800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20M-HZS9
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Taylor GS Mini Mahogany

Packing a huge sound into a smaller-bodied "parlor" guitar with a distinctive solid mahogany top, this GS Mini delivers that famous Taylor tone and quality.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Amazing Guitar and Fantastic Customer Service" submitted May 23, 2015

By Rachel I in Peshtigo, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Newbie
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my second guitar ordering experience with Zzounds. The first guitar, a Baby Taylor Mahogany, had to go back due to some manufacturing issues. The return process was completely hassle-free. Then I ordered this guitar. It arrived very quickly and well packaged. The look of the mahogany is absolutely gorgeous, and the construction is finished, smooth and solid. It is stunning. This guitar feels great to hold and play, especially for a short person like me who also has small hands. Even if you're a larger person, don't let the size scare you away. And what can I say about the sound? It's truly amazing. Mellow, warm and sweet with awesome projection and sustain. The other great thing about this purchase was ordering it from Zzounds. The guitar came in a Taylor box that had never been opened, but there were scratches on the bottom side of the guitar--something that probably happened at the Taylor factory. I was in love with the guitar and didn't want to return it, so I contacted Zzounds and they came to a very fair resolution with me. I couldn't be happier. I've been practicing with it for 1-2 hours a day. It's that hard to put down. If you've been sitting on the fence about whether to buy this gem, just do it. I don't think you'll be disappointed. A side note--the gig bag is REALLY nice. For anyone who thinks the guitar is overpriced, it's not. The construction of the guitar and the gig bag are impressive. And don't forget to humidify it! I'm using the D'Addario two-way system (formerly Planet Waves Humidipak) and it's working great. One pack in the sound hole and one by the headstock. A definite must in Wisconsin's crazy, fluctuating climate. Thanks, Zzounds!
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Small body, big tone!" submitted May 15, 2014

By Paul D in Duluth, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-pro, playing guitar for 40 years.
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Alt. Country, Slide
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got this guitar for my 9 year old daughter to begin teaching her how to play. The build quality is fantastic and the sound that this guitar produces is way beyond what you'd expect from a small/ travel sized guitar. I would not hesitate to use this at a professional gig or recording session. The all mahogany body gives it a warm, snappy and consistent tone. Beautiful for strumming and finger picking. I love this guitar and I'm secretly hoping my daughter loses interest (not really).
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Review" submitted January 27, 2015

By Chris A
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: have played in several bands, recorded, and gigged for the past 10 years
Music Style: blues, rock, jam, jazz, funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I play a lot of guitar and have played in gigging and recording bands for the past 10 years and I recently decided to shop around for a small-bodied mahogany acoustic. I played several before taking a shot on the GS mini and am floored by the quality, playability, and tone of it. The build quality is outstanding and the package itself with gig bag is great. The bag is one of the nicer ones I've seen. The guitar's size is great for plunking around the house or traveling obviously, but it also is great in band situations if you play longer sets or switch instruments from time to time. I find that the neck also, is very convenient when switching back and forth from acoustic to electric guitars. The ebony feels smooth and is extremely easy to play. I'm mostly an electric player and this neck makes it very easy on my hands. The tone is quite even and has a touch of the darker hog tone you want in a mahogany guitar. String clarity is even throughout and the bottom-end, while certainly not boomy or terribly prominent is present enough for low runs or bass note fingerpicking. With a heavier pick and strum, the guitar can "flab-out" some and buzz on you but that's easily remedied by lightening your touch (I think I experienced this some because I tend to "dig in" in a bit heavily at times). Tuning has been stable but not quite rock-solid. I don't know if I'll replace the tuners or not, they really are fine tuners stock, but I do like to mod every guitar I own and that's the only thing I can see helping this little guitar out. I also installed my LR Baggs M1a pickup in it and it sounds great through the p.a and install was a breeze since Taylor's end pin hid a pre-drilled hole that was the exact size needed for the Baggs' jack. After a month of ownership, I can honestly say this guitar is definitely the best gear purchase I've made in my 15 years of playing and owning several great high end guitars (The Taylor has taken a lot of playing time from my expensive '96 Guild JF30). A must-own for the working guitarist in need of something smaller. Also of note, The packaging by zZounds and Taylor was top-notch and the guitar out of the box and tuned up sounded perfect. No joke. I have never experienced buying a guitar, even in-store, and not had to adjust it for setup or anything. I also still have the stock Elixers on it, which is insane! I've bought high end Gibsons online and had to have them setup, get rid of the stock strings, etc before I was happy. Nice job Taylor!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor GS Mini Mahogany" submitted September 2, 2013

By Andrew B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played guitar for 20yrs, couch strummer
Music Style: rock, folk, finger style-bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What can I say, this is a great little guitar. I bought this to replace a Big Baby Taylor I recently sold. My BBT was a 2002 model and thus had aged to a very nice mellow sound. I would say that the BBT was louder, but this GS mini has a more balanced tone. I played this model and a spruce topped at a local shop before ordering...the Mahogany blew the spruce away! Has a more balanced tone, and isn't as bright or twangy as the spruce topped cousin. The case is superb for a soft case, and I love the back pack straps. Has a thick +1" padding all the way around, plas a nice padded neck support. The neck is incredible as with all taylors with the NT neck. Its comfy and very fast and easy to play. The shorter scale takes all of two mins to get used to. The finish is a matte finish, not a huge fan, but it is growing on me. If it wasn't Mahogany, I would hate the finish. But I works well with the wood gaining. Mine came with an almost flamed Mahogany top...probably due to it being tropical Mahogany? My only gripe is the lack of binding. The edging on this guitar has a pretty sharp edge. Plus without binding it's not protected well. Not the end of the world, and considering the price point it's not unacceptable. My other grip is the cheapo plastic bridge pins...expected...but would have been nice if it came with Ebony pins to match the ebony bridge. I put some factory taylor ebony pins with abalone dots in and it looks fantastic. The tuners are ok, but could be just a hair better. I believe that they are a different gear ratio than the higher model taylors. I think that the tech that taylor has developed for the gs mini is going to be the future for parlor/travel guitars. I think if they could start building solid wood models with bindings and maybe their ES system, they would dominate all aspects of the travel guitar venue. Maybe make a GS Mini premium. All in all I find myself playing this guitar the most out of my collection. I have a Blueridge BR-160(favorite), a 1971 Martin D-28, and a vintage all flamed maple Goya Classical. The GS Mini is very versatile, and the sound just seems to be getting better day by day as I play. I would definitely recommend a GS mini to anyone looking for couch guitar, but wants something that sounds better than a cigar box with a neck and strings. Not much out their that can compete with the sound of the GS mini, as it sounds almost as good as my full sized dreadnought. LOVE the pay as you play option. Makes it so ANY musician can afford to get decent gear! Thanks Zzsounds!!!
24 of 26 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great travel guitar " submitted June 23, 2016

By Michael M in San Angelo, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Lead worship
Music Style: Lots
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Had my GS Mini mahogany for a few days now... First I'll say: love the size, extremely playable and travel worthy. It takes a day until the guitar acclimates to my Texas weather, so I knew it likely wouldn't sound great till the second day, but after that it sounds great. Most of my acoustics are well over the 1k range, but I can't put this baby down, it's so fun & easy to play. Installed a LR Baggs Lyric pickup, and I'm blown away as plugged in, with the new electronics it now sounds better plugged in than my Martin and my expensive Taylor. You can't lose with this guitar
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing instrument" submitted October 1, 2013

By Rod A
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Learning for years...seriously learning about a year.
Music Style: Still trying to find my niche...I prefer country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have only been playing for a year and this is the third guitar I have purchased...and will be my last for a long time. After receiving the GS Mini Mahogany I was first pleasantly surprised at the case that came with it. It is a very well constructed and heavily padded travel case. But the best was yet to come. After removing the guitar I was instantly in love with the look. The guitar is...well, beautiful. After tuning I began playing and cant seem to put it down for any time at all. The sound that resonates form this little guitar is better than my full size...granted my full size is a $120 Takamine which is a good guitar for the price. It doesnt compare with the GS Mini in sound range or volume. I know I will be playing much more now. Its just fun to play this instrument. The construction, wood grain, ebony fret board and everything about this guitar is what I had hoped for. Thank you Taylor for making such a quality instrument at a reasonable price. I would highly recommend this for anyone, but especially for new guitar players that might be getting discouraged. This guitar will motivate you to play more because it just sounds great.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GS Mini" submitted February 25, 2014

By Paul P in prince Frederick, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years
Music Style: country,blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The GS mini is a good choice for a 7/8/small guitar probably one of the best available at this price. I thought this was an excellant guitar,has that taylor sound and the action was just right.,a few of the frets are not level but i will get them adjusted.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cant put it down!" submitted October 10, 2013

By Rod A in Global City, Taguig, AP
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Still trying to find my niche.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an amazing guitar! Its only my third guitar but I wont be looking for another one for a long time. The sound that comes out is better than either of my full size dreads. This is by far the best travel guitar on the market. This was my first Taylor guitar and when I do get another one, it will be a Taylor. Quality, looks, feel and sound through high mids and bass are amazing. The shipment from Zzsounds came faster than expected and arrived in perfect condition.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"taylor gs mini" submitted November 20, 2014

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: blues finger picking
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I like the guitar very much, it is just a little too small.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20M-HZS9. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!