800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 205-RC1K
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Squier Affinity PJ Bass

A killer value on a Precision bass, this budget-friendly favorite gives you blendable P Bass and J Bass pickups for meaty tone and serious sonic flexibility.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Is this for real?" submitted July 26, 2014

By Oz Marlon in Plantation, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional musician. Producer, performer. Guitar, bass, piano, vocals.
Music Style: All styles.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I couldn't believe my ears when I first played this bass. Can a $180 bass sound this good? I've owned US made P basses that cost five times as much. This is better! Playability, tone, manufacturing quality, looks, perfect. Especially shines in slap and pop, but can be very mellow too if you want it to. Responsive, like all Fenders. You can blend the P and J pickups, which is great.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WOW!" submitted November 11, 2013

By Matthew F in Medina, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 23 years. Guiatr, bass, drums. Semi-pro musician.
Music Style: Rock, pop, prog, funk, & soul.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Back in 1994, a close friend of mine picked up a Squier P-Bass. We were teenagers, it was a serviceable bass, but it had some build quality issues. It was a great starter bass. Fast forward to two weeks ago; I picked up one of these PJ basses for a new cover project I'm involved with. I needed something with some tone flexibility, that looked sharp, and didn't break the bank. I read all the reviews I could find, but I was a little skeptical considering my prior experience with Squier basses - fine for practice/beginner, but lacking for the working musician. Well, right out of the box this bass impressed: fit/finish was flawless, the setup was perfect, and the tone was exactly what I needed. It's not an American Standard, but it's not that far off (because off pickups, hardware, etc.). If you are a player and you are on a budget, just buy it. We're living in the golden age of well built, affordable music gear...and it isn't going to last forever.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tasty tone. Warm and BEEFY" submitted September 7, 2014

By Levi H in houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass Player. Luthier. Studio Tech.
Music Style: Math Rock/ Indie Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Out of the box obviously it needed tuning, but I checked everything else: intonation, truss rod relief, action and nut action... And everything was perfect! I own an affinity P and an affinity J as well and these affinities are not too far behind my more high end stuff. The tone is so powerful. No buzz whatsoever. Get one of these. Their is nothing wrong with Squier Affinity.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender CY Bass" submitted December 27, 2015

By Christopher Chandler in Charlotte, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass/Profesional
Music Style: Rock/Country/Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What a Step Up from a decade ago. These basses coming out of Yako China factory (CY) are way above what was produced a decade ago. My bass is beautiful, tight, plays great, Smooth frets, hard maple neck, Nice resonant Alder body sustain for Days! No Mineral Streaks in the maple!! Big Improvement!! Changed out the pickups to AVRI, plopped an ODC on the tone, switchcraft jack, set-up,...and WOW. This Bass Pumps!! I don't see the need to drop big money on a twelve hundred dollar version. The pickups and tone are all I needed to bring this baby to where it needed to be for me.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great inexpensive bass" submitted June 30, 2015

By Michael S in San Diego, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: semi-pro bassist
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: No setup needed, played great out of the box. Greater variety of tone compared to Squier Vintage J bass, and about a pound lighter. Didn't find any defects. A keeper!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome bass for the price" submitted April 1, 2015

By Bob B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass, keyboards, use to play Vegas circuit, original music, getting back into it.
Music Style: soft and hard rock, original music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound is good and has wide range of tone typical of a P bass, however this bass needs hotter pickups custom installed to truly sound better and be properly setup. I'd prefer more punch and I'm not talking cool aid! Feature: Good feel. This bass is solid and is not light. Tone,gain, volume knobs, once you dial in your sound this bass talks well. Ease of Use: Wide range of sounds also flatwound to roundwound and good but not great. Quality: Sturdy, would not trust the stock pickups to play live show. The machine heads are good , they hold and bass stays in tune well. Value: Great Value! Worth $180 bucks. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: Glossy black finish and rosewood fretboard looks sexy. Overall: Flawless finish, looks great, knobs loose out of box, had to tighten. Bass required complete setup, truss rod had no tension, string buzz was horrible, intonation, etc. Pickups can't be setup properly, the screws come loose and pickup hits strings.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Squire Affinity PJ Bass / Great Buy" submitted November 17, 2013

By Mike A in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 year hobbyist
Music Style: Classic Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a cool bass for the $$$. I love the fact that it has both a P-bass and J-bass pickup. It's full size and plays great. Needed a setup badly out of the box, but other than that it was great..Thanks ZZounds.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Bass for the price" submitted September 22, 2014

By kirk childress in spartanburg, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I just started back playing never played professionally, took lessons for 3 or 4 years back in the 90s,
Music Style: rock. jazz. blues. really any its all very interesting
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered this bass about a week ago very good out of the box, just had to tune it, nice pick up arrangement very good sound. I just put a new set of strings on before I wrote this review. don't think you could find a better bass for the price.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"good bass" submitted October 11, 2014

By kirk childress
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i play for fun and learning experience, im trying to become a better player only time will tell
Music Style: any and all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: very good for the price, nice sound all the way around. The pickup configuration is interesting jazz and p pickups. Nice weight not to heavy but solid, really gets good low sound and good highs. Very good for practice and you could gig with it im sure, but next I am eyeing a p bass,
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"pj bass" submitted September 23, 2014

By kirk childress in spartanburg, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: just play
Music Style: just play
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: great bass for the price, sounds real smooth and has good punch the pick up configuration is interesting and the feel is very good
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 205-RC1K. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!