considering the price.
10 of 12 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A rare thing...a REAL BARGAIN" submitted September 2, 2012

By Stuart D
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Proferssional musician since 1980
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Electronic
Back to Product Information
Overall: The build, playability and sound of this guitar is way beyond the parameters that its price would suggest. If you're in the market for a 12-string, look no further.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best Christmas gift I have ever got!" submitted December 27, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Rock and country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I received it for Christmas and am amazed at the sound and quality. I am just getting accustomed to it and it is a joy to play! Value: I was amazed at the quality of this instrument when I found out the price. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed company support yet. Overall: I hope for years to come.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellant sound and playability at an unbelievable price" submitted November 21, 2008

By a customer from datasync.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been a church musician for the past 37 years.I sometimes play at parties or clubs.I have been playing guitar since 1958
Music Style: Praise and worship at church,rock and country,golden oldies
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have 5 other 12 strings(Martin,Ovation,Alverez,Yamaha,Mitchell)I play occasionally at clubs and parties,but I have been playing at my church for 37 years.I like an accoustic played into a microphone to get as natural a sound as possible.This guitar compares very favoribly with my other guitars.It has a strong bass,but the bass does not coverup the highs.The midrange is pleasant.It is great for flatpicking old 12 string songs like Walk Right In and Boney Maroney,and sounds great on chords to accompany a singer.I would not change anything about the sound.It sounds different from the others which is what I hoped.Using a mic doesn't leave much leway for changing sound,so I change guitars. Feature: The guitar has a strap button on the heel which most don't come with.It also included an allen wrench to adjust the neck,which I did right away. Ease of Use: It has a sound different from all my others.It sounds great.It sounds way more expensive than it is. Quality: The finish is flawless.There was nothing loose or misfitted.It is nice tight grain.The only comment that is negative is the inspection stickers on the back of the headstock.They should be on the pick guard cover. Value: This guitar compares favorably with my others some of which cost 25 times as much! Manufacturer Support: I have not contacted Epiphone,but the warranty is lifetime.
69 of 71 people (97.18%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1710-GHNJ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!