800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12BD-1CZ6
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Squier VM '70s Strat MN

Modern substance meets '70s style with this guitar. It comes loaded with Duncan Designed pickups, a lively basswood body, and a sleek maple neck.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Great Stratocaster!" submitted March 11, 2012

By Dave H in Bloomington, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing since 1963, guitar and bass, semi pro.
Music Style: Folk, Rock, Blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a very nice guitar. I have owned several Fenders over the last forty years and this one is as good or better than any of them. The tinted glossy neck is like a 50's vintage one. I once played a Stratocaster with the serial number 00024 (1954) and this one feels like that.
18 of 18 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Top Notch Strat" submitted November 21, 2013

By Josh S in Beattyville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 24 years as a hobby.
Music Style: Hard rock/ Heavy Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Pickups are awesome. They covered the whole spectrum and even did a very good job with metal. Pinch harmonics seemed to be more pronounced on this guitar than hot humbucker equipped instruments. Feature: Tinted maple neck is fabulous. As mentioned early pickups are very hot. Worst feature on the guitar is the old syncronized tremelo, but those are horrible on all Fenders. They can be made to work, but most of us don't fool with trying. Ease of Use: Pickups and selector switch allow pretty much any sound you need, short of the obvious humbucker sounds. Neck is fast even though it is laquered. Guitar was set up pretty high from the factory. With included wrenches, I adjusted truss rod and string saddles and was able to get Fender's recommended Strat string height with no buzz...but I couldn't go any lower. Let's face it, most high dollar American or Japanese guitars are pro set-up with fret leveling done at the factory to make you think you are getting "more for your money" than the cheaper guitars like this Squier. However, you could have the frets leveled on this guitar and have super low action. But like I said, it is totally able to be set-up within spec and very playable. Quality: Paint is perfect, neck, tuners, pickups, knobs...everything seemed like high quality. I did not look at the wiring, so I can't speak to that. From all outward appearances you could stamp U.S.A. and Fender on the headstock and no one would be the wiser. Value: Probably the best value out there, short of the Classic Vibe series. If only they offered the Classic Vibe with these pickups. . . Manufacturer Support: Not need at the moment. The Wow Factor: Black pickguard, black guitar, labeled pickups, 70s headstock...it definately has the bad boy rock and roll guitar look. Overall: One of the best bang for the buck out there. Second only to the Classic Vibe series, which I think is the best valued guitar every produced. This one comes close. Pickups are hotter (if that's what you are looking for). Set-up from the factory is not as good as the Classic Vibe series. All in all, a quality instrument with outstanding looks and sound.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent Guitar for the Money!!!" submitted April 12, 2012

By mark s in Sheboygan, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: semi professional...45 years experience
Music Style: rock, country and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been playing since 1963. I watched some you tube reviews of this guitar and bought one. I am very pleased. The neck is a little "beefier" then the Classic Vibe series Squires, but this guitar plays and sound like a dream. The Duncan Designed pickups give nice tone in all positions. My advice..buy one before the price goes up
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar" submitted October 27, 2013

By Tommy M in St. Louis, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: About 4 years. Just Guitar. Jam at home.
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Blues, Funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: As a basic player, I'm very happy with this guitar. I bought a blemished guitar and there was a simple scratch in the finish above the pick-ups. I play through a Orange Crush CR20 and it sounds great on clean and with distortion. I like to play classic rock/new wave metal to funk. With this guitar I've been able to match pretty much any of those tones. Although you can't get a very heavy tone, you can still achieve something that is aggressive, I use a Metal Muff pedal. My only concern is that there is a bit of noise, too much for my liking, so I will most likely invest in a noise suppressor pedal. The styling of the guitar is great. I love the black on black look, along with the larger headstock. Overall I'm very happy with my purchase and I would recommend this great priced guitar to anyone looking to buy a strat.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Squier Vintage Modified 70's Stratocaster" submitted February 3, 2014

By Lisa H in Wynne, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner
Music Style: Classic Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: LOVE IT!! I'm a beginner and this guitar has been great for me. Feels and sounds wonderful. Highly recommended.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Squier VM 70" submitted January 18, 2014

By Lisa H in Wynne, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner
Music Style: Rock,Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my 2nd guitar, and I love it. Plays great. ZZounds was awesome to deal with, and super fast.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best guitar I have owned in this price range." submitted October 11, 2013

By Robbie M in Big Stone Gap, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-professional; guitar, mandolin, bass, lap steel
Music Style: Rock, Americana, Bluegrass, Folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: There is a certain sound that only a Strat can achieve. This guitar can do it every day of the week. The cleans are crystal clear, but it will scream through a low watt Class A tube amp with the natural 'bite'. I had a pickup swap in mind for it before I had ordered the guitar, but there's nothing wrong with these Duncan Designed pickups. Feature: I thought about getting just a bargain basement Mexican Fender, but I don't like a non-gloss maple fretboard. The vintage tint gloss neck on this guitar is incredible for this price. The Duncan Designed pickups can do whatever you need them to do. Ease of Use: The guitar came out of the box with a decent setup. After tweaking the intonation and a set of fresh strings, it was ready to go. Quality: This is a well-made instrument. The not too heavy, but still has the heft of a quality instrument. It did have a blemish on the pickguard from the above-mentioned solder incident during manufacture. But after speaking with a zZounds customer service rep, I ended up getting the guitar for the 'blemished' price so I can't really complain about that. Value: I don't know if I just got a gem out of the bunch, but I couldn't have found a better guitar for the money. A 'Five-Star' value rating honestly doesn't do it justice. Manufacturer Support: I have not dealt with manufacturer. The Wow Factor: It has the classic look and sound that I wanted without having to mortgage my house. It looks as good as as any Strat I've seen that was made in the last 20 years. Overall: Overall, it is a lot more guitar than what I paid. It sounds like a Strat should. I am of the opinion that I would rather have a higher model Squier than a basement model Fender, and this guitar did not disappoint. However at some point during the assembly process, someone apparently missed the fact that some solder had been dropped onto the pickguard. It melted through the protective plastic and left a noticeable blemish on the pickguard. I needed the guitar as a backup for two shows two days after I received the guitar, so I kept the guitar and zZounds customer support credited $50 to my order with very little hassle. After a dozen or so shows since receiving it a month ago, I wouldn't sell it for twice what I paid.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12BD-1CZ6. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X

ALL ACCESS PASS

5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER

  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!