The Eagles Resource Page

The seventies produced several great music acts, and each had memorable sounds and went on to good careers. However, when thinking of top rock acts of the decade, near the top of that list would be the California rock band - the Eagles.

The Eagles were formed in the early 1970’s, the band began as the backup group for Linda Ronstadt. The original band was comprised of Glenn Frey, Bernie Leadon and Randy Meisner. When they were signed by Ronstadt, they added drummer Don Henley, and the group played on Ronstadt’s 1972 self titled album, which produced hits such as "Rock Me on the Water", "I Fall to Pieces" and "Ramblin’ Round". In support of the album, they backed Ronstadt on a two month tour. The group took the name Eagles as a tribute to Leadon’s original band - The Byrds.

The sound that the band produced was memorable, and with Ronstadt’s blessing decided to form a commercial band, and signed a deal with Asylum Records. Their debut album "Eagles” was released in June 1972 and quickly became one of the top albums of the year producing three Top 40 songs: “Take It Easy”, “Peaceful Easy Feeling” and “Witchy Woman”.

Over the next several years the band started to have some changes. Frey and Henley became the creative forces behind the band and wrote the majority of the songs that they recorded. These changes led to the departure of Bernie Leadon and the addition of Don Felder. In 1975, the Eagles added another musician, with the addition of Joe Walsh.

After their debut album, the band released 6 more studio albums, with 4 of them reaching number 1 on the album charts. During this time, they enjoyed tremendous commercial success, with songs such as “Best of My Love”, “One of These Nights”, “Best of My Love”, “New Kid in Town”, “Heartache Tonight” and “Hotel California” all reaching number 1 on the singles charts. In addition, they had several other songs that reached the singles charts.

In 1980, after being one of the most dominant rock acts of the previous decade, the Eagles decided to take some time to pursue other opportunities. The members of the band began to pursue solo careers and other musical interests. The Eagles did not record any new material or tour again until 1994, when the band re-united for a new album “Hell Freezes Over”, which was a combination of new material and live material.

Since then, the band has recorded one new studio album, and has gone on several tours. The Eagles are back (although they say they never left) and the rock world and their fans are happy to see them together again.

We have collected several resources on the Eagles, for you to enjoy:

·       Official Eagles website

·       Eagles Band Members

·       Story Behind Naming the Band

·       Biography of the Eagles

·       Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

·       Eagles VH1 Biography

·       Eagles Band Information and Discography

·       Eagles Band Members

·       Eagles Trivia

·       Breakup of the Eagles

·       Glenn Frey

·       Don Henley

·       Don Felder

·       Randy Meisner

·       Joe Walsh

·       Eagles Discography