800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 164P-BP01
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Seymour Duncan Invader

Combining ceramic magnets and hot coils, this pickup delivers a bright, powerful tone. It also cancels out hums and unwanted noise.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Invader's Superb Tones!" submitted March 4, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist
Music Style: Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, Jazz, Fusion
Back to Product Information
Sound: I just replace my BC Rich's BSDM pickups (from my Bich Archtop) today with an Invader on the bridge and a duncan distortion on the neck...and i was totally blown away. The Invader drive my amp like crazy, the sustain is infinity! Its the best metal pickup ever! Seymour duncan is one best pickup company ever... Feature: perfect! Ease of Use: so far so good, no probs at all... looks aggressive, strong... Quality: Seymour duncan makes the best pickups out there Value: worth the money! Manufacturer Support: they are nice, I've emailed them asking many things...thye respond really fast! The Wow Factor: Yeah! I want it, now i have it! Overall: This pickup is the best for metal... esp if u like those kind of middy distortion... all notes are clear and really stand out... get this one if u want something naturally aggressive tones, better than emgs...really
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This pickup invades" submitted April 30, 2012

By Shaun D in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar for 12 years. I play in a band
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I installed this pickup in my new schecter C-1 SLS passive guitar and it sounds awesome. I was looking for a pickup with more output without going to active. Its got a good amount of low end and also a decent amount of mids so you can get a thick, yet crunchy and defined tone from it. I play through my pod hd on the engl fireball patch at it sounds brutal. It's probably not as versatile as the JB or the duncan distortion, but if you play hard rock or metal you defiantly want to check this bad boy out. The cleans aren't that great, but if you roll the volume back its useable (I use my neck pickup, the seymour duncan jazz, for cleans anyways so its not a big deal) All in all, I'm satisfied with my purchase.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AMAZING HUMBUCKER" submitted February 12, 2012

By Joshua D in Meridian, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobby
Music Style: Classic rock,metal,thrash,punk,death metal,palm muting,power chords
Back to Product Information
Overall: My girlfriend bought this.for me...yeah I know lucky guy right! Anyways I put this inbthe bridge and it is just amazing! The sound is so unique and bright but at the sametime so raw and dirty...its really awesome! IF YOU WANT TO SOUND LIKE A METAL GOD....SPEND $80 AND ORDER THIS NOW.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wow! I don't have an original Les paul but who needs one with this pickup" submitted January 5, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is awesome, you can hear the whole range of sounds really defined. Value: It can turn an average guitar into a Gibson slayer. The Wow Factor: I got the bridge,I'm getting the neck position next Overall: Get it, If you don't you'll be sorry.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dirty pickup" submitted February 17, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: i love this thing. i know that tom delonge used it, so i decided to try it out, and it has brought me nothing but pleasure. I threw in some no name guitar, and now it is one hell of a machine. Its nice and deep sounding, and has lots of crunch and force. Feature: it doesnt have to best tone but it does get the job done if you want to rock out Quality: it is my guitar for my dirty work. i dont use it to play clean stuff with though. i use my start for that. but it takes care of the dirty work better than anyone. Value: whats not to like about this pickup. its one of the best on the market in my opinion and i have played a few guitars, and this is one of the dirtiest ones ever. Manufacturer Support: havent had any problems, so yea the support has been great The Wow Factor: ive wanted this ever since i saw. seeing those huge coils on top made me go to my happy place. knowing how dirty i could get with this pick up. that is sexual too Overall: best ever. i love it and im tired of writing this review, just buy the pick up its worth every penny. if not buy, the gibson dirty fingers pickup. that is real nasty as well, but it cost a little more. but worth everything
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"mind blowing power and perfect doom tone." submitted December 15, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Musical Background: active musician recording engineer
Music Style: Downtempo, hardcore, doom, trash
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sounds is intense. its so deep and so booming. I play a downtempo doomy style punk and this is perfect for the drone partsbut its still sharp enough that the thrashed out parts dont mud together. I've had it in a few guitars now, and the only advice i have is the heavier the guitar the better the sound will be. Feature: it comes with the basic hardware for mounting which is good because its a little more heavey duty that the normal mounting hardware. And you can order plaes for it from duncan so it could be any color you wanted, thats a neat feature. Ease of Use: I am a tone junky everything is natural i string amp heads together for my tone. so i dont know how easy it is for everyone else to dial in the corrrect tone. i sat for a solid hour just tinkering between amps to hit it just right. Quality: The invader is solid as can be. it feels like a brick. looks incredible and is probably going to last me a life time. i've actually killed 3 guitars since i bought it. so its holing up pretty well. Value: Its so worth the value. Manufacturer Support: i havent needed to consult them on anything yet The Wow Factor: it looks mean and it give my guitars he perfect tone. Overall: i dont see myself replacing it any time soon. I'm actually probably going to buy another one for my second guitar.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SH-8 Invader Madness" submitted February 28, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Melodic Death/Power Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: This thing is so heavy as far as tone, but the high notes ring with clarity. I also hear people complaining that it doesn't have good clean tones...well, you either have to switch to the middle position, or just turn down your volume knob a little. Even if it's distorted, if the volume is like at 1 on your guitar, it'll still be pretty clear Feature: the black oxide caps apparently give it loads of power, plus they just make the thing look sexy as hell Ease of Use: So clear yet so crunchy... this thing will make your sound absolutely mind-boggling Value: for the power it gives you, this thing is relatively cheap Manufacturer Support: never dealt with them over these pickups, but i also have blackouts, and when i had a problem with those, i called them and they resolved the problem in under ten minutes (most of that time was waiting) Overall: I originally bought these things so my sound would better reflect Synyster Gates of A7X. Well, afther DOING THAT, this thing has still held up as great for stuff like Firewind, Dimmu Borgir, Children Of Bodom... Basically is metal is your thing, these beasts will NOT let you down
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Make your fingers SCREAM with an Invader!!!!" submitted August 19, 2007

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist, 40 years of being in bands
Music Style: Classic Hair Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: I love the sound the bridge pickup gives me, I put an Invader on 7 of my Gibsons. Blows original pick ups away. Not shabby guitars either, Les Paul custom, Custom shop Explorer, Limited V, Firebird, M3, SG Supreme, SG standard. I play heavy Classic rock, sustain for days, Tones of Neal Schon and Gary Moore, nuff said! Value: Worth the price and then some, should come stock on ALL gibsons! Overall: Only Pick up worth putting on, it screams!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"mean sounding pickup" submitted February 11, 2005

Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: i have this in the bridge position of my strat. this sounds really good for any of my distortion needs, especially metal. nice for playing leads and doing harmonics. it doesn't sound bad on clean either. it can sound mean or modest, depending on what you are trying to play. Feature: it's a pickup.. Quality: hmm.. just keep the magnets away and don't smash on it with a hammer or something.. should be okay :P Value: $70 bux. to sound this good i will pay that price anytime.. Manufacturer Support: never dealt with them The Wow Factor: this is a mean sounding pickup. Overall: it's not a bad pickup at all. it's dark and it's agressive.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Seymour Invasion!!" submitted January 1, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi profesional musician
Music Style: Hardcore, Punk, Metal, Reggea, Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: Big fat bassy sounding..good sustain too. Used in my EpiphoneSG in the bridge, he kick the neck p/u away!!Now im lookin for a little less power p/u for neck Lawrence L500 perhaps or even dimebucker?.Somehow, its get messy when i played with boss ml2 and Mg100 and Jazz Chorus. Cant really hear the note, loosing clarity over power? Feature: I tot its alnico at 1st, whu care, sound great. I dont know if its me or what, a fren put invader in his Basswood tele like Yamaha, compared to my setup, its kinda flat. Wonder if it doesnt fits the basswood? By the way, the invader clean sound, its sparkle and great..the best clean sound ever! Ease of Use: its a pickup..the wiring diagram, im a electronic man, no prob at all..useful Quality: As long as its hidden beneath the string, i guess they'll survive long enuf Value: EXPENSIVE just like all Seymour Duncan, Dimarzios and EMGs..but worth the money, still wondering how does mighty mite motherbucker sound, use to be my 1st choice when it come to price. Manufacturer Support: never try The Wow Factor: The look itself make me bought one.Tempting!!Very good upgrade for my epiphone Overall: Just get if u played punks,metals,hardcore...its a MUST
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Powerful tone. Will rock your world !" submitted November 22, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Ameture guitarist
Music Style: Rock, Alternative, Punk, Pop/Punk, Ska, Indie.
Back to Product Information
Sound: AMAZING ! I have one of these that came stock in my Tom Delonge Stratocaster. It sounds good playing pretty much any song whether clean or distorted. Sounds great for playing Blink-182 or similar bands. Just make sure you put good strings, Ernie ball would be the best. Feature: Looks great, Sounds great, And for only 75 dollars, WHY NOT have one ? Ease of Use: Just plug in and jam out, It couldn't be easier. Quality: Well my TD strat was made in 2001. It still sounds like it did the day I bought it. Still looks top notch, no rust, no scratches. It will last forever it seems. Value: ONLY $75, I'm surprised it doesn't cost more.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great metal pickup..........." submitted March 17, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: This pickup is loud and bass heavy.great for nu-metal,deathmetal tones.It has a great lead guitar sound because it has too much bass and mids. it crunches like no other pickup. Feature: its a high output humbucker. Quality: its great Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: its worth it. Overall: Only probs with it is it wont sustain long.too much power.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"do they come in a set of 2?" submitted December 12, 2004

Overall
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playin for one year and still suck
Music Style: metal=black, death, speed, blade, heavy, etc. hard rock, stuff like pink floyd also
Back to Product Information
Sound: Ive never heard it but it sounds good. Feature: im looking for that certain black/death/heavy metal tone Quality: Looks good Value: i dunno if i can spend 80 bucks on pickups Manufacturer Support: does anyone know if these come in a set of 2?? The Wow Factor: nice and black. white colored pickups dont look that great. Overall: hoping to get new guitar for christmas or somethin. they got bdsm pickups, hoping these better. again, do they come in a set of 2?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 164P-BP01. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!