800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1737-799R
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Shure Super 55 Microphone

Croon, wail and belt into this stunning retro-styled mic! Designed to deliver natural-sounding vocals and speech, the Super 55 Deluxe is built Shure tough.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Beautiful Sound" submitted February 21, 2013

By Michael Lovell in San Angelo, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20yrs as a drummer, guitarist, and vocalist
Music Style: Red Dirt/Texas Country, Southern Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been using my trusty old SM58 for a while, but I love the Bel-Air mics. I had an original '53 that I used for years until I was "relieved" of it. I have since been trying to find that perfect mix of vintage looks and modern reliability. Well......I found it and then some! This mic not only looks super sweet, but it has beautiful sound. Even my bandmates were blown away by the tones I was able to get out of this thing. Lyrics and phrases that had seemed muddled were suddenly crystal clear. We're considering replacing all of the bands mics with these. I would recommend it to anyone.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Shure hits a home run with the retro 55 design!" submitted February 17, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: 50's,Classic Rock,Country,Blues,and R & B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This classic Shure 55 style microphone is awesome to say the least! Not only does it look "fantastic",it sounds like you won't believe your ears!The only reason I did not give it a 10 on sound,is I am a back-up singer at times,besides lead,and when I do sing bass back-up,I have an other microphone I use.But,when I sing lead,myself and others in the band do use it.The Shure Super 55 Deluxe captures your voice in such a way that it is all natural,and it also captures even the slightest nuances.My hats off to you Shure !! Quality: The satin chrome finish and the way it feels,lets you know that this is a quality made microphone. Value: Given it's classic roots and design,YES! The Wow Factor: The microphone "grabs" you and your attention. Overall: I plan on using this microphone for a long time!No other mike can come close to the way it looks,feels,and sounds.Yes,I would buy it again.
25 of 26 people (96.15%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Mic" submitted March 25, 2012

By John D in Chino, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been singing in church and in bands for 30 years. I play the harmonica.
Music Style: I am in a blues band
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I am a frontman for a blues band. Bought this mic for it's look, heard it was good for vocals. This mic is OUTSTANDING for vocals. I love the blue felt. If you are considering buying a Super 55, don't hesitate. You won't regret buying a Super 55.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Shure 55 Microphone" submitted March 23, 2014

By Manuel L in El Monte, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Im a singer front man, my band "Popaganda"
Music Style: 80's
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The quality is great, awesome sound, excellent service. One small suggestion you should offer the quick release for the microphone, had to purchase from another vendor. Would definately recommend.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great sound!!" submitted April 21, 2014

By mario soto in Browns Mills, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: im very pleased with the quality of this mic.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Passport Venue PA" submitted May 18, 2014

By Ashley Baker in Eustis, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro
Music Style: Modern Country
Back to Product Information
Overall: Amazing product!!! Shipping was great as always
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sure super 55 mic" submitted January 12, 2014

By Joseph Grant in Decatur, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 34yrs playing bass
Music Style: Rock,alternative, southern rock,classic rock, hip hop, christian alternative ,country rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great looking and sounds even better.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great mic with only one caveat" submitted November 15, 2013

By Frank C in Salt Lake City, UT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bachelors degree in jazz, gigging regularly for quite some time.
Music Style: Jazz, blues, R&B.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I want to address two points made by several other reviewers. 1- The Super 55 Deluxe sounds just like the Shure SM-58. This is definitely NOT true. I bought the mic on the chance that it could be the case because I love my 58 and have used it exclusively for a long, long time. The 55 has a really good, full-spectrum sound, and if you have a nice EQ unit and know how to use it you could probably get it to sound similar to the SM-58, but to be clear, this is an entirely different instrument from the 58. Don't get me wrong it's a very well built unit with a fine sound, just not like the SM-58. 2- The Super 55 Deluxe is way sensitive. This point is kind of true...sort of. It took me about an hour of practice to revise my diction and mic technique, but I was able to eliminate the problem. Side-by-side comparison with the SM-58 shows this mic significantly louder on the *pop* of hard consonant sounds. You'll have to learn to soften your P's. Summary: This mic is GORGEOUS!!! I croon the jazz standards and love having a mic I can hold like a woman I'm kissing. The sound is a very good, clean, full-range, accurate reproduction of whatever you put into it. If you can learn to manage your rangeĀ with a mic that doesn't manage them for you, I'm sure you will love this beautiful instrument! I penalize one star for the *pop*.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good deal!!" submitted April 24, 2014

By Fallon E in El Dorado, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A rap artist 13yrs
Music Style: hiphop,rap
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This Mic is Great.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awsome Mike" submitted January 2, 2014

By Tommy Bryant in Dry Prong, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i don't play but been envolved with music around 45 years i buy stuff to use for family get togethers and karaoke at a local bar
Music Style: rock, country, blues, hip-hop, rock and roll,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I help set up a one of a kind karaoke show I got the SS 55 Deluxe Vocal Microphone for my DJ doing the Karaoke we were using sure 58 mikes which were great mikes but it seam he had to talk like direct down into the mike ,He went to using the SS 55 the sound was a 180 from other mikes it didn't have to open air sound around it his voice stood out like it was jumping out to you extra clear sound. He had to cut back on most of all the settings it was as if mike was inside his mouth and he was in speaker . As far as manufacturer support never had to use it on any product I have bought
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1737-799R. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!