800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16JX-LXNF
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Yamaha DGX230 Keyboard

Perfect for beginners, this Yamaha Portable Grand delivers rich stereo piano sounds -- plus hundreds more sounds and styles, a built-in recorder, and more.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Astonished!" submitted December 26, 2012

By George K in Lindsay, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: long time struggling musician
Music Style: brassy rhythm and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: There are twelve amazing demo sequences pre-loaded on this instrument that blew me away. Nine of those demos have transcriptions in pdf format and cover different styles of music from rock to jazz waltz. The demos are really great sources for learning cool chord voicings, fills, transistions, melodies, etc. You can solo or mute the piano parts while you play along with the band.This instrument is amazing for the price and is ideal for anyone wanting to attain a higher level of comping skills and chord voicing knowledge. The tracks that I like are Against All Odds, BogiWogi, CntryPno, EpBallad, GospelRB, JazWaltz, JetSet, MBossa, MSwing, RockPno, Salsa, and TakeOff. I plan to import some other songs that I like that I have in midi format to play along with. I am simply amazed at the functionality for the price I paid. Really happy with this instrument.
19 of 20 people (95%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great deal" submitted March 28, 2011

By k
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: country, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's hard to believe that a keyboard costing only $200 (which stand, PS, and headphones) could sound this good and have this good of key action. This is the same keyboard as the YPG-235 (the manual has both models on the cover) but at a much better price if you don't mind silver. I don't. Feature: stand, ps, headphones
28 of 30 people (93.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A good deal with good quality." submitted November 15, 2011

By a customer from mac.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 26 years in Church
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Being a larger keyboard with more speakers it produces a very nice sound. Feature: We needed something with a transpose and this keyboard has that. It's better than our previous Yamaha that when you selected a function you had to go all the way through the whole list to get the previous one--the DGX230 has arrows allowing you easy access. Ease of Use: You don't have to read the whole manual to be able to get started, press a button and an arrow and you can begin! Quality: I shipped it internationally and it held up well. Value: This was a great buy! Manufacturer Support: Don't really know The Wow Factor: Neutral Overall: Hoping this to last longer than my previous Yamaha which lasted 5 years.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is the best keyboard at this price." submitted October 26, 2011

By a customer from atcomputing.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Contemporary Christian
Back to Product Information
Sound: Got this as a warehouse item and the few scuffs on the edges cleaned right off with some wax. Great deal at $180 and the sound is great. Feature: Has alot of good quality sounds with the grand piano being the best. Good recording and playback features. Quality: This is a quality istrument for the price Value: Great Value Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed post sales support but pre sales was prompt
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Highly recommend zZounds.com" submitted October 23, 2013

By William T
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Best place to purchase a piano keyboard, bought for daughter.....she loves it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha DGX230 keyboard is just what I wanted" submitted April 22, 2012

By Kathryn G in Eufaula, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I played the piano as a child and am now getting back into it now that I am retired.
Music Style: rock, easy listening, ballroom dance music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought a Yamaha DGX230 keyboard a month ago and am very, very happy with it. I had a smaller 61 key keyboard previously and found it limiting. This one is perfect for my needs. I still have not learned all there is to know about it because it seems to be very versatile. It is a beautiful instrument.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Big, Bulky, Lightweight - Has Great Sound Though" submitted December 28, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Since 5th grade. Acoustic guitar, keyboard, bass, flute. Haven't played a gig since my mid 20s, but I do want to create music.
Music Style: Pretty much anything, mostly top 40.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I don't know how to use keyboards. I grew up playing piano, but I never learned how to write. So when I say I love the sound of this product, I am saying the volume is good all by itself and it's a full, bold sound to me. I'm still trying to learn how to use all the bells and whistles, so I can't comment about whether all the drums sound realistic or whether the instruments are perfect. From the pre-recorded styles, everything sounds great to me. I didn't buy it to perform with though. Feature: The pre-recorded components were the most useful for me. Even though I haven't learned how to use the keyboard yet, I was able to follow the instructions and record one of my own compositions using a pre-recorded into, middle and ending. All I had to do was play the correct chords. NOTE: If you bought this expecting to use software that automatically creates sheet music, they don't tell you that you have to buy the Yamaha Audiogram 3 USB recording interface to do so. The file transfer directly from the USB port on the keyboard is worthless - the raw files are proprietary and useless until you buy the Audiogram 3 to translate them. While I wanted the sheet music option, my true purpose in buying the keyboard was to be able to record music for videos and my mother who sings at church and needs performance tracks (music without singers). This is easily done by hooking a Y-Cable with a 1/4" plug into the headphone jack and stereo RCA jacks on the other end. (Save your final performance to a channel in the keyboard first so all you have to do is hit "play" and the record button.) I have an Audiophile 2496 sound card that does a great job of recording the music with GoldWave. It's a little bass heavy, but all I have to do is use the equalizer in Goldwave and I can save it to a MP3 file, then burn it to CD so people can sing to it. Physically, it's a big keyboard even though it's not a full piano keyboard, but not heavy. The music holder is nice and sturdy. The digital panel is easy to read and I found all the buttons easy to read and use. There's so much more this board can do, but I just don't have the time to figure it out. I just read the instructions as I need to do something new. Ease of Use: If you've never delved into doing your own recording, this might be a little much for a beginner. Like I said, I haven't had time to sit down and learn how to use everything. Consequently, I find it frustrating to use for anything more than just playing. I wish I could take an intensive course on how to use it so I could create all the parts for all the different instruments. I couldn't really find anything on the net that gave good information on how to use it. The fact that I bought it specifically for the USB connection and then found out several months after buying it that I needed a part that was another $100 to do so is disappointing. If you are just starting out and don't know the intricacies of recording multiple parts yet, go with something simpler. If you're a musician who already knows all these things, you'll probably get a lot of use out of the keyboard. The back of the keyboard is sparse. There are NO midi ports. Only a USB port (again, useless without the Yamaha USB interface), a sustain pedal jack, a headphone jack and the power jack. I find the power cord a little short for my tastes. Quality: I bought a "returned" box, so while I got it for a really good price it had already been in and out of the box. When I opened it, you could barely tell it had any wear on it. It has a very sturdy construction for so light a box. The only problem I could see is if you had a mic picking up the sound (as opposed to running it through the USB port) the keys are kinda noisy. They seem full-sized, but are plastic and light (compared to wooden piano keys I'm used to). Something about the design of the keyboard keeps my fingers in the right place as opposed to getting lost on the keyboard as I often get when playing a full sized piano (I don't play regularly). I don't know how well it would do as a nightly gig keyboard. It seems kinda lightweight for being tossed around every night. It does take up a lot of space - my entire kitchen table for example. Value: The price I paid for it? It was a GREAT value. I don't know how to gauge whether all the electronic features are worth the typical selling price for a box that was new and had never been opened. It sounds good, I can record music from it, it's physically lightweight and well laid out. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had any reason to call Yamaha, so I know nothing about their customer service. The Wow Factor: I don't know enough about keyboards to make that judgement call. Would I buy a "returned" box for a niece or nephew just learning how to play the piano? Yes, definitely. Once they learn how to use it they have vast creative options. It's huge and lightweight, but I think a perfect learning tool. Overall: I would buy a keyboard with midi ports instead if I had to do it again.
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Recommend" submitted June 21, 2012

By Rachelle B in Baltimore, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently purchased this Yamaha DGX230 76 Key Portable Keyboard, factory restored, and am very pleased. I placed the order on a Tuesday, and it arrived Thursday! Though it was factory restored, I have had no issues with it, and am pleased that I got the keyboard, headphones, music stand, power cord, and keyboard stand for a much reduced price. The only thing that disappointed me was that the keyboard stand did not come with instructions for putting together. Thankfully, I'm fairly handy, and I was able to do without. It's possible that if I searched online, I may have found it. I did not attempt to contact Customer Service, but I assume that if I had, they probably would have been able to help me out. In all, I do recommend this product for amateur musicians - and for the price offered by zZounds, (especially factory restored!) you should be satisfied.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Keyboard that could" submitted August 13, 2012

By Eddie T in Rocky Mount, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Keyboard, Guitar
Music Style: All styles, with classical and pop/rock my favorites.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a funky kind of keyboard for a price that can bring on the funk in a moment’s notice. Yes, I LOVE this baby! Yamaha hit the mark with style, function and sound in this DGX-230/YPG-235. And Zzounds gives it the affordable touch in monthly payments so you have no excuse to not get that gear you’ve been wanting.I usually play keyboards only through standalone vsts, like Pianissimo, Truepianos, Galaxy Grand (Kontakt) and the like. So my initial judgment upon playing with it for a few minutes wasn’t favorable; I didn’t much marvel at the Grand “sound”, as other did in their review here and Amazon or YouTube. My wife suggested that I was spoiled because of the sounds of the standalones, so I took a day off from playing any standalones. I just fiddled with the DGX-230 for a whole day, immersing myself in the sound of the Grand sound. It then became apparent that I had misjudged the varmint—I actually came to enjoy the sound of this baby. What a keyboard!I put her through her paces by utilizing some of the many features and she passed with flying colors. There really is no need to expound upon the features, as words don’t really do justice to what this baby can do. But, suffice it say, she can do so much and more! If you are on the fence about purchasing this, I might suggest you drop your concerns and listen to a player (I play guitar as well –are you listening, Zzounds?): you won’t be disappointed. Of course it can’t really be put on par with $2000 keyboards, but commensurate with price and the Yamaha name, you’ve got a keen investment for enjoying a relatively sweet-sounding keyboard that will give back your investment many times over. And don’t forget: you can send it back if it dissatisfies you. Just don’t be unreasonable in your expectations. Remember: you are paying less than 3 bills. But you’ll get a great keyboard you’ll play with no complaints. Just keep it real.
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha Keyboard" submitted January 9, 2014

By Charles D in Henderson, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play professionally for 30 years
Music Style: Jazz, pop, adult contemporary
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Delivery was prompt and keyboard has been great! Thanks for a good job.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Yamaha DGX230 Keyboard Customer Review submitted July 6, 2011

By a customer from otonline.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active hobbyist
Music Style: rock, easy listening
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is great. Feature: Happy a music rest is supplied. Ease of Use: Getting used to the control knob and all the functions you can use does take some time. Read the manual Quality: No roblems here Value: Well worth the price.Really glad I got it. Worth the aggravation from the wife for buying a new toy. Manufacturer Support: Haven't used after my purchase. Overall: A very long time. I should be hapy with this key board until it stops playing. Don't want to lose it, but would replace it.
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Yamaha that could..." submitted August 9, 2012

By Eddie T in Rocky Mount, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Keyboards, guitar.
Music Style: Rock, pop, soul, jazz, classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I paid $260 for the keyboard, stand, power supply and headphones (I already have a pedal) here at Zzouds. Wondering if I overpaid for some upper-level "toy", I held my breath turning it on. Immediately I went into a 12-bar boogie-- I was surprised! Nice sounding keyboard. Next, I put the sheet music to "So Far Away" by Carole King on the stand; I was floored! From DM9 to DM6 it was like heaven. This keyboard, for the money spent, is the best bargain in a musical instrument I've ever owned. I own several guitars and another keyboard ( 10 year old Casio LK-73).I then hit the "Music Database" button, played a key on the left side first, then stopped the auto-accomp by hitting the white Start/Stop button. It will say, "Jude Hey" in the window; ignore that. Now play a chord (or the key corresponding to the chord you want to play) in the left hand and play some notes-of-that-chord in your right hand-- beautiful! I played "Auld Lang Syne" and it sounds so warm and lovely, that it will make an old-timer feel it right down to his/her feet. It made me nearly tear up...sorry.I really don't care much about all the features this keyboard has to offer. It's nice to have, yes, but I don't need them. Good selling point should I ever want to spend some big bucks (fat chance) on a professional model. If you're on the fence about this purchase, I don't mess around: get it and you will enjoy it. Promise!
6 of 9 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16JX-LXNF. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!