800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20V-VWZ9
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Schecter Omen Extreme 7

Stay in tune under the harshest stage conditions with this guitar, which has an extended 26.5-inch scale and 7 strings.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great Guitar For The Price" submitted May 16, 2010

By a customer from live.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 6-years playing, writing, and recording
Music Style: Hard Rock/Alternative/Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: My big complaint is against the Schecter stock pickups. They sound muddy as hell and the sustain is pretty terrible. However, I switched out the bridge pickup (I only use the bridge) with a Seymour Duncan Invader-7, and now this guitar sounds great. Feature: As I said before, the stock pickups are pretty bad. Aside from that, most of the hardware is great. The tuners, bridge, and knobs (volume and tone/coil-tap) are perfect, though the pickup switch is in a really inconvenient location, especially considering it flips vertically. It was no problem just turning it so it switches horizontally, though. The nut is also a bit small, not leaving a whole lot of room to mess around with the action on the neck end. Ease of Use: If you can play guitar, you can play this. I hadn't ever touched a 7-string before buying this, but it's easy enough just getting used to that extra string. I'm not a huge fan of the finish on the neck, though. When you've been playing awhile and you go to mute the A string with your thumb, your hand will stick to it pretty easily. Quality: After purchasing this guitar, I noticed that it was made in Indonesia. I wasn't too thrilled about that, but aside from the previously mentioned flaws, and minor wear underneath the finish on back, I have no complaints about the actual quality. It actually feels very solid. Value: Aside from the pickups, I believe this guitar to be well worth the price. Manufacturer Support: I have not had to deal with anyone from support. The Wow Factor: This is really a beautiful guitar. Hell, that's the real reason I bought it in the first place. Overall: For my needs, this guitar more than satisfactory. If you are a professional musician, surely you'd want something of a bit higher quality, but for jamming with friends, writing and recording, I am perfectly satisfied with this one. I wouldn't replace this one, and I would only buy a new one if I had an opportunity to buy something truly amazing.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Omen Extreme 7" submitted February 18, 2014

By Chris Mercier in Gibsonia, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play the guitar, Bass, and Drums
Music Style: I listen to everything but mainly my roots are in Metal and now the newer Genre of DJENT
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Ill break the sound down into clean/distortion... The cleans are awesome! plug in added a bit of reverb and this guitar just sings! has the push/pull pot with is nice for a variety of sounds. Distortion - I was kind of disappointed because it just sounds muddy... I had a feeling when I purchased the guitar it would be that way, so to fix this problem Im going to Purchase Duncan Invader Pick ups and that will be that. Overall I give the sound a 7/10 Ease of Use: plug and play... haha Easy to get clean tones with this guitar... Distortion is a different animal.. I have a few tones I like but compared to my EC407 or my Tempest (with Duncan Invaders) just doesn't have the clarity Im looking for... Quality: I give the quality 8.5/10 Reason being the pick ups are pretty Sh****... other than that, the guitar stays in tune great, the finish is BEAUTIFUL.. its just the quality Schecter is all about! Value: Its a great Value and Even if you scrap the stock pick ups for some better ones its well worth it. Manufacturer Support: NA The Wow Factor: I was Wowed for sure! Overall: Ok, right out of the box I knew that this was a QUALITY guitar. the finish is BEAUTIFUL and in person its just... WOW! I've been wanting to buy a 7 string guitar for a long time and I love Schecter guitars. It was set up perfectly and I didn't have to change a thing. ( I Changed the strings.. just cause I wanted a thicker Gauge..)
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GOOD STUFF" submitted July 1, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: long time player
Music Style: anything expressive and sound good to me
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: THE SOUND OF THIS GUITAR TO ME IIS PERFECT-IM NOT INTO ACTIVE PICKUPS-SO ALONG WITH THE COIL TAP AND PASSIVE PICKUPS AND ADUSTING MI AMP I CAN ACHIEVE THE TONE IM LOOKING FOR.I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE SOUND WITH THE STOCK PICKUPS. Feature: I RESEARCHED THIS GUITAR EXTENSIVLY.IT HAS EVERYTHING I WAS LOOKING FOR-LARGE FRET MARKERS-7 STRINGS-COIL TAP-STRING THRU BODY-AWESOME NECK AND A BEAUTIFUL FINISH.THE QUALITY OF THE GUITAR IS AWESOME IM SO HAPPY WITH IT. USUALLY I HAVE TO MESS WITH A NEW GUITAR FOR A WHILE TO GET IT SET UP THE WAY I WANT IT-THIS ONE IJUST TUNED IT-THATS IT-GOOD STUFF THE TUNERS ARE OK I JUST HAVE TO GET USED TO 7 OF THEM Ease of Use: PLUG IN AND PLAY-THAT EASY Quality: I HAD AN OMMEN 6 YEARS AGO-BUT THIS ONE IS NIGHT AND DAY-THE FINISH IS PERFECT THE GUITAR IS BUILT VERY WELL AND SOLID-I HAVE SEVERAL FREIND WHO ALO HAVE SCHECTER GUITARS-NO COMPLAINTS THEY ARE PROVEN-GOOD STUFF Value: IN THIS PRICE RANGE-TO ME-ITS THE BEST FOR THE MONEY Manufacturer Support: NO PROBLEMS SO FAR The Wow Factor: COOL TO LOOK AT-BETTER TO PLAY Overall: I OWN MOSTLY 6 STRING GUITARS-THIS IS MY 1ST AND ONLY 7 STRING-MY SEARCH FOR #1 7 STRING GUITAR LED ME STRAIGHT TO THIS ONE-THIS IS IT
3 of 6 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Percect Guitar." submitted December 23, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: The perfect sounding guitar if you're into Metallica, Korn, Slipknot, etc. Amazing sustain. No dead frets. Fast neck. Feature: Didn't include any accesories, I don't care. Its perfect. Ease of Use: The best. Quality: The best. Value: Great for anyone wanting to experimant with 7-strings Manufacturer Support: Not once. The Wow Factor: The sexiest. Overall: I will love it forever.
1 of 5 people (20%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"IT WAS WORTH IT" submitted June 20, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musicin
Music Style: (heavy, thrash, death, speed, alternative)Metal, jazz or hard rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: In my opinion i think the schecter diamond plus stock in pick ups are amazing! I own a 6 string schecter C-1 Elite before but with duncan design Hb-102 pickups and they were great but i decided to try something different and so when i got the guitar and plugged it in...THE SOUND BLEW MY HEAD AWAY! It sounded heavy and has got the right tone for the kind of music i like to play! I would recommend these pick ups! Feature: I love the way this guitar looks! The black cherry and inlays make this guitar look more brutal then i expected! I'm not really into those floyd rose attachments, the scale of 26.5 inch really helps the guitar keep in tune! Ease of Use: This guitar is really easy of use enough said! And the neck is super comfortable! Quality: The Quality on this guitar is very well made and well put together! Not had a single problem with ever since it arrived on my front door! Value: My conclusion to the value for this guitar is definitely worth it! I would recommend people buying this if they want to experiment with a 7 string guitar! Manufacturer Support: No support yet! The Wow Factor: The sexiest beast you will ever hold and play!!!!!!!!! Overall: Overall, I would recommend buying this one if your into (heavy, thrash, death, speed, alternative)Metal, jazz or hard rock!!
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BEAST!!!" submitted August 6, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Hard Rock, Death Metal, Melodic Death Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is great, but if you're into heavy stuff you might want to change the pickups! Feature: It could have another tone knob, but other than that it's perfect! Ease of Use: So easy to get so many sounds out of this beast! Quality: I've only had mine for a couple of days, but it seems to be VERY well made! Value: Couldn't recomend it enough! I would be willing to pay so much more than it's selling for Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed it! The Wow Factor: BUY THIS GUITAR! Overall: I will keep this guitar until it breaks, then I'll buy a new one
5 of 14 people (35.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20V-VWZ9. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!