800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 146G-05BR
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Shure Beta 87A Mic

Step up from the SM-58 or Beta 58 and sound as good onstage as you do in-studio, with the time-tested Shure Beta 87A handheld condenser microphone on vocals.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"The Shure Beta 87A - Can't Be Beat!" submitted December 20, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Chrsitian Rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Let me put it this way: I've been using the legendary SM58 for the past 3 years and the Beta 87A completely eliminates that "Gee! I feel like I'm singing in a box!" feeling. It sounds so natural and so complete and so clear. Amazing! Also, this mic has been yelled into, sung "sweetly" into, and screamed into. No distortion - only chrystal clear, beautiful, natural sound... This is the sound of a condenser mic in a rugged, live performance package. I love it! Feature: I don't know what anyone would expect this mic to come with... I'd have been happy with just the mic, but it did come with a Shure bumper sticker, a carrying case, the user's guide, a cable tie, and some other stuff to... This mic is the "most useful feature" though! Completely amazing mic! I'm in love... Quality: Top-notch. Let me put it this way: This mic survives the famous Shure drop test and will stand up to just as much abuse as any other Shure product will - even though it's a condenser. Value: I'd buy it all over again if I needed to. Well worth my money - well worth yours... The Wow Factor: I bought it, didn't I? Overall: I don't plan on having to buy any other vocal mics ever. It's just for my voice and I expect this mic to outlast me!
31 of 32 people (96.88%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"better beta" submitted June 5, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 5 years active musician
Music Style: metal/hip hop
Back to Product Information
Sound: have a beta58, and it's been a hoss for 5 years, great mic...having said that 87a is the shizzle. stomps on my 58a, and that is a big suprise. sound quality is fantastic compares to studio condensers. have jbl mains and monitors and alesis board, off the chain Feature: no accessories but who cares, i've got all that Ease of Use: plug and play, requires phantom power but most current mixers provide that in their xlr channels Quality: it's a shure! passed the drop test, i expect to use it for quite a while Value: are u kidding me, if i lost it tommorow i'd spring for another belive me 250 is just fine Manufacturer Support: 10 for support, because i have never had a shure mic of any kind go wrong have 58's, and a beta 58 for over five years The Wow Factor: great look better sound, it is sexxxxxxxyyyyyy, i got that fo show Overall: i dare you to find a better mic for the price, you can try but it's a waste of time!
15 of 16 people (93.75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good vocalist? This is your next mic" submitted October 7, 2013

By Steven H in Manheim, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40+ years of playing out several times a month.
Music Style: rock, country, blues, standards and live sound.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The Shure Beta 87A excels in the ranges that other mics quit and that is the upper end and the lower end. Clear sound throughout the vocal range, even if someone crowds it a bit. This is a hot mic, by the way. You won't have to dial up the gain on long cable runs. Feature: Rugged. Road worthy. Ease of Use: Plug it in and let the singer smile. This mic was recommend by another musician friend who has 30+ years of giging out. It's the only one she will use and she sings like Adele. Quality: Very well made. Value: Over the years, went through the range of mics, from entry level onward. Got stuck on EV's 767 series for a long time and still have some of those and EV 468's. For vocals the Shure Beta 87A is the winner. So if you have a good singer, get them this microphone. Manufacturer Support: Never had to contact Shure ever. The Wow Factor: Unless your a keen observer, you'll never see the difference, but you'll hear it. Overall: This is the best microphone I've ever had for use in a live sound. If the singer is a screamer, get the plain old workhorse Shure 58. BUT, if your vocalist(s) has a great voice this is definitely the one to get.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing clarity!" submitted March 30, 2014

By Mark R in Nampa, ID
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bassist, have been playing nearly 40 years. Play festivals, demo basses at NAMM.
Music Style: Rock, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was looking for a new vocal mic; while 58's are great and I've owned a bunch of them, maybe there was something better. Based on the reviews I decided to try a Beta 87A. The difference was immediately apparent - the clarity of the 87A is simply amazing! I made the mistake of letting our band's other vocalist try it and she liked it so much she didn't want to go back to her regular mic. So I bought a second one, it has made a huge difference in our sound. By comparison our old mics sounded like they were wrapped in a towel, but the 87A's are crystal clear.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"stop wondering what microphone to buy. This Is The One!!!!" submitted May 23, 2008

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician,song writer
Music Style: acoustic rock,folk,country,obscure,originals
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: well I just purchased this mic.I picked this mic based on harmony central user reviews.I play in a duo. guitar and drums. I have been using the sm58. when I bought this I wasnt sure if I had done the right thing.afterall the sm58 sounds great.during rehearsal, while singing. my drummers wife (who doesnt know anything about music equipment,but knows what sounds good to her ears)she has heard us play many times.for the first time ever she came back from the kitchen and said wow what did you do to your voice.its so clear and crisp. I can understand every word you are singing.she did not even know I had my new microphone.!!! I now know I did the right thing by buying this mic. and that was just singing thru the monitors. cant wait to sing thru my carvin speakers. I know it will be sweeeet!!! Feature: no on off switch but that doesnt matter to me Ease of Use: plug it in and sing Quality: nice looking ,havent had it long enough to see how road worthy, but I wont be throwing it in the air or let anyone borrow it. so if something does happen to it I am sure it will be my own fault Value: as the old saying goes you get what you pay for I payed for an exellent microphone. and I got the best Manufacturer Support: give it a ten simply because I am confident I wont need it The Wow Factor: it looks great . other musicians who see us play and see that I have this microphone will be sad because they dont have one. Overall: Like i said i just purchased this microphone and put a lot of thought into it before purcasing this great microphone.money is a hard thing to come by and there are many other things I could have or maybe should have usrd the money for. but I am really glad I didnt do that.I plan to use this mic for a long time
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Shure Beta 87A Mic Customer Review submitted April 4, 2004

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have never owned a better feeling, better sounding microphone than the Sure Beta 87A. This signal is clearer and truer than any I have ever owned.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worship leader" submitted July 23, 2004

By a customer from stny.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Christian/Worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I've owned this mic for a few months now......it has very clear crisp sound...absolutely no popping or handling noise. I use it for live performance while sitting and playing the guitar....works well even if you are not close to it....add a little reverb or delay and the mic sounds even better. Quality: Rugged build mic... Value: Well worth the money spent Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to use support
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Mic! Top Nashville Recording Artist Kris Allen Claims!" submitted February 11, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: MY WHOLE LIFE!
Music Style: Southern Rock/ Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have 8 World Top 10 hit Indie songs and this is my mic of choice! I use it almost daily and it gets the job done flawlessly any where any time! I have used almost every mic made and this is my number one pick! I use this mic along with my Monster Cable Studio Pro 1000 cables. I sing through a Focusrite voice green 3 mic preamp for a 100% AWESOME sound! Come to any of my shows and see and hear for yourself why I love the Shure Beta 87a mic! We are Kris Allen & Southern Thunder, Nashville, TN. Thank's, Kris Allen Manufacturer Support: This mic is bullet proof! Overall: IF something ever happened to my mic I would buy another one just like it and I do tell everyone about this mic. YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG! I have bought way more expensive mic's but none were even close!
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yes Yes Yes" submitted March 23, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: There is a phantastic clear sound coming out of your speakers when you use the 87a. This mic provides a full, rich vocal sound. This is how it should be. Feature: This mic has one good feature - A GREAT SOUND Ease of Use: As any condenser, you need phantom power. Quality: Do not have mine too long, but reviews state that this is better than any other stage condenser in terms of quality. Sounds believable to me. Value: Its expensive OK , but it also sounds expensive Manufacturer Support: Do not know The Wow Factor: I want it,- Ive got it because I wanted it Overall: You can not compare a dynamic mic to a condenser. A condenser will always sound better. The Beta 87a in my opinion is one of the best mics you can buy
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The singing guitarist's take" submitted November 10, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I was using an SM57 before and its not even close. People could not understand a word I sang before and now its crystal clear. It does not over condense to the point of picking up miscelaneous sounds or raise the noise floor. I use it for live and even to record with. Feature: Its a mic. You sing through it. Quality: There are better recording mics out there, but for live performance this is the best in my opinion. And I use it for recording too in the basement. I have a true condenser mic for recording but it raises the noise floor, and this mic does not. Value: Was bought for me by the wife. Manufacturer Support: never needed it. Thats the best support of all.
8 of 10 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WOW,YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THIS MIC!!!!!!!!"

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: This mic has the best sound. It cuts right through the mix and the clarity, depth ,warmth and you name it is exceptional! I also have a Shure Sm-58 and I could't believe the difference. The Beta 87a blows it away! Here is somthing else to think about if are looking into buying high qality microhones such as this one and all other equipment too is cables. Cables are too often overlooked and your microphone is only as good as the cables connected to them. This is fact! This mic hooked to a cheap $5 cable is not going to do justice. This goes for everthing else as well. In my on opinion,Monster Cable Tops them all. You will pay more,but you get what you pay for. We get comments everywhere we perform about how clear and how good the sound system sounds. Everything We have is wired with Monster Cables and we use all of shure Beta series microhones. There is no way you can go wrong !! We Also use Beta 98's, Beta 52 and 91, KSM 32'S,Beta57 for Drums And of cource Beta 87 for vocals. Stay with the Beta series For the studio quality sound.
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"As expected." submitted February 3, 2005

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur song writer & singer.
Music Style: Vocal, light rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Very clean for live vocal (even though lack in details in comparison to the Studio Projects C1 -- not a live mic). Overall: If it got stolen, I probably will replace it, or may try the Beta 87C.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"superb mic" submitted August 9, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: used this mic after using some nasty ev mics... ive used sm58s and like others i found that they couldnt touch the 87a... the beta 87a is superb. rich smooth and powerful... i never clipped the board after the 87 Ease of Use: makes live vocal eq-ing very easy The Wow Factor: i completely want to do this mic!!!! Overall: if i owned it.... id have to buy more just because they are that good... id buy one for grandma... no spit.. shes a cajun singer lol
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 146G-05BR. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!