800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1757-ZCPN
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Takamine EF314SC Acoustic

With a cedar top and detailed appointments, this ever-popular Takamine acoustic-electric combines classic dreadnought tone and style with modern electronics.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"cant put it down!!! AMAZING action on this guitar!" submitted August 30, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Acoustic/classical guitar
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the sound is absolutely perfect.... the built in tuner gets the strings in perfect harmony with one another, better than any other tuner i have ever used! And not to mention the action on this guitar is insane! it feels like an electric! you can hammer and pull off to your hearts content without even trying. you cant go wrong with this guitar.... best acoustic i have ever heard/owned. D'darrio strings sound best on this guitar.... oh and dont forget about the amazing look/shine this guitar has with the glossy black/white enamel border/pearl type enlays. Feature: the built in mic is amazing... plug it into an accoustic amp and you sound like a god! hehe the built in tuner is verrrrrry precise aswell. couldnt ask for more Quality: one minor buzz on D string, 3rd fret... but easily avoided by putting a little more pressure. other than that, quality is amazingly high. nothing but the best from takamine... all their guitars are HAND built. Value: easily stands up to a Martin D28.... i actually like the sound more! DEFFINATLEY worth the price.... could charge $500 more and still sell the guitar. trust me, this guitar is it. Manufacturer Support: easy to get in touch with... very polite. The Wow Factor: very nice classic dred style.... white border with 3 very tiny black stripes following the border. very sharp looking guitar. Overall: love it. cant say anything more aobut it. this is the guitar to have if you cant afford to drop $4K on a martin..... absolutely amazing guitar.
23 of 23 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Takamine EF341SC, The Greatest Guitar Money Can Buy! Period!!!!" submitted December 7, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Teacher
Music Style: Country, Rock, Blues, Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is definetly the best sounding acoustic/electric guitar in todays market. I have played well over 30 different guitars, and not one can compare or even come anywhere close to the EF341SC. The price, A STEAL!!! The sound, AMAZING!!!! Feature: Well what can I say, everything from the Tuning knobs to the bridge, the body, the finish, everything, perfect perfect perfect!!! Ease of Use: Great neck, easy playability. Great for instrumental fingerpicking, as well as up beat flatpicking. ITS AWESOME!! Quality: This is the finest made guitar you can buy, in the world! Value: Great price for an amazing guitar!! Manufacturer Support: Never had to call them, so how I say that is been anything less than perfect! The Wow Factor: This is a beautiful guitar, the crem da la crem of all guitars! Overall: I will have this guitar as my number one forever!
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great guitar and a great value. You will not be sorry." submitted September 26, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Country, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I've played a great number of guitars and it took me two months to decide between a martin, taylor, guild, breedlove and the takamine. Needless to say i rolled with the tak. I actually bought a factory blemish from zzounds.com for a hughe savings and I looked it over inch by inch. I finally had to take it to my guitar guy for him to look at. He did find the blemish which 99.9% of the guitar players in the would never even find. Feature: the D'Addario strings that came with it didn't sound brilliant for very long when i got it. No telling how long they have been on the guitar before it shipped. The case that came with it is just great looking. Ease of Use: This guitar plays extremely well out of the box, fingers great and doesn't have a buzz anywhere on the fret board. Quality: I bought the blemished stock at a real hughe discount and what an incredible deal. If my guitar guy wouldn't have pointed out the blemish I would have never found it myself and I've been playing and around guitars for 35 years. Value: this guitar is a great deal and you will not be sorry. Manufacturer Support: Have never had to call with any issues!!! which is a good thing. The Wow Factor: this is one beautiful guitar. I've always had a gloss or satin finished wood and when i saw this guitar on tv i just said wow! Overall: I've have this guitar the rest of my natural life.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This Black Box Rocks" submitted May 29, 2011

By a customer from windstream.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active local musician, former road warrior
Music Style: Alt Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This box has a great warm, but stinging sound. Cuts through vocals and is a presence in the PA. We do a few unplugged shows to compliment our full band show and I got, "Man, that acoustic sounds good!", the first time out with it. It's a workhorse. Feature: I don't know if they're "the best" or not, but they work and do what they're supposed to do. No problems. Ease of Use: After a trip to the guitarman to level the frets, it plays effortlessly. It would have probably been fine without, but, I'm a stickler for The Right setup. The frets were just a little micro off level and there was a slight buzz on one or two positions. Most probably wouldn't notice or care, but I did. That's why you need a good guitarman in your corner. To make good intruments better. Quality: Not sure if it's the best or not, but it's pretty much an industry standard so that's cool with me. So far, it's been absolutely great. Value: It's much better than paying $2000+ for something that is really not that much better, playing wise. The Taylors and Gibsons may be dressed up more, but it's hard to justify another grand or more for ornate MOP inlays and fancy binding. Manufacturer Support: Don't know... haven't needed it. The Wow Factor: The black box is a beauty. Would like to see it in an antique burst like it's older, more expensive brother and it's cheaper siblings. Then it would be sexy. Kinda plain jane now, but in a cool black fashion. C'mon Taka... give us an option on the finish. Overall: If it were to suddenly get snatched up by aliens, I'd get another one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BEAUTY! PLEASE DONT STEP ON IT" submitted June 26, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: deepest sound i have ever heard with a guitar that i own Feature: built in tuner is the lazy man's friend Quality: beautiful The Wow Factor: this thing is the sexiest guitar ever keep it in good condition with the black shine and dont step on it *cries* Overall: this is an excellent guitar, i love playing it every day, it has gotten me back into music and the guitar, i stepped on it, and needded it to be structurally fixed, and sounds better than it ever did
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar for the price." submitted September 27, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Folk, Fingerstyle
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Action out of the box is great. As some others have stated, it's strong point is an acoustic electric. Great sound and action. Some minor cosmetic issues that I have seen on more expensive guitars as well. I would recommend the guitar as a great 1st or 2nd guitar. Ease of Use: Setup was great out of the case Quality: I found some very light scratches that will polish out. To be expected on a black guitar. Much easier to see a blemish or anything on black finishes. Value: Yes, It is worth the price. Manufacturer Support: Quick to reply to email question on the product
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ebony beauty that sounds and plays as good as it looks!" submitted July 7, 2005

By a customer from carolina.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Ballads, Christian, Blues, Country,Pop, Classical
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: This guitar has a resonance that you just have to hear to believe! I have heard guitars which cost thousands more, and if I had the money to spend for a more expensive guitar I would still buy the Takamine. It works equally well with finger picking or playing cords. Feature: I love the built-in tuner this guitar has. Who wants to have to plug in or try to hold a tuner in one hand and strum and adjust with the other?????????????????? The on board electronics package this guitar has sounds great through an acoustic amp, and the guitar sounds great without amplification as well. Quality: The fit,finish,and quality control at Takamine is second to none. You can spend more money, but you simply can't buy a better guitar. Value: Dollar for dollar, this is the best buy on the market. Manufacturer Support: No issues had to be reported. The Wow Factor: The rich black color of this guitar along with the contrasting trim is eye candy of the sweetest kind. A really beautiful instrument! Overall: Why would I want to search for another guitar, when I already have the best???????????????????????????
9 of 11 people (81.82%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Black Beauty!" submitted September 11, 2006

By a customer from atmc.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Musical Background: Active Musician in a band. 40 plus years.
Music Style: Bluegrass/Gospel and Country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: The sound and "stage presence" of this black beauty are beyond compare in this price range. I play it in a B/G band and with the smooth neck that is lightning fast and the warm, smooth sound it is a great guitar. Feature: The built-in tuner is accurate and a great addition to this guitar especially in this price range. Ease of Use: Sound is great no matter what style I play. Fast strumming, flatpicking, or even fingerpicking the sound stays true and resonate. A great guitar for the beginner or active musician. Quality: The one thing about this guitar that sets it apart from others, besides the warm sound, is the awesome "stage presence" and the shiny black finish. You will need a soft cloth to keep it clean but the shine makes it worth it all. Value: This guitar is a steal in this price range. No other guitar comes close to the sound of this Takamine unless you plan to spend another grand. Manufacturer Support: No problems at all and don't anticipate any repairs. The Wow Factor: This Takamine is all about "stage presence" and looks to die for! It is very light and hangs just right for any type of playing. Overall: I wanted a Gibson ( hope to buy one someday to make my collection complete), but this Takamine fit the bill for me with it's stunning looks, thin neck, a modest price. Thought I would give it a try and I am glad I did, it is my "go to" guitar for stage use. When it is plugged into an amp the sound is distinct and cuts through the mix of any type of band.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"outstanding Takamine" submitted December 8, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: BLUES
Back to Product Information
Sound: It is without the best sounding guitar I have ever played.And the feel of the neck is ecceptional it is a perfact fit and I love the 4 band EQ with the exciter Mike Johnson Kentucky
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Home player in Acoustic Heaven." submitted December 3, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, some club shows years ago
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Alternative Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is why I bought this guitar. I sat in the my local music store and picked and strummed absolultely everything on the wall. There were some very nice sounding Martins but, surprisingly, the Fenders were doing nothing for me. This guitar has the fullest sound. Rich, airy bottom end and very crisp, clear highs. I'm speaking strictly acoustic here, never got around to pluggin it in as this was secondary for me. Price was not an issue except that I was not about to drop 3 grand on an acoustic. I paid just under a thou for it but bottom line: it sounded much fuller than anything else in the store. Feature: The only feature on this would be the electric side of it and associated controls. They are intuitive enough though the "exciter" circuit may not be. just fiddle with it a tad and you'll see it's like pushing up the preamp on your amplifier. It ups the sensitivity of the pickup and I found it very useful and a nice control to have. I think this guitar should have a strap button on the neck heel so I put one there. Other folks like to tie their strap off at the neck. Not me. Quality: Absolutely no issues. Nothing loose or installed poorly. Value: I feel like I'd have preferred to spend a bit less but who wouldn't? I'm not real smart on what's required to build a quality acoustic but if its anywhere near $750, plus the typical $200 for an integrated on-board transducer pickup system then I guess I got my money's worth. Manufacturer Support: No dealings needed. The Wow Factor: If there was another guitar in the shop that was, maybe, a tad better sounding or playing then I'd have a tough choice to make because I really liked that this guitar was black. There is, to me, a huge coolness to black acoustics. Or maybe it is that natural acoustics are so bland. Either way, this guitar draws my eye which, in turn, draws my hand and the sound quality rewards me for picking it up. Overall: I've been asked this before. My favorite guitar company, whose products I collect, also makes acoustic-electrics but I know nothing about them and never will. When you really have what you want/need, you just don't look anymore. I don't gig with it so, short of a flood or tornado taking it out, I'll be buried with this guitar in my coffin.
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1757-ZCPN. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!