800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1612-Y06W
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Yamaha MOX6 Keyboard

Combining power and portability, the 15-pound Yamaha MOX6 features a MOTIF XS sound engine, 16-channel sequencer, and multi-channel DAW integration over USB.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great Bang For The Buck" submitted January 6, 2013

By Robert W in cocoa beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Primarily a bassist for 35 years but also intermediate keys player and have owned a half dozen keyboards over the years.
Music Style: Rock, alternative rock, blues, reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This keyboard sounds excellent. There are keyboards that have better piano sounds, but not for this price. I was a little disappointed in the electric piano section, not the sounds so much as the ability to turn off the vibrato if I wanted. But that's only because I haven't gotten deep into editing the sounds yet. The B3 sounds are the best out of any keyboard I've owned or heard besides maybe the B4 software. They also throw in a pretty decent software organ emulator BTW. The DAW interface works amazing. It makes recording in Cubase really easy because I can control things in Cubase from the keyboard. I love that. It was a learning curve setting it up and getting it all to work but once I did it works perfect. I was disappointed that Cubase didn't save a lot of the settings but now that I know how it just takes a couple minutes to set up a new project. Be prepared to spend time and work things out. As far as the ease of operation at a live gig, it's pretty easy. I like the way you can set your most used sounds in a Favorites area, it makes it really easy to find what I need fast. The same goes for doing on the fly custom splits and layers in a split second! I've had a blast playing it at the last few gigs since I got it. I look forward to making music with this thing for a long time. After doing more than my share of research I know I made the right pick and I wasn't disappointed except for minor things mentioned above. Good job Yamaha.
25 of 25 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MOX6 Keyboard Synthesizer 61-Key personal review by VinDC" submitted December 25, 2011

By a customer from live.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i've been playing music over 30 years. I play keyboard, guitar, bass, and drums. I play mostly at church functions.
Music Style: Gospel, Funk, Rock, hip-hop, Contemporary Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound quality is excellent! Feature: The features are top notch! Ease of Use: Very easy to use... Quality: The quality is very good. I'm still getting use to the lightness of the board but it is still an amazing instrument! Value: The price is excellent for the features... Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to call... The Wow Factor: This is a fantastic instrument! Overall: I'm satisfied with it for what it does. The piano sounds can be slightly upgraded and the key sensitivity should allow for adjustment. But other than that it is an excellent synth workstation!
34 of 36 people (94.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All in all, not bad for the price!" submitted July 5, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active pro for over 40 years
Music Style: R&B, rock, jazz, you name it.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I also own a S70XS and I expected this unit (MOX6) would have the same software so I could import my prebuilt patches over to the mox6. Unfortunately, it doesn't have a lot of the great features of the S70XS like mixing your patches of 4 instruments with different volume levels, etc. But, I like the portability and the feature that when you press the bank button you see all 16 choices before you commit to a different sound. This is great for live performances. Another thing you have to get used to is playing a little softer because unlike the weighted keys of the S70XS, if you play the mox6 the same way you're going to get way more percussive notes because of the softer feel. Feature: I wish you could se;ect whixh sound patches you could start off with upon power up. Now I have to go through a number of keystrokes just to get to a basic sound that I want to play. I also wish I could delete a lot of those prebuilt sounds and patches that I will never ever use, it's just a clutter of crap and it slows you down to go get to the sounds you use on a regular basis. Ease of Use: It's definitely not easy to get what you want from this instrument and it's not as bonding to my X70XS as I originally thought it should be. Quality: Yamaha usually builds their stuff quite durably. Value: All in all, I'll keep this unit because of weight and it has a handful of sounds that I will use on a regular basis. Manufacturer Support: Support is iffy . . . iffy you get contacted sooner than later and iffy you get someone that knows their stuff and is personable too. Don't you hate support that acts curt and evasive. Overall: I'll keep this unit for quite a while. I just wish it had better B3 patches like the Hammond XK-1.
23 of 26 people (88.46%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"An Awesome Keyboard for the Budget minded" submitted October 30, 2012

By Alan G in Germantown, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Music has been a side career for over thirty years. I play saxes,flutes and keyboard and compose using Logic Pro software.
Music Style: Mostly Smooth Jazz, Caribbean, and World Music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Yamaha MOX6 is the best purchase I've ever made for a portable keyboard synth. If you can't afford a Motif, this is the next best thing. It's lightweight and packed with an almost endless array of sounds and performance patterns. For the money I don't think there's any better keyboard on the market. The only drawback is the users manual. As usual, Yamaha makes it a little more complicated to fully understand in order to fully discover what this keyboard is capable of.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Top of its class." submitted August 29, 2011

By a customer from hawaii.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: experienced amateur
Music Style: mix of club and elevator music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Excellent instrument sounds (Voices), and combinations (with layers and splits of up to 4 instruments, called Performances by Yamaha) and around 6700 arps (with arp setups keyed to preset instruments). Pianos are excellent but not equal to Kurzweil. Ease of Use: Mixing is a bit awkward in combinations (Performances) requiring an edit, should have used the 4 knobs to mix volume for the 4 instruments in a combination (maybe the top 4 for volume, the bottom 4 for pan) without edit - but mixing in a DAW is excellent using the downloadable Yamaha editor. Quality: Lightweight, about 15 pounds - most power in a light keyboard that I know of, so it uses a lot of plastic but overall very high quality. Has small but very usuable display with 12 variable buttons. Value: I used a Yamaha Motif ES for a few years -- the MOX6 sounds better, is far easier to use, far lighter, better integrated with computers and has more and better arps. And it costs about half what I paid for the ES. A bargain and the top of its class of keyboards (light, less than $1500 workstations). Manufacturer Support: Motifator.com continues to be an excellent source of information and support. Excellent integration with PC or Mac, including a very useful USB audio downloadable interface that works with nearly any DAW, (I use Goldwave and just set the input to Yamaha MOX6). Cubase AI 5 is included. Overall: IMHO the best synth available in its price range. If you are focused on pianos try the Kurzweil PC3LE6 or 8 for similar prices.
13 of 15 people (86.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha Mox6" submitted July 30, 2012

By Alex Smith in Fullerton, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a music producer and Tour musician, I play keys for MJ Tribute tour, Gap Band Sensation tribute show, Tito Jackson..
Music Style: Urban Inspirational, Gospel, RnB, Neo Soul, Christian, Rock , hip hop, etc.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Recently purchased the new Yamaha Mox6 Keyboard. Blown away by the new features and simple to use for recording and on the stage. Im a tour musician so I was able to program my own performance setups in Daw mode and upload my personal library of patches for live shows. I love the the 2 separate volume knobs for Keyboard patches and Daw mode. Really love the quality of sounds, it blew away all the other boards in rehearsal and turned heads once I began to play! A Light and Powerful weapon for any musician! This is truly a secret weapon! Well worth the investment!!!
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha mox6" submitted December 23, 2013

By Tejan Edwards in Elmsford, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 15years professionally for 5yrs
Music Style: Christian/R&B/HipHop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The best yamaha motif keyboard that is the cheapest I love everything about I can't take nothing away from it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha mox8" submitted July 2, 2013

By Scott S in Brookfield, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Classic rock with 7 piece band
Music Style: Classic rock - 60 and 70's
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Originally ordered mox6, but did not like the non weighted keys. ZZ took it back no problem and re sent me the mox8. A little more sturdy, but of course it weighs more. Has the same functions, which are awesome for the price.Only thing I wish Yamaha would do is instal a regular power line instead of the flimsy transformer
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best at this price range"" submitted January 16, 2012

By John Roca in Granada Hills, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 yrs playing keyboards
Music Style: Jazz,Latin,Pop,Rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: Alot of pleople complain about the plastic ,and I belive that they dont gig that much. but when you gig alot and you have to carry a Motif es youre back gets hurt like mine did,i had also a cirgury. I had a korg M50 cool but sold it,then I purchase a korg Pa500 sounds beautifull but no professional,this machine sounds just like my Motif es,the keys are cheaper but for $1,200 and 15 pounds i dont complain,if you whant someting better get an employ to carry youre keyboard, amplifier ,stand ect ect
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1612-Y06W. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!