800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 154R-BD6V
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Ebtech Hum X Hum Filter

Plug your amp's power cord in to the Ebtech Hum X before the wall outlet and kiss ground loop hum goodbye while keeping your amp safely grounded.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Motif XS hum and noise solution" submitted August 30, 2008

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Classical / Jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought two of these to solve a hum problem (Motif XS to Yamaha HS-80M speakers) and a horrible hum, whirring, crackling, popping noise problem (Toshiba Qosmio laptop to Yamaha HS-80M speakers via the Motif XS). Note the common element - the Motif XS which does not provide balanced line outputs. The Qosmio laptop is a power hog and has a three prong AC plug for its 5 lb power brick. Ground loop ran from the laptop through the firewire cable to the XS, then on to the HS-80M, and back through the ground connections (consequently it would go away if I could have unplugged the laptop from its power source, but the laptop only runs about 45 minutes on its built-in battery). I plugged the Motif into a HumX and this eliminated the problem between the Motif and the HS-80, but there remained a path from the laptop to the HS-80 through the Motif - that is why I needed to plug the laptop into one as well. There was no effect on the sound (in this approach the devices are not in any legitimate signal path). Ease of Use: Plug this into your surge suppressor and the device into this. Quality: This is a simple molded unit with a red LED that lights when power is present. Value: It solved a serious sound quality problem with an expensive synthesizer for a very modest price. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: It's a power adapter - out of sight. Overall: Unless this goes belly up, I will use it as long as I have the Motif.
18 of 18 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ebtech Hum X Hum Filter Customer Review submitted January 7, 2010

By a customer from ptd.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician, home studio.
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Just plugged it in, hum was instantly gone. Feature: All you have to do is plug it in. Ease of Use: Again, just plug it in. Value: Best $70 i spent in a while. Overall: I am using for home studio with Yamaha HS80M monitors and a sub hooked up to a desktop. Plugged into the wall and surge protector into the HumX. Crystal clear sound.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"i'd be lost without this." submitted August 4, 2005

By a customer from vietnambla.com
Overall
Sound
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the humx has killed every ground hum i've thrown at it, and my little apartment/bedroom studio is the lousiest-wired place i've ever called home. Feature: n/a Quality: so far, so solid, Value: yes, it may seem expensive for what it looks like, but i don't have the option of hiring a competent electrician to wire my apartment properly. i've bought three of these, and they're worth every penny. it's hard to put a dollar amount on clean sound. Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: it's simple, practical and works flawlessly. if you need it, you should have it, period. Overall: my only gripe is the form factor. it takes up two spaces in a rack-mounted power conditioner a la a furman rack rider.
29 of 33 people (87.88%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the Ebtech Hum X Voltage Hum Filter" submitted October 4, 2013

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was getting a lot of 60cycle hum when using my laptop and some sound recording equipment. This has been very helpful in eliminating the hum. Once I received the hum Filter, it took me a little time to narrow down what combination of outlets and devices was contributing to the hum. Very useful device.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ebtech hum x voltage hum filter" submitted October 13, 2013

By russell morgan in baltimore, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this product works very well by eliminating all 60 hz hum in the way of breaking un wanted ground loops I own a very hi end component system NO 60 hz hum now thanks to the hum x
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Required equipment for traveling bands" submitted October 17, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you ever setup in a location for the very first time, and are playing hours later, you must have at least one if not two of these in the bottom of the gear bag. If you ever have the mixer at the back of the room, and your speaker amps at the front of the room on a different circuit breaker, and you get that low pitch 60hz hum that just won't go away, you must buy this. It's simple, and it works.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Take that Dell!! Only way that I have found to stop the noise from the laptop." submitted September 8, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Sound Engineer/DJ
Music Style: Whatever the band that hired me is playing. Typical wedding DJ.
Back to Product Information
Sound: I had a terrible hum/noise coming from my laptop when dj'ing. Made my Dell computer unusable. The Humx COMPLETELY got rid of the noise. Laptop is dead quiet now! Feature: All you need is this little piece. Ease of Use: Plug it in, need more be said? Quality: Seems like it is sturdy...only used it several times. Value: Gettihg rid of unwanted noise is priceless......or in this case...$69.95. Well worth it. Manufacturer Support: haven't needed support. The Wow Factor: It's a plug adapter......don't want to marry it....but it's usefulness makes me still rate it a 10. Overall: This little gadget is all i need to silence my laptop.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"HumX did not touch the hum/buxx problem" submitted November 16, 2007

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have a horrendous hum or buzz in my Strat/Fender Blues Jr. system at home. It disapppears (except for the normal single coil noise) elsewhere. I bought the HumX in the hope that it would solve the problem. It did absolutely nothing. I recognize that I appear tohave a problem with the home wiring. I hired an lelectrictrician to test all the outlets and drive a new 10' copper gound- stil have the buzz that only goes away when I ground all the strings with my hand. The Ebtech website is not particularly helpful. I sent a polite e-mail to Ebtech askng for some guidance- gfot no answer. Ease of Use: Pretty simple. Plug in to outlet; plug amp into the HumX. The problem is that it did nothing to correct the problem. Value: For me it was a complete wast of money with no support form Ebtech.
7 of 19 people (36.84%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 154R-BD6V. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!