800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TJ-K1BQ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Vox AC30C2 Guitar Amp

Choose the Vox AC30C2 with Celestion Greenback speakers, or the AC30C2X with Alnico Blues speakers. Both amp models are based on the classic Vox AC30 design.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Soft sweet passionate tone of the gods, fun for all!" submitted August 2, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician, recording engineer, arranger.
Music Style: Rock, alternative, Blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The VOX AC30C2 needs no introduction. VOX has spent over 50 years asserting itself into the musical bloodstream by infusing every genre of music from Rock to Funk, Alternative to Pop and everything in between. The VOX AC30C2 delivers on tone in spades. I own the "Classic combo" of the amp and its "Counterpart" the Fender Telecaster. Together I get everything from eery melodies to twangy blues and everything in between. If you are looking to find an amp with a good clean tone your search is over. The VOX can do clean like no other (until you reach the $3000 dollar mark). Feature: The product came with manuals and a power cord. I purchased the control pedal separately and wish that there were some form of dust cover or case for it beyond a custom built one. As for its ease of use, the VOX AC30C2 delivers delicious tone after tone for nearly any setting that you can imagine. Its controls all rest on top of the amp which is perfect for "on the fly" change-ups if you need to do so during a show or practice. Ease of Use: Just about anything you do with this amp makes it sound good. Plug and play. Quality: Like any tube amp owner, I take extra care when toting this around to practices and shows. Beyond that, the quality and style are excellent. Value: I wheeled and dealed this sweet baby for $800 brand new (Free shipping and no tax too!). Best $800 I have spent in years. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it yet. VOX is a Korg subsidiary tho and I would imagine that they are as nice as Korg has been in the past. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal of a product really translates to who is using it. If VOX is your style, then this amp will get you laid! Overall: This amp will be my main amp for most everything I need to do. The only exception is that I may have to purchase a 4x12 unit for it in the future. Another great feature of the amp is that it can be used as a "Head" for your cabinet if you really need more sound.
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tube heaven when you boost it!" submitted July 29, 2013

By DJB Manifestomode in Downey, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Experimental Blues, Psychedelic rock, industrial, ambient, Electronic, experimental jazz, classic rock, house, minimal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Bouncy reactive and crisp. I love Vox!,.its a great stereo companion to the Night Train 50 I have. I like sending the preamp sound of my Blackstar HT-20 into the FX loop. This amp has a great feel and has great harmonic overtones. This is a collectible piece of art that will go down as one of the most sold and recorded tube amps in history and prob the future! Feature: I like that you can jumper the two channels, the tremolo is great sounding and the FX-loop does its job well. Ease of Use: It takes a few minutes to understand that your gain is a volume nob and is interactive with the master volume to get the saturation you want. Great for bedroom levels with the master volume. It's kinda heavy. No it's heavy, specially since I'm not working out lately. Along with my Zoom G9.2tt tube screamer and my vintage tube monster it's a tubey creamy full sound, a dream come true! Quality: Exceptional! But there is that dust scratchy crackle sound at the lower setting on the master volume,. But I'm sure it's just dust. Value: It's prob worth more since its as classic as you can get. To me it's boutique sound at around a grand. You can't beat that since its boutiques are often around 3k! Manufacturer Support: They helped me with a exchange since Zzounds ran out of Black Comet Editions. The first one died on me not sure why but these things happen with tube amps sometimes. They where accommodating me well. The Wow Factor: People the reason why tube amps can be sexy is that they get certain girls excited if they like the sound, and the sound is sonic to say the least. Black Comet limited Edition is prob the sexiest amp there is! Overall: This will forever be a classic, From the Beatles Led Zeppelin to U2 and Radio Head,. This could easily be the most recorded tube amp in the history of Rock. This is a sonic tone monster hands down a powerful asset to any arsenal of a tube amp collector. A perfect man amp. It's not really high gain but if you know what your doing with a boost pedal like a screamer,.its Tube Heaven! I bought the Black Comet limited edition,.beautiful amp! Thank you Zzounds for the amazing payment plans. I plan on being a regular customer for life!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"if you buy this amp you wont be disappointed. the red model is great too, limited to 550 so get it while it lasts." submitted March 14, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the tone of this amp is as good as anything ive heard. it has amazing crisp highs and when accompanied by the built in reverb its soothing to the ears. i love a nice clean tone with mellow bass and a nice mid punch and thats just what i get from the ac30. im a song writer and guitarist and i know when the shows start lining up this amp will get me through even the toughest crowds. Feature: its nice having a top boost input for really piercing the ears with extra gain. also included is a reverb dial which is up there with the twin, and a tremolo which is a sweet little bonus. Ease of Use: its as simple as they come. let the tubes warm up a couple minutes and youre ready to play. i play a les paul through it and even with the heavy gain and distortion the amp keeps its legendary clear sound. so id say its one of the most versatile amps on the market. Quality: solid. although it weighs in at around 75 pounds, its worth all the weight. the knobs and switches are tight and durable. one small feature that is really nice is the metal speaker cage on the back that protects the tubes and speakers from getting damaged. it seems like vox really went the extra mile to make sure they not only give you an excellent product, but to give you something that will last a long time. Value: ive played expensive orange and marshall amps that play loud and have great tone, but are they worth the high dollar? for a grand i got all i need and more. i was going to get a fender twin but decided to save some money and go with the vox, and let me tell you, im glad i did. Manufacturer Support: havent talked to vox about the amp, but zzounds was great dealing with. the play as you pay deal is super. not to mention i got the amp two days after putting the order in. The Wow Factor: i wouldnt say i "lust" for it, thats what women are for. but the design and beauty of the red color, the argile speaker cover, thats all nice, but when i plug into it i lose sense of whats around me and let the sound sooth me. its just the right look, loudness, and tone. Overall: although theres many other amps and instruments i would love to aquire, until i can afford them ill be perfectly content with my vox.
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Vox AC30C2" submitted August 7, 2014

By Matthew McCray in WEST MIFFLIN, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar for 24 years and I have been a professional musician. Currently I play with friends locally.
Music Style: Indie rock, hardcore, punk, acoustic.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this amp because I needed a combo amp so I didn't have to drag my half stacks around to jam with friend. Despite what everyone recommends, I purchased the greenbacks instead of the blues. I cannot express how awesome the amp sounds. The tones you can get from this amp are limitless. I don't think I have ever messed with the settings on an amp as much as I have with this one. After they have been broken in, the greenbacks sound amazing. I cannot recommend this amp enough. As always, purchasing it from zzounds gives you the best price and customer service of any merchant I have ever worked with.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Loven My Vox" submitted March 23, 2014

By Brian Broussard in Elkview, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+ years
Music Style: Classic rock, new wave, punk, R&B, grunge
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This VOX amp is one that I've been wanting for several years but was never able to purchase because I felt it was a luxury item that I didn't really need. But I finally treated myself and could not be happier about. It is all that they say it is: beautiful chimy harmonics, a real organic beauty that's clear and warm and bright and gritty and punchy at intervals. Dial up your sounds with a wide range of options. Incredible versatility and-- AGAIN-- the sound is just perfect.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not for Amateurs " submitted February 7, 2013

By Steve T. in Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years. Guitar/Drums/Lead Vocals
Music Style: Classic 60s Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When first toying with this little monster, I was a little frustrated and not too impressed with the sound. it took a good half hour to figure out what this thing could do. Being that it is based on the mind set of an English individual who designed it in the late 50s, it's kind of like driving on the left side of the road instead of the right. Once you get going, you get used to it's novel settings. I love the tight clean bright tone that makes you want to keep playing for hours. I also leave it connected with the jump cable which give you not one, not two but three volume control simultaneously. The only thing I was not impressed with was the reverb. It was a little weak even at full tilt. I have reason to believe it's not working properly as I have heard nothing but good review of it. The attention to visual detail is near impeccable. I also should mention that zzound gave me not only a highly competitive price but it was ordered Sunday afternoon and arrive Tuesday. Unbelievable customer service. As with most of the other reviewers, I should note that this thing is not fun to carry. Have a dolly or cart nearby. 72 lbs for the Celestion model and 74+. I have the Celestions.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

""Blemished" AC30 is a winner" submitted May 8, 2014

By Matt F in Richmond, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 18 years on bass, guitar and drums for several different bands.
Music Style: Mostly rock ranging from typical indie sounds to shoegaze and stoner rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This item was designated as blemished but came to me without so much as a scratch on it. All of the functions are working properly and it is exactly what I would have expected out of a new amp. It has all of the classic AC-30 tones that would be expected with an iconic amp. I have even stopped using a distortion pedal as often preferring to plug in to the high-boost section for the nice break up.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best amp I've every played" submitted May 10, 2012

By Perry C in Chatham, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have a band. Fender tele. I've played for almost six years now.
Music Style: Instrumental, punk, experimental, jazz, black metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After many reviews and trips to guitar center to try the amp out, I finally decided this was the one for me. I have to admit, when I first recieved it I was a bit disappointed. The amp sounded great, but not up to par with other ac30s I played. I have no idea what happened, but one month later and this is the best sounding amp I've every played. I honestly doubt I'll need any other amp. My main rig is a bunch of pedals and a Fender Tele. The ac30 really brings out my tele's character. I would recomend this amp to anyone.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"VTB" submitted October 18, 2012

By TOM BAIRD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 YRS+
Music Style: BRITISH POP AND BLUES
Back to Product Information
Overall: GET THE GREENBACK SPEAKERS
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TJ-K1BQ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!