800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12C0-PVCX
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Yamaha MSR400 PA Speaker

Perfect for the road or studio, this powered PA cabinet from Yamaha delivers powerful bass and clear midrange all in a clean, simple design.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

""Everyday Real-World Review"" submitted March 15, 2011

By a customer from isa-avl.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro Sound Man, Home recording
Music Style: Gospel, Country, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I run sound for a male gospel singing group with piano. I wanted a powered speaker for mains capable of small to medium size venues. I listened to JBL, Mackie, Peavey, and several others with similar power ratings, some with higher power ratings. I bought the MSR400. The sound is very clean and true especially for vocals. Excellent balance between lows and highs, and the power is more than adequate for even some larger rooms. I run these using Blue Encore 300 mic's and a Soundcraft FX16ii board. If your focus is on vocals with clean sound, (not needing to blow ears off), you should give these speakers serious consideration. Feature: The reason I give them a 9, (like most powered speakers), is that you get this short electrical cord that will barely reach the floor if you pole mount these which you will do 99% of the time. Speaker manufacturers need to provide at least an 8 foot cord to make connections to extension cords where necessary more practical as well as cosmetically better looking. The units have a low and high EQ but I run this at neutral setting and control EQ from the board which most people will do. Ease of Use: Plug and play. What more can you say about powered speaker ease of use. Quality: Although made in China,(like virtually everything else in music), they appear to be constructed very well. Molded cabinets eliminate potential vibrations, sturdy, metal grill, easy to transport. Like any speaker I would recommend getting a cover to protect from dust and other elements. Time will tell how it holds up over-all. Value: Given what is available in the market especially with higher power wattage these are a bit pricy in comparison. Most of the MSR series are a bit over-priced given the competition. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed them yet so we'll hope for the best if I do need them. The Wow Factor: Excellent cosmetic appeal and it doesn't frighten the audience who sit "up front" worrying that they might need ear plugs. Overall: Given the sound, and the purpose, for which I purchased these they are an excellent choice. Probably will never need anything more unless we start playing arenas!
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing Quality & Sound" submitted December 3, 2005

By a customer from mac.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years as Musician and DJ
Music Style: ALl Styles
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought these over the JBL & Mackie Speakers and I am glad I did. Absolutely amazing for their size.Im using them as DJ Speakers and have many years in the business!Keep up the good work.Incredible sound ! Great bass response ! Im going to buy the powered sub to add to these for very large venues! Feature: Clean , Simple, powerful, very very well made! Quality: Top of the line construction.Very Very solid. Value: Well worth the money. Manufacturer Support: Havent needed it The Wow Factor: The design of these is very easy on the eyes Overall: Befor you buy another brand try these first they are great
24 of 24 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sound, great yamaha quality!" submitted November 4, 2012

By KK Curtis in Knoxvegas, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional, touring, gigging.
Music Style: Country, Rock, Christian, Blues, Fusion
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Said enough...... Feature: Need I say more..... Ease of Use: Set gain at desired level, set HF - LF to desired level, plug and play. Works well with any non powered mixer, as long as it utilizes XLR main outs. Using the 1/4" ts/trs does have slight harmonic buzz, though very low. Quality: What can I say, it's a Yamaha product! Value: Best value in a mid-level active enclosure....hands down! Manufacturer Support: No need at this point. The Wow Factor: I am "wowed" by the over quality and performance of this product. Could I make good music without it? Yes, but....I'll take these over the competitor(s) anyday! Overall: I have used most every active speaker out there....Mackie, JBL, EV, Cerwin Vega, EAW, RCF, FBT, QSC as well as others. The yamaha product rates equivalent to higher priced items, and performs as well or better in similar enironments. SPL's are great, freq response very consistent with different genres of music. Very powerful, and yet seems to be "under rated" on the power side. Construction is typical yamaha, and can't be beat. Spend more for something similar, and you will be dissapointed!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This speaker rocks!" submitted May 10, 2010

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Singer
Music Style: Jazz , soft rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Crystal clear sound. I use 2 of them conected to a yamaha mixer and the sound is so true. I'm using AKG mics. The bass is very very powerfull for a 12'' It achieves all frequencies. I seriously recomend this speaker to everyone. Ease of Use: A little heavy, but the sound it generates it's heavy to so there's no prob... Quality: It has a great aspect and it is very durable. Value: very worth the price. YAmaha rules. Manufacturer Support: Never needed any support from Yamaha. The product has no issues. The Wow Factor: Very great aspect. Suitable for any type of ambiet (jazz rock metal...) Overall: many years
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is a MUST buy if you are in the market for Powered Speakers" submitted April 10, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Muscisian
Music Style: Rock, punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound of the Yamaha MSH 400 is absolutely amazing. For vocals it cannot be beat. I put this against the JBL Eon G2, mackies, and yorkville and the Yamaha blew them away. Feature: Yamaha makes the best amplifiers period. Numerous in connections and a built in 2 band equalizer help you fine tune the sound. It also has a special crossover where there is absolutely no distortion. Ease of Use: Plug from mike straight into the speaker or go thru a mixer. Quality: Yamaha has been making the best amplifiers for years and in this product it is no exception. Do this, goto your local music store. Get a cd that features vocals and do side by side comparisons on the quality. Thats what I did and the Yamaha blew away the competition. When I play a CD thru the pair it sounds absolutley amazing. The bass is excellent, mid and highs crystal clear. When my friends come over and I pipe a cd thru the speakers they are speechless.......... Value: For the speakers in the 500-800 dollar range these cannot be beat. Manufacturer Support: No problems The Wow Factor: Traditional look Overall: I strongly suggest you give this speaker a serious consideration. I am the type of guy who examines all the specs, and then does side by side comparisons before buying anything. It was not even close, the Yamaha was the choice hands down. Now that I have the pair set up I am completely satisfied.
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Well worth it for the money if you like deeper bass response." submitted July 7, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ/producer
Music Style: urban/electronic
Back to Product Information
Sound: We compared this against the Mackie SRM450 and the Yamaha bass response is better. Mackie has too much mid range. Value: Cheaper price than other powered PA monitors out there.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fantastic sound. Worth the money. Don't buy JBL Power15's over these!" submitted October 3, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Drum and Bass
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great response on a wide range of frequencies. I put it side by side to a JBL Power15 and it kicked the snot out of it in terms of overall sound quality and especially on the low end. A little pricey, but I think it's worth it. Feature: Nothing spectacular, but I'm glad it came with a line-in as well as two mic-ins so you don't really need a PA for basic usage. It has a volume knob of course, and it has basic low/high eq knobs which is nice as well. Also has a clipping LED so you know when it's being overworked. Quality: Solid construction, medium weight, handles on both sides... thumbs up. Value: Again, a little pricey, but I think it's worth it. Manufacturer Support: Yamaha is a quality company. The Wow Factor: I was very impressed with this product in store and it really was spooge-worthy enough to shell out the extra cash for. Overall: I might eventually need more wattage output, although this thing gets LOUD.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very pleased! " submitted December 3, 2012

By Tim J in Toledo, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Keyboard player, manager, and vocalist for traveling vocal group. Play professionally.
Music Style: County and Christian music.
Back to Product Information
Overall: For 12 years I designed and sold church and school sound systems. Thus, I am familiar with many products. Now, I manage a traveling vocal group consisting of 3 vocalists and keyboard player. We use our own studio backing tracks along with live accompaniment during concerts. Most performance are in churches and outdoor venues such as fairs and festivals. I purchased two of these as stage monitors five years ago. I listened to many competing products before purchase. These speakers are excellent. Sound quality is superb. Very warm, smooth, and clear. Love the ability to control level and tone for each speaker depending on vocalist's unique desires. Plenty of power for stage monitors!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice Speaker but stay away!! no support from yamaha if it breaks!!" submitted December 17, 2013

By ade bolaji in east point, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing percussion for 20yrs, mostly sound engineer now...
Back to Product Information
Overall: Recently bought a pair of MSR400 spkrs. Sound very good but weigh alot compared to Mackie 450's. My biggest problem isn't related to sound. Just found out from yamaha that they don't offer any replacement diaphrams for the horns. You have to but a whole new $200 horn unit. Don't bother with buying this speaker. One bad pop and your going to have to spend half the cost of purchase to fix it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha smr 400 watt speakers....in yor face baby!" submitted August 30, 2012

By Allan B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar harmonica
Music Style: Blues rock punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is detailed & "well projected" good base the sound of a harmonica sounded truly "alive".vocals and guitar were extremely pleasing. Feature: Inputs are excellent Ease of Use: A snap to use with my Yamaha USB 166 mixer Quality: Excellent build pleasing cosmetics Value: Excellent value to my mind & ears Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: I have considered taking it to bed...but it's a bit cold to touch:-) Overall: These are excellent speakers and replace my tannoy 15-inch gold. Truly excellent sound you will not be sorry if you buy these!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha smr 400 watt speakers....in yor face baby!" submitted August 30, 2012

By Allan B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar harmonica
Music Style: Blues rock punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is detailed & "well projected" good base the sound of a harmonica sounded truly "alive".vocals and guitar were extremely pleasing. Feature: Inputs are excellent Ease of Use: A snap to use with my Yamaha USB 166 mixer Quality: Excellent build pleasing cosmetics Value: Excellent value to my mind & ears Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: I have considered taking it to bed...but it's a bit cold to touch:-) Overall: These are excellent speakers and replace my tannoy 15inch gold. Truly excellent sound you will not be sorry if you buy these!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha smr 400 watt speakers....in yor face baby!" submitted August 30, 2012

By Allan B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar harmonica
Music Style: Blues rock punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is detailed & "well projected" good base the sound of a harmonica sounded truly "alive".vocals and guitar were extremely pleasing. Feature: Inputs are excellent Ease of Use: A snap to use with my Yamaha USB 166 mixer Quality: Excellent build pleasing cosmetics Value: Excellent value to my mind & ears Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: I have considered taking it to bed...but it's a bit cold to touch:-) Overall: These are excellent speakers and replace my tannoy 15inch gold. Truly excellent sound you will not be sorry if you buy these!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12C0-PVCX. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X

ALL ACCESS PASS

5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER

  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!