800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1717-R2ZF
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Tascam DP24 Portastudio

Put down the mouse and get your hands on the Tascam DP24's 19 real faders. Record up to eight simultaneous channels, mix, master, and burn to CD.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"great unit!" submitted July 28, 2013

By Robert U in Scotch Planes, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: over 35 years of piano/keyboard plying.
Music Style: alternative, jazz, fusion.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's very well built (heavy/solid). Also very easy to use, almost no need to open manual. Sound quality exceptional, I wish this unit had more built in effects and mastering options. Some users gave low rating here because of their lack of knowledge about SD cards and how CD drive works which was ridiculous. Educate yourself first and don't blame this fantastic device. Anyway after years dealing and fighting with DAW software I have enough, I needed simple and reliable digital recorder what the DP-24 exactly is.
40 of 40 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Value" submitted August 5, 2013

By Loy G in Animas, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years
Music Style: Rock, Country and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Have had this unit for a week and very easy instructions to follow. Every thing I hoped for from ease of use to great sound quality. Absolutely no complaints so far. Was a prior Korg owner, Tascam as good or better sound quality at 1/3 the price.
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam DP24 Recorder" submitted November 19, 2013

By Peter R in Ocklawaha, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi pro acoustic guitar player for 40+ years
Music Style: Acoustic blues, folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The DP24 is not my first Tascam recording deck so I expected the quality of the product and the professional sounding end product of recordings to be very high and was not disappointed. Definitely recommend this for the DIY recording enthusiast.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam DP-24" submitted November 3, 2013

By John Isom in De Soto, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been a player, singer for 50+ years, performed all over the US & Europe. And a member of the Kansas music Hall of Fame.
Music Style: I am a guitar player singer, and for the right money I'll play anything..................
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: As a player, producer, and music store owner, I have been familiar with the Tascam name for decades. I already own a Tascam DP-01, and when I saw an opportunity to get a DP-24 at a really good blemished price I had to get it. The only blemish I found was a somewhat wrinkled, and torn manual. So far my new DP-24 is living up to all the great things associated with the name Tascam. Great stuff!!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Recorder" submitted April 8, 2014

By Sharon H in FORREST CITY, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played various instruments my whole life, husband plays pro 30 + years. Me, 30 + also, just not pro, hobby for me.
Music Style: Blues, Smooth Jazz, some Country, some Rock, some Christian, some Classical.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my husband, pro musician for 30 + years and he is in absolute heaven with it. He loves the ease of use and the fact he can lay down and mix each track then burn his own CD right then & there is amazing. Works wonderfully, no issues yet. And quality of CD's recorded so far sound as professional as any I've purchased in a store or online. Awesome, Awesome product, would highly recommend. & Zzounds has the best price of anyone and I have checked. Wonderful to do business with. Will be back for more later. Thanks so much. Haven't had to use Manufacturer support yet is only reason for 3 stars. If we ever have to deal with them I can change that rating later.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam DP-24 Portastudio Digital Recorder" submitted May 4, 2014

By Verayuth Puttarat in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: more than 30 years. I'm a song writer and love recording.
Music Style: Pop , soft rock , and new age. also easy listening.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is an awesome product ..!! I really love it so easy to setup and love this sound quality of it. I had Roland 8 track before and harder to run and understand it. well with this Tascam DP-24 I have prenty of track to go around and it is very great price from ZZ Sounds.com from now I'm married with this place and will never buy from no one else but here. !! Thanks.....ZZ Sounds you have made my day...and more in the future.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam DP-24" submitted June 26, 2014

By Paul S in Eustis, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar and bass for 35 years, mandolin for 15.
Music Style: Bluegrass, folk, Americana, jazz, blues, rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent product! I replaced a Boss with this item and am very happy with the purchase. Don't get me wrong--I loved the Boss. It simply was old and couldn't do what I needed any longer. The Tascam is even better.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I want to Love it but I just kind of like it!" submitted July 6, 2012

By Paige One in dallas, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 year Recording Tech
Music Style: Christian, Pop Rock, Electronic and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I like that they made a bigger better DP unit. The unit is not an upgrade from the 2488 neo or the 2488 series. This is a 24 track DP. The sound is a little more like computer recording. The unit sounds good. But the 2488 neo Sounds Better. Feature: The features are similar to the 2488 neo. I thought they would give you more stereo effect options. On the 2488 neo you could only use it once and on the DP 24 you can only use it once. This is 2012 I'm sure that Tascam could have expanded this unit in this area so you could use the stereo effects on four groups. The 2488 neo had an 80G hard drive. On this unit you can use removable SD cards up to 16G (50:02) pretty good 32 would have been better. Flanger and Phaser is missing on the single effects. If you have never used the 2488 neo you wont care and maybe you have a few outboard effects units with Flanger and Phaser on them. The screen is nice. Having the panning and EQ effects pods out of the menu is really good. When you think of how much stuff you can get IN THE BOX for under $200.00. I think Tascam should have put more into this unit. All the inputs are on the back of the unit with a HI Z for your guitar. It's also more like a 18 track recorder seeing that 12 of the tracks are stereo. Ease of Use: The unit is pretty easy to use. If you are not use to Tascam then you might be overwhelmed because this is technical recording device. Even though I have a few dislikes of the unit it is still an all in one 24 track (18 track) recording studio with features dudes only dreamed of in the 80's and 90's. Quality: The unit looks and feels like a tank. It is thinner than the 2488 neo but it feels like it could take a beating and keep on ticking. Value: I got it as a gift. My wife said it was 699 at the time of purchase. Now it is $900. I like hardware devices so it would be good for people who dislike computer software. Manufacturer Support: Not friendly, but very technically informed about the equipment. The Wow Factor: The unit looks great. It has lots of pods and flashing buttons. Overall: This is not an upgrade from the 2488 neo. This is a 24 track DP from the DP series with some of the feature from the 2488 series. If you have only used DP series recorders then this is a Fab unit. If you have used the 2488 series ie the neo then you might be disappointed after you get over looking at the fancy new LCD screen.
84 of 97 people (86.6%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam dp-24 multi-track recorder" submitted April 24, 2014

By Roger J in Gaithersburg , MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer/Beats
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's a must machine, every producer should have one.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It All Went Downhill From There!" submitted January 6, 2013

By Doug Hughes in Waco, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 yrs professional playing (retired): Elec Gtr, Bass Gtr, Native American Flute
Music Style: Country, as well as a mix of other types of music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was searching for a new Tascam 2488neo when I stumbled upon the Tascam DP24. To my dismay, I discovered that the Tascam 2488neo was no longer available, so I bought the DP24. At first, I was impressed by the DP24's colorful display and buttons, etc. It all went down hill from there! The first thing that turned me off was the flimsy CD inject/eject mechanism. It was a real drag when, with a great amount of difficulty, I tried to put a CD on it. At first I thought it was utterly impossible, but after 5 minutes of wiggling it around and cursing it... I finally succeeded. It never got easier with use. Everything was looking pretty good after that, until I experienced the SD Card. I'm not a genius, and I admit that I'm not familiar with SD Cards, so I'll cut the SD Card thing some slack. All I know is... after my 4th effort of laying down hours of tracks, only to lose my whole project to freeze-ups, I dumped this machine on the first person who wanted it. When I succeeded at recording a project I was happy with the result, but after losing several projects, I decided in was not worth it. I wish I had never heard of a Tascam DP24! What do we have to do to convince Tascam to bring back the Tascam 2488neo... or at least something similar? In my opinion, the Tascam DP24 is a failure. Now, I'm searching for a good used Tascam 2488neo. I will add that I have used Tascam support a couple of times, and I was pleased with their service.
26 of 36 people (72.22%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam DP24" submitted December 29, 2013

By Eugene R in Ocala, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a retired ex-rocker (Frontman for the Rocker Band, Rocker, and Elijah Run). I am also the author of Dreamscapers
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this product. I got to admit, I was on vacation when it arrived, and I have yet to put mileage on it. But I've checked its onboard processors and effects (to make sure the recorder worked properly, and it does), so I'm looking forward to tinkering with it. I have a very comfortable home recording studio setting, so this really is a recorder for capturing ideas. I've been using one of the original 8 track Zoom boxes, a dinosaur, for mixing guitars before putting them onto my big boy board. I final onto a Mackie 24/96. I have always been a big fan of Tascam, so I am quite pleased with the design of the DP24. I also want to give kudos to zzounds for its prompt and courteous service.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Waste of money" submitted October 18, 2012

By Shaun D in Utica, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Don't bother; unit seemed great at first but with only light use has frozen multiple times during recording. A few of those times the unit had to be restarted. Upon restarting, the entire song file is now corrupted and I've lost ALL my work with that particular song. I am VERY disappointed !!! Of course this happened just past the 90 day warranty period on labor (parts is 1 year). I'm considering boycotting Tascam for good !
30 of 47 people (63.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tascam DP24 Portastudio Digital Recorder" submitted December 3, 2012

By Greg B in Stanwood, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play Pro 30 + years
Music Style: rock and R& B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: works well and easy to operate
7 of 12 people (58.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"DP24" submitted October 23, 2013

By Michael T in Philadelphia , PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing keys for close to 30 yrs.
Music Style: Gospel, jazz, R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very sturdy, easy to use...
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"NOT GOOD" submitted May 31, 2013

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: THE DP-24 DOES NOT SOUND LIKE THE OLD 2488 NEO. TASCAM NEEDS TO MAKE A BETTER MODEL WITH MORE EFFECST PROCESSING.
5 of 14 people (35.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1717-R2ZF. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!