800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1731-J487
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Zoom B9.1UT Bass Effects

The Zoom B9.1ut offers plenty of tonal options to bassists. With a 12AU7 for warmer tone, the Zoom B9.1ut can expand your horizons.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"All things considered... this thing is incredible." submitted June 8, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Constant mucisian, mostly a fan, recently became serious about playing and equipment
Music Style: all kinds, mostly experimental. Like funk and jazz tones, but dabble in everything.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: having listened to loads of effects laden music, now I have the capability of mimicking any sound I've come across (save the really specific ones), and now have access to ones I never dreamed of (really cool!). Pre-programmed with tones of recognizable players and pedals, it was a blast right out of the box. Any sounds is open for manipulation if you feel it's in need of it, and flexible in any way you would need. The included Tubes makes for incredible tone from all the noises, and the adjustable preamp really lets you tweek any element you want. I've tried at least 4 different amps with it, and all have sounded great. I've also plugged in guitar, and haven't seen a problem yet! Feature: the buttons to control variables of the patch are really convenient (along the bottom row). Haven't done this yet, but it is possible to program specific patches to these buttons for easy access when playing live. Even so, scrolling is quick with the buttons or the patch knob. Ease of Use: From the get go, it works like a charm. Learning curve is approx. 3 hours of solid fiddling, but I did read the manual prior to purchasing/receiving it to get a grip on what it does/needs. Quality: Just heavy enough to illustrate it's not cheaply constructed. Zoom is rumored to make equipment that lasts with players just like Hondas last with drivers. Value: I can't BELIEVE the value! Some of the pedal sounds (e.g. - Big Muff) alone cost as much as this whole console. I'm glad I researched and stuck out for this instead of individually purchasing pedals, I feel it was almost under priced. I imagine this will last me a long time, or I will get a great return price if I choose to sell it. IF... Manufacturer Support: haven't had to yet, but their contact is readily available and I've only heard good things about the Zoom company (smaller business in Japan that seems to work as a labor of love rather than profit mongering) The Wow Factor: Besides overall pure joy with this purchase ( I know I sound excited, but I've been waiting out for a pedal and am so happy with this one!) the Z-pedal feature blew my mind. Now only does the function pedal go up and down to control volume or wah, the thing moves sideways (SIDEWAYS!!) and always produces an interesting change in the patch, all of which are programmable. This is a real winner, happy playing! Overall: I've owned this console about 3 weeks, and I haven't gone a day without playing it. Granted, I've only had a few limited pedals before, but I favored the idea of one pedal that could do more than getting single pedals on a board. I can't convey how great of a choice I have found this to be. My playing has increased 10 fold just because I have so many sounds to choose from, and with a looper on the side, this thing is all I need. From grinding rock to clean frettless to Marcus Miller slap to z-bubble ambient echo, this is what you'd wish for in a console. Really, it's got everything I wanted and many more new interesting sounds to play with.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tube makes a big difference." submitted October 31, 2009

By a customer from wku.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Little bit of everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It seems to be possible to pull any sound you like out of the thing. I've worked up several custom patches that suit the different styles and songs my band covers and have yet to find a desired sound that it can't match. I even worked up a good sounding emulation of the bass sound from Genuine's Pony. I love the smooth warm tone the tube adds. I use it as a direct box with an amp monitor, so the cabinet and amp emulations were of interest to me. I have found them to sound very good and noticeably effect the tone, but I can't speak to the accuracy of the emulation as I've never owned any of devices emulated. I've found the presets serve their intended function of demonstraiting some things that are possible with the pedal and displaying the features, but most players will find them useless for playing gigs without some customizeation. Feature: Maybe I'm small minded when it comes to effects, but I can't find anything that it is lacking. I find plenty of things to monkey around with when reaching for a sound. I there is more than one way to acheive the general sound I'm after giving me the choice of setting that best suits my taste and play style. Comes with a power cord, which is always nice. I find the loop feature next to useless, but that's just me. I loose nothing by it being available. Tuner is great, but I can't seem to get the muted tuner mode from the large switches. I have to use the small button to activate that mode and while certainly not the end of the world, it is an agravating flaw. Ease of Use: I was making custom patches after about the second quick run through of the presets. I have found the controls for editing and saving patches very intuative. Programing the pedal is a little bit tricky, but you can tweek so many things about it's opperation I see no obvious way they could have made it simpler. Manual is extensive and I did skim through it while making my decision to buy. I have referenced it several times when building a desired sound and found it useful. Quality: Seems to be well made. After i've wagged it around for a few years i'll let you know about the durabillity. I do have a concern about the tube. Enevitably it will need changing shortly after my warranty expires and i'll be forced to tear into the whole pedal to change it out. A trap door for easy access to the tube would have been an easy addition. Value: I got a warehouse resealed unit and found the savings well worth it. If it hadn't been labled as resealed I'd have been hard pressed to have known it. I've not had the chance to play simular units from other manufacturers, however, I have a real sense that the great sound from the tube accelerator would edge it out ahead of the competition in value for sound for most users. Manufacturer Support: No experience The Wow Factor: Brilliant red with chrome accents and a glowing tube visible through the cooling slots. Very nice. Overall: I think this will complete my bass rig for at least the forseable future. Should i have to replace it, it would take some real suprises from competative units to make me switch.
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"17 yrs. exp. (I hope this helps you choose the right processor for you.)" submitted February 27, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: rock bassist 17 yrs. semi-pro
Music Style: rock alt.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I gave the sound an 8 because some of the effects create a light hum, which is to be expected in most all lower level effects, but a top of the line piece of gear I would expect to be just a little cleaner. Feature: Definately a 10. Once you get the programing down, the flexability of this unit is unrivaled by anything else on the market. I am a 5 string rock bassist of 17 yrs. Some of our songs I use layers of effects that I need to be able to come in and out of on the fly, and the switch ability in play mode is invaluable to me. Ease of Use: Really a 10 for me, but I'm writing this review to help others, so if your not well versed in multiple programable effects this has a bit of a learning curve to it. Quality: As solid of a unit as you will find. Solid steel body, nice switches, and a cast aluminum pedal seem to be very road worthy. Value: A bit high but you can pay more for less so do your homework before you buy. (I read the manual twice before I bought this one) Manufacturer Support: haven't had to use support so I can't say. We'll say 6 until I need them The Wow Factor: Very attractive unit, and almost half the size of the on that it replaced with about 50% more flexability. Overall: As close to a 10 as I have seen, but with my 17 yrs. exp. your really gonna have to blow my doors off to get a 10.
21 of 23 people (91.3%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ZOOM B9.1ut Its a serious contender....." submitted December 3, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com.au
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: working musician
Music Style: contemporary
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: I already own a killer analog setup, so I know what 10/10 means to me at least. I've definately been of the "analog or nothing" school of thought for a few years now so I am very pleasantly surprised by the sound quality of the Zoom B9.1ut. Being able to blend the effect mix on every preset while also adjusting the valve/solid state tone gives a very warm and natural sound to my Fenders. I've owned Line6 and Digitech bass equipment in the past, and the B9 blows everything away! I've not as yet compared it to the Boss GT10B, but I honestly can't imagine the Boss being dramatically better than this. As with all digital equipment, it responds to the quality of the bass you've plugged in. If your gear is good to start with you'll be much happier with the result. But even my expensive analog effects do that. Feature: You can seriously lose the plot with the features of this pedal! It's taken me several weeks to come back to the basics of my tone requirements, and I've had to reset to factory default settings twice now and start again. But it's all good. The valve preamp stage is brilliant. I can add natural overdrive to a bright Hartke sound and then assign chorus to the foot pedal and then add more overdrive to the horizontal pedal if I need it, all the while leaving the other switches blinking at me with their assignable options. I can assign eight separate tone effects to the foot pedal, four vertical and four horizontal, and have the option of turning off anything that gets in the way. It's a serious piece of hardware. Ease of Use: There's a learning curve involved with this pedal. It's good to find preset sounds out of the box that you like and then deconstruct them. It's a fast way to get your head around the various tones in the pedal. The manual is exhaustive but then it needs to be. The led screen is a little small for stage use but it is workable. Quality: The Zoom B9.1ut is the best looking pedal out there I think. Solid costruction with an aluminium casing and foot pedal. The valve cavity could present some problems with spilled drinks etc. I play in a working band several nights a week. We play a lot of corporate gigs with screaming entoxicated females etc trying to climb the stage with their drinks and so on. It's pretty funny! It's why I decided to leave my expensive effects at home. I'll have to see how the B9 holds up. But it's built like a tank so it'll be OK. Value: 10/10 easy. Your tone options are exhaustive. The tone is inspiring and makes me want to play. Even when plugged in to a serious sound system (at convention centres etc) and at very loud volumes, the B9 sounds clean and honest with no digital hiss or buzzing, but this may depend on your instrument as I've read other reviews that disagree. With my equipment the B9 sounds practically analogue, and that is really saying something. Manufacturer Support: I've not had to contact Zoom. The Wow Factor: I only really use a few sounds. Bass is like that (in a functioning band at least) but the B9 has more than enough grunt for any solo- oriented playing as well. It's really practical in that way. I was going to buy the Boss pedal but something intuitive told me to get this instead. I've learnt to trust some feelings like that. And I have no complaints at all about the sound guality of the unit, which surprises me a little. Even though it can't really compare to my EBS/Tech21 setup it offers so much more in the end. I'm pretty much hooked I think. Overall: Time alone will tell how it all pans out. It serves all my needs and looks sensational in the process! It's one pedal that replaces eight and gets the job done to a very high standard. I know my way around it now so I'd replace it with the same without a thought. You should at least audition one.
22 of 25 people (88%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Contender Part II...." submitted June 7, 2012

By Brad Burgess in Perth, NA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional bass player (PT)
Music Style: R&B SOUL FUNK
Back to Product Information
Overall: I've owned the B9 for nearly three years. I've had to use it several times for every week in that time, so I've more than gone beyond my honeymoon period with it. It really is a sensational piece of equipment. I play two to three times per week in a working band and throughout that time the B9 has been my tone source and sound-desk interface for every pub-gig and show we have played. It has the slap tone and the growl and all the dense layerings that I need to drive the band through every style we take on, and then some! Obvoiusly I am a fan. Unfortunately it also has a few little quirks that you won't discover until you've put some real time in. We play on a very small stage once a week at one of the venues. By necessity the B9 has to be positioned about two feet away from the high-hat, and just in front of the bass amp. After two years of this (nearly 200 four -set-nights!) the unit has developed a vibration sensitivity that throws the unit into edit/bypass mode WITH EVERY BEAT! That's dozens of times per minute! Try getting through the night like that! The signal-chain lights (the small oval-shaped buttons below the chrome preamp buttons) fit so closely to the metal casing that the vibrations from the stage actually trigger the switch function below it. The problem had a very slow onset but eventually rendered the pedal completely unusable! The repair cost (in Australia) was more than the replacement cost. Zoom didn't return an answer to my email! HMMMMM....... But even so, I would still buy another B9. It really is that good. And I did belt it around for nealy three years! Currently I am using a Zoom B3 pedal, which improves the tone (seriously) but is ultimately much less practical for my needs. It's better but worse at the same time! I am contemplating having Two B3's in sequence as one by itself feels like half a pedal! But the B9 is awesome. Fiddly, but awesome. Just thought you should know...........
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Money well spent." submitted December 27, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: In my opinion, the B9.1UT sounds great. easy to fiddle with controls. lots of cab-sims, preamps and effects to choose from. I would use this thing for recording any day. I have not played it on stage yet, only been jamming with the the band. Feature: This has got to be THE multi effect for bass-players. I cant think of anything thats not there. And everything is easy to access. Ease of Use: You dont need any knowledge to use the defaults, it gets a little nastier when you want to create your own settings. Quality: I would rather put a 10 for build quality, but then again, what do I know? I also have a Zoom 505II made of plastic, it is rock solid. Value: I havent used any other multi effects for bass. But the tube and the two-directional pedal together with the price was not match by any others. Also it replaced my Korg Pitchblack Tuner, I found the Zoom easier to tune with. Manufacturer Support: Havent got a clue. The Wow Factor: Good sounding, versatile, nuff said. Overall: I will try to get the most out of this multi effect before I even think about trying anything else, and I dont think that will happen too soon.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"owned other brands of effects..This one is the best...." submitted November 14, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician in a band
Music Style: hard rock, metal,and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Well before I owned the B9 I owned the B1X and then the B2.1U and as always with ZOOM I'm am completely satisfied....This pedal can pretty much do what ever you need it to do.It's the same processor as the B1 and B2.1U it just has alot more and the set up is a little diffrent. Feature: it has a tube and looper with a dual expression pedal very cool.for just a looper alone will normaly cost you 100 bucks and the same for a drive pedal with a tube.So pretty much you get too much to list for just one price.. Ease of Use: I started right away and dailed in my signature tone.If your new to and multi board you will get lost. Quality: never had a Zoom product fail me yet... Value: for all the features you get with this product the price is wright...I mean you get midi hook ups dual XLR hook ups and USB.Other units will run you about 500$$$ and up for half the features this has:) Manufacturer Support: never had too... The Wow Factor: it's so sexy even if I didn't play bass I would still own it...:) Overall: well I'm sure this will be the last pedal I ever purchase...Unless Zoom creates a new one that is..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Zoom B9.1UT Bass Effects Customer Review submitted July 11, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, alternative, christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I am very pleased with the sound quality of the b9. Have used many multi effects in the past and can honestly say this surpasses the others i have tried. I run my squire vm jag through it to the sound board via xlr out ( which was a major selling point to me). Most all of the effects built in can be used to one extent or the other, with the exception of the synths. Distortions are good, however the effects loop feature lets me use my PD7 so no big issue there. All in all a great unit that will provide more than i could ever possibly use. Feature: No accessories to speak of. The included power cable is nice. Wish it came with the usb to midi convertor cable though ( that is the easiest way to edit patches witht the unit) Purchased the usb to midi cable elsewhere for 5 bucks do no big issue. Ease of Use: The learning curve for the unit is not to bad. Again, the easiest way to edit is via computer interface. The manual is clear and in depth. Quality: Very well made. Heavy and solid. Construction and layout very well executed. Value: For what you get, and what you can do with this, it was well worth the money spent. Manufacturer Support: Havent need to check with support yet. The Wow Factor: Several compliments on the color. A break from the normal black or blue or gray. Overall: Not looking to replace anytime soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wow, Very Elaborate!! almost too much!" submitted August 9, 2012

By brian s in macomb, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 plus! Fender, Ibanez, Fender cabs, TC Electronics bass amp 2.0(BH500)
Music Style: Metal, Alternative, Experimental!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: i am a simple guy, wanted some effects, and went with this because it was the best Zoom offered for Bass! mind you, i dont know a ton yet, so i cant make a complete review at this point, but im still learning!!! ...that should say something....., ive had the Unit a week and its tough to figure out, the Manual is good, but you still need to figure some on your own! Great item if you want the best of everything, but if you want a few extra effects, go less!!!!!i will keep this item, more than likely, but i will say it is more than i wanted....this can be used in the studio, instead of your amp, its that good!...can be used with a plain old power amp and a few bass cabs, and you can get a sweet bass sound with a TON of effects!!! great stuff if you want a LOT!!!! be prepared for A LOT!!!!! a LOT of learning as well! just saying, i dont want other bassists to dive into this item if they want something simple, this is NOT simple!! But effective and great overall!!! Manufacturer's support scored a ZERO because i dont ever expect to have to contact them! ZOOM is good stuff!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1731-J487. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!