800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1738-QY54
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Yamaha THR10 Guitar Amp

Don't sacrifice tone while practicing. The Yamaha THR10 has accurate tube-modeling tone, even at low volume -- and its USB output is easy to record with.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Wise choice" submitted February 5, 2014

By john thompson in Sonora, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years experience. Guitar, keyboards, jam at home
Music Style: rock, classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I explored just about every possible amp before buying the Yamaha THR10. I play guitar at home and the THR10 is designed especially for bedroom/living room playing. My last amp was a Carvin Vintage 16 tube amp. It looked great and was well made but way, way too loud. Even on the 5 watt setting I rarely had the chance to enjoy the tone it was capable of because the optimum sound came at higher volume levels. It was frustrating and I sold the amp and went back to playing acoustic. After a couple years I went electric again and began comparing amps. That was when I noticed the Yamaha. I saw some amazing videos and lots of positive reviews. I was careful not to make another mistake, I've heard Roland Cubes and seen a few micro amps but they seemed like toys to me and I got to have something with smokin' tone!! The Yamaha turned out to be tone beast all around. There are plenty of clean tones that sound larger than possible when I want that But my favorite is the Crunch mode set on 7. Clean when playing easy, then snarling distortion when played roughly. I can't get enough of it! Both the Modern and Brit Hi modes are vicious as well. I had a Boss ME 50 processor and a couple Digitechs in the past but the Hall reverb on the THR10 may ibe the best reverb of all. The twin speakers give it a stereo sound as though it's coming two directions! Ridiculous. As small as it is, I still keep it around level 5 because it's plenty loud. It's hard to imagine anything this small sounding so good, but it does. I rarely use the effects because the sound is so good without them. Occasionally I plug in headphones at night which is a blast because I can set the amp on the couch or easily carry it from one room to another. Before I close I would just like to say that this amp may be less suitable for NuMetal or detuned Korn style sounds and wouldn't really work for gigging among bigger amps, so please don't try to set this next to your buddies stack or combo on stage. It's really for getting amazing sounds at home.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha THR10" submitted September 17, 2012

By David B in Alexandria, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermediate amateur
Music Style: rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the best home use/practice amp I've played. Its sound capabilities are phenomenal, especially considering the size of the two speakers. It has several guitar modes, from acoustic to lead to bass to extreme crunch, plus it has reverb, delay and some chorus. I can highly recommend it. The only problem I have had is the fact that I wasn't able to register it on the Yamaha site, even though I tried several times.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha THR10 Desktop Guitar Combo Amplifier" submitted December 9, 2013

By Andrew V in Roberts creek, BC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player,30 + year, record, jam, gig.
Music Style: s. Blues, jazz, experimental, country jazz, etc.
Back to Product Information
Overall: I have never felt strong enough ( good or bad) about any product to review, this delicious amp has motivated me to get proactive. I have many iconic amps in my studio but nothing that sounds like this THR CLASSIC! I am now using it at the kitchen table, the cottage, I use it to jam with full band by using the headphone jack to line out to my Bose ps1 --- crystal clear with very little sound degradation. Have also gigged with it. I am not a fan of selling music gear but if this love affair continues I will be selling my other amps except the Bose, they are a match made in heaven. Go grab one, you won't regret it and your playing time with increase as well as your reason to play--- warm tubey clear sound!! And I have not got into the superb sound quality of the effects yet, unbelievable!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing amp!!!" submitted April 15, 2012

By Buddy Neighbors in Dallas, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi pro. Been playing for 35years
Music Style: Blues, blues rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: This is the best practice amp I have ever heard. You can get great harmonic tones at whisper volumes that allows you to play in your living room. Just an incredible product!!! Have you ever wanted to have Marshall lead harmonic tones at volumes you can talk over? You've got it with this baby!!. Highly recommended !!!
18 of 20 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I'm Blown Away" submitted March 24, 2014

By Mike F in Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar,Keyboards and drum programing
Music Style: Jazz,Blues,Rock and Reggae.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got it out of the box and took it thru Hell and Highwater and was blown away by what this baby can do.The new technology is awesome.I'm from the old school believing that bigger is better...this changes everything!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha THR10 Desktop Guitar Combo Amp" submitted November 11, 2012

By Jean B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 plus years
Music Style: Rock jazz country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Didn't want to rate this right away. I wanted to play it for a month or so. Right out of the box. It has a really big sound. Not really loud. But a really big sound for an amp this small. Another review called it tinny. I found if you have it up on a chair or on a desk. It can be a bit tinny. But on the floor where it belongs. Sounds much bigger. I am a tube amp player. I mod all my amps as I want them to sound. Couldn't believe the sound from this little solid state amp. It does sound very very tubish. With a nice array of effects. But here is where I think this amp fails. With all the things it can do. Why not incorperate a line out and maybe even a speaker out. Seriously. I would concider playing this amp at a gig. It sounds that good. But would never mic this. That is where the tinnyness would kill the sound.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great All-a-Round Amp" submitted July 13, 2014

By Eric Willmes in Atlanta, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Solo home jammer!
Music Style: Anything I can play!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great size, sound and quality. More impressive is ZZounds customer support. My order was a little tricky with multiple items as well as partial returns due to my lack of paying attention to my order. Zzounds, thanks for all your help!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THR Sound Imagination" submitted August 7, 2012

By David Hodge in LOCKPORT, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Non Professional
Music Style: I listen to electronic and ambient music, grew up with blues music and classical and progressive rock. I have way to many styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The THR 5 / 10 is the most affordable amp that can be taken anywhere with a battery operated system lasting up to 6 hours it makes guitar playing versatile and gives the impression you have a 110 lbs. 200Watt HD with a 4X12 cab.Not to mention the great sound. The THR takes guitar playing into another phase with controls for modeling..Clean, Crunch, Lead, British Hi, and Modern and more. All these styles are set off with variable Delay/Reverb and Effects Like chorus, flanger,phaser, tremolo. The gain works as a loudness boost that makes the guitar output volume and master volume adjustable for very fine volume control. This is great for playing late at night so you don't wake any one up and it really is very sensitive. On the High side its just as loud as 2x12 twin. I would recommend this amp to beginners as its packed with sound and creation. However even for the advanced guitarist it can be used anywhere even in the forest with long battery power and measuring 14 in. (THR10) by 5in. deep it can be put in back pack, it feels lighter than a laptop. But the best part is still to come it is USB compatible and Yamaha offers a THR app and downloadable program with many other settings and a noise gate. Plus it has an aux for a mp3 and memory plus headphone jack. And if you don't have batteries the AC power adapter is great anywhere.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice little practice amp" submitted June 23, 2014

By Mike Cossey in Batesville, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 off and on years of personal pleasure playing.
Music Style: Folk, Folk / Country / Hick Rock....Classic Rock... Hard Rock....Country.....elect and acoustic......
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This little practice amp is perfect for quick easy practice time. Has enough punch for the effects to shine through. I have a Taylor T5 that I mainly use with this amp on the Flat setting for my acoustic sound, maybe the acoustic setting on the amp are tuned in for a piezo pickup and the T5 has it's own magnetic PU for acoustic. In today's economy and market it seems to be $50 to $75 overpriced....yes I would recommend this to others as long as they are looking for and easy to use hassle free, get right to playing practice amp...and it's in their Price range......
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the third Amp ?" submitted November 21, 2013

By David Ames in Freeport, ME
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional wannabe 40 years
Music Style: Acoustic Electric guitar Rock blues country punk disco funk pop and soul
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great little amp for all forms of experimentation Easy to get great sounds fast spatial voicings and just funLoud enough to play inside a room or to a crowd just mike it up Great for recording quiet songs or blistering solos
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"cant be beat" submitted December 9, 2012

By stuart w in lutz, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years. Guitar and jam at home
Music Style: rock, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Can't imagine what the guy who said it's tinny sounding is talking about? The cleans are great but I still can't believe how you can nail any Marshall sound you want. The effecits are great. You can quickly go from playing Jimi Hendrix to Eddie Van Halen and back to Tom Petty. Buy it and you will probably be like me and not miss any of your old tube amps for practice. I am guessing the reason they don't provide the ability to extend to a cabinet is because the unique design is what helps it sound like a tube amp?
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha THR 10" submitted August 12, 2012

By Ron May in Bullville, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played for 40 years, still doing solo acoustic gigs, singer songwriter
Music Style: Rock, blues,funk, ballads .. eclectic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I'm not impressed with the sound quality, difficult for me to get a decent sound.Mostly tinny and trebelly sounding. Feature: It has a tuner, which is good, but the presets sound tinny Ease of Use: I haven't gotten great sounds out of it,.. decent at best with a lot of tweaking. Quality: Seems to be made fairly well Value: I don't think it's worth $300 Manufacturer Support: Haven't used yet, no warranty card or info enclosed. The Wow Factor: There is no WOW factor. It's just a small practice amp for quiet practice. Overall: It's Ok for quiet praticing, and portability. Sometimes I can get decent tones out of it,if I tweak it just right. Most of the time it sounds tinny. Also, There was no warrantycard or warranty info in the box.
2 of 14 people (14.29%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1738-QY54. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!