800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1571-KHT8
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Squier Tele Custom II

The Squier Vintage Modified Tele Custom II is a well-made tribute. With the '72 pickguard and Duncan P-90s, the Vintage Modified Tele Custom rocks.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great guitar, Don't let the Squier name scare you" submitted December 29, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Blues and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Got the Custom II for Christmas and love the sound of the P 90s. Bright on the bright pup and clean and sweet sounding on the neck pup. Very versitle in the middle with the two tone and volume controls. Feature: Two tone and volume controls, 3-way switch. Quality tuners and the 500k pots and swtich seems very good for the price. The love the look and the poly finish looks awesome. The pick guard is quality made 3 ply and looks good in my book. Ease of Use: Simple as any 2 pups guitar Quality: As I've said great quality for a $250 guitar..the only negative is the finsh on the neck is a little different than I expected, but not bad. The frets are great and neck is perfectly straight. The action was perfect from the box just some slight intonation adjustment needed. Value: This guitar should be at least $500. Manufacturer Support: Have needed to...to me that says volumes to the quality of the product. The Wow Factor: I read alot of reviews because I want a LP style guitar to go with my HWY 1 Tele..but decided on this with the 2 P 90 pups and don't regret it at all. This guiatr is even louder and screams! Overall: This guitar is high quality for the price, don't let the Squier name scare you off.
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This ain't your average Tele, this Lil guitar screams Hot Rod. from the '72 blond finish to the Duncan P-90's it's Hot. The only" submitted April 24, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Southern Rock, Texas Blues and Modern Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: great tone, a little to high pitched at the bridge pup but thats why it was included with tone knob's Feature: was able to play right out of the box. a few tweaks later and it was perfect, no accessories just owners guide to set up and Allen wrench. Ease of Use: I own 3 Les Paul's, 1 hot rod standard & 2 Custom's but this Lil guitar is amazing I picked it up to use for some country songs that my band performs but it's becoming my favorite to play. it so comfortable and user friendly I don't want to put it down, it is the best value I've found and the P-90's are icing on the cake, you can get that twang for chicken pickin' or tone them down for a Texas blues sound Quality: finish was off the chain absolutely gorgeous but one of the first things I suggest is go over it carefully and tighten everything. one of the neck bolts was stripped at factory and three of the pick guard screws also stripped but they were easy fixes. Value: who cares what the headstock Say's, I stopped worrying about that a long time ago. it all about the music and if you can find a better value out there then buy it cause this is the best bang 4 the buck I have found in a long time. Manufacturer Support: haven't dealt with them on this particular instrument but have in past and they are top notch people and they will stand behind their product, the main thing to remember is they deal with different people everyday so treat them as you wish to be treated and you will not find better customer service. The Wow Factor: trust me you'll want it too. In the area I live in everyone uses "tele's" but I haven't found anyone with one like mine, gets me out of the box and draws a lot of attention to it's self...I'm proud of that. Overall: I don't plan on selling it, I have already been approached by other musicians that's played it making some of the most ridiculous offers to buy it or trade me, my only hope is that if it was ever stolen or damaged beyond repair that they continue to make them so I could replace it.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A kick butt guitar at a kick butt price!" submitted October 5, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist 42yrs., Bassist, Recording Engineer.
Music Style: Fusion, jazz, blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: I am impressed with the abilities of this guitar because it produces many sounds from mellow and smooth, clean and bright,loud and vicious! So far I've only been playing it through my 15 watt fender amp and eventually it will meet my Marshall JCM900-4100 Dual Reverb amp! Feature: Did not get any accessories with the guitar and that's no big deal after all, the guitar is what I wanted. I like the individual volume and tone controls for each of the P-90's and the toggle switching for the pickups are in a good location as well. Fit and finish of the neck and body are outstanding! Ease of Use: It's very easy to quickly change or modify the sound of this guitar...no problem! Quality: Fit, finish, paint, and all other parts either meet or exceeds the standards of craftsmanship found on other guitars that cost way more money than this one! Value: The price of this product is competitive with other retailers. Manufacturer Support: No problems to discuss with ZZ Sounds about this guitar. The Wow Factor: The way this guitar looks is one of the main things that attracted me to it! The blond color of this guitar sets everything off. Overall: If this guitar were lost or stolen, I would definitely buy another one especially if it is still available in blond paint!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"p-90's are go!" submitted August 14, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: great p90's sound, there is a hum though. Feature: pretty ok features. two volume and two treble knobs. work fine, though i don't use them much. the pickguard however is a bit dodgy and bulgy. Ease of Use: after setting it up myself it really works well. it takes some time since the wood seems to be working for a while after you buy it, but it settles down and becomes much more stable. Quality: pickguard is dodgy. the turn-knobs feel cheap. the paint a bit thin and not to even. everything else is great and, well, these are mostly cosmetic problems. Value: fantastic value for money!!! i usually play a gibson les paul vintage guitar but since it's so old i prefer not to use it on stage. this was bought as a temp until something better came up, but i am definitely not swapping the tele custom 2 in anymore. in fact the les paul is resting in the closet and has been since my new affair came in the door ;-) Manufacturer Support: no idea. i usually don't use support since i like to fix the problems myself. The Wow Factor: it looks awesome! and is original for squier, fender has never made such a model (to my knowledge, anyway)AND I DIG THE P-90'S!!!!!!!!! Overall: great sound and playability - some cheap solutions on the not so important stuff. i don't give a damn - it's one of the best guitars i ever played in my life!
23 of 24 people (95.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"An underrated gem !!" submitted July 22, 2009

By a customer from cescocarpena.it
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro drummer , Teacher and Composer
Music Style: Jazz , Blues , Rock , Funk , Soundtracks
Back to Product Information
Sound: Creamy and Screaming too..even with a small toy like a Roland Micro Cube !!..I also own a Laney 15w Class A Tubes Amp..sound so nice..I will probably buy a Fender De Luxe 40w in the near future. Feature: no accessories..but who need it ? Ease of Use: Very easy to play..at first the neck was a bit thicker that I used to play..but now is ok..and very smooth..satin at the back..my hand goes very nice. Quality: Nothing to complain !!..for the pice and this guitar is well built anyway. Value: top Manufacturer Support: Not nedded yet. The Wow Factor: I will replace it with the same one if lost it !! Overall: I will eventually buy a Tele with " Tele " pick-ups ( it means no P90s )but I will keep this one forever.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super Bang for the Buck!" submitted April 7, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist for 40 years in working, recording, touring bands
Music Style: Jazz, rock, country, pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It sounds great, which is amazing for this price. Warmer and woodier than a regular Tele, even an American or Mexican made. To me, it's more versatile--a great blues, rock and even jazz solidbody. Great bang for the buck. Overall it compares to much more expensive guitars, unless you are a snob. Just take off the Squire label if it bothers you. Feature: Has controls, a tone and volume, for each pickup. In the middle switch position, you can mix tone and volume for many different tones, like a Les Paul. Ease of Use: Easy to get good tones, which to me is more important than "playability". However, it plays fine--take it out of the box and it's ready. I use Ernie Ball Hybrid strings, 9 to 46 and it really sings. Most my other guitars, I use 10's but this set seems to really fit. Quality: Mine was made in Indonesia, and it seems solid as a rock. Pickguard isn't well detailed, but overall still well done. Tuners and bridge are adequate. Value: A bargain. One of the best bang for the buck guitars I've seen. Manufacturer Support: Haven't dealt with them in a few years, but they were helpful then. Overall: It seems tough enough. I'm a weekend warrior for more than 35 years. If you get over reverse snob appeal, it is a workhorse guitar. Maybe down the road the tuners and bridge pieces might be replaced, but they are adequate now.
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dollar for dollar i don't think you'll find a better guitar" submitted March 10, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock-rock/blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: get hose high end tweaks you'd expect from a tele, and those chunky mids you'd get from a les paul. i just purchased this a few weeks ago (but I once owned a fender tele custom), this guitar gives me that robin trower thing and with the flip of a switch that old 70's kiss thing that was a bit hard to find with other instrunents i have played, both live and in the studio. Ease of Use: whether standing or sitting, a very comfortable instrument.slightly heavier than my old strat, but a little less weighty than a paul. this one will impress you and ,not leave you feeling as though there is nothing there, and after a set or two won't break your back. Value: very affordable Manufacturer Support: as with any musical instrument manufacturer. sometimes you can reach em fast sometimes not,but i have never had a out of the norm experience with fender/squier The Wow Factor: love the vintage blond finish Overall: i'm more than likely going to buy another in the near future
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Awesome" submitted September 30, 2009

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The P-90's are awesome quality. Plays even better than most Fender's I've played, and stays in tune pretty well. Feature: The P-90 Pickups again. I personally don't like the look of the dials too much, but everyone else seems to love 'em. Ease of Use: It's as playable as a guitar can be. Quality: Very well made. Just what I would expect from Fender. The only thing is that it's a bit heavier than most guitars. Value: The best value for this price. Probably the best value for a few hundred over it's listed price. The Wow Factor: It looks better than normal telecasters. It's yellow and black. I think the sex appeal is obvious. Overall: This guitar will definitely last for at least a decade.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You want this guitar, you just don't know it, yet." submitted May 21, 2008

By a customer from juno.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Lifelong Hobbyist
Music Style: Classic Rock primarily.
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: My experience with p90's was with a early 60's Gibson SG special. I have regretted not keeping it and trading it in the late 60's. The last 10 yrs I settled for a '64 SG jr. I have replaced the bridge pickup of my mid 70's SG with a p90 in a humbucker housing. Everything I was trying to get was accomplished with this entry level Squier. I can make it sound like my original jr. by simply rolling off the brightness with the tone control. If you prefer a guitar which can achieve the best of a Gibson and Fender, its all packaged very nicely right here. The pickups are Seymour Duncan designed according to the labeling on the pickup cover. As for their manufacturer??? Feature: I really like the tele and strat volume set up. One master volume is elegant and simple, the way I prefer. The volume and tone controls are classic Gibson style as is the selector switch. This really gives the user infinite combinations, however I'm not sure that I would prefer it over the standard tele system. I know it may seem that I am nitpicking, but thats about all one can do in reviewing this item. Ease of Use: I have a Tele ProTone that has a killer action to the neck. Unfortunately the neck on the Squier Custom is a little beefier(hinting at the type of action on the Clapton Strat). Maybe that is the reason that the sustain is very good. The oil finish on the neck makes the action slicker than the ones with a gloss finish and I like that very much. The less than ten rating is primary caused by the neck being a litte beefy. Quality: I rate the quality of this Guitar in respect to the price. Nothing fancy about the finishing, but no defects of any kind present on mine. If feels very solid and I suspect it can take some pretty rough giging. The pots and switches feel a little light weight, but they are very quiet and effective. Such Items are rather simple to replace if needed. Value: Incredible value. Until this guitar, I have never found a new guitar that I would consider to be worth retail. Manufacturer Support: Unless you take this guitar swimming with you or gig in hurricanes, I can't see anyone ever needing service, maybe repairs from abuse. I have only delt with Rickenbacker involving repairs, no other Guitar Manufacturer. A word of praise to the staff at zzsounds. My guitar was delivered across the country so fast that I felt like I bought at local establishment. I don't know how they do it. Maybe I ordered it on a slow day. The Wow Factor: It is a new look for a classic guitar, a very effective makeover.Every guitar player has a need for this guitar, most of you just don't know it. Its definitely a keeper. Overall: I purchased this guitar without ever having one in my hands, I just don't buy items like that. I don't know if I will do that again, but I am certainly pleased that I did this time.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Another ONE OF A KIND! AWESOME!" submitted September 17, 2011

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Blues and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Well I own so many guitars that I am running out of room for them in my home. But I needed a guitar with the P-90 sound from the good old time ROCK AND ROLL sound which I found with this cheap little Squier! OMG I now own five Squiers and they all play so well I want another! This one has a very FLUENT MUSICALLY DIVERSE sound to it. I like the dynamics of the guitar and it is very light which is great for gigging! Also has great sustain and all of the strings are equal in sound volume. It just sings and once you get into a groove it inspires you to keep playing! I now know why so many players love using the p-90 sounds! In my opinion this is a very versatile axe although metal heads should not apply. The tone pots are cheap feeling but control knobs are vintage looking and they work well. The controls are smooth and equal for all knobs so no different feel to any of them which is nice. The tone has a great range for both pickups although the highs can be piercing if dimed using the bridge. Having two volume and tone controls really helps to balance the sounds and get a great middle setting! Feature: Just a tele with a Gibson style control system and p-90's and it is a combination made for MUSIC!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Order It Now!" submitted February 24, 2010

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock,Country,Blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: this is the best squier guitar made. it sounds great the p90s kicks. you can play rock,blues,hard rock,jazz,about any thing. i would not try to play metal with it. i dont think it would be very good. but i dont kown i dont play metal.all i kown that it is one great guitar for the price. you can not to any better. stop reading about it and order it now! Feature: it has nice hardware. the tuners are great. it stays in tune even when you play it hard. the neck is fast and no sharp frets. Ease of Use: tune it and play it. Quality: the best squier made! i have the squier vintage modified and this guitar will kock it out of the water. and this one is a $100-00 cheaper. it is made so good. i just dont kown how you can get a fine guitar like this for the price of this one. Value: it is the best squier Manufacturer Support: i would say it is good. hope i dont ever have to used it. The Wow Factor: i dont kown about sex appeal but this is one FINE GUITAR! Overall: i will always have this guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Special delivery;tone!" submitted September 11, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar sounds great for blues and rock. I'm running straight into a Peavey Classic 30, no pedals. My 80's Squire Strat does not get good tone with out any effects. Easy to get a gritty tone on bridge pick up or blended, love the neck pick up for a high solo. Some of my friends have tried it out with different ods and distortions and it just gets better. Feature: No accessories. I bought this guitar for the P-90's. Agathis body, not terribly heavey. Like the unfinished neck, chunky and smooth. I have no immediate plans to change any parts. Ease of Use: Very playable right out of the box. Action on mine is pretty good. Quality: I would not hesitate to play out with it. Output jack came a little loose. It has a blem on the pickguard,(I bought a blem), everything else looks and feels good Value: Excellent value. Great for beginner or experienced player. The Wow Factor: I love the vintage look. The neck feels good to me. I have guitars with single coil and humbucker pick ups, I reaally like the added sonic dimension the p-90's give. Overall: I'm hanging on to this guitar. Sounds great, yet wouldn't break the bank to replace it. I love the tone, the feel and the looks.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't Be Fooled, It's a Great Guitar!" submitted January 13, 2013

By Allen M in Webb City, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A home "rockstar" for about 3 years
Music Style: Country, Classic Rock, 80's and 90's Rock, and a small portion of metal, whatever I feel like really.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds great. Mine makes almost no noise when not being played, but makes a glorious racket when it's being worked over. The middle position gives you a nice blending between the pickups to really dial in a special tone. I mostly use the bridge pickup, but every now and then I have to hear the other 2 positions. Feature: The whole thing is useful. Ease of Use: It took a minor learning curve, my other Tele's have ashtray bridges, and palm muting took some getting used to since the saddle screws are kind of long for playing low action. Quality: Product is made pretty well. Needs some shorter saddle screws if you play low action. Only thing I plan doing is installing an electrosocket and new strings as needed. Value: This guitar is worth the price. If you can adjust your amp to suit the pickups, they work great, treat them like humbuckers. One piece maple neck, the fret ends are good, neck is straight as can be and I've got the strings waaay down and they don't buzz.. If it was stolen, I'd probably buy another, but I'd wait till I found it cheap, traded my old Telecoustic for it. It is worth the retail price though. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: It's a cool vintage looking guitar. If you like P90's or want to try them out but hate Gibson's and Epiphone's, this is your cheap P90 guitar. Overall: This thing is awesome start out riffing some classic rock or heavier rock, tweak some knobs on you amp and/or change pedals, and blast out some twangy country licks.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"How the Squier telecaster quality looks to me" submitted May 9, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I would characterize the Duncan-Designed pickups as excellent especially for the price. However the sound has a little different quality than other P-90s I have heard. Feature: I think the quality of the input jack and selector switch could be improved Ease of Use: quite compatible with other instruments and effects Quality: Product overall is made well. When I recieved my instrument the frets had not been crowned or polished. They were sharp on the edges and had to be filed before the guitar could be played. The tuners and bridge are not interchangeable with American made telecasters. I wanted to install locking tuners but had to replace the neck because standard tuners would not fit.--I believe it would provide more options to the players if the parts were all standardized. Value: yes, but could be improved Manufacturer Support: I have not contacted support. The Wow Factor: the asthetics of the instrument are somewhat appealing. Overall: I will keep the instrument as long as it contimues to perform well.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent Guitar For the Price." submitted December 13, 2012

By anthony t in kingston, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 17 years of playing, I gig regularly.
Music Style: Rock and Roll , Blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I already own a Fender Telecaster MIM and I wanted one of these for about a year now, I have played and owned many top notch guitars and I must say that when I plugged this into my deluxe reverb I was shocked at the tone. It was full rich and had some serious snap. It is super spanky and could be either bright or dark and mellow with just adjustments with the tone knobs. I like all the tones I get out of all of the positions on the pickup selector. It is my main guitar now, I just love the pickups, I did have a bone nut installed and a professional setup done with some fret work, but out of the box it sounded great also, so if your a beginner or have been playing for years this is a great grab for the price. P90s in a Tele is a dream come true. Its not as bright as a regular Tele. I mean it still gets bright but its much thicker sounding than the regular Tele style pickups. Get one and get it now!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"REALLY GOOD FOR THE PRICE." submitted January 17, 2011

By a customer from BELLSOUTH.NET
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: GOSPEL COUNTRY
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: GREAT SOUND Feature: PICK UPS AND CONTROLS SEEM TO BE GOOD QUALITY NOT NOISEY. Ease of Use: VERY NICE SET UP A LITTLE ROUGH ON THE EDGES BUT I EXPECTED WORSE FOR THE PRICE.STRINGS AND ACTION VERY GOOD. Quality: VERY NICE FINISH ,STAYS IN TUNE Value: FOR THE PRICE IT SEEMS BETTER THAN ALOT OF GUITARS MORE EXPENSIVE Manufacturer Support: IM SURE THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF ANY PROBLEM The Wow Factor: NICE LOOKS VERY COOL. Overall: THIS GUITAR WOULD BE PERFECT IF THE NECK EDGES WERE A LITTLE MORE POLISHED WHERE THE FRETS END.BUT YOU CAN PROBALY GET THAT DONE CHEAP.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Squier Tele Custom II Customer Review submitted November 10, 2011

By a customer from mailcan.com
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a sweet guitar. Invitingly easy to play. The sound is great. It is one of the best purchases I have made in awhile. Also, these guys a zZounds are simply fantastic. They took at least 10 hours on the phone with me prior to my purchase. By far the best customer service people I have EVER dealt with. They have my business for life.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bare bones blues Rocker !" submitted June 27, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician (6 years experience)
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Rock, Most any style that just feels right.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I like the sound of the P-90's. Quality is excellent for such an inexpensive guitar. I've had people at several guitar stores comment about wanting one and what a deal they are. Works well with most any style. Plays nicely and only needed minor filing of fret edges. Guitar is very responsive to my playing, whether picked or strummed hard. Would have liked at least a gig bag with it but for $250, I can't complain Feature: No accessories. Basic tone knobs for each pick up and three way selector switch. May upgrade the pickups some day I( or ad a bigsby) but don't really see a need to for now.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Rocking little guitar!" submitted March 10, 2014

By Will B in Lubbock, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 40 years. Bass, guitar, harmonica.
Music Style: Blues, rock, old-style C&W
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I know how they do this for this price and it is the wood the body is made of. It feels like balsa wood. Extremely light. neck to joint fit required a shim on one side. If you buy one tighten all screws and bolts immediately. Including the neck screws! The maple neck is possible because it is the ugliest piece they had that day at the factory. The frets were not trimmed on the ends and required filing on all. All that said - BUY THIS! The pickups rock and they use real Alpha brand pots and Chiclet caps. The tuning machines are not bad at all. For under $300.00!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"72 squier telecaster with p90,s" submitted September 20, 2012

By fred jella in amarillo, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ive ben playing professionally over 45 years
Music Style: rock , blues , country ,and my own recorded material
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: recently ordered this guitar from zZounds......required a setup to suit my standards.....i do all my own work.....i do this on every guitar. once this was completed i enjoying the guitar. plays real easy and those p90s sound great on all styles of music.....great buy
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Stop looking and buy this one!!!" submitted July 18, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Christian Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Whether you want a Tele, Strat, or Les Paul sound, you can get it with this guitar!! The pickups don't hum either! My Strat & semi hollow body...can equal but not beat the sound quality of this instrument. Feature: My only complaint is that it didn't come with an instrument cable like my other guitars did, but that's okay. Ease of Use: By far the easiest guitar to play. It has the typical Tele neck.....ideal if you have smaller hands. Quality: I don't know how there could be any improvement to this instrument! It's solid, sturdy, and the controls feel like they are made very well Value: This guitar (as much as I hate to say it) really should sell for much more. It's worth it. Manufacturer Support: The only reason I'm rating this in the middle is because I've never needed support. Don't take it as a poor rating. The Wow Factor: Every musician that I've showed this guitar to, now wants one. Overall: As with all of my instruments, if I don't like it, I get rid of it. I will be keeping this one for a VERY long time. Enough said.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Glad I bought It." submitted February 15, 2012

By Don T in Santee, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Ten years off and on.
Music Style: Classic rock, blues.
Back to Product Information
Overall: This guitar is a good value. The neck is smooth, no fretting problems, good p90 sound and cool vintage looks. It has a great resonate tone unplugged. You may want to remove the strings, tighten the tuning post nuts, remove the pickguard and knobs to remove all the plastic pickguard covering, tighten the bridge screws. Mine came with a broken neck to body screw. They didn't pilot hole it deep enough and it broke on assembly. I took the neck off, sanded any burrs, removed the broken screw and put a new one in. I didn't want to ship it back or call Fender for a screw. I put .10's on and adjusted the truss rod. The edges of the frets have a slight burr but I'll file it later or play as is. I'm very happy with they guitar. It's better than my Xaviers and just as enjoyable as my Fender Americans.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"need a great guitar on a budget? This is the one for you!" submitted July 29, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: garage, indie rock, punk, new wave, pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound of this guitar is really quite impressive. The Duncan Designed pick ups are awesome! The range of tones you can get from them along with the tweaking the tone knobs pretty much blew me away. Feature: there weren't any accessories included, but for the price of the guitar i wouldn't really expect any to come with. Ease of Use: As i said before it's very easy to get great tones, all you gotta do is plug it in and play. At first i was thinking i might need to change the strings on it cos it comes with thinner strings than i like using and out of the box they sounded a little tinny and acoustically not really pleasant, but as soon as i plugged the guitar into my Fender Tweed Hot Rod Deluxe the guitar just came alive! Quality: This guitar seemed pretty well built,however i've only owned it for one day so we'll see how it holds up. I've had other other squier guitars in the past and have never been disappointed yet. The neck and frets were smooth. I didn't seen any inconsistencies in the paint job, the pick guard is super cool, and i really like the string through body as opposed to the Hard-tail 6-saddle bridge i have on my Squier 51. Value: The value on this guitar is incredible. If something were to happen to it i would definitely replace it. I'm glad such a great quality instrument is available at such an affordable price. Manufacturer Support: I've never had to contact Fender or Squier before. As i already said i've never been disappointed by one of their products, and hope to never need to contact them. For now I'm a happy customer. The Wow Factor: This guitar is definitely sexy. The butterscotch blonde color is really pretty and looks great with the contrasting black pickguard. Overall: My search for new music gear and guitars never stops, but i know i will be happy for quite a while with this guitar.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cool teli" submitted January 5, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: semi-pro
Music Style: Punk/Hardcore
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the duncan design P-90's are not too bad, but throw a Dimarzio P-90 super distortion in the bridge and walla you sound awsome. Feature: 2 tone 2 volume 3 way toggle duncan design P-90 the neck feals pretty nice for this price the string thru body tis great Ease of Use: how well can you play? Quality: although not the best quality, it is constructed well Value: great begginer guitar as is, or great platform to hot rod a guitar. Manufacturer Support: ? The Wow Factor: cool P-90 loaded teli. Overall: this guitar has potentual. With a propper set-up this guitar plays nicely. The frets were a little uneven and needed to be dressed, and the intonation was a little off, but this guitar is less than $300.So at the price point is where my score is made.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I GOT THE DUD ...." submitted June 23, 2012

By KJ G in Vancouver, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just opened my Squier Tele Custom and it had absolutely nothing in common with all the reviews on this website. My Tele was light weight, poorly constructed, it had chips in the neck pocket that were just covered up with paint and poly finish, the neck had chips in the wood and felt like there wasn't any finish on it and the fret edges were extremely sharp. also, the color wasn't the nice creamy yellow that you see on all the internet photos, it was an ugly, muddy beige color. The switch, knobs and jack are so cheap and flimsy, that I didn't even bother plugging in the guitar. I seriously thought it would just fall apart on me. I recently purchased a Squier Deluxe Strat, which retails for the same general price as this Tele and they are miles apart on quality and craftsmanship. My strat is almost a work of art in comparison. Anyone who reads the reviews of guitars on internet sites, knows that there is always someone that gets a DUD of a guitar. I guess it was my turn. I can't rate the Squier Tele Custom for any of the categories below, because I knew within 5-seconds of opening the box that I had received something that wasn't worth the matches to burn it with.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1571-KHT8. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!