800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20H-3RWN
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Seymour Duncan SPB3

Still using stock pickups? Achieve a fatter, fuller, and punchier sound and enjoy greater sustain with Seymour Duncan's SPB3 Quarter Pound P Bass pickups.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Very high quality pickups." submitted September 14, 2005

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Alternaive, Jazz, Metal, and Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: This pickup has a full and fat sound. My fender precision standard improved greatly from it. It has become an integral part of my "rhythm bass" sound (I'm looking to switch over to a quarter pound jazz and musicman replacement for my Fernandes Tremor, my "lead bass"). Quality: Seymour Duncan... need I say moire? THe man is known for making great pickups. Value: Worth ever penny. The Wow Factor: Very good pickup. Again, it's part of my sound. The sounds is good for most of what I do. I play some free form jazz that my fernandes is better suited to, but that's due to bass type, not the pickups. Overall: I don't need to change pickups in my precision ever again (in all likelyhood).
15 of 16 people (93.75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Less than expected." submitted August 2, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: pop punk, classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I baught this pickup along with the mathcing jazz pickup for my fender deluxe, unfortunately, they sound almost exactly the same as the factory pickups. im sure theyre great for anyone with a cheap squier or foreign made fender, but if you have american fender electronics in your bass, dont bother with these. Feature: Came with covers and screws, but no supporting spogne or whatever, so i had to peel them off my old pickups. They should be included. Quality: Made very well. Value: Should be a little cheaper (based on my experience with their similiarity to my old pickups). Manufacturer Support: I'm sure theyre great, never ahd to deal with them. The Wow Factor: Definately wanted it a lot, ever sicne I picked up my first bass (where these would have improved it), however on my current bass, it only deeped the sound, which is a plus, but maybe not so much for the money. Overall: I'll never buy other pickups.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"worth every penny" submitted April 14, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: player
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: These pickups completely changed the sound a my p-bass copy (fullerton). Man these things do every thing as advertised. Feature: very cool and beefy looking Ease of Use: This was my first time soldering (only burned myself twice) ,actually they were easy to install, did it in about an hour. Quality: these go to eleven!!!! Value: I would recommend these to anyone who is tired of the sound from there p style bass. Mine sounds awsome since the install. The Wow Factor: If you are using stock pickups you don't know what you are missing.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Crumby squirer pickups to seymour duncans" submitted June 5, 2012

By Dr Wizardface in nowhere, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: kazoo virtuoso
Music Style: reggae , funk , jazz , hungarian harpsicord medlys , abstract mouse chase soundtracks , the music of my deranged mind.
Back to Product Information
Overall: I have a second hand squier p-bass I bought for 70 quid.the pickups it came with were pretty rubbish , so after a couple of years I decided to change them.I read a lot of reviews and looked at a lot of difrent pickucks , and found it all a bit arbitrary reading about another persons interpretation of sound. , and wouldnt rely on any ones opinion who used words like "awsome" anyway. If your search for some sound clips thats helpfull.these pickups cost me 60 quid , neary as much as the bass itself.Im very happy with them , the quelity of the sound is far superior , they seem to add the missing layers of tone and theres no hum or buzz , basically making the guitar not sound crap.chords sound nice , turning up the treble for a twangy funk stlye sounds nice too. they sound like a bass of a record. I had read they were a lot loader and suited to rock so was worried they might have a distorted effect wich i would find undesirable but they didnt.they dont come with springs , just some wierd little plastic tubes wich I can find no use for.they are much better than the made in china squier pickups , just much cleaner and professional sounding with a chunkyer build quility.I would advise them to anybody wanting to vastly improve a squier .I think there good. I think pyramids and space travel are "awsome" these are just pickups.hope that helps some one.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great pups!!" submitted September 29, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Session Studio and Live Performance Bassist
Music Style: Anything and Everything
Back to Product Information
Overall: Among other basses, I own a Yamaha RBX460 that has been heavily modified. Part of the modifications done is replacing the stock PJ pickups. Yamaha pickups have come a long way since the time that I bought this bass, but they stunk back then. Anyway, I replaced the Yamaha PJ set with a Basslines Quarter Pound P and Quarter Pound J Bridge. I love the set. The installation was tricky, but I think only because I had never installed pickups before this. I love the P bass tone this pickup provides. I also like that it is noise cancelling. The Quarter Pound J at the bridge is NOT hum cancelling though, so when I play this bass in the studio, it is my go to bass for P-bass tone. I recently converted the bass to fretless, so I can't wait to record with it again!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"quarter pounder" submitted March 10, 2013

By jerrod k in wooster, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been jammng around almost 15 years
Music Style: whatever catches my fancey
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: defently added to my low end and mid range. it seriously improves the sound of a lower end bass. my sx sounded ok before now it sounds awsome. Feature: quarter inch poles for more range and output Ease of Use: easy Quality: so far hoding up great Value: its worth it Manufacturer Support: less than desireable The Wow Factor: great punch Overall: good pickups to up grade lower end bass
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Getting a great sound from a inexpensive bass guitar." submitted December 17, 2003

By a customer from koyote.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Music Style: Rock, Jazz, Blues, Christian, Bass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great Sound. I put the P Bass and Jazz Bass pick ups on my Ibanez. I own a 1963 Fender Jazz Bass I purchased new in 1963 and my Ibanez with the Seymours sounds as good as my vintage jazz. Feature: One thing I had to do, is file the Jazz pick up cover a little to fit. Quality: Solid Value: For Sure! Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: N/A Overall: I would have purchased sooner if I would have known how good the sound would be.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ok pickup" submitted October 9, 2006

By a customer from verizon.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: musician
Music Style: Punk/Ska/Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I guess it improved my tone a little in my bass. I should notice a huuuuge difference though considering that its a SQUIER, thats right a SQUIER p-bass!! When I max out the highs, it sounds way too peircing and the lows are a bit muddy. I guess I need new gear (SVT-3Pro combined with an eden 410 cab, no better match!) when I get the money :( Feature: eh... Ease of Use: not that hard to put in, just need some sautering skills :) Quality: didn't blow up yet... Value: the tone gain wasnt worth the money :( Manufacturer Support: didn't need it yet... The Wow Factor: don't really care for it. Overall: I'm not the guy you should be listening to if your looking to buy this pickup cause I didn't do it justice with good gear, i'm running it through crappy hartke gear.
3 of 7 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20H-3RWN. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!