800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1432-WTD6
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Whirlwind MC20 Mic Cable

Made to be flexible and durable while delivering great sound, Whirlwind MC20 XLR mic cables are a great choice for all your live sound needs.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Good Quality for the price..." submitted June 14, 2012

By Bill Carroll
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Sound Engineer/Producer
Music Style: ALL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I needed cables fast and saw the 10 pack of these Whirlwinds and boy was I surprised. I was actually expecting some cheap cables because of the price point and I was pleasantly surprised that these cables have put up with our very rough handling in our tour gear. I bought 20 of these cables and NONE of them have failed us yet and we're very rough on our cables. Kudos to Whirlwind for making great products continuously and for keeping the price down compared to other cable companies. I also have Whirlwind 100ft snakes too and with a little maintenance on a regular basis, they'll last for a very long time... Rated all great excpet for Support because I havn't needed them EVER (yet)...
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent fully balanced cheap noise-free cable." submitted October 10, 2008

By a customer from coloroflyme.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds great, no noise at all. Feature: I bought a 18 pack of these, checked about 4 or 5 of them and they all seem to be 100% fully balanced, I use them on condensor mic's and they work great. they are also field servicable. Ease of Use: A cable, enough said. Quality: Pretty good. Value: WELL worth it, I recommend it to ANYONE. Manufacturer Support: Never dealt with them, never had to. The Wow Factor: It's a cable? come on. Overall: Very good product.
15 of 16 people (93.75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good for portable multitrack" submitted November 16, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer, Acitive Musician
Music Style: Metal and anything with double bass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I've go no noise out of these just the sound from my condenser. Feature: Rugged outside, made of rubber. About the same features as any other cable. Ease of Use: just plug them in. The are not loose at all. Quality: Very high quality. From the quality/price ratio, I would give these a 12 out of ten. They don't get wharm with phantom power. I use these alot during the week. I do portable recording and they havent failed me yet. ;) Value: Awesome value. This cannot be beat, plus the more you but the cheaper they are. Manufacturer Support: Havent dealt with them but with this low price you can just order more. The Wow Factor: Wanted them now I have them. Overall: Better then any quailty cable Ive ever had. I will buy more once I need them.
12 of 14 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good Cable for Less $" submitted July 27, 2008

By a customer from zoominternet.net
Overall
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Recording Student
Back to Product Information
Sound: It sounds just fine as far as I can tell. I have used it with condenser mics with my Mbox 2 Pro supplying phantom power. I don't understand why people say these aren't balanced. Quality: It's not as rugged as some other cables I've used. However, it will last for a long time if you take care of it as you would with any other cable. Value: Great value! It's your standard mic cable. It just costs less. Overall: This is an affordable cable that gets the job done. It's nothing special, but it's balanced and works just fine.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Cable Ever." submitted June 23, 2011

By a customer from doolindjs.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Recording/ live sound Engineer
Music Style: country, rock, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is Great. No problems ever. Feature: Connections are great. Most secure cable i have ever used. Quality: Is really good. I have 38 of these cords, I only use whirlwind cables in my studio and on stage. Value: The price does not reflect this product. I would pay $20 for this cable if I had to. Overall: If you are looking for a durable cable with great sound. Get these. Studio to the stage, they are the best.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WORKS WITH CONDENSORS JUST FINE!!!" submitted February 11, 2007

Overall
Quality
Value
Back to Product Information
Quality: All I can say is that this is excellent cable for the price. I have used condensor mics with this cable just fine. The only issue is that the xlr ends vibrate when connected to mics on rim mounts. All i did was tape the cable back to the mics and fixed the problem. Easy fix to get the cables at such a low price. Used it for recording with no problems.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"XLR cables for Microphones" submitted August 21, 2012

By Prafull Mehta in Manalapan, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years - mostly within close circle of friends and occasionally stage performances
Music Style: Indian music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am very happy with this product. The quality of sound through these cables is very good.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not worth your time or money" submitted October 5, 2009

By a customer from austin.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer
Music Style: Everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It works as a balanced line microphone cable with XLR connectors... but read on... Feature: The rubber strain reliefs are not clamped into the XLR connectors but simply snapped in like rubber grommet stuck in a hole. They easily pull out. When they pull out the solder connections then have to carry the load of any tugs on the cable. This makes the solder connections easy to break. Ease of Use: No different from any other cable of this type. Quality: Too bad the strain reliefs are so poorly anchored. I will try to expoxy them into the XLR connector's metal shells. I just bought these last week and used them this weekend. My guess is they won't last long. I'll probably end up buying new XLR connectors with screw clamps on the stain reliefs and reusing the wire. Therefore, these cables were NOT a bargain. Value: I just wish I hadn't bought disposable cables. Next time I'll look closer at the picture of the cables and pay attention to the connector strain reliefs. Manufacturer Support: I haven't bothered. $10 cables are disposable. The Wow Factor: I don't find cables "sexy" as suggested in the rating system for how bad I want something. I simply would never buy these again. Overall: Live and learn.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good Cord" submitted July 25, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: well i get a lil noise from it but what do you expect its 10 dollars. other than that it does work fine with phantompower and condenser microphones. i use a Behringer C-1 Studio Condenser with +48 phantom power and it works fine. good for price. if your startin off and/or low budget it it. Ease of Use: its a cord. i hooked it up and it works. thats all i gotta say Quality: you get a lil noise. if you want no noise i suggest spending a few extra bucks Value: 10 dollars is worth it for this. The Wow Factor: get it if your on a low budget. its worth it to use till you can afford something better. Overall: overall, for lowbuget rappers/rockers/etc get this one. it works fine and easy to use. but if you want better quality i suggest getting a better one.
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Similar free cable is true XLR" submitted June 20, 2006

VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I wanted to see if these cables really weren't balanced, and I have a similar one that came with an Audix kickdrum mic. Mine has identical connectors as these, the wire says "whirlwind" and EMC20, and it is in fact balanced and wired correctly. The picture here isn't the same wire, exactly, but if they were making unbalanced cheap-date cables that only work with dynamic mics I'd have got one as my free cable. I am skeptical- I doubt these are what the guy said, miswired. It's not anything fancy like starquad or foil shielded, but my 'free 20 foot Whirlwind cable' is still a true XLR cable.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not up to Whirlwind name" submitted December 30, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Tech director for House of worship. Professional audio technician
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Quality: We returned these as soon as we saw they weren't the same Whirlwind materials we know and love. Some times imported is OK but there is nothing about these cables that resembles real whirlwind cables. Its a cheap sellout. Value: Spend double the money and get a real cable with quality name brand fittings.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Whirlwind MC20 Mic Cable Customer Review submitted February 17, 2007

Quality: THIS DOES CAUSE PROBLEMS WITH PHANTOM POWER!!! i couldnt figure out why my interface was running so warm and why it reset itself so much. i replaced this cable and no problems. DO NOT BUY IT FOR USE WITH CONDENSER MICS!!!
2 of 9 people (22.22%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"These are NOT balanced cables!!!" submitted June 12, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Value: Get what you pay for Manufacturer Support: N/A Overall: These are NOT balanced cables! They are unbalanced cables with XLR connectors on them. The have connected the negative signal pin to ground. This means that you will pick up hum, condenser mics will not work, and that this can be dangerous to use on mixers with phantom power. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
3 of 13 people (23.08%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1432-WTD6. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!