800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20W-R4BN
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Washburn Rover RO10 Pack

With the Washburn Rover RO10 you can take your guitar with you anywhere. With a solid spruce top, the Washburn Rover also sounds great.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"If You Travel and Want To Keep Your Chops Up To Snuff, This Is Essential Equipment!" submitted August 18, 2006

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock/Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound of this guitar is more than what you would expect from a small size travel guitar. It is a ten in it's class. This instrument is much better than the Martin model I played.It is expressive, the action is awesome and has great sustain. I ordered the pick up for this model and look forward to playing through my Fender Acoustic Amp. Feature: The case is over the top. I did not expect the quality to be so good. Although I don't need the instructional DVD, I did register with Washburn. Their Rock Club looks pretty decent and I look forward to checking out the downloads. Ease of Use: The small body takes some getting used to but it is a small price to pay for the way this guitar performs. I adjusted the neck slightly to lower the action and it has the feel of an electric. I plan to increase the gauge of the strings as they are too light for my taste. I couldn't put it down the first day, played it for several hours. It is a gas. Quality: Say what you want about being made in China. The Washburn engineers have worked well with the production folks in China. The workmanship is awesome for the cost of this instrument. I saw some minor flaws but it is as advertised, good looking travel guitar. You will be noticed when you are out and about. Value: This product is definitely worth the selling price. Pay more for it? How do you answer that question. Of course not. Manufacturer Support: Getting set up with Washburn was easy. I have not had to use their support as the instructions were very clear to register, etc. The Wow Factor: This thing is good looking and fits well with my other instruments. I have 5 other guitars that will be glad to not be beat up on the road now that I have this gem. Overall: Well done Washburn. I have never seriously looked at the products prior to this purchase. If I am in the market for a more up scale guitar, I will definitely check out a Washburn in my search.
59 of 59 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A guitar named "Rover" is NO dog!" submitted May 3, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Previoously Active - Now Hobbyist
Music Style: Classical, Pop, Classic Rock and Celtic
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Wonderful sound! Deceptive for it's size! I disagree with comments stating the action is high, it's the exact opposite. I wondered how it would feel compared to my Ovation Legend, and the action is identical (low!). I have trouble playing large guitars and as a result have played little for years. The Rover is so comfortable and easy to play, it's got me playing again like a fiend and eager to do more! Feature: Certainly the best accessory is the case, especially in a travel guitar. This case is well made, light weight and has decent storage space. I do wish it had a pickup, but it's not mandatory, especially considering the price. I understand an internal mic-style pickup (EZ Pickup) is availble, but have read complaints about noise and feedback. If true, a simple bridge/saddle pickup like the "Sweet-Spot" would be perfect. Ease of Use: Out of the box, the Rover is very close in sound to my Ovation. While it cannot produce boomy bass or project in large open spaces, it is perfect for intimate playing "as-is". I'm sure I will eventually tweak it (+add a pickup), but I'm quite satisfied with it as it is. Quality: The quality is higher than I expected for a travel guitar manufactured in China. I am impressed. I would not hesitate to recommend this guitar, and have already, for which my area store sold four of the six they received in less than two weeks. I would have preferred nicer tuners, but these seem solid. The wood is well matched and the finish first rate. I like the simple design and details. Very artful but not overdone, especially the fret marks. I have no concerns taking this on the road and am looking forward to it's first camping trip. I'm sure it's going to raise eyebrows around the campfire! Value: For all that you get with this package, the price is very reasonable. Manufacturer Support: My guitar was missing some information when I got home. I emailed Washburn but never received a reply. A few days later I received a bounce reply stating the address was non-functional. In the interrum, I had found the answers to my questions (the paperwork had fallen out in the store). As a frist attempt to contact Washburn, I was not happy. Hopefully this was a single occurance. The Wow Factor: I have the natural and love it, but also like the black. The red isn't bad either, but I'm just not fond of blue. If my wallet could handle it, I'd have one of every color, except blue. Overall: I plan to wear it out! Hopefully, in the near future I will get a second. I understand there is a nylon version, and that would be a perfect match. I love my Ovation, but because of the difficulties I have playing it, I would part with it for the Rover. My husband pushed me to purchase the Rover. He said the Rover for the Ovation. I agreed, but later he said keep both. I imagine I will part with the Ovation everntually as I hate to see such wonderful sound not used. It's better to play and enjoy rather than sit and admire. I've never considered a Washburn before, but with this model, that has changed, and I hope they continue to make the Rover.
32 of 34 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Have it and recomment it!" submitted January 1, 2006

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: everything
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great sound, wonderful sustain for a guitar this size. Quality: A beauty to look at and play. Overall: Great sounding little guitar. Lot's of sustain from a guitar this size. Played several travel size guitars before buying the Rover and this guitar was the best in sound, quality and value. HERE'S A TIP: Want to have some fun and use this guitar as a mini electric ax and rock it out? Buy the pick up made specially for the Rover and plug it into your amp. Then buy a small travel amp like the Marshal mini stack, switch on distortion and rock it out when you are on the road, my friend!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One great little travel axe!" submitted July 20, 2008

By a customer from sw.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Part time musician, full time elec tech.
Music Style: Rock, County, Gospel with family
Back to Product Information
Sound: Excellent sound for size, great feel. It is neck heavy but u get used to it. I read people talking about the cheap tuners, they need to look closer. Both of the Rover's that I have, have Wilkinson classic tuners on them which are about $40+for a set. I take mine with me everywhere. Had strings changed to Elixer lights cause I love the feel and playabilty. I had the Rover setup and checked out by my local music shop. They were very Impressed with it and were going to check in about carrying them as they have people looking for travel guitars. Feature: Case,strap,extra bridge what more could you ask for at the price. Ease of Use: As memtioned the head is heavy, but if you have a strap button put on the neck heel it helps. other than that the sound is great a little tinny but that is helped with the EZ romp pickup. Quality: Very well made. I like the satin finish. I have one natural and one blue one. the tops,sides,back and bindings are excellent. I like the neck better than my Ibanez fullsize. Value: For the price I would have expected less than what you get. The Rover is the best travel guitar I have ever owned. Manufacturer Support: na The Wow Factor: Great little axe. Very important addition to my collection. Who ever designed it had a great idea. Overall: If lost or stolen would not even hesitate to order another one. Have tried other travel guitars and this is the best one I have found. I would not have any other travel guitar out there.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Penelope" submitted June 28, 2012

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass guitar player that is beginning to learn acoustic guitar.
Music Style: Blues preferably but some southern rock and old school rock and roll
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I havent played guitar for very long but am currently learning and travel alot for work. i wanted a guitar with good sound that i could take with me on the plane. This guitar is perfect and the case is awesome. My husband has played for overr 30 years and he really like the sound and the full size neck. i have shown it to a number of fellow guitarists and they all were very impressed with it. It has a unique sound when you use a capo. I did change the strings to earthwood with a bit heavier gauge. The case did have a smell when i opened it but the guitar did not!! I aired it out and all is good. My sister in law owns the martin traveler and it makes a great wall decoration because playing it is very difficult. It takes a little getting use to due to small body size and neck weight but I would highly recommend this guitar to anyone, traveler or not. It is exactly what I was looking for in a traveler guitar
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great little guitar for the money" submitted September 14, 2012

By david k in jonesboro, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: professional instructor
Music Style: classic rock, blues, progessive, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: not the loudest or the brightest tone. even tuned perfectly it tends to sound a little off but that is to be expected with a guitar of this size, taking that into consideration it really doesn't sound bad at all for such a small guitar, perfect for practice on the go Feature: guitar had a decent finish, vary smooth fret board, ok tuners. a big selling point for me was the semi hard case it came with. also fits perfectly in air line over head storage Ease of Use: guitar is a little hard to hold because of the shape and almost always have to use the strap even when sitting down, but once you get use to it its not to bad. and the full size neck is pretty fast and smooth Quality: not the best quality but its a decent cheap acoustic Value: awesome value! comes with some extra stuff. good little guitar for practice on the go Manufacturer Support: never contacted them for this instrument , but im familiar with washburn and they are pretty good about backing their product The Wow Factor: the biggest wow factor i got was people asking what in the world it is lol, nobody believes its a real guitar because of how small it is. it is a lot smaller than it looks Overall: Great little guitar for the money, overall good deal for a travel guitar
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"High-end construction and looks with customizable action." submitted August 12, 2005

By a customer from optonline.net
Overall
Sound
Musical Background: very active hobbyist for 38 years
Music Style: blues, alternate tuning, jazz folk, finger picking
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I changed the .009 string set it came with to .012 Elixers like my standard Taylor. The firmer strings help with tuning and intonation problems that go with light strings. Fret placement and octaves are right on. I bought the instrument sight unseen because I had heard that it is the only guitar this size with standard tuning compared to the Baby Taylor and the Backpacker's A tuning. We can be honest and say that all these minis sound a bit like uke-anjos Feature: The extra bridge and shims encouraged me to get my feel right, but you should hire a tech if you haven't done this work yourself before. The case is very substantial and matched the high quality of the instrument. Quality: I was genuinely surprised at the beauty and craftsmanship of this little guitar. I had no sense of "built to price" in feel, sound, or looks. I would agree that better tuners wouldn't affect the cost much and would increase the pleasure by a notch. Value: A great instrument for the price. I feel no qualms about taking this anywhere and letting people hear me. Manufacturer Support: No experience, but Washburn has been around a long time. The Wow Factor: Definitely different than anything else comparable. More sound than a backpacker, more of a visual statement than the Baby Taylor. The all wood beauty is a real plus. Overall: Nothing else quite works in this niche the way it does. Leave the shim and bridge pieces in for customer adjustment but put on tuners equal to the whole guitar.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Definitely the best travel guitar for the money." submitted February 24, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: all styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds good enough for practicing in the bedroom, just don't expect thundering bass cuz it isn't gonna happen. Physically impossible with an instrument his size. Feature: Coulda came with sealed tuners instead of the open Wilkersons but oh well. Gives me something to change later. Ease of Use: Had to adjust the truss rod to straighten out the neck.It improved the action drastically. High e is about .070 from the fret. Plays great. Quality: Other than the flat finish it looks flawless. May not shine too much but its tough as nails. Value: Couldn't have spent my money more wisely. Didn't care for the Martin Backpacker and it was more money. Manufacturer Support: No support thus far. The Wow Factor: Fills a void in my collection. Doesn't take up much room in my cramped apartment.More practical. Overall: Couldn't be happier unless it was giving to me. I would definitely buy it again if mine was damaged or stolen. Inspires me to practice more.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I read lots of good reviews before buying this guitar, and I'm happy to add to them. If you wanna keep your chops up while on t" submitted January 2, 2012

By a customer from qcislands.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played guitar of & on for years. I finally have a jam rm set up at home.
Music Style: rock, blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound was pretty much as i expected from other reviews. The sustain is better than i expected, and it stayed in tune pretty well. Feature: The travel case is great, and the guitar is perfect just to doddle on, or to play & sing a song with. Ease of Use: I found this guitar very playable, it has its own sound which reflects its size, but that is not a bad thing. The quality of sound is mostly dependent on the player, the instrument is capable of nice tones and good sustain. It takes a little getting used to the small body in finding a comfortable playing position. I used to strap also, but found it did not go on very easy. This would be my only complaint. Quality: It seems well made, I'm sure it will last a long time if taken care of. Value: This guitar is what it is,....if you want a decent travel guitar to keep your chops up while roving around, camping etc. the rover is the deal. For the price I don't think it can be beat. The Wow Factor: I like the look of this guitar, it's appealing to kids cause its small, so it could also be a good learning guitar, especially since it comes with an instructional dvd. (I didn't check it out) Overall: I prefer to play my strat or full size acoustic, but these are not practical to take with me everywhere. That's why I bought the rover, and its great for keeping up on whatever I'm working on, so that when I get home I can turn on an amp. & I'm ready to rock. I'd like to think the rover will last me through all my travels, If it was lost or stolen, I would replace it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Travel plus event guitar" submitted August 18, 2015

By Eric Krag in San Diego, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 18 years, guitars and have regular gigs
Music Style: Spiritual
Back to Product Information
Overall: I installed a Martin piezo and I use the Berhinger acoustic pre-amp into a zoom acoustic stereo processor and wow. It's all there and with another acoustic on stage, this has its own unique sound. Probably good for bluegrass too. Action was too low, I loosened the rod and it plays wonderfully with no buzz. After many sets of strings, I like the new aluminum wounds, not too bright, rounded mellow sound. A custom red leather strap really places it well under arms. My wife made a femo hook from the strap and it hooks around the sound hole like the classical players in old town use. I tend to keep my instruments high and elbow under the neck. I'll never sell it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cruising with Rover" submitted March 21, 2016

By D T in Mount Pearl, NL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: Picked up this little beauty the night before we headed out on a Caribbean cruise. I don't have a lot of chops, and I didn't want to loose the few I had a couple of weeks without a guitar. Not all cruise lines allow passengers to take a guitar onboard, but Royal Caribbean was OK with it. This little axe ticked all the boxes for me: The case is awesome -- light and rugged -- and fits neatly in the far back of an airline overhead compartment. In fact, it virtually maximizes that space. At least a half-dozen fellow travellers asked what was in the case and were visibly surprised by my response. :0 In the ship's standard stateroom, the Rover (in or out of the case) can slide under the bed or in the closet. I kept mine handy on the bed or small couch and plucked it quietly in the room or on the balcony whenever we were there. In fact, my wife wasn't too keen on me taking another bag along but the first night we were onboard, she thanked me for bringing it. :)The sound has a banjo or strumstick-like quality, but in a nice way. Obviously, not a ton of low-end, but can be softly flat-picked, finger-picked and/or open-tuned for blues and slide effects. I plan to get the Rover pickup for added versatility. It's a little awkward to play at first since it's not balanced well with the small body and full-size neck. But the neck quality (truss rod!), fretboard action and compact design is worth the re-adjustment -- I found using the strap (provided) was a necessity. No big deal.I would suggest Washburn consider building a short-scale version. That could improve the overall experience without adversely impacting playability.If you're thinking about a real travel guitar, the Washburn Rover is the pick of the crop in my opinion. If I lost it, or if it got broken I'd be sad -- and surprised because it's very well-made -- but I'd replace it. It neatly, sonically and economically fills a niche in the market. It does what it promises. Well-done Washburn!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Washburn Rover RO10 Steel-String Travel Acoustic Guitar Package (with Case)" submitted October 6, 2013

By Raja De in New York, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Fantastic service...on time delivery...beautiful packaging..amazing guitar and a beautiful piece of equipment and very very affordable
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Washburn Rover RO10 Steel-String Travel Acoustic Guitar Package (with Case)" submitted August 17, 2014

By steve hulett in west yellowstone, MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home
Music Style: BLUES.......period!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I REALLY like this little guitar! It IS perfect for what it is sold as! sit in the car or your barkolounger and practice your licks :) All wood construction. full neck. cute little box for a body. Not real loud... but come on...we didnt get it for that. AND it DOES pack anywhere!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fretting Fun!" submitted January 20, 2014

By Warren G in Beloit, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Purchased the Washburn Rover based on other reviewers positive remarks. The positive that others mentioned are so right on. When I go to my studio to run new riffs this is my go to instrument . Don't plan on hearing tones that come from your full size guitar. Because the Rover is light weight and the fret board is easy to play I spend more time enjoying the simplicity of the acoustic guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Washburn Rover RO10 Steel-String Pack" submitted June 15, 2014

By Greg Wright in Temecula, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for a few years almost daily. I also play drums and harmonica.
Music Style: I play all styles of music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great little guitar. It plays very well and sounds great. It also stays in tune after hours of playing. It has a very unique sound of it's own. It does take a while to get used to the light weight. You definitely need to use the shoulder strap and your right wrist to hold the body down. The case is also very nice and protects the guitar well. For under $200, this spruce top guitar is a fantastic deal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great value for a travel guitar...and I have owned a few" submitted June 13, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: more than a hobby
Music Style: pop, blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: For a travel size guitar,sounds good. It sounds better than the $300 Go Guitar I had before. Feature: After getting the guitar, I would have paid the money just for the guitar. You get a fantastic case, decent strap, picks, spare bridge, and a DVD for learning. No need to spend $300-400 for a travel guitar, you get it all with this. OK, a Baby Taylor may be a better guitar, but you do not get the value for the money. Besides, how often do you actually pay a travel guitar.. Ease of Use: The guitar frets easy and the neck is almost standard size so you are not cramped going up and down the neck. The only issue I have with the guitar (why a 7 rating for Ease of Use) is the balance; the neck is much heavier than the body, so when you are not hanging on the guitar wants to swing back toward your right side. However, after playing it for a few days, it is getting easier to keep my right forearm against the body to prevent this. If you play sitting down, as I mostly do, with it resting on your thigh, it plays great. Quality: Great looking, solid construction, nice tuners...overall more than I expected. Value: For all the stuff you get in the entire kit, with the quality of the guitar, it is a great, if not the best deal in a travel guitar. Manufacturer Support: not applicable The Wow Factor: It is impressive for the money and has a great look. Overall: No need to get a differnet travel guitar, this works for me.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Small Guitar That's A Lot of Fun!" submitted December 28, 2009

By a customer from sc.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: progressive rock, folk, alternative, celtic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a small guitar, so , of course, it's not going to have a big bottom-end sound. However, you can make the range of this guitar work. It does sound a bit like a banjo, but I have gotten some very interesting sounds using the capo. Once I put heavier gauge strings on the guitar, there was no buzzing and the it tended to stay in tune. All-in-all, this little guitar can produce an amazing sound and it's not too loud, but certainly audible. Feature: I've been playing the guitar for over 40 years, so the CD was not something I needed. The guitar comes with three types of picks, but I use heavys, so the lighter thicknesses are throwaways for me. The strap is comfortable, but I would prefer a strap button on the body rather than tying at the head. Although some accessories may be more useful for a beginner, as an experienced musician, I would have traded everything for a capo or a pitch pipe. Ease of Use: The first thing you notice is that the guitar is "neck-heavy." However, a little playing will get you used to that. This little guitar is as easy to play as my full-size Ovation, so the transition is really no problem. Capos fit well and the tuning keys seem sturdy. Changing the strings was no problem. Definitely get a clip tuner if you don't like pitch pipes. My old Seiko tuner that uses a suction cup to attach to the body would not stick to the finish of this guitar and couldn't register a sound. Once I bought a clip tuner and attached it to the head, tuning was simple. Quality: As fragile as the guitar looks and feels, I think it actually is a pretty sturdy instrument. The travel case is definitely well made, so taking it places should not be a problem. As with all of my instruments, I respect them and take care of them. As I mentioned in the Ease section, the finish played havoc with my old tuner, but the finish is nice. I have the natural color, but the red finish looks sexier! Value: For a guitar that is very transportable and could easily be used for songs that require a "quirkier" sound, this is definitely a superior value. At the very least, to have a very playable guitar at your fingertips no matter where you go is invaluable. Manufacturer Support: I haven't needed support and if I ever do, all my other ratings are out the window! I won't suffer a problem guitar. The Wow Factor: While I was pursuing the purchase of a parlor guitar, I stumbled across the Rover. It may not be capable of the sound of larger-bodied guitars, but it does hold its own and has a very interesting look. I played this and a Martin Backpacker in a Charlotte music store and this guitar was better in every aspect -- especially playability. Overall: This guitar was a gift from my wife, who was with me when I was "sampling the wares" at a music store in Charlotte, NC. The only color they had was natural and I wanted a red one, so I didn't buy it. She bought me a natural, though. Ah, well, the color has grown on me because the guitar is a very pleasant surprise. When you get this guitar, I HIGHLY recommend you get heavier strings because the light strings this came with would not hold a tune. I bought a set of Martin Medium Bronze strings (ironic, since I thought the Martin Backpacker travel guitar was a waste of time) and the tuning issues were solved. Yes, the guitar has a funny smell when you open it up, but after an hour or so of playing that will dissipate -- and playing the guitar IS what you wanted to do, right? This guitar has a unique sound that an imaginative musician can use to advantage and plays as well as any of its "big brothers." I have yet to find the "perfect" guitar, but this one gets a solid "9" from me. Enjoy this one!
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This package is the sickest little axe for travel." submitted June 20, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great sound for a travel guitar. I gave it a 7 because I compared it with a full size guitar. Feature: Great case! Right size for traveling whether by car, airplane or boat (I've done all of them). Lightweight and solid. Quality: Great quality and looks great too. I liked the feel and looks over the Martin, especially the ergonomics. I can see why people panned the Martin. Value: I wanted something to practice on while traveling. In the next month, I'm going to be driving from Seattle to Monterey, CA for camping. 5 days later I'm going to N. Europe for 3 weeks on a cruise. Already I know it's going to be fun traveling with this mini. Manufacturer Support: No Experience The Wow Factor: Guitar = Sexy, Case = Sex Overall: For that price, I can afford to buy a new one every year...
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Value!" submitted June 21, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Alternative, Rock, Grunge
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: As many have mentioned, the small size of the guitar causes the bass to be limited. Additionally, the guitar comes with light Vinci Strings which don't help the bottom end either. Also, the intonation was off with those light strings. I replaced those with DR Rare Bluegrass strings which have a heavier bottom. The sound is much better - at least more to my liking and the intonation is much improved. Feature: I got the guitar with a black finish. It was flawless. It is a flat black finish. I mention that only because, for some reason, I was expecting a high gloss finish. No big deal though because it looks nice. The machine heads are not sealed but I didn't expect them to be top line on this modestly priced travel guitar. The case is awesome. I didn't look at the dvd yet. Ease of Use: Took me a while to get used to it. Being so small it doesn't lay comfortably on one's lap. Using the strap improves that somewhat. Also, it was odd having my left hand closer to my body while playing. All this is minor though as I quickly got used to it's diminutive size. Quality: Unit was cosmetically perfect. I couldn't find a blemish on it. Value: I didn't play any other travel guitars but at this price point, I cannot see anything of better value. Manufacturer Support: I cannot fully comment on this as I have not had any reason to contact Washburn for any matter except to warranty register the product at their website which was a breeze. The Wow Factor: It's cute, it sounds nice and it works for what one would want a travel guitar for. Overall: I don't think I would ever want another travel guitar. If lost or stolen, I would replace it with the same.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Washburn Rover RO10 Pack Customer Review submitted January 11, 2011

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought this guitar for my son who is using it for camping trips. A friend of ours tuned it for him and thought it was a great product for the money. His guitar teacher said I did a good job picking this one. My son loves it - it is small enough and light enough to carry and the case keeps it protected. The sound is great. He was playing it the other night and I couldnt believe how good it was. Feature: The guitar came with a case which was really nice and protected the guitar this weekend from the snow. The Wow Factor: That is a weird question.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"CAVEAT EMPTOR" submitted August 18, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Journeyman Guitar Picker
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Country, Jazz, Ragtime
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This thing does actually have tone. For it's size it's pretty amazing. Just don't expect it to sound like a $3000 Taylor or anything. It's not very loud but impressive character for it's size. Feature: The top is pretty low grade but not awful considering the price. Very wide grain on the outer edges and very tight in the center. Probably a D grade top. Ease of Use: The neck was like a ski jump when it arrived. The truss rod was loose and careful tightening did straighten it. The action was still a bit high and the guitar was very awkward to play. I then discovered that the B and E strings were swapped as well as the low E and D strings. That explains a lot. What moron was in charge of stringing this thing? I fully expect that with a new set of strings and some sanding of the bridge insert it will be a decent little travel guitar for the $. Quality: The construction seems fine. The setup was awful. Value: Decent for the money. Manufacturer Support: Don't Know The Wow Factor: No Overall: It's ok for a travel guitar for the price. Not sure there is anything better considering the scale and all.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It STINKS! (literally)" submitted April 7, 2008

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: mostly rock or folk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Pretty good for its small size. You can't expect big mellow sound from a travel-size guitar that doesn't take up much room... Feature: I do like that sturdy case with the backpack straps. The only problem I have with this little guitar is the SMELL. Kept hoping it would air out, but several months later, it still stinks like an acre of used cat litter in a chemical dump. Not *quite* as bad as it was at first. Ease of Use: Just keep in mind that you can't have small size and comfy fit/stability all at the same time. Quality: Seems pretty solid, stays in tune. Again, it STINKS. Washburn: you could find glues that don't stink! Manufacturer Support: Haven't got around to calling Washburn yet. The Wow Factor: It's cute. Overall: Wonder how long I'll have to wait for the STINK to dissipate...
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Washburn Rover RO10 Pack Customer Review submitted September 18, 2004

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobby
Music Style: blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: LOVE IT......BIG SOUND.....BEST TRAVEL AVAILABLE Feature: ALL
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Surprisingly high quality sound and workmanship for the price." submitted April 30, 2004

By a customer from verizon.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Acoustic/Alt
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Keeping in mind that no travel guitar can measure up to a good full-size instrument, this one has amazingly good sound, volume and sustain. If you imagine a resonator with a bit of ukelele and 4-string mandolin thrown in, you might be warm. Slide sounds particularly good, even delta-like, on this little axe (hatchet?). Feature: There are three accessories that make this an incredible value: The case, the case, and the case. This is the sturdiest soft case I have seen. Although I got this for the ability to carry onboard, I would feel confident checking it with airline luggage handlers if necessary. Quite frankly, I was initially put-off by Washburn's inclusion of petty accessories like a CD-ROM and picks, because these kinds of package deals are usually offered to compensate for the fact that the actual instrument is crap. Not so in the Rover's case. If anything, the accessories are overkill, as the guitar and case alone are a bargain. Also, this one has a truss rod, which is not always the case with minis. Quality: Quality workmanship. As with any instrument, I wouldn't recommend chopping wood with it. Use as a paddle only as a last resort. Value: When I decided to get a travel guitar, I assumed that the Martin Backpacker would be my obvious choice. For about the same price, the Rover sounds better, has better features (truss rod!), is more comfortable to play, and has an infinitely better case. Manufacturer Support: No experience. The Wow Factor: It's a nice looking instrument. I do like the funkiness of the Martin Backpacker design, but it's not worth the ergonomic sacrifice. Overall: For it's purpose, the longer it lasts, the better.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I am satisfied with the product and would recommend it." submitted September 4, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: classical and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: a very nice small travel guitar Feature: it came with a nice looking case but the clip broke the 2nd time I carried it. the metal wasn't metal on the swivel part. Ease of Use: nice cd with it...simple even my grandson understands it. Quality: seems well made Value: not a great deal....other travelers at comperable and even a accoustic ele, comprerable. Manufacturer Support: didn't try or need to, I did think I was buying an American made product and was disappointed in it not being that. The Wow Factor: it is handy to take in my jeep my ovations are a bit large for a wrangler. Overall: perhaps the accoustic ele one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I love this guitar I play it every day" submitted March 31, 2015

By Richard geiger in Kingston, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist for about four years.
Music Style: Blues and classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The carrying case makes it easy to travel with I can carry it anywhere on my back but I feel like going. The sound is fantastic it reminds me of a lute.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great design, but..." submitted March 1, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: Neck is wide on this guitar, but good quality frets and fingerboard. The fingerboard needed some 3 in 1 oil worked into the grain, as it was very dry and a bit rough. The oil and cloth fixed it nicely. The machine heads do not have sealed gears and the. The action was set way too high and the neck was a bit twisted. I was able to adjust most of the neck issues over a period of a few hours, and sanded the bottom of the bridge until it was just about level with the stop, but action still too high. Sound is much better than my other travel guitar, but I'm not going to keep this one as I just can't get used to the fat neck and high action. I play fast and complex chords, which is nearly impossible. It's good for the basics though, if that's what you need.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"its better than you expected" submitted August 14, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: i gave it a nine for a portable guitar because if i were comparing this to a Gibson it would be a 1-2. i give the martin backpacker a 9 also so if your planing on buying a backpacker which is more money... dont! Feature: unlike the martin backpacker this guitar is nearly a full sale guitar so the frets are spaced out the official amount. It comes with a case, pics, strap, useless cd... What more could you ask for? ( the case is worth more than the guitar, in my opinion! Ease of Use: i gave it an 8 for just one reason! if you forget your strap you cannot play it because it wont ballance, exatly the same problem as the backpacker. Quality: idk why a gave it a 7. i just think that it deserves it. Value: worth more than the price Manufacturer Support: no experience The Wow Factor: the black one just looks so cool Overall: ... its portable
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best compact travel guitar available!" submitted March 26, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is the best travel guitar on the market. It's compact, sounds great (just a little light on bass), and comes with a fabulous sturdy yet lightweight travel case. The reviewer who said it doesn't come in the right octave doesn't know what he/she's talking about. It's a standard tuning guitar!!! It's easily tuned, and holds it's tuning well. It's not hard to hold! When playing, use the strap!!! In fact you can play without the strap if necessary, and do so more easily than with Martin's Backpacker.
3 of 10 people (30%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Hard to play" submitted December 23, 2006

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: IT sounds thin but it is a travel guitar so what is there to expect. It sounds almost like a banjo. Ease of Use: It feels very awkward and has no where to rest your arm when your playing. I own a Taylor and this is nothing comparied to it. If you want to travel and show off your mad skills this is not a guitar to get if you want to travel and sound like a fool then go right ahead. I wouldn't buy this as a first guitar because when you come around an actual guitar you wont be able to play it cause the body is so different. Quality: It was made with a very high action and so when I first got it it was very difficult to play because the strings were so high. Its gotten alittle easier to play now but not alot. The B string bereaks alot just because. It doesn't even comes in the same octave you are suppolsied to have it tuned to. Value: It was a good Idea gone bad I can see why they priced it so high but It could be cheeper. The Wow Factor: It looks great and gets alot of attention at school... until you start playing. Its very awkward to play cause the bodies very thin and small. Overall: Over all it sounds bad feels horrible and isn't made very well. The only reason that I'd ever get this Would be for the looks. I think that I mgiht sell mine in a while.
2 of 10 people (20%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BUY IT!!! Great little Guitar!" submitted August 5, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I'm rating this against "travel" guitars and not a normal size one. Great sound!! A little buzzing on the strings..just a little. For the size it puts out a lot of sound when you use a pick! Feature: AMAZING CASE!!!! WOW!! YOU CAN TAKE IT ANYWHERE. All the other travel guitars I tried or called about had a gig bag, which equalled a sock! THE TRUSS ROD...even Martain Backpacker doesn't have a truss rod. You get a CD that has a chord dictionary! Quality: Solid Spruce Top! Beautiful little thing!! TRUSS ROD, TRUSS ROD, TRUSS ROD. The case is worth the money alone! You truly can take it anywhere and not worry about it. Value: Worth every penny I paid...Excellent travel guitar...pay the extra money and buy it! Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: It's so cute...kind of like holding a baby with a very long neck! A lot better looking than the Martin BackPacker Overall: I will NOT search for another one! This is amazing and worth every penny...Excellent Package!
31 of 31 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20W-R4BN. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!