800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 203-BNWY
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Tech 21 Fly Rig 5 SansAmp

Throw out your pedal board! This sleek multi-effects pedal features reverb, delay, boost, and a Plexi distortion based on Tech21's legendary pedal effects.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great tone, great features, and bargain priced!" submitted July 3, 2014

By Jai K in Chesterfield, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ~25years on Guitar, Vocals; Semi-pro classical guitarist, and non-pro blues/rock/pop guitarist.
Music Style: Classical, Blues, Pop, Rock, Indian - Hindustani.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just received mine a few days ago. High quality tone that is on par with other Tech 21 products. The SansAmp section is quite Fender-like, but with lot of EQ capability, and more organic sounding than the Fender amps modeled on my roland cube 80xl. The Plexi section is very creamy and smooth - just lovely sounding and inspiring to play. Between the SansAmp, Plexi and Hot buttons, you can easily switch between clean, crunch, lead and more. Nice delay and reverb round out this fairly complete and well thought out package. This is going to take the place of my entire pedal board, except that I will add a tuner pedal and a fuzz before this. I simply cannot believe the low price on this, especially when you compare it with other somewhat similar all-analog offerings from brands like Carl Martin and T-Rex. Highly recommended pedal!!
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Little Guy Packs a Punch!" submitted November 10, 2014

By Tony S in Seattle, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+ Years Semi-Pro
Music Style: Blues, Jazz, Rockabilly
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is one of those products that should sell a bundle -- good for Tech21, they've hit a home run with this little baby. I play mostly blues, jazz and a little rockabilly and this is perfect for that. I probably will never use the Plexi module but that's okay. It's there if I need it. The SansAmp, Reverb and DLA are perfect for me. I love the tap tempo. I'm debating building a small grab & go pedal board around this with a tuner, compressor and tremolo pedals. On the other hand I'm fine with a clip-on tuner and I'm appreciating keeping things simple with such a small footprint and easy load in/out. Haven't gigged it yet but I had my first rehearsal with it yesterday and that went great. The tone of this thing is what knocks me out. It sounds stellar with my Music Man Albert Lee running direct through a Bose Compact. I have a trio with a female singer and an upright bass and I feel like I'm pretty well set gear-wise.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fantastic Service and Product, Both!" submitted November 18, 2014

By Clinton S in Pflugerville, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I'm really a hobbyist guitar player, but I do play with the church worship team and lead in some fashion twice a week, usually.
Music Style: Christian, worship, praise, country, rock, blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was looking for a very simple electric guitar amp/drive/delay/reverb unit that would sound good for both practice and going direct to the board in a live setting. I heard about the Tech 21 Fly Rig 5 that came out earlier this year (2014) and really wanted to try it since I've been impress with the Tech 21 Sans Amp products for years. ... The problem was, they were out of stock or on back order everywhere due to the interest everybody has had in the new gizmo. Well, I found some online and in stock at Zzounds.com and promptly ordered. The ordering process was a breeze, and the Fly Rig 5 arrived at my house... not on the projected arrival date. No, it was days EARLY. Yep, early. I've really been enjoying the unit, and I won't forget that zZounds not only had it when others didn't, but were easy and more than prompt.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fly Rig 5 is a fabulous unit!" submitted March 6, 2015

By ruben trevino in fresno, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing for many years, play les paul, strat, and play out often
Music Style: country rock, rock, classic rock, pop, blues,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Fly Rig 5 is a superb piece of gear, its got fab tone, and easy to dial in. Excellent delay and plexi tones. Just a fab job by a great company that understands what gigging guitar players need and want. Nice job Tech 21!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome! get it..." submitted November 27, 2015

By a customer from gmail.com in San Diego, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing live 20+yrs! Live is where its at!!!!
Music Style: almost all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is where it all matters! very responsive,tube-ish like feel and sounds great coming from my FRFR 12" mackie thump monitor. Awesome on the live gigs that's for sure!! plus I don't have to worry about the sound guy telling me I'm way to loud! no need to worry about mic placement or the mic stand for the amp getting knock down again.. Feature: It has everything I need for live and nothing else I don't need Ease of Use: if one cant get a great sound out of this then drums is your last option... Quality: its a Tech 21 what else can you say about it! I've had couple of Tech 21 pedals in the early 90's and never had any issues with them,I wish I hadn't sold those... Value: fantastic!!! there are at least 5 pedals on this so go figure... Manufacturer Support: never needed to..... The Wow Factor: I've been doing live gigs on this FR5 for two and a half month going direct to my FRFR to mixer then FOH,and definitely NEVER DISAPPOINTED.....I dont have to lug around my heavy 1x12 tube amp and my heavy pedalboard, plus 2 guitars whew! Overall: if your thinking of going direct,and worried about that tube like sound and feel,then Tech 21 is the way to go. Andrew Bartta the founder of Tech 21 sans amp has been doing this for 20+yrs. And has great wealth of understanding as a Guitar player/Electronic Technician
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pretty good pedal,it just takes a little time to dial it in." submitted June 15, 2016

By Brian Taylor in Bardstown, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years Jam at home now, used to gig.
Music Style: Blues based rock and classic rock..
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When I bought this, I'll be honest, I hated it! I called and got an RGA to send it back. It sounded like crap! I couldn't believe it because of all the good reviews. I went back and stated messing with it... Finally I dialed it in and it's delicious! The key is to make small movements of the knobs, they have a ton of tone in them. The second key is to use the levels to your advantage, make the Sansamp carry most of the volume and add Plexi to taste, otherwise it sounds all farty and nasally. You do that and blend the Plexi in under the Sansamp volume and it's tasty... Well worth the money! I will be honest, I like it better with my Strat than my Les Paul or my Ibanez Prestige. This thing is instant Strat SRV Gilmore Clapton goodness with single coils.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great compact pedal board" submitted July 10, 2016

By Kevin K in Fort Myers, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, Keys, Bass, Vocals, Drums, Arranger and Musical Director for over 35 years.
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
Overall: Got this primarily for my Strat into a PA and it does not disappoint. The SansAmp section make it sound real and the delay and Plexi section just add icing to the cake. Also sounds good with a little tweaking with my humbuckers. For the price, compact size and great sound direct it's worth the money to try it out.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Convenient" submitted June 22, 2015

By Bill D in Fishers, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home hobbiest
Music Style: Rock, blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Five stars for design. So compact yet easy to use. Is a bit noisy when Sans Amp, Plexi and the boost are on so maybe looking into some sort of noise suppression. Otherwise the benefits outweigh the drawbacks line not having an fx loop or tuner.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Received defective plus..." submitted September 13, 2016

By Chris L in Edgewater, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play a LOT of instruments badly ;-) however, I'm a professional keyboard player and have been for almost 50 years.
Music Style: You name it. I've either played it or would love to give it a shot.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Gotta say this first; I've ordered several thousands of dollars worth of goods from zZounds and never had an issue that I recall. The packing material in the box (that was far too large for this teeny unit to begin with) was virtually nonexistent and the Fly Rig 5 was simply sliding around on the bottom of the box.That said, the 'drive' knob on the Plexi module got stuck at 9:30 (not the time) and wouldn't move. Finally got it to move but would continuously get stuck and I mean STUCK. The Sansamp section, delay (forget trying to use the delay for anything but delay. The "chorus" effect that some suggest is possible simply isn't) and "hot" button are totally usable but the Plexi by itself is horrible even when I could get the drive knob to turn. The return was no hassle other than having to add a good eight "Penny Savers" (basically tons of newspaper) and having to deliver to a UPS drop off. I elected to return for refund and just ordered a Digitech RP1000 http://www.zzounds.com/item--DGTRP1000 . Not what I initially wanted but, as I mentioned, the Plexi module, even when it "worked properly" was unusable by itself which severely limits this stompbox IMHO. The refund was promptly issued to my CC. When I say promptly, I mean crazy fast. Love me some zZounds! Thanks guys.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 203-BNWY. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!