800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15FS-N1HY
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Shure Beta 57A Mic

Delivering even greater detail than its SM sibling, the Beta 57A is a supercardioid dynamic mic tailored for live vocals, guitar amps, snare drums, and more.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"An Instrument Mic Like No Other" submitted December 24, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Christian Rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: This is where the Shure Beta 57A shines. It sounds so clear. It is a pretty big step up from the older SM57 and since it is a supercardioid design, it has much more rejection to ambience and outside noise. I use this mic primarily to mic my amplifier and it is amazing. I get completely different sounds depending on where I place the mic. It's really a lot of fun. Very clear, real sound. Feature: Not many... But this microphone is the major feature and since I'm so happy with it, I give it a 10! Quality: It's a Shure. Not only does this thing weigh a ton and feel like a tank, but it's also survived the famed Shure Drop Test. You can't go wrong with this product in quality. I really expect it to outlive me. Value: I would easily, gladly pay twice what I did. I think that Shure's list price is actually quite a fair price. You're buying a product that has been time-tested - one that you know won't let you down. This mic was well worth my money and would be well worth yours, too! Manufacturer Support: I have dealt with Shure. I was asking quite a few questions before I decided to get the mics that I did, because I didn't want to make an uninformed decision. And Shure support was right there to help me every time. I'm very satisfied not only with the product, but also with the manufacturer. Shure rocks! The Wow Factor: I bought it, my second guitarist is already saving up, and my drummer plans on using it to mic his snare. So, yeah. It has it's appeal! Overall: This CAN NOT be beat as an instrument mic. There are much better vocal mics (like the Shure Beta 87A - which I also own), but as an instrument mic, this is simply the best. I am so pleased with this microphone! If anything were ever to happen to it, I would definitely buy another. I love this mic, everyone I know who's heard it loves it, and I know that you would too. This microphone WILL NOT disappoint.
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A perfect Female vocal mic & the Best Indstrument mic...period" submitted July 13, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 12 years, Songwiter, Vocal Production, Mix Engineer
Music Style: R&B, POP, DANCE, WORLD MUSIC
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Beautiful Natural Soundind dynamic microphone. It captures pretty much anything with the upmost detail and clarity focus. It sounds stunning on female vocals, and shows 'No' sibilance unlike so many condensors. The Beta 57A is much better sounding than the standard SM57 and SM58, which can get fairly harsh sounding with a nasal quality. The Beta version is smooth, warm and has a better top end. The midrange is very flat and works very well on most singers. I record in the studio with the Beta 57A all the time, and use it over my Rode or Neumann depending on the singers voice. Feature: no switches makes this mike even more solid and rubust, less problems to deal with. It is a very simple yet powerful microphone. Ease of Use: Plug n Play, and hit record. Quality: Built like a tank, and feels very tight and compact. Value: I got my Beta 57A for the price of a SM, so for me its pure value for money. It compared very well with my Nuemann TLM 103 and Rode K2, although not as toppy sounding. Manufacturer Support: Never used it. The Wow Factor: It looks like a Industry Standard mic, it has a very professional neutral look with the nice blue rubber ring. Its looks better than the Beta 58 ball, and IMO it sounds better too. Overall: I plan to use this mic on everything, including lead vocals. it works so well.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Shure 57 Beta" submitted September 7, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Swing/Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is the classic Shure 57...used primarily for instrument work, though I do use it for vocals when needed. The sound quality is superb. Feature: I bought a package that included a boom mike and 20' chord...highly recommended if you are building up your stock of equipment. Ease of Use: I use the mic with my Fender Acoustasonic amp, which has an imput for a separate mic. Plug and play. Quality: This is a tough mic, able to stand up to performance and transport abuse. Value: Good mic...good price. Manufacturer Support: I purchased the mic online and needed it quickly. I ordered 2 day shipping, but it did not arrive on time. ZZ refunded the cost of extra shipping charges. The Wow Factor: Well worth the cost. Overall: I would purchase the mic again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome" submitted June 13, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Just used this at a show over the weekend and it sounded amazing. Way better than the SM57's I've used in the past because it captured the warmth of my amp. It is also very clear. Quality: This thing is solid. It could probably hammer nails. Overall: This mic is awesome. I wasn't sure if upgrading to this from the original SM57 would be worth it, but after playing this weekend, I couldn't believe the clarity and warmth this mic provided. I'm glad I bought this mic, and it will be replacing the original 57 used for my guitar cab.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Zzounds has excellent service" submitted December 27, 2010

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Excellent microphone with sound system Feature: included microphone stand and cord Manufacturer Support: Have never needed service
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you want a great sounding roadworthy mic, this is it."

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: rock/folk
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have tried many different mics over the years and I always thought this one had the best sound, but I really found out when my band performed a stripped down acoustic show. This mic shined over the others. Great mic bottom line. Feature: It has a great frequency range. It's a solid performer.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Mic Worthless Cord" submitted January 29, 2014

By Bruce M in West Hartford, CT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar for 54 years, mandolin and many other instuments for years professionally
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Roots, original...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Beta57A is not as good as I expected for picking up acoustic instruments (guitar, mandolin...) it is Fantastic for mic-ing a cabinet and for vocals. The budget cable that came with the package fell apart within 15 min of use and is too cheap to bother soldering. The mic was not as good as I expected in some ways but better in others.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bulletprof and Fantastic sound" submitted January 12, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: pro
Music Style: Jazz/Blues
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: There is a nice Windscreen. Comes in Handy. Feature: You Could almost Hammer Nails with the Beta 57 Quality: I have three they are fantasic. My Nruman and AKG 414 TL is not going on gigs. But this Beta 57can go anywhere. Value: Can't beat it. Manufacturer Support: Never needed Shure support in over 30 years of owning their mics. The Wow Factor: very cool looking better then the 58 ball. Overall: It will out live me. Is that good or what?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Shalding from hum noise" submitted September 9, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist ,TV engineer
Music Style: Techno , Japanese oridinal style
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great sound! I used SM57 , sennheiser e945 and MD421, AE6100. But beta57A is clearer and brighter sound.beta57A works good sound with cheap preamps. But I feel thinner than other mics very slightly. Feature: I always using cable tie. No problem. Quality: I like blue rubber ring. I dropped two or three times . but never broken. I wonder beta57A sealding for hum noise.I worried about SM57 with hum noise problem . But replace beta57a from SM57 , hum noise was removed. Value: very virsatile. Manufacturer Support: I never used. Overall: Very virsatlie ,clear sounding,Shalding from hum noise... beta57a is real stable gear! I also recomend AE6100 Audiotechnica.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15FS-N1HY. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!