800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZQ-QJG3
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Tama IP52KC Imperialstar

With pro features like its precision bearing edges, Accu-Tune bass drum hoops, and 100% poplar shells, this Tama kit delivers tons of bang for your buck.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Tama ip52kc imperial star" submitted October 11, 2014

By Tim K in Sanford, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Drums
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got this set a few days ago. Awesome set for a beginner or intermediate player. Comes with everything you need, just got to take out the box and set up and your good to go. Tuning is a must, was going to change the heads to some Evans G2's but unfortunately my neighbor didn't take a liking to the noise so I'm forced to return it for an electronic kit. Hands down ZZounds is the best in the business, got my set on time, their customer service is awesome and were quick and easy with instructing on the return process. Definitely a life time customer here.
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Set for beginner or a professionals" submitted February 11, 2015

By Steve Sharkey in Fairmount, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Four years of percussion study and a former semi-pro.
Music Style: Classic Rock, Jazz.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought this set on 1/21/15. Received it 6 days later. Love it. Got the Midnight Blue. Everything comes with this set and they are all well made. Heads are great with a deep sound. Meinl cymbals a very good. Just set this up and play. Double braced hardware, Was worried the throne would not hold my weight but it does. Get this kit. Worth every penny.
14 of 16 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice" submitted December 25, 2014

By Bill B in Auburn, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought this set for my aspiring 15 yr old who also plays bass guitar. Didn't want to break the bank but didn't want junk either. I got exactly what I was looking for. Appears to be good quality and better than the set she can use in the band room at school. Zzounds had the set on my doorstep 2 days after I placed my order and I was thrilled at how it was packaged and while set up takes a little time esp if you take the time to tune it to your taste it is pretty easy. Only the bass and floor Tom need to be assembled. The mounted toms and snare are all assembled just need tuning. The hardest part is the hi hat stand but I just googled a you tube video and figured it out in about 5 mins. The knock on a lot of complete sets are the cymbals but the ones with this set are good enough for us. The only issue I had was the drum key used for assembly wasn't with the hardware pack with the lugs but in the box with the bass pedal. Minor detail
9 of 11 people (81.82%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pretty happy" submitted April 29, 2016

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm a beginning drummer, but a lifelong musician (guitar/vocals @ 25 years).The hardware is nice and sturdy, easy to adjust. I played this kit stock for several weeks, but after fitting it with new batter heads I couldn't believe HOW GOOD IT SOUNDS! The cymbals' sound is pretty bad too, but they'll do for a beginner like me. Decent kit for the price IMO, wondering though if I should have invested in a shell kit since here you're paying for cymbals that you'll replace anyways because you don't want them!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Service" submitted March 3, 2015

By William Sedillo in Las Vegas, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Music scholar in precussion, and Bass Guitar player Back round vocalist
Music Style: Funk, Blues, Latino, Salsa, Country,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered a Tama IP52KC Drum Set on a Monday because of a last minute opportunity to play drums for a gig on the following Saturday. I had been wanting to order a kit for my home studio any ways. I explained to the sales representative my situation and asked if I would be able to receive it as soon as Friday. I am so pleased to say that I received it on Thursday. Amazing! with no extra freight charges. The kit was so easy to set up and I was ready to go. Being a bass guitar player with a music scholarship in playing drums and needing a drum kit at almost last minute, zZounds made my situation pretty much worry free. I recommend zZounds to all my fellow musicians and some. Great Service
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"my purchase" submitted July 20, 2015

By George Thomas in Katy, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am senior citizen now but I use to play in a rock band in India when I was 20 years ols
Music Style: rock n roll Jazz ,cabaret , was employed in a 5 star hotel in 1970 as a cabaret drummer in 9 piece band.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very impressed with TAMA company, who was very particular in making sure every part was in the package, it even had instructions. much better than my Gretch experience
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tama IP52KC Imperialstar Accel Driver" submitted June 26, 2015

By Andrew M in South Bend, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 39 years a Guitar Player. 20 years pro, Less gigging now, but play at least 50 gigs a year.
Music Style: Rock n Roll, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Acoustic, Bluegrass, Metal, Classical, Doo-Wop.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just Awesome! Great kit! Fast Shipping! What a great company this is! They really understand the importance of a Musicians dilemma of needs and the ease of payments without any hassles! Buy! Buy! Buy!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very satisfying! " submitted June 1, 2015

By Matthew W. Thomas in Tifton, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing piano for around 10 years, drums for the last 3 years, and guitar for 1 year. I play at church and in a band.
Music Style: Christian, Rock, Country, Hip-hop, Punk Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had been looking for a drum set for around a year. I heard that Tama was a really good brand and it is very good. It's got a little bit of assembling that will need to be done but after its done and you tune the drum heads it sounds awesome. Their speed also very good, I paid for the three to five day shipping and got it in one day. So, needless to say I'm very satisfied with zZounds. I will definitely continue to use zZounds.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Solid" submitted November 22, 2015

By Don M in Round Lake Beach, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a drummer. I learned at a young age but recently been playing for about 10 years. I
Music Style: I play classic metal, funk and jamstyle music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this for a gig kit. Great kit right out of the box. Stock heads are a bit to "ringy" for me however I am using them on the snare and toms after extensive tuning. I did change the kick head. Resonant heads are fine. Hardware is solid. Kick pedal was a bit fast out of the box, but only a minor adjustment needed. The Meinl cymbals are perfect for this kit.Overall a great kit. Easy set up, easy tuning. Will for sure suit my needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZQ-QJG3. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!