800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16GZ-ST2P
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Behringer XENYX X2442-USB

With 10 mic preamps, one-knob compressors on 8 channels, tons of editable FX, and a stereo USB audio interface, this mixer offers a whole lot for the price.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Excellent quality and features for the price" submitted November 18, 2012

By Kevin Selby in Kennewick, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played music semi-professionally for over 30 years both in live performance and in the home studio.
Music Style: Jazz, Pop, Funk, 70s.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Hey gang. Semi-pro musician here. I have owned various Behringer mixers, amps, headphone amps, and other miscellaneous gear over the last 10 years and I gotta say I love this company! I'm REALLY waiting for the UFX1604 but it's not out yet (Behringer...it's been almost 3 years...hello??). Anyway...my older UB2442FX-Pro had a few channels go out and for the price to fix it I figured might as well get something new. I'm used to the amazing number of outputs, sends, groups, etc., (from the UB2442FX-Pro which is a very similar chassis and layout), but what really intrigued me were the compressors. I have a female vocalist with a LASER like voice. Her dynamic range is very wide which is good (and she does a good job controlling it), nonetheless in smaller rooms I don't want to cause nosebleeds with high volume notes. So on our first gig with the Xenyx X2442 USB, I dialed in compression on her channel to about the 2:00 position. PERFECT! I believe the term for the compression algorithm they use is "soft-knee" which usually means that the compressor kicks in gently rather than those examples you hear where the compressor "breathes" in and out. Whatever the terminology, the compressors on the X2442USB kick in such that you almost cannot tell they're working but they definitely ARE working. Her laser voice is capped and doesn't exceed the threshold and overall, our live performance has indeed been enhanced by the use of the compressors on this board. I love the effects as well. VERY nice reverbs. We don't use the other effects much mainly because we ALSO need some reverb on the keyboards and acoustic guitar...so trying to use the effect that has reverb AND delay wouldn't help us because I don't want that on the keys/guitar (again...waiting for the UFX 1604 which has TWO independent FX processors....Behringer...hurry up and release it!).Another interesting point to be made: I bought this "warehouse resealed" which knocked $40 off of the price. When I received it and opened it and took off the side "bumpers" (since I rack mount my mixers), I noticed about a quarter sized dent in the side of the mixer. I contacted zZounds via email and told them about it and they offered an exchange OR would I accept another $40 off? Wow! That is customer service ladies and gentlemen. On my part, IF I accepted the additional $40 off, I had to be happy with it and accept full responsibility (which I did...I seriously doubt anything can go wrong based on that particular dent...but ya NEVER know!). Anyway...great service.Finally...once I racked it up and hooked it into our PA as well as to a Behringer POWERPLAY PRO-XL HA4700 headphone amp (which I HEARTILY recommend), we, as a band, were off to the races. Great clean sound. Plenty of routing options. Plenty of gain on the mic channels. We record our gigs religiously via various means (direct out of the headphone jack into a Zoom Q3HD as well as multiple Direct Outs, Group Outs, etc., to a Zoom R16 multi-track) and believe it or not, as long as we are mixing well in real time, the direct stereo output to the Q3HD sounds GREAT! This has the potential to save us time since there is no post-gig mixdown from the Q3HD (like there is with the R16). Alright...I've talked your ear off...but if you're considering this mixer, stop stewing and buy it. You will never look back! Also...for those geeks out there (and I'm one of them) who are agonizing over the number of channels, number of Aux Outs, number of Group Outs, Direct Outs, etc., stop agonizing over the other Xenyx models that have LESS outputs and simply buy the King of the Hill in the X2442 USB. We're talking about a difference of $50-$100 between them all and you WILL need the extra outputs/channels some day...so just DO IT.I have SAID my piece and counted to three.Sincerely,Kevin B. Selby
24 of 24 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"XENYX X2442 SHINES HIGH ON FEATURES AND VALUE..." submitted July 12, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician & Technician
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I use this board for live performances to mix everything from our vocals to electronic drums to piano & keyboard. I've rigged it to feed our PA amp with a separate feed for sub-woofer. The board is versatile, well built, quiet, has great effects and doesn't cost an arm and a leg. The one thing you need to get use to is the "British" equalizers. But once you get the knack, you're off and running. Feature: The effects are great. The reverbs, delays, chorus, etc. offer a real selection to choose from. The board layout is very straight forward and intuitive and there are enough inputs to satisfy any small to medium sized band. Ease of Use: As I've said, it's very straight forward. If you're a smaller band and don't have a sound man, it's easy enough to set up and get the right sound... set it and forget it. Quality: I've had this board for over 2 years now... no issues. I have quite a few other Behringer pieces of equipment... no issues. Value: If you're on a tight budget, this board delivers more bang for the buck than anything out there. Ignore the nay-sayers. Manufacturer Support: Because I also have a powered mixer, I once ask how the "power output wattage" was rated. I quickly got a response but it was a "song & dance" as they said their rating couldn't be converted to "continuous average watts" or "RMS" values. (C'mon guys, it's only math...I guess the low number would embarrass them.) But at least they responded quickly. The Wow Factor: It was a great buy... so I got it. Overall: My first Behringer mixer was a powered mixer which I stated in another review to be a waste of money. I said "get a decent power amp (QSC, Crown, Peavey, etc.) and then get THIS mixing board." I followed my own advice and haven't been sorry. This boards got all the features I need and it works perfectly, day in, day out.
40 of 41 people (97.56%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Behringer XENYX X2442 USB Mixer A Dream to Use!" submitted July 28, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I find the board to be very intuitive and soooo quiet I thought it wasn't on! Musicians I have used it with love the sound!Planning on getting another bigger Beringer plus more of their speakers. Ease of Use: Once again very intuitive. If you have ever used a board you can just start this one up and GO. Quality: Beringer is by far the best bang for the buck. Overall: I will add another board as aformentioned.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"FANTASTIC MIXER! BUY THIS NOW!" submitted February 2, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer, Drummer
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It is a great sounding mixer. Almost no noise, great headroom, and great sound coming out of it. Feature: The effects processer is great. The four aux sends are more than come in most mixers in this price range. It also has four subgroups, another feature most mixers don't have in this price range. It also has direct outs on eight channels and has inserts on all the channels. Ease of Use: Very easy to use with any mic or instrument. I've used some different mixers and, apart from and Allen & Heath mixer, this is one of the easiest mixers to understand and use. Quality: Great preamps. Knobs and faders are good quality and can take a beating. All the inputs and outputs have quality connectors. Value: Fantastic value! No mixer I have ever seen in this price range has as many features as does the 2442usb Manufacturer Support: Anything you don't understand, Behringer's website has something on it to help you out. The Wow Factor: It has a very beautiful look to it. Behringer redid the colors and look of the 2442usb compared to the older 2442fx, and it looks great. Overall: I plan on using this mixer for a very long time, as long as it lasts, which will hopefully be a very long time.
15 of 16 people (93.75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Definitely a step up." submitted February 6, 2012

By Gary T in Hiawassee, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played semi-pro for years, now just home studio-guitar, drums, bass, keys, vocals
Music Style: Classic rock, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I used to use a Behringer X1222USB for my home studio but needed the extra channels of the X2442USB. I am very pleased with the 2442 however, the one thing the 1222 had that I wish the 2442 had is a graphic eq. The 2442 has lots of bells and whistles that the 1222 doesn't, not to mention the added channel space. Both boards work well in a home studio setting and neither one takes a degree in engineering to figure out, although, I thought Behringer could have gone a little more in depth with their owners manual. All-in-all, what a GREAT purchase at a bargain price!
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Behringer XENYX X2442-USB Customer Review submitted September 8, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I play drums with a variaty band and the versitility is unreal. Ican run 6 mics for a main mix, then run a monitor mix back from the main board for headphone use. Everything is seperate and clean. I just got the board but hte longer I have it the more I love it. The preamps and compressers give the drums a great punch. I use this unit with a 4-gate and the sound is great. Feature: Could use built-in noise gates for drum mix. Ease of Use: The effects unit is awesome.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

""More Than Enough"" submitted August 22, 2012

By Adriaan N Roggeveen in Camilla, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50+ Years Acoustic Guitar, Banjo, Harmonica, Vocal Play whenever and wherever!
Music Style: Folk/Bluegrass, Christian Gospel, Blues, but not too Blue.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For me this is an upgrade from the Behringer Xenyx 1204FX/USB. Seemed like the logical step since I am getting great service from the one, I decided to take a bigger step to the top of the Analog Mixing Capability in this series. I especially like the sub-group capability so I can isolate my feedback prone mics and instrument mics. Can't justify a X32 but for me this is more than I need without having to just add inputs with nothing to plug into them. The subgroup capability alone is worth the upgrade....and the BNC connector for a light. Great piece of gear with lots of use and still useable foot print. Now I can take the smaller mixer on the road and have not had to relearn everything.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Behringer XENYX X2442 USB Mixer " submitted November 5, 2013

By Doug W in Raleigh, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years exp., Guitar, Bass, Drums, and sing lead and harmony. Semi-Pro/Studio
Music Style: Country, Bluegrass, Folk and Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have a lot of Behringer products and have had a great expierence with all of them. For the musician on a budget the price point can't be beat. This mixer was put into our show from day one and has performed as expected...love it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Adequate Mixer" submitted July 28, 2014

By WAYNE DANIELS in Central Islip, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing and singing for over 35 years, keyboards, organ, worship.
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The X2442USB Mixer is great for the price. I've purchased other Behringer mixers and they seem to have stepped up the quality a bit on this model. Even though it's missing the talk back feature you can still pick a free channel and us a microphone. It just works! The sound is clean and for the money and you probably can't find another mixer in it's class with all of the options this mixer has without spending more money.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good product" submitted August 11, 2014

By Jose H in Las cruces, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 33 years, play bass, quitar. Played professionally for 15 years. Now run my audio company.
Music Style: Christian, Spanish Latin music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very nice mixer, simple to use. Like the effects it has, and it's rack mountable. Behringer at its best.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ALL I HAVE TO SAY JUST IT THE BEST I EVER HEARD AT THE PRICE." submitted February 16, 2011

By a customer from VERIZON.NET
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: MUSIC PRODUCER AND DJ
Music Style: ALL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: IT'S ALL THAT NICE AND CLEAN Feature: I WISH IT CAME WITH THE NIGHT LAMP BUT IT'S FINE Value: YES THE PRODUCT IS WORTH IT I WANT ANOTHER ONE SO I CAN LINK THEM TOGETHER TO GET A BIGGER BOARD AT A SUPER PRICE PLUS I LIKE THE WAY IT LOOKS AND THE FEATURES Manufacturer Support: NEVER HAD A PROBLEM The Wow Factor: LOOKIN GOOD Overall: LONG TIME LIKE I SAID I WANT ANOTHER ONE SO I CAN LINK THEM TOGETHER MAY 2 MORE THE SOUND IS HOT ,IT LOOK HOT,FEATURES HOT,INS AND OUTS ARE HOT,COMPRESSION ON 8 CHANNELS DO I NEED TO SAY MORE JUST BUY IT AND YOU'LL SEE WHY I SAY I WANT TO LINK 2 OR 3 UP TOGETHER.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good Mixer for the Money" submitted November 28, 2012

By Nokey A in Snellville, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drummer
Music Style: funk,blues,rock, hip-hop, southern soul,R&B,inspirational,etc
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am a Drummer .I use this to Sub mix my drums this into our main system.... good. punchy sound & clean .....then I also use it to do small gigs with no problems...They have stepped it up
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THIS BOARD IS AWSOME DON'T SLEEP ON IT YOUR LOOSE OUT BUT JUST SAVE ONE FOR ME I NEED ANOTHER ONE" submitted March 13, 2011

By a customer from VERIZON.NET
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: MUSICIAN,MUSIC PRODUCER AND DJ
Music Style: MUSIC I LIKE TO MAKE
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: AWSOME CRISP AND CLEAN Feature: NICE SOFTWARE Ease of Use: DIDN'T HAVE TO DO ANY THING THE SOUND IS GREAT RIGHT OUT THE BOX Quality: ALL GOOD Value: YES Manufacturer Support: NEVER HAD TO TALK TO ANYONE YET The Wow Factor: IT LOOKS AWSOME LIKE A RECORDING STUDIO MIXXING BOARD Overall: NOPE KEEPING IT HOPE TO BUY ANOTHER SO I CAN HAVE TWO SIDE BY SIDE TO MAKE IT LOOK REAL BIG
5 of 11 people (45.45%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16GZ-ST2P. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!