800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15Z2-GZ6W
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Taylor 214ce Guitar

Experience all the warmth and color of a Taylor acoustic-electric. The Grand Auditorium shape with a comfortable cutaway makes the 214ce a dream to play.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Best Guitar for the Price" submitted April 25, 2012

By William Howell in Eustis, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing electric, acustic and bass guitar for thirty years. Jam at home and write country music.
Music Style: Country, Blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Whether you play through an amplifier or not, the sound of this guitar is amazing. The strings that come with the guitar are a little heavy for my picking style so I went with lighter ones. The preamp is perfect for amplifiers that don't have an equalizer or treble and base settings. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking to spend around $1000.00 for a guitar.
30 of 30 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214CE Black" submitted November 13, 2012

By Nick W in Richmond, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Reggae. Hip-Hop, Alternative, Trip-Hop, Picking, Folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar sounds amazing! I have been playing for about 3 years & I recently decided to purchase an 'entry higher level' guitar. With that in mind it's hard to not find a better guitar for the value. A good friend who is also a guitar shop employee told me that in his opinion this guitar is one of the best values for the money. The difference between this & some high end Martins or Taylors is minuscule while the price difference is anything but. I spent weeks checking different stores & trying out many different guitars & yes; I did seem to find others that I SLIGHTLY preferred but when I would then look at the price it was no comparison between a $1,000 & $3,000. The 214 is an amazing value. I ordered it in black which looks incredibly clean (though not always easy to keep it that way) as black tends to show more dirt & fingerprints. In my mind that's just more of an incentive to keep this baby polished & shining. Which when it is; the black just shines beautifully. I can easily see myself in the finish when freshly polished. The clean white trim also gives it good contrast, though I did wish the fretboard had a white inlay which would really bring this guitar to life. My taylor arrived perfectly set up. I know this because I actually took it to be set up professionally. After about 3 minutes they said that they didn't need to do a single thing & everything was spot on. That's the Taylor quality. Even after being shipped it was still perfectly set up. I found the strings it came with to be a bit heavy and hard. I replaced them with some lighter ones and it now suites my style & preference perfectly. The neck is pretty slim and your hand tends to tire easily when playing many barre chords at first but that goes away. I find the slim neck to be more relaxing but that's just preference. It makes 'shredding' easier. The action on this guitar absolutely perfect & the strings NEVER go out of tune. Even with new strings they stretch & go flat all still in tune. The sound is BEAUTIFUL. It's less 'boomy' due to being a cutaway & you can really hear the mids and highs. When plugged into an amp this guitar still sounds amazing though I've always preferred the sound of an unplugged acoustic more. The only issue I have with this guitar is something when plugged in an amp I feel that it is a bit too 'twangy' on the high end. You can mess with the 3 tone knobs that it has to alter this but I usually just end up using some pedals to cut it out. Though I tend to think it is the pickups which have been fitted to the guitar. Which I do plan on replacing sometime in the near future. Don't be fooled though, that is probably just my personal opinion and everyone has a different taste. But no one could say that this guitar doesn't sound beautiful plugged in or unplugged. But REALLY unplugged. Like I said I always prefer acoustics unplugged. In the end. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I feel that after weeks of looking I couldn't have bought a more beautiful, better playing, or better sounding guitar. Not for such a steal at least. This is one of those instruments you just never want to put down & I've already had quite a few long, tired days from being up too late playing this guitar. As always zZounds is AWESOME as always. I ordered my guitar and by the third day it was on my doorstep. Gotta love zZounds.
48 of 49 people (97.96%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wow" submitted June 25, 2013

By Victor C in Anaheim, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 6years in music (play trumpet, guitar, piano, harmonica, bass, and drums) and am now trying song writing
Music Style: Little bit of this little bit of that
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm not here to review the Taylor 214ce I recently purchased. I'm here to review my shopping experience with Zzounds. The guitar is amazing but buying it through zzounds made it even better. I've already bought off of zzounds a couple of times and to me it's been the absolute best. They definitely will do price match plus zero tax, payment plans (without interest), and free shipping. What more could you ask for? I decided to try out zzounds a while back and have NEVER looked back. I usually will go to a big music store like guitar center. Try out the instrument there and then buy it through here. I totally recommend buying through these guys. I worked as a Supply Chain specialist (nothing but buying) and buying with these guys was the absolute best. As for the guitar, she is absolutely gorgeous ;)
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Guitar" submitted April 5, 2012

By Dana s in San Antonio, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years on the guitar
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The thing plays and sounds amazing. I play things I would have never played on other guitars. Its one of those instruments you pick up and don't want to put down.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Well worth the money!!!" submitted October 6, 2013

By steven s in Bethlehem, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner trying to learn the guitar
Music Style: country,blues,christian,classic rock,southern rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm 59 yrs old and retired and said learning the guitar is on my bucket list. Well it's finally here. I have bought and tried so many guitars in 2 yrs and none of them were easy to play so I almost gave up. Until I purchased this taylor from the good people at ZZounds. Let me tell you I have made so much progress learning to play. Yea I know it's only been a couple of months since I received this taylor but what a 100% turn around. This guitar almost feels like butter trying to learn on. Well worth the money and zzounds has to be the best company to purchase all my needs. Great people and a great company. The sound is so great this guitar has that pop to it when you play. My neighbor can play and he played it the other day and fell in love with it. He said it even has that pop you get with a quality guitar. He's ordering his next week.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Zzounds rocks!!" submitted August 26, 2012

By Matt L in Gilford, NH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar 20 years, professional
Music Style: Cover music of all kinds- rock, blues, heavy,acoustic, pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my 3rd purchase from zZounds, and just like my last 2 this was a success. My Taylor 214ce shipped on time and needed no setup. Pay as you play made it possible for me to get into a great product and not miss a beat!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great guitar" submitted March 1, 2014

By kevin lawrence in chesapeake, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: long time amatuer - love playing understand good instruments
Music Style: you name it
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great acoustic guitar and it has i bright sound to it like (I will assume) most other Taylor guitars. The playability is great and it stays in tune well. The one thing that I did not understand was that there was a direct correlation with the plugged in guitar cord and the 9v battery life - my mistake! I did not realize that there was a switch (electronic) in the guitar that was turned on and off when you plugged in the cable or unplugged it. - it had nothing to do with whether it was plugged into the amp or not. These actions will determine the battery life of your guitar. My prior acoustic/electric experiences with Epiphone and Ibanez were not like this at all. This is not a bad thing but be aware of what this implies and how this system works. Love the sound and quality but this battery info was not included and was a bit baffling.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A solid choice" submitted May 6, 2014

By Jackie Tran in Satellite beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro
Music Style: Everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this guitar from zzsounds by way of their financing plan, which is a great program! The Taylor came set up out of the box, and arrived on the third business day with free shipping from new jersey to central Florida. The action felt a little high in the upper frets, with a small amount of bow in the neck. Although it sounded wonderful, I reduced the strings to extra light elixir nanowebs, and it relieved the tension in the neck, and lowered the action to a perfect height for me. I play a lot of blues, and the lighter strings are easier to bend. This is my second Taylor 214, however, my first was not a ce model, meaning that it did not have the cutaway or electronics. I love the cutaway on this guitar, and after playing it last night at an open mic at a local bar, I know that the expression system electronics on this guitar sounded better than the high end Martin that was played earlier on. The wood smells great as well, and i can smell it from the time I pick it up, until I put it back down. The craftmanship is nice enough, but mine is a little rough around the inside edge of the soundhole, and the bracing inside isn't sanded perfectly like the other Taylor 214 I own. Allthough mexican, craftsmanship of this Taylor is only a little less perfect than my older american non composite 214. I don't mind. The gig bag was sturdier than I expected, and I would gig it anytime, and throw it in my backseat without worry. A nice guitar. If you are looking to get serious about your playing, this guitar is it. You will fall in love.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I want another one!" submitted June 6, 2014

By Tj Kennedy in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 12 years, I play guitar, bass, mandolin, ukulele, and learning the fiddle
Music Style: Anything that I feel like learning, started playing pop-punk/punk, then to regular rock and roll, currently fixated on country,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this guitar, because I have been playing music for about 12 years and have never owned a nice, quality acoustic. I have also always loved the sound and quality you get from Taylors, so when I learned about this website and about how you can do a pay as you play plan, I figured now was as good a time as any to get my hands on a new instrument. This acoustic was everything I dreamed of and more! The tuning pegs hold the guitar in tune perfectly, I played for 2 hours straight and didn't even have to re-tune once. The neck too me seems smaller than other acoustic necks which allows for better playing, I'm no stretching my hands super far for barre chords or anything (not that I have small hands, but still), the dials for bass, treble, and volume are really nice and allow you to dial in such a rich sound when playing through and amp, and the cut of the wood just hugs your body as you play. I'm already thinking of buying another one!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce " submitted June 1, 2014

By Mark Hansen in Cocoa, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a newbie... Tried played a lesser quality guitar and it was torturous. The difference is like night and day.
Music Style: rock, country, folk... quality, fun music in general. I'm certain my taste will evolve, grow and mature as my skill level increa
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The absolute nicest guitar I ever owned. Plays like a dream and sounds very nice as acoustic and electric. Stays in tune. Resonates great. Tone is rich and full. I'll be playing this instrument for many years. I only down graded customer support because it is more of a N/A issue, but the Taylor website is loaded with good information. I'd be happier if it was made in USA instead of Mexico, but it is what it is. The quality is very good. The sides and back are laminated mahogany. Top is solid spruce. If you want all solid wood you have to go up to the 300 grade series, which are made in USA. So, if you want the solid wood and made in USA save your pennies a bit longer and go for the 314. I did order a hard case from Taylor at a cost of an additional $200.00. The padded gig bag was OK but I felt it deserved a hard case.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What a beaut" submitted June 5, 2012

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Indie Rock, Folk Rock, The Wild Northern
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Gorgeous body, incredible tone, a real showstopper and a great buy for the money. Got it just in time for work to start on a new album and the producer, who also sells Taylor's from his shop, was shocked that it was the 214 series that we were getting such quality tone out of.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Nice Guitar" submitted May 17, 2014

By Mark Hansen in Cocoa, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner/novice
Music Style: learning basics and doing finger exercises
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently purchased this guitar as an upgrade for my playing. I am a beginner / novice player and my previous guitar was torturing my fingers. The action on the Yamaha (FG325) was very high. Once I saw, held and played the Taylor 214ce spruce/rosewood guitar I was very impressed. The action is very nice. No more torturing for me. The sound is rich, full and resonant. Very comfortable to hold and play. I wish it came with a hard case. I ordered a hard case from Taylor this week. The gig bag is OK, but I felt it deserved a hard case. I would hate to damage such a beautiful instrument. Downgraded "features" one star because of no hard case. Guitar features are flawless.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce" submitted February 7, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com in Roanoke, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for 27 years
Music Style: country, blues, classic rock,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered the blemished 214ce and all I can say is that this is an awesome guitar! This guitar is like new and the blemish is hardly noticeable; I really had to look to find it ( it was on the base of the neck on the back of the guitar.). This guitar is everything that I expected from a Taylor; it sounds awesome. I received the guitar within two days and it played fantastic right out of the box.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome guitar!!!" submitted January 13, 2014

By Jennifer B in Indianapolis, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I just started learning to play guitar about 6 months ago
Music Style: blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am not a musician, but my boyfriend is and he has been wanting a Taylor since he started playing 15 years ago. I wanted so badly to get him one but was worried I couldn't afford it. Well thanks to zzounds I was able to get it for him with little money up front. He was so excited to get this for christmas. The sound quality is amazing, it makes his songs that already sounded great sound even better. Thank you so much zzounds for allowing musicians to get the instruments they need on payments. I have been telling everybody I know about you guys. You have a customer for life.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce" submitted July 28, 2014

By John White in Escondido, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 15 years. Never professional. Been in a couple of bands but now just play/write/record for fun.
Music Style: rock, classic rock, some country, blues, some jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been playing for a while and own and have owned many guitars. Once I bought this Taylor, I am so hooked I can't even put it into words. I'd play a song on here if I could. This is the easiest acoustic to play not to mention the absolute best looking. Add that with the quality of help and ease of purchase you get with ZZ sounds, and you have a 1000% satisfied customer. (As a side note, I bought a 12 string gretsch from zz sounds but it just wasn't what I expected. I sent it back with no issues from zz. full refund as promised) ZZ SOUNDS and Taylor ROCK.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce Acoustic-Electric Guitar" submitted March 30, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar for 27 years.
Music Style: Classic Rock, Country, and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is awesome! I bought the blemished model, but the blemish is not even noticeable(small imperfection on the back heel of neck). The sound is awesome and what I expect from a Taylor. I received the guitar within two days of ordering it with standard shipping which was also awesome. I will definitely be ordering from Zzounds in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sounding and feeling guitar." submitted February 9, 2014

By Luis M G in Salt Lake City, UT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played music for 10+ years
Music Style: Pop, rock, jazz, bossa nova, etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This Taylor sounds and feels really really well, even compared to some of the more expensive taylors or martins. The one I got was a little dried up, so you could feel the frets a little on the edge of the neck. After a couple of weeks in ideal humidity, the wood expanded a little and now the frets feel fine.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce k" submitted January 8, 2014

By B K in west chester, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Wonderful to ears, bright enough to feel it inside, did not try the ESTyet , nice finish could have done more as guitar less expensive have better finish but music is meant for ears, so Taylor has certainly stood upt to its reputation for bringing out the nice sound. And the effort to bring out the music is like a song itself.zzounds has my 5 stats.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214 Ce Wow what a fine Guitar." submitted September 22, 2014

By Mike Schwartz in Spring Hill, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Im only learning to play acoustic.
Music Style: Picking and alternative.
Back to Product Information
Overall: The Taylor 214ce Is the most bang for your buck. It plays and sounds amazing. It is hard to tell the difference from it and other high end units that are twice the price. Great quality and price.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AMAZING! " submitted April 5, 2012

By Kyana M in MI, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
Overall: The shipping was quick! The guitar plays beautiful! Its amazing! I absolute love it. By going through this website I saved a few hundred compared to what my friend payed for his. We have the exact same Taylor. I would recommend this to anyone!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"best guitar i ever have so far" submitted September 30, 2013

By Fernando C in Conroe, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing music for 20 years and I play drums, piano, guitar and bass.
Music Style: Christian, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: i just bought a taylor 214ce , great guitar for that price , i've been a musician for 18 years and i can assure you that you can hardly get this kind of guitar for this price. Even though it's a cutaway guitar the grand autitorium shape gives you a big sound lows and mids, plugged and unplugged it sounds great. Overall it's been a great experience I love playing my 214CE and I totally recommend it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce" submitted March 31, 2014

By Dave S in Pottstown, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobby
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the probably the easiest acoustic I ever played. The sound is what I have been looking for in an acoustic. Also, I never had an acoustic that stays in-tune so well. I really cant rate Manufacturer Support cause I did not use them! This guitar was set-up perfect right out of the box. At least for me it was. I gave it such a high rating because this is what I was looking for. I would be willing to bet that if anyone plays one there would not be one bad word said.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214 ce" submitted May 5, 2014

By Sean P in Venice, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professionally for a very long time…...
Music Style: All styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's a Taylor. I've owned others. This is a very good guitar but not not as well made as the others. I have another that's about 15 years old and it's a better instrument. That being said, if you like the sound of a Taylor, you'll like this guitar. One hassle was I had to take it from the shipping box right to my luthier to have it set up. Crazy factory specs!!! Not crazy about the nut either. For this price it could have of better quality. Of course Zzounds is a pleasure to deal with and their operation is first rate.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great service" submitted March 2, 2014

By Wanda K in Newport News, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner
Music Style: Classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Doing business was a real pleasure the guitar arrived quickly and really like play as you pay will do more business here thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good value and quality" submitted January 6, 2014

By Dennis M in Elkins, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi retired professional musician. Hand wired custom amps and Budda amps. Gibson and G&L electrics, Martin and Taylor acoustics
Music Style: Classic, and blues rock mainly. I play whatever the gig requires.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent sounding instrument. If you're shopping for a step up guitar, you ca hardly go wrong with this one. Sounds as good, or better, than several higher priced guitars I've had.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214CE" submitted August 30, 2012

By Mark S in Jarrell, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 yrs experience. Guitar,Bass, Mandolin, Banjo, Dobro. Professional
Music Style: Jazz, Blues, Rock,Flat picking
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very nice guitar, I run it through my Genz-BenZ along with the two extension speakers. Pick-up needs replacing. Not a problem wiyh an L.R. Baggs set up. Beautiful finish. Fast neck
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214 ce acoustic elec. guitar" submitted March 13, 2014

By Donald K in Lynn, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: lifelong musician
Music Style: orignal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: good guitar nice sound great pickup system nice case guitar is very lightweight. and I feel the need to treat it gently and carefully
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My two cents..." submitted July 4, 2012

By Eric Totherow in Joliet, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar in a touring act with the nephew of Tim Reynolds of the Dave Matthews Band.
Music Style: Everything! I love playing non-traditional things on acoustic guitar!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Well, I don't 'not' like this guitar. I recently bought the sunburst model 214ce, and it arrived well packaged and slightly earlier than expected- the sunburst color is more impressive and richer in person than in the picture. Very nice. Ok, let's talk playability and sound quality. I will be reviewing from more of an 'on stage' perspective- the guitar arrived with rather high action, and the playability was a little fatiguing. I was a little surprised by this, knowing Taylor's reputation for well set up guitars. This was not a problem, though; it was pretty easy to set up. I just shaved down the saddle and slightly adjusted the truss rod. The sound quality... Hmm, where do I begin. The guitar its self, unplugged, sounds decent. The guitar 'honks' a little bit in the low- mid frequency range, and when plugged in, this frequency is VERY hard to EQ out without inserting a 31 bander in the signal chain, because i don't want to take away any of the good frequencies. Half the problem is the awful awful expression style pickup. It is no wonder so many major label acts rip this stupid pickup out of their guitars and replace them with fishman. Taylor states that 1 in 50 people don't like their expression system. I am definitely that one! Even through a digico pre, the pickup is wispy with minimal 'attack. When I strike an individual string, I want to hear it crack through the mix- this Taylor's pickup is more of a thud surrounded by a whispy gentle welling of the note. I've had this trouble through the entire range of taylors with expression. This is, however, not the guitars fault. Just the yucky pickup. Over all, in my opinion, the guitar looks great, plays nicely after a good set up, and sounds good unplugged. If you're going to play with a band in ever changing environments and venues, pull out that pickup and put in something nicer. That's my two cents! Hope it helps.
15 of 20 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not impressed." submitted July 26, 2014

By Oz Marlon in Plantation, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional musician. Producer, performer. Guitar, bass, piano, vocals.
Music Style: All styles.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: There is no wow factor here. This guitar is not worth $1000. It's worth 500. Sounds light and airy, good for soft strum but there is no meat. Low end is lacking. Rattly when strummed hard, even with not-new strings. No on-board tuner: not an issue. High string action: Ok. Hi action=better tone. Soft case it comes with: Fine. Plugged-in sound: God-awful. Inferior interior electronics. When will they learn? I have to use my trusty Dean Markley Pro Mag soundhole pickup to get good sound. And it sounds 10 times better with it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Well Worth the Wait" submitted June 19, 2012

By Elodie Germain in Winter Park, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for almost 4 years; I play the guitar, the piano, and I sing; I do perform but I'm not a professional
Music Style: pop, jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: I've wanted a Taylor guitar for the past 4 years, ever since I seriously started playing the guitar. I had done a little research and I knew what I wanted but I just didn't have enough money saved up to get it. I received my Taylor as a graduation present last month. This guitar is incredible. It's better than anything I could have expected. It's exquisitely built and the sound just echoes all through your body. The case I got with it was a great deal too because it makes it easy to travel with the guitar. I really could not have asked for a better guitar.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sound! But only top is glosss!" submitted October 18, 2013

By Thomas G in Fraser, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 22 Years playing all kinds of music. Guitarist mainly, not gigging anymore.
Music Style: Mainly rock, progressive, metal, hairband, blues...list goes on...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sounds are exactly what I've come to expect from Taylor. Crisp clean and clear with deep lows that resonate against your body. Taylor guitars have always sounded amazing to my ear and this one was no exception! They don't have that "mellow" sound that Martins are renowned for but don't let that fool you these guitars are FULL sounding! Feature: The features are quite nice, however I do feel that for the money Taylor could over a lot more. I see Deans and Ibanez guitars with much prettier looks for way less money and since the guitar is made in Mexico I don't see why they can't offer a better looking guitar. Other than that, the neck is nice and action was awesome right out of the case. The electronics were nice too but again I've seen much cheaper guitars with Furman preamps that sounded amazing plugged in so I will say the Taylor sound was good but not amazing. Ease of Use: Well it's an acoustic, not much to say on easy of use...pick it up and play... Quality: Quality was good, didn't go over it with a fine tooth comb but all in all I didn't notice any flaws either. finish was good, everything was put together well enough and functioned as expected. Value: Value is kinda low in my opinion, I mean its lacking in features for 2-3 times the price of guitars with the frills. If you're buying a Taylor though you're not buying because it looks pretty, you're buying it because it sounds amazing! When you're an artist (inspiring or otherwise) sometimes things like value be damned for a great sounding product! Manufacturer Support: N/A haven't had to deal with them...however zZounds is AWESOME! These guys have great turn around times and are very helpful over the phone as well as understanding! The Wow Factor: Thing is this guitar despite the downfalls it may have just sounds so good! As guitarists we are finicky as hell about sound and tone. Taylor has capture a sweet sound and been able to sell it and for my money it doesn't get much better. Overall: Got this sweet little acoustic from zZounds and I have to say it sounded really good. The only thing that disappointed me was the fact that they didn't cover the sides and back with gloss. While this may not be an issue since it's laminate sides and back, I had my concerns. You see in the past I had owned a Ibanez that was satin finish all around (top, sides and back) and that guitar was very easy to dent and scratch, however that guitar was very cheap so dents and scratches were not such a big deal. This guitar on the other hand, while relatively inexpensive for Taylor was what I would consider a lot of money, so naturally I was concerned with this. I sent this back and will wait to buy one with finished sides and back.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Rather disappointing" submitted March 21, 2013

By Dave M in Reading, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Good news first: The guitar sounds great. Now for the bad: This does NOT feel anything like a $1,000 guitar should. The action is horrendously high. The neck is straight so this means adjustments must be made at the nut and/or saddle. I am not a luthier by any means and I don't feel comfortable doing this work myself. This means I now need to spend around $100 out of pocket to have a local tech set the guitar up for me. Unacceptable on a $1,000 guitar. In addition to the high action, the fret work on this guitar is TERRIBLE. Sharp fret ends sticking out the edges of the fretboard on every single fret on both sides of the fretboard. Really, Taylor? I know these aren't "high end" Taylor guitars but for $1,000 I expect a guitar to be perfect out of the box. So now I must decide between taking this guitar to get set up or just returning it and buying something else.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Speechless" submitted December 11, 2013

By David Mabe in Henderson, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 27 years. Semi-professional. I play guitar(and related instruments ie. bass), keyboards and relate, mandolin
Music Style: Mostly contemporary Christian, but also Memphis sound(Early Elvis, Roy O, and such), Classic Rock, Oldies....a little bit of eve
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound from this guitar is amazing. Like I said above, I got the natural because I want the natural resonance of the instrument. This will be both a great performance and recording guitar. Feature: It's an acoustic electric, so there aren't many features. If I have to have one gripe about this guitar, it's this. Why did my $400 Ibanez A/E 12 string come with an on board tuner, but not my new $1000 Taylor? I'm sure its an aesthetics thing. I got along without on board tuners for years before guitars started coming with them, I can do just fine now. It's just a nice thing to have. I'll just go grab one that clips onto the headstock. Ease of Use: Like butter.....The neck is thin and easy to play. My poor wife will be neglected a bit for a while. I already feel new songwriting ideas coming to the surface. Quality: I've looked over it top to bottom and inside out. Not a flaw anywhere. This is quite possibly the last acoustic guitar I will ever need to buy. Or at least until my next G.A.S. attack. Value: I've been wanting a higher end A/E for a while. I had narrowed it down to the Martin Grand Artist series and Taylor 114 or 214. Honestly, both of them that I played in my local music store were great. The 12 month PAYP was the seller on this for me. Manufacturer Support: I used their website to register my guitar and it was quite easy to use. Other than that, I haven't had to deal with Taylor and don't expect I'll need to. The Wow Factor: The title of my review says it all.....speechless. Overall: I'm in love again. First it was the Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro I got from Zzounds back in April, now my eye has wondered again. I've wanted a Taylor A/E since I first picked one up at Mars Music(anyone remember them) in Houston, Texas. I've waited and finally decided, with the help of the current 12 month play-as-you-pay, it was time to fulfill my dream. Oh, this guitar is beautiful. Does it play as nice as the $3000 Taylor? No, but the difference is minimal. When I get a recording contract and am making the kind of money that commands a $3000 Taylor, then I'll call Zzounds and get one of those. I got the natural because I don't like paint to weigh the wood down and kill the natural acoustic tone of the instrument. The tone is awesome. I can see this being a great guitar for recording mic'd. The description on here says it comes with a gig bag, but it isn't a soft gig bag. It's sturdy, though I wouldn't try to stand on it to reach a high shelf. :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Spend a little more and buy the 414" submitted May 19, 2014

By Tim N in Goodyear, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Worship leader over the last 15 years
Music Style: Worship music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Not impressed. Plays amazing sounds horrible plugged in. I had to buy a fishman aura di to blend guitar with mic simulator to get the sound I need. Should have spent the money and got the 414. Also not happy with 1000.00 purchase only to store it in a gig bag.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce" submitted August 28, 2012

By Lou P in Burlington, IA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for about 25 years
Music Style: country, blues, christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've had this guitar for almost a month now and I still play it everyday...the guitar comes setup very well...action is low enough without any fret buzz...I've order some bridge pins to replace the plactic ones though...those could of been alittle better...the tone controls on board are simple and sound good...I can't determine if I like it better unplugged or amped up....this is a low end Taylor but plays better than most Martins...unplugged is has a very warm tone and its really hard to put down...I did buy a hard shell case to better protect it...I would of liked an onboard tuner
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best acoustic electric for $999.00!" submitted May 28, 2013

By Damien Sullins in Ok. City, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for about 5 years. I used to own an Epiphone G400 ,a Breedlove Passport,and a Laguna acoustic electric .
Music Style: Classic rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have had my Taylor 214ce for 2 years now. I have nothing negative to say about this fine instument. My budget allowed up to $1500.00 so I could have bought a more expensive one. The salesman was outastanding in helping me make the best choice. After I narrowed it down to 4 guitars he played them all behind me so that I could make my choice based on which one sounded the best. The Taylor 214ce was what turned out to be the one I felt had the best sound ,projection and warmth. I really love this guitar and plan on keeping it for the rest of my life . Perhaps I may purchace something down the road but I am well satisfied with this one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best acoustic electric for $999.00!" submitted May 28, 2013

By Damien Sullins in Ok. City, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for about 5 years. I used to own an Epiphone G400
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have had my Taylor 214ce for 2 years now. I have nothing negative to say about this fine instument. My budget allowed up to $1500.00 so I could have bought a more expensive one. The salesman was outastanding in helping me make the best choice. After I narrowed it down to 4 guitars he played them all behind me so that I could make my choice based on which one sounded the best. The Taylor 214ce was what turned out to be the one I felt had the best sound ,projection and warmth. I really love this guitar and plan on keeping it for the rest of my life . Perhaps I may purchace something down the road but I am well satisfied with this one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Taylor 214ce" submitted September 13, 2012

By Freeman M.
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played since the late 70s
Music Style: Rock-blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: When I received it there was a yellowish discoloration about 1/4 inch wide that ran the entire length of the fretboard. The guitar was nice, but I would save a little more money and buy a better model. My friend has a 414 and it is far superior to the 214. With the fretboard being clearly a "second" I had to send it back. It was no better than many much cheaper guitars I have played. I can't believe Taylor released this with such an obvious flaw.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Defective and worthless. What a disappointment." submitted March 26, 2013

By Dave M in Reading, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got the guitar and noticed the action was way too high. I took the guitar to a local luthier and was told the neck is twisted to the point where the guitar cannot be set up. I wanted to exchange it for a replacement but now ZZounds doesn't have any more in stock. I'll be returning this guitar and buying something else. This has spoiled the Taylor name for me.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15Z2-GZ6W. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!